Calcutta Electric Supply Corporation [CESC] Complaints & Reviews

Updated: Apr 8, 2026
Complaints 2262

File a complaint to Calcutta Electric Supply Corporation [CESC]

Having problems with Calcutta Electric Supply Corporation [CESC]?

File a complaint and get it resolved by Calcutta Electric Supply Corporation [CESC] customer care. It’s quick, effective and absolutely free!

Calcutta Electric Supply Corporation [CESC] reviews & complaints page 41

Niraj123400
May 20, 2019

Address: Cesc,kolkata, Kolkata, West Bengal, 700002

Myself, ram sagat razak, 1/4/d kc road, kolkata-700002. My customer id-[protected]. I have been charged with consumption of 9797units for april 2019 which is completely absurd and vague. There must be some sort of mistake/fault on the part of cesc. My complaint docket no is 21945192
They sent me a bill of rs. 83620 which is way beyond our imagination. Our usual consumption trend is around[protected] units per month. But this hefty amout of bill is impossible for us.
Please look into this matter at the earliest.

Thanks in advance
M-[protected]
Calcutta Electric Supply Corporation [CESC] customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.

Debashish Roy Choudhury
    May 20, 2019

Address: kolkata, Kolkata, West Bengal, 700061

This is to inform you that i, priyabrata roy chowdhury, aged 72 years, and a resident of 15/m sonamukhi naskarpara, 1 bye lane, kolkata - 700061, is a registered and authorized consumer of cesc (Consumer no-[protected]) since the past 8 years. But with a great apathy now i am compelled to write to you considering the present state of affairs related to heavy voltage fluctuation in my locality.

That the services were so far so good but for the past few weeks there were terrible fluctuations, especially during the afternoon hours owing to which the functioning of the electrical appliances are at stake. The voltage is tripping down to that extent that the ac installed in my room is abnormally shutting down.

The matter was immediately reported to the cesc over phone last week (Docket no - [protected] dated 13.05.2019) and it was conveyed that it would be sorted out, but to no avail. Yesterday also a complaint mail was registered (Docket no - [protected] dated 17.05.2019) stating the reasons. However the representatives turned up for inspection, checked the meter box and informed that there is a continuous supply of low voltage in the adjacent areas.

They also assured that the matter would be reported to the authorities and subsequent actions would be initiated accordingly. But with regrets i would again like to add that the same fluctuations continued yesterday
    (17.05.2019) between 3.40 pm - 4.30 pm resulting to the malfunctioning of the stabilizer connected to my window ac. It literally crashed.

Finding no other alternative a mail was again sent to: [protected]@rp-sg.in on may 18th 2019 but to no avail.

The same mail was again forwarded to cesc. [protected]@rp-sg.in hoping that some immediate measures would be taken.

The question is that when we are authorized for adequate services from cesc by paying the requisite charges then why we are debarred from the services??? We had a firm belief that after our complaint it would be sorted out but even after repeated complaints the status remains the same.

Never thought that cesc would be so careless in their approach and provide such awful, horrible and worthless service even after so many reminders. And now that the electrical appliances have started malfunctioning due poor services, then who is going to pay for the damage???

Therefore its an earnest request to the consumer complaint forum to take a stand in this matter, so that this can have a permanent resolution.

Sincerely yours

Priyabrata roy chowdhury
    Calcutta Electric Supply Corporation [CESC] customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.

Soumyadipta Pal
      May 19, 2019

Address: Kolkata, West Bengal, 700040

Consumer no [protected]
      SRI ADITYA NATH PAL
      ST-FR;FL-05
      1/107/1 AZADGARH COLONY
      LP-172/11
      KOLKATA 700040

Very sadly I want to inform that regular voltage fluctuation is happening in the above said area. I informed CESC about this problem. They said everytime that their technician will see the matter. But there is no such improvement.
      Please solve the matter.

May 19, 2019

Address: 93, Rabindra Sarani, Durganagar, Kolkata, West Bengal, 700065

This is a formal complaint against cesc for failing to resolve a common issue of regular loadshedding and voltage fluctuations in my area. Concerned area is rabindra sarani, durganagar kolkata 700065.
        Even after multiple requests and complaints, cesc fails to give a permanent solution.
        This is seriously affecting the health and well being of the citizens of this area.
        Voltage fluctuations cause damage to appliances.
        I urge the consumer complaint forum to take a stand in this matter, so that this can have a permanent resolution.
        On dated 13/05/2019 when I pay through my bank to you by bill desk on that time I accidently paid twice & just want my money back or adjust with next month's bill
        plzz see through it and for conformation
        the bank is Indian Oversees Bank branch- Sreemani market
        My consumer number is [protected] & [protected]. For the last couple of weeks, there has been a tremendous voltage fluctuation in my building whether day or night. Same situation happened previous year as well. As a result lights, fans all are mal-functioning.

I want immediate steps in this regard.

yours faithfully
        Ganesh Singh
        I am a consumer of cesc want a new sub meter for connection.I Pintu Mahajan live in Hindmotor, Hooghly.My address is 57, Radha Gobindo Nagar Road, Hindmotor, Hooghly.

mjha_1988
          from Pandua, West Bengal
          May 18, 2019

Address: 12 CANAL SIDE ROAD, SOUTH PURBACHAL HALTU, KOLKATA 700078, Kolkata, West Bengal, 700078

Myself lalit narayan jha wish to draw your kind attention that i have paid my bill using online payment through credit card dtd 24/04/2019 (Due date) for rs 750 /- vide transaction id no - bd01caac7lnn for the month of march 2019 also received an e mail that my payment was successful..

I have received bill for the month of april 2019 for rs 1770 /- (Last (March) payment not adjusted with this bill) my current bill due date is 23.05.2019.

Requesting you to please adjust the march month payment at the earliest.

I am enclosing the screen shot of last payment made to cesc against march 2019 bill dtd 24.04.2019

Rose Leslie
            May 18, 2019

Address: Kolkata, West Bengal, 700057

The resident of bhagwan mondal street in kamarhatti are tampering or directly hooking electricity poles during night to gain free electricity for using air conditioner. This may lead to higher bills of genuine buyers and the people who are genuinely paying their electricity bills. If this happens the electricity loading will affect and it may lead to higher rate of electricity rates.. Visit bhagwan mondal street in kamarhatti at night and cease everyone metre who are tampering electricity.

from Pandua, West Bengal
              May 16, 2019

I have paid an amount of rs.21150.00 on 14.05.2019 (Online, using inb) but payment receipt not generated. The detail of bill are as under :
              Bill no.16/04555/19/2/1
              Bill amount: rs.21150.00
              Bill date : 16/03/19
              Due date : 14/06/19

Name : gautam kumar saha
              Flat no.608, floor no.6, block no. Ph 3 annapurna (N)
              187f/1, b. T. Road
              Kolkata-700015
              Lp no : 19/8

Please generate payment receipt and arrange to provide connection.
              In jannagar road park circus kolkata 17 there is no electric supply since 9 am till now
              Called up cce they said they will follow up but un vain plz do the needful fast

Durga Shaw
                May 14, 2019

Address: Kolkata, West Bengal, 700061

My customer id no. Is [protected]. I have not yet received message of meter reading and units consumed as on 13/05/2019.in this connection i am to intimate you the meter reading as on on 13/05/2019 to prepare electricity bill for the consumed units.

Meter reading as on 13/5/2019 is 28529 and units consumed is 166. I request to send me bill for this period for payment.

Durga prasad shaw
                Customer id [protected]

Sujan@@
                  May 13, 2019

Address: SUJAN KUMAR MAITY 1ST-FR;FL-5 677 MAHATMA GANDHI ROAD LP-175/2/8 KOLKATA 700082, Kolkata, West Bengal, 700082

I have paid a bill for consumer no. [[protected]] amounting to rs. 2390.00 from my icici net banking on 12.05.2019 towards payee bill desk bpc. Unfortunately, the e-receipt has not been generated but the amount has been debited from my bank account. Transaction reference number is [protected]. Please make sure that the amount has been credited to the above consumer no.. Otherwise investigate properly and do the needful and issue me the e-receipt or credit the amount to my bank account, i[censored]nsuccessful so that i can make the payment again. My email id is [protected]@gmail.com
                  Dear Cesc

Your services is worst ...Daily basis supply off problem in Ramnagar lane Garden Reach Kolkata-700024 land mark Dhankheti Masjid..your engineer are working temporary ..5 to 8 hrs supply off problem daily basis..please solve this issue..As per my review cesc service is worst..

My email address is [protected]@gmail.com
                  My supply is very low and conflicting since yesterday night. I have complained about it docket no was [protected]. But it's not solved. Again I have complained over phone at 12am docket no is [protected]. Please do the needful as soon as possible. I can't move my AC, Fridge and others.
                  swapan kr paul's reply, May 11, 2019
                  I have complained about power supply which is very low and conflicting but not yet solved

angelinahopes
                    May 13, 2019

Address: 35/3 shamsul Hoda road, Kolkata, West Bengal, 700017

I am a tent in the building on 35/3 shamsul hoda road kolkata 700017.
                    I am tent of mr. Reajudin ahmed also know has rajan.
                    They are involved in line theft. They have 3 flats in the building

1. On the 4th floor, the 3rd falt from right hand side after climbing up the stairs. Lots of meter box are fixed above the flat wall. From which they change lines.

2. On the 5th floor they have 2 flats. 2nd and 3rd after climbing the stairs. Which has ac fridge tv and every thing.

I as a good citizen want to file a complain to stop electricity theft.
                    I will be leaving soon plzzz discontinue their line as when u will see the line conjunction on the 4th floor above their house, u will be shocked. They run water pumps also.
                    My current address is
                    kalitala uttarpara (chawk thakuarni) post - r.c.thakuarni lp -132/5/72 kolkata - 700 104

change my address to - 8/2 kalitala uttarpara (chawk thakuarni) post - r.c.thakuarni lp -132/5/72 kolkata - 700 104

sanjayabc123
                      May 13, 2019

I am a tent in the building on 35/3 shamsul hoda road kolkata 700017.
                      I am tent of mr. Reajudin ahmed also know has rajan.
                      They are involved in line theft. They have 3 flats in the building

1. On the 4th floor, the 3rd falt from right hand side after climbing up the stairs. Lots of meter box are fixed above the flat wall. From which they change lines.

2. On the 5th floor they have 2 flats. 2nd and 3rd after climbing the stairs. Which has ac fridge tv and every thing.

I as a good citizen want to file a complain to stop electricity theft.
                      I will be leaving soon plzzz discontinue their line as when u will see the line conjunction on the 4th floor above their house, u will be shocked. They run water pumps also.

Ratan Chakrabarti
                        May 11, 2019

Address: 7, Sukanta Sarani, P.O.Bhadrakali, Dist.Hooghly.ò, 712232

For last few days voltage is very low. My ac is not running. Fans are not running. Lodged complaints several times over phone. But of no use. Every time complaints are taken and assurance given that the problem would be resolved within two hours. But no steps are taken. Last year ac compressor was damaged and had to replace and voltage stabilizer installed. Still the same problem. Pl take immediate step immediately.
                        May 11, 2019
                        Updated by Ratan Chakrabarti
                        Received a reply that yr representative will attend my complaint within several days. This is unacceptable in these hot days.Pl attend immediately.

tch3
                          May 11, 2019

Address: 58/1/A dharmatala road bally, howrah, Howrah, West Bengal, 711201

I want to bring this to your kind notice that our area is facing a regular problem with load shedding. We complaint many times for a permanent solution. But we didn't get that. Almost everynight we have to face this problem but your team is not working properly as we are suffering very badly at our sleeping time.
                          It is my kind request to you to look into this matter and take stern step as soon as possible.
                          MY DETAILS-
                          Tinku Chakraborty consumer no.-[protected], phone no.-[protected].

basu.nilanjana700
                            May 10, 2019

Address: 6 Mandeville Gardens Kolkata 700 01, Kolkata, West Bengal, 700042

Senior commercial executive
                            Cesc
                            I am out of station from 29/03/2019 till 16/08/2019. Hence i have switched off the main connection of electricity of my home from 29/03/2019. I am not using the meter from 29/03/2019 till 16/08/2019. Inspite of not using the meter now cesc has sent a bill for the month of april 2019 amounting to rs 1180/-. How is cesc raising such a bill at this period when no electricity is being consumed from 29/3/2019? I have already paid rs 900 for the month of march 2019.

swapan kr paul
                              from Jangipur, West Bengal
                              May 12, 2019

Address: 45/20D, MAHENDRA BANERJEE ROAD BEHALA, Kolkata, West Bengal, 700060

My consumer number is [protected]. Domestic type. Since Thursday I have suffering from my electric supply of low and conflicting voltage. I have complained about it in the cesc zonal office several times. They gave me docket number of the same. First time I've received the docket number [protected]. Yesterday they were attend at night my house and said that it would be resumed shortly. But it is very painful that I would say it is continuing.
                              May 12, 2019
                              Updated by swapan kr paul
                              Please do the needful as soon as possible to resume the same. I can't move my electrical appliances

minti2608
                                May 9, 2019

Address: Kolkata, West Bengal, 700020

Respected sir/madam,

Please note my meter reading date was scheduled on 08/05/2019 but somehow it was not being checked. So i was waiting the whole day for the message which cesc is supposed to send me mentioning the link where i can visit and mention my meter reading. But the message did not come the whole day. Now today _09/05/2019 morning at 8:05 am i received the message mentioning the link. And the message also says that the link will be valid till today midnight. As soon as i got the message i visited the link to provide my readings, but it showed "sorry! Your meter reading validity period expired!!" immediately after receiving the message i visited the link, so how can that be expired?
                                Each and every month i am facing one or the other problem with cesc. Please help.

Also i am providing the readings over here. Please consider the same.

1) customer id : [protected] - 001321 kwh

2) customer id : [protected] - 004212 kwh

Ankita roy.
                                meter reading not done due to my absent. i am sending the following two meter reading.

1. METER NO. 4426139 PRESENT READING 13436 IN THE NAME OF SM SHIPRA SENGUPTA AS ON 17.06.2021 CUSTOMER ID [protected]

2.METER NO.[protected] PRESENT READING 20221 IN THE NAME OF SANTOSH SENGUPTA AS ON 17.06.2021 CUSTOMER ID NO.[protected]
                                please get the following two meter no as meter reading not done due to my absence.

1.METER NO.4426139 PREVIOUS READING13098 PRESENT READING 13436 AS ON 17.06.21. CON ID NO

2.MET ER NO.4426140 PREVIOUS NO.20003 PRESENT 20221 CON ID[protected]
                                its suffifcent information for billing
                                I was not present at home during meter reading. We are out of station for three months. I am sending all the information regarding the meeting hoping that bill will be arranged accordingly.

Consumer name: Shayamapada Roy
                                Consumer no.: [protected]
                                The present meter reading is : 009875 kWh

I have attached the image of today's meter also.

Soumyadipta Pal
                                  May 6, 2019

Address: 1/107/1 AZADGARH COLONY, Kolkata, West Bengal, 700040

Consumer no [protected]
                                  Sri aditya nath pal
                                  1st-fr;fl-05
                                  1/107/1 azadgarh colony
                                  Lp-172/11
                                  Kolkata 700040

Problem:
                                  A regular low voltage problem is here. Almost each and every week, once in a week it happens. There is problem in one phase. For example if we have low voltage problem the next building doesn't have this problem. If we call cesc comes and resolves it within 2 hrs. That's fine. But the problem mainly happens at midnight. So life becomes miserable in this summer. If we ask to cesc about the reason. They told electrical parts are damaged. Each and every week how it can be possible that electrical parts are damaged. So please do the needful so that in future we are relieved from this problem.
                                  My self Parimal Sarkar
                                  From behala kadamtala. Facing the same low voltage problem in mid night. Lodge complain [protected] and [protected] two to three days back but still no one called or visit. Call your customer care regarding this issue but thay dont have any.. I must say you people are playing with our money. How I will explain due low voltage all our devices need more power to run themselves and that generate meater riding, its a hidden funda to make consumer fool. What we do ingeneral complain or call you or visit your office and what reply we get area supply issue or we are working on it. But truth is you guy's are making money by doing this.. Tomorrow I will file a petition against you. CESC is a fraud company.
                                  Dont worry I can raise my case in consumer court .

Anthony R Solomon
                                    May 3, 2019

I want to bring to your notice that my pin code number is mention wrong in my bill

Anthony raj solomon
                                    18/j braun field row
                                    Kolkata 700027
                                    Which wrong pin code

My correct address is
                                    Anthony raj solomon
                                    18/j braun field row
                                    Kolkata 700027

Customer id [protected]
                                    Customer [protected]

Pls do the needful at earliest thanks

Sagnik Naskar
                                      May 1, 2019

Address: 1100,USTAD AMIRKHAN SARANI KOL-82, SAME, 1100,USTAD AMIRKHAN SARANI KOL-82, Kolkata, West Bengal, 700082

Dear, sir most respectfully stsate that i am a valuable cosumer. My customer i'd [protected]. I have a another house which is stand 2/2 sode pur second lane kol 700082. Where my father took sub meter cutomer i'd is[protected]. I want to take a submeter at that address. I have tried but nobody couldn't solve this problem there is no objection. Where as elder brother i couldn't done but my brother take asubmeter how it possible. Rules are equal for all man. My brother name is avijjit naskar he take it 2018. There fore i want to take a new submeter. Plz solve the problem asap other wise i will knocked the door of lokadalat. Than u. I hope full that you will solve the problem.

Akshay Poddar Garfa
                                        Apr 27, 2019

Address: 35-B, Middle Road, P.O. - Santoshpur, Kolkata - 700075, Kolkata, West Bengal, 700075

My customer id is [protected]
                                        Meter number is 581621 & 6200546
                                        Bill number [protected]/03197
                                        Bill month march 2019
                                        Bill date 12/04/19

This is to inform you that, cesc had charged rs. 1990 for only consumption of 94 units in the month of march 2019! My last 6 months average meter reading is as follows:
                                        Sl. Month & year unit cosumed amount
                                        1) october 2018 30 units rs. 200/-
                                        2) november 2018 24 units rs. 170/-
                                        3) december 2018 19 units rs. 150/-
                                        4) january 2019 32 units rs. 210/-
                                        5) february 2019 39 units rs. 260/-
                                        6) march 2019 33 units rs. 220/-