Calcutta Electric Supply Corporation [CESC] Complaints & Reviews

Updated: Sep 3, 2025
Complaints 2255

File a complaint to Calcutta Electric Supply Corporation [CESC]

Having problems with Calcutta Electric Supply Corporation [CESC]?

File a complaint and get it resolved by Calcutta Electric Supply Corporation [CESC] customer care. It’s quick, effective and absolutely free!

Calcutta Electric Supply Corporation [CESC] reviews & complaints page 28

bsanjoy
Jun 23, 2020

Bill for May 2020 is Rs 3080/- which is seems to be in higher side. As per our knowledge no metre reading has been taken during last 3/4 months physically.
We have never crossed Rs 2000/- mark previously. Bill for Jan 2020-Rs 1050/-, Feb 2020- Rs 1040/-, March- Rs 1240/-, April - Rs 520/-, How May 2020 charged for Rs 3080/-.
We asked you to submit genuine proof for unit consumption.

Please verify the metre reading physically and adjust the bill amount with subsiding month. We have already paid the Billed amount today.

Communication may be send to email [protected]@yahoo.com. An early reply will be appreciated.

Consumer ID [protected] Bill for May 2020.

Calcutta Electric Supply Corporation [CESC] customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.

Rupankan Das
    Jun 23, 2020

Address: B-87,NEW GARIA DEV.CO-OP.HSG.LTD.KOL 94

Biswanath das consumer no [protected] (Address lp.207/58, b-87, new garia dev.co-op. Hsg. Ltd. Kol 94)

Bill details
    January - unit consumed - 49 (Paid rs 290)
    February - unit consumed - 60 (Paid rs 350)
    March - unit consumed - xx (Paid rs 340)
    April - unit consumed -69 (Paid rs 510)
    May - unit consumed -414 (Amount payble - rs 2920) disputed

Amphan date -16/05/2020 to 24/05/2020 no electricity

2nd connection
    Jaysree das consumer no [protected] (Address - 1st floor b-87 new garia dev.co-op. Hsg ltd kol 94)

Bill details
    January - unit consume-42 (Paid rs 250)
    February - unit consumed -47 (Rs 280)
    March - unit consumed - xx (Paid rs 190)
    April - unit consumed - 42 (Paid rs 200)
    May - unit consumed - 213 (Payable amount rs 1320) disputed

Amphan date -16/05/2020 to 24/05/2020 no electricity

Note: due to the covid-19 pandemic, the meter reading was taken after 3 months, and the unit consumption as shown in the bill is way too much as compared to my past bills. Without ac such amount is unacceptable. According to energy charge (Ec), the rate calculation for monthly consumption is quite less as compared to rate calculation for multiple consolidated monthly bills. Although the payment was done for every month (Screenshots of the receipts has been attached for your reference), now the bill received for may as seen has been a result of consolidated calculation of gross rate for several months. Requesting you to calculate the rate for each month separately and make necessary changes to the present bill.

My due date for may month bill payment is 30th june. I would really appreciate if you could revert back to this email by sending the appropriate resolved bill before 30th june.

Rupankan das
    Ph: [protected].
    Email-rupankanarkalokdas. [protected]@gmail.com
    Calcutta Electric Supply Corporation [CESC] customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.

BANGLA UNITED
      Jun 23, 2020

Address: CESC House,Chowringhee Square

Sir/madam, i am gita bandhopadhy, consumer number is: [[protected]], customer id is [[protected]] in the month of april my electric bill is about rs, 1540. But in the month of may, it amounted rs, 4310, this is extremely outrageous since absolutely no appliance has been added since the previous month. From 1540 to 4310 is a huge leap. Kindly look into this issue asap. I would be highly be obliged to you if you accept my proposal.
      Failing which states in consumer court.
      Your’s faithfully gita bandhopadhy consumer number is: [[protected]] customer id is [[protected]]
      Contact number: [protected]
      contact number 2: [protected]

email: [protected]@gmail.com

bafana_pk
        Jun 22, 2020

I have received an sms indicating that my electric meter reading is 32411 as on 22 june 2020 for customer id [protected]. Indicating that 695 units would be billed to me for june 2020.

This is too high and arbitrary. Either get the reading checked again or have the meter checked.

I am a consumer at this premises for last 12 years. My average monthly consumption is in the range of 100-150.

Please immediately review the reading and / or meter and correct the consumption as well as reading.

Bitan Ghoshal
          Jun 22, 2020

Cust id [protected] — units billed 720 bill amount 10, 650
          Cust id : [protected] — units billed 925 bill amount 15210

We have not received any meter reading for the month of march, april and may 2020 and on june 8th meter reading was done.

Kindly help us to know how this bill amount is made

Dibyendu07
            from Hāora, West Bengal
            Jun 21, 2020

Sir/madam,

I am sri biswa nath shaw, consumer number : [protected], customer id : [protected].in the month of may, 2020 my electric bill is of rs. 1200 which is very high and not at all feasible as per my usage pattern.in my electricity bill it is mentioned that i have been charged for 199 units whereas i consumed only 30 units in the previous month i. E.in april, 2020. On an average i generally consume 30-60units each month. Therefore you are requested to please revise the bill and generate a new bill as per my actual usage and please send it to my given mobile number. I would be highly obliged if you kindly solve my problem.

Thanking you yours faithfully

Sri biswa nath shaw

Regarding my last complain, I have received a system generated e-mail from the Managing Director (Distribution) of CESC stating that the Bill for the Month of May, 2020 was prepared based on my actual consumption after adjusting the amount already billed. Further it is also stated that the bill for March, April, May of this year i.e. 2020 is generally same to that of the these three months of the last year i.e. 2019. I would like to inform you that I have never ever received electricity bill of such a huge amount in any of the months since the very first day of me becoming the consumer of CESC. I am paying my bill online based on the bill that has already been issued to me with the anticipation that this excess amount will be adjusted with the bill of the next month i.e. of June, 2020.

Therefore it is my request you to please kindly recheck my meter reading and adjust this excess amount with my next month's bill.

Thanking you Yours faithfully

Sri Biswanath Shaw

tdnd0308
              Jun 21, 2020

Address: South Regional Office 6,Mandeville Gardens Kolkata - 700 019

Reference to the customer id -[protected], i, tathagata datta paid electric bill for the month of february up to the meter reading of 7773 though it was practically 7766 then. Since mid of march till today the room is kept under lock and key for legal purpose. But unfortunately i received electric bills for the month of march and april in which unit consumed were shown as 116 and 60 respectively. As a result i filed a complaint. Subsequently i received message that meter reading would be taken on 10/06/2020. Though i waited for the person concerned to cooperate him by opening the meter room as he can notice the meter units properly i was not informed by the person at the time of reading and noting the meter units. Later on 10/06 at about 1:12 pm i received the message informing the meter reading noted as 7751 as on same day though the reading was 7766 since mid of march till today. Unfortunately in the bill for the month of may the reading is shown as 7949 as on 10/06/2020. The message and the electric bill are both the communications from cesc and contradicting each other causing frustration and irritation. So please look into the matter on top priority.

Rahuldwall27
                from Hāora, West Bengal
                Jun 21, 2020

Address: Kolkata

When i went through the bill i could see the march 2019 reading is copy pasted in march 2020 reading. Although we were not at home for almost 2 weeks the reading came same. I know you have not taken the reading of march 2020 and just taken the figure of last year. If company is doing approximation atleast take a proper base. I think so there are lot of learned people in the company but didn't knew they will also favour such assumptions. If you want take the base as next month that is april 2020 or feb 2020.

Ranjit Bhowmik
                  from Hāora, West Bengal
                  Jun 20, 2020

repairing of old meter boxes... very urgent.

Address: 9. B T Road, Government quarters, Kolkata 700056. Near Belghoria Police station.

We would like to inform you that, we are eight flats of 9 b. T road, government quarters, block no 28, belghoria, kolkata -700056, presently extremely worried about the meter boxes which are of 9 nos. Few months back we have noticed that our meter box module is in a very critical condition and while your team came from your end after the last cyclone (Umpun) for repairing purpose advised to complaint immediately, as sometimes we have observed...
                  BISWABRATA SARKAR
                  Jun 20, 2020

The current bill i received from cesc is unbelievable. It shows a consumption of 449 units. Never in my history of consumption history, have i seen such a high bill. There was no one who came for taking meter reading since lockdown 1. The bills generated were assumed values. This current bill for may 2020 shows an unbelievable amount of rs. 3220. Also i have stayed this home as rented. My customer id. : [protected] name of the bill ajit das
                  I have not added any gadget for electricity consumption recently only 2 room and one room daily 3to 4 hr ac running another room maximum time light and fan switch of why this is happened it not fare please revise my bill asap
                  Biswabrata sarkar
                  C/o ajit das

Sunayanade
                    Jun 20, 2020

Customer id-[protected]
                    Consumer no-[protected]
                    Customer name - kakali mandal
                    I got a huge bill this month. Thus i want to verify my meter once. Please take the necessary steps at the earliest.

Indra Nath Bagchi
                      Jun 18, 2020

The current bill i received from cesc is unbelievable. It shows a consumption of 864 units. Never in my consumption history, i have seen such a high bill. There was no one who came for taking meter reading since lockdown 1. The bills generated were assumed values. This current bill for may 2020 shows an unbelievable amount of rs. 8140.
                      I have not added any gadget for electricity consumption recently as, all shops were even under lockdown. Above all there was atleast 7 days of power supply failure, post amphan cyclone.
                      I really suspect some unscrupulous practice in this matter. Please review the situation & send me a believable valued fresh bill for payment.
                      I am attaching screenshot of previous bill summaries, generated from your cesc app, for ready reference.
                      Indra nath bagchi
                      Consumer no: [protected]

Soumyajit Mitra
                        Jun 11, 2020

Address: p-18 Taratolla Road Kolkata 700088

I have done an online payment on june 3 and my account is debited but the website is not showing the status. The customer care number is not reachable. The taratolla regional centre people are worst they are not even addressing and just cutting the call. I call them for 10 times and they pick up and when i was explaining they just cut the call on my face.

Sudipa Dutta
                          Jun 10, 2020

Address: Goriahat, Kolkata, West Bengal.

I have given my 1st floor flat on rent from where i shifted 4 years ago. As per the tenant's complaint of high electricity bills send by CESC i checked and discovered the ground floor resident have been renovated the meter boxes 3 years ago and switched the numbers written on them. Thus the ground floor's bill is being send to the 1st floor and vice versa.

The 1st floor resident also written his name on my meter box. I am attaching the photos of both the meter boxes here which will show how the 1st floor resident's usage is more than double and i am paying for it for last 3 years.

Please look forward to solve my issue immediately.

JUNE 2020
                          Name - Bishnu Pada Dutta
                          Address: 91. Jodhpur Gardens, Kolkata -45, West Bengal, India.
                          Customer ID - [protected]
                          Consumer No. - [protected]
                          Consumer Type - Domestic

Rachaita15
                            Jun 7, 2020

Address: M.M.Sarani, East Alipur, Nadikul Road, Nimta, Kolkata-700049

Nowadays there is a problem of very low voltage in our area (M. M. Sarani, east alipur, nadikul road, nimta, kolkata-700049). So that we, the students in our area are not able to study properly and in the evening the tube light is further diminished. The low voltage makes it difficult to operate the fan with its required capacity. It has become very difficult for us to survive in this condition on this hot summer day. I, on behalf of my neighbors and students, urge you to ensure uninterrupted power supply to our area.

cesc utpal
                              Jun 5, 2020

Address: Northend plaza ,234 GLT Road Kolkata -700036

Single phase problem in northend plaza at 11:36 pm. Some of the flats are out of power.

Sushil mondal
                                Jun 5, 2020

Cesc is looting the people by providing high amount o[censored]nit charges and excess meter reading as well as they are getting more benefits in looting during lockdown period because they are providing bills without reading the meters
                                I want to make complaint against such horrible company

Sushil mondal
                                  Jun 5, 2020

I don't want to pay the electricity bill because without reading the meter how cesc can make the high amount of bill. As i am consuming electricity low.
                                  I want to make a complaint against cesc for their cheating and corruption.

MZJaved
                                    Jun 5, 2020

Consumer numbers: [protected] an [protected]. / report on electrial fault
                                    27.05.2020 - reported to cesc office at princep street, kolkata that following severe sparking in the pillar box 1472, electricity to no. 1 meher ali road, kolkata 700017 was disconnected. Docket number 39854 was issued. The cesc team arrived promptly and concluded that the phase b was non-existant. The blown fuse in the pillar box was replaced. External cable for phase b was run from the pillar box to our building.
                                    31.05.2020 - once again there was sparking in the pillar box and power disappeared. Reported back to cesc princep street at around 9:30 am. Docket no. 10946 issued. Cesc team arrived. Found phase y blown. An external cable was laid out for all three phases. But this has a limitation – cesc personnel recommended our 4 passenger lift not to be used.
                                    Need urgent attention:
                                    1) to poorly run & unsafe temporary external cable run. Ensure cable can bear the power required for the small lift operation
                                    2) urgent repair to cable fault

Please contact: mohammed zaffar javed / mob: [protected]

Sourindra Bhattacharya
                                      Jun 5, 2020

Address: 6, Mandeville Gardens , Kolkata - 700019

I sourindra bhattacharya (Customer id : [protected]), a former resident of sudakshina police housing, estate - a, block - s, flat -6, kolkata - 700047.
                                      I vacated my sudakshina police quarter on 06.03.2020. Thereafter i submitted a request for disconnection of electric supply on 17.03.2020 (Docket number: 1209634)
                                      But despite my disconnection of electric supply in the month of march i still received an electricity bill for the month of march 2020, whose amount is (Rs.3010) with (Total unit consumption - 369 units), where as i left my quarter on 06.03 2020.
                                      After all these, i again received an electricity bill for the month of april 2020 of rs. 4120 with a total unit consumption of 179 units, where as my electric supply was disconnected in the month of march. Prior to this i complained two times in cesc and they did not respond but sidewise they are not forgetting to send an irrelevant bill also. I now see this as a serious issue and now i am thinking of lodging a official complain in the customer forum for these kinds of harassments that cesc is doing over the electricity bill to me.

Looking forward for the reply from cesc and their initiative in correcting this issue;

Sourindra bhattacharya
                                      Customer id : [protected]
                                      Consumer number : [protected]