Calcutta Electric Supply Corporation [CESC] Complaints & Reviews

Updated: Sep 3, 2025
Complaints 2255

File a complaint to Calcutta Electric Supply Corporation [CESC]

Having problems with Calcutta Electric Supply Corporation [CESC]?

File a complaint and get it resolved by Calcutta Electric Supply Corporation [CESC] customer care. It’s quick, effective and absolutely free!

Calcutta Electric Supply Corporation [CESC] reviews & complaints page 52

Suvecha Banerjee
Dec 24, 2017

Address: 712248

The internet service provided by cesc through billdesk for the payment of their bills are really disappointing as two days back i paid the bills through the billdesk the amount which in total is rs 8550 approximately was immediately debited though the information was not updated i have been waiting since two days for its updating but no result yet. My customer ids are [protected] & [protected]
Calcutta Electric Supply Corporation [CESC] customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.

Henabhatt
    Dec 22, 2017

Please change my mobile phone number from existing [protected] to [protected] with immediate effect, if it is possible and confirm via my e-mail number @[protected]@gmail.com

I have been trying to do so online but failed miserably as your web site is the most irritating and unprofessional in the THE WHOLE WORLD (yes, I have lived in many cities in Asia, Europe and America) and this distinction is quite genuine.

Rest on your laurel!!!

Hena Bhattacharyya
    Calcutta Electric Supply Corporation [CESC] customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.
    Dec 22, 2017
    Updated by Henabhatt
    I have just done that and as a result I have been drowned in all sorts of stupid messages, EXCEPT your confirmation that my mobile phone number has been changed successfully.

Hena Bhattacharyya
    Dec 22, 2017
    Updated by Henabhatt
    This window keeps appearing endlessly.

Please fire your website writer or move to a company which has proper user friendly web site (of which there are many and I am successfully using them everyday without any complaint).

yours frustratingly

H Bhattacharyya
    Dec 22, 2017
    Updated by Henabhatt
    Shut up!!!
    Dec 22, 2017
    Updated by Henabhatt
    Shut up
    Dec 22, 2017
    Updated by Henabhatt
    Shut up
    Dec 22, 2017
    Updated by Henabhatt
    Shut up. for God's sake
    Dec 22, 2017
    Updated by Henabhatt
    I am dead!!!
    Dec 22, 2017
    Updated by Henabhatt
    I told you I am dead and I am not Jesus and so could not be resurrected.

dibdas
      Dec 18, 2017

change of mailing address on bill

Address: Kolkata, West Bengal, 700034

Ref: consumer no. [protected], con. Id : [protected]
      Sub: change of mailing address in cesc bill

I, basanta kr das, hereby request your good self to rectify the address of billing in your records as mentioned below –
      Old address:

Basanta kumar das
      C/o sankar mondal
      22/a, gopal mishra road
      Kolkata 700 034

New address:
      Basanta...
      santanunandi
      Dec 16, 2017

irregular meter inspection

I santwana bagchi (Consumer no.[protected]) residing at 29, b. K. Moitra road kol-36. For last 6months meter inspector is not inspecting our meter in schedule date& usual time. Meter is left uninspected. I am paying a huge amount. Iam 84years of age& bedridden. So i am residing at my daughter's house nearby. Key of my house is kept in opposite grocery shop. He who shows the meter. For november i have to payrs.1730. Please take necessary steps...
      Shivamsweta
      Dec 13, 2017

Address: Kolkata, West Bengal, 700006

I have shocked your bill figure of rs. 4, 402/-for the month of october 2017
      You have imposed absolutely wrong claim. I think miter is malfunctioning
      Please inspect the miter properly and send the revise/amendment bill.
      I am unable to pay the bill figure of rs. 4, 402/- (October 2017)
      Please solve the problem as earliest as possible

Abnormal abrupt electricity bill for the month of october, where only 4 tube light, 1 cfl light and 2 fans were operated. And i was not recvd any bill since october at last i cheked my bills on cesc website. A quock action will be highly appriciated.
      All details are metioned below
      Consumer id:[protected]
      Consumer no:[protected]

Regards & thanks
      Sanjay kumar yadav
      1, pathuriaghata street
      Kolkata-700006
      Mob:[protected]

imran wrasii
        Dec 10, 2017

Address: 700039

Only 2 room 2pc 18 watt led tube light and 2 fan 40 watt each, kitchen & bathroom 8 watt led bulb, 1pc washing machine 1pc 22" lcd tv and 1pc double door fridge 320lt and the every month bill is more than rs2000 how is it possible can you plz explain? Previously my bill was rs 600 average after that its become rs 2000 average i don't know how is it posibble.

Consumer id - [protected]
        Written wrong mobile no in bill & want sms service on mobile no of bills pending

sandipsen1234
          Dec 9, 2017

Customer id [protected] cons. No.[protected] meter no.5752216, received bill-nov, 17 with abnormal consumption of 160 units. It's normally consumed 70 units on average in this season. No such occasions also not held during the period, where high volume of electricity could be consumed. If this is problem of meter, please check the meter.

Please check and clarify the discrepancy urgently.
          Dec 07, 2017
          Tulika76's response
          Customer Id [protected], Tulika Sen, consumer No. [protected], we have observe excess unit last few months which is incorrect as per our consumption. Please check the meter and necessary arrangement at your end which will may help me to avoid excess payment.

Subrata Sen
          H/O Tulika Sen

danielanjous
            Dec 4, 2017
            Feb 26, 2025
            This thread was updated on Feb 26, 2025

This grievance is regarding my meter reading dated 15/11/2017 at 76/2 taltala lane, kolkata 700014. My consumer no. Is [protected] and customer id is [protected]. My electricity bill meter reading for october 2017 reads as - previous meter reading 24219 and the present meter reading as on 15/11/2017 was 24585. Units consumed is 366 units amounting to rs. 3040/- (Gross). Today around 20.00 hrs i have personally checked the meter reading and i was surprised to note that the meter reading was showing 24469 at this very moment and not 24585 which was taken as granted on 15/11/17. Quite strange. Guess work without physical presence of taking meter reading. What is the intention behind this? It is a case of sheer cheating. Moreover, we were out of station for about 15 days during the pujas and there is no question of consumption of electricity during this period. As a good gesture, i have made the above mentioned payment but with a high hope that such incidence does not occur in future. I also request the authority to make the necessary adjustment with my future payments. Let the person entrusted with meter reading be honest and efficient to do so.
            Daniel anjous

debasishchandrasaha
              Dec 3, 2017

shifting of meter box

I tarak chandra saha customer id: [protected] consumer no [protected] having a meter at a location beside our house needs immediate shifting to my premises. The wall where my meter is fixed needs immediate repair and also it is situated outside my premises. Now i have a meter room in my premises and want to shift the meter at meter room.
              You are requested to arrange for shifting meters as earliest....
              52 other people found this review helpful
              52 found this helpful
              Sumit Khetan
              Dec 2, 2017

I am very surprise with bill for october month of consumer no - [protected], amounting rs 2000 having 316 unit, as we yet not started residing in my new flat. My due date is 4th december.

Please clarify what is basis of creating the bill, when person not started residing and you are charging 316 unit, this is matter of fraud and if required i will share entire issue with evidence to power minister team.

Ca sumit khetan
              Customer ID: [protected]
              Consumer No: [protected]
              Name: BISHNUPADA MAITI
              Add: GROUN-FR, FL-2B
              C/60/A RAMKRISHNA UPANIBESH
              LP-49/5/0/10/0
              KOLKATA 700092

PHONE NUMBER: [protected]
              E-MAIL ID: [protected]@gmail.com

Please update my new phone no and email address.
              My consumer no is[protected].Today paid monthly Electricity bill Rs 950 on line through Debit card.Although bank deducted the payment no confirmation from CESC.Request intervene and action.
              your site shows some problem.Request arrange of refund if not received by you. Your early action is solicited. Last date of bill payment is on 08.12.2017

cesc6607
                Nov 29, 2017

My consumer no is [protected]. Now i do not leave in the flat. My flat is under lock and key since march 2017. No electricity is used there since march-2017. But i paid rs 120 for september 2017 as per bill charged against my electric meter reading1034. Meter reading is still 1034 which i verified today. But i found through internet that bill for october 2017 is rs 560. Present meter reading column is left blank. This bill is totally abnormal. It is quite impossible to charge the bill rs 560. Hence, you are requested to arrange for visit and enquiry my meter reading and revise the bill at the earliest please.
                Yours truly
                Bijan chakravarty.
                This is to inform you that the Lamp Post number OCT 12 201/8/8 Light is not operational since last three weeks. As a result people in the locality are effect and keeping the area untidy. As a result we couldn't able to pass or walk the near by area. So please take necessary actions against this at the earliest.

BINOD SHOW
                  from Hosur, Tamil Nadu
                  Nov 29, 2017

update email id & mobile no

Customer id is [protected] meter in the name of binod show supply at 4-fr-. S/w 150 girindra sekhar bose road lp-2/1 kolkata 700039.
                  I request you to please update my mail id ([protected]@gmail.com and mobile no[protected] for any correspondence with me (Binod show). Please look into this matter urgently because i am not able to pay my bill in online reflecting some other person name in my cese bill so requesting you please do the needful.br...
                  Joydeep_2017
                  Nov 29, 2017

Address: Hooghly, West Bengal, 712138

I cancelled a booking on 10th september, 2017 in west bengal forest department corporation lava nature resort due to the unrest in hill but till date i have not received the refund amount in my bank account. I wrote several times to the official mail id of wbfdc with the copy of cancellation receipt generated through your website but all my efforts had gone in vain. I tried to call the phone number of wbfdc but nobody is picking up the phone. I feel cheated. I spoke to accounts department of wbfdc but no result came.
                  My cancel id is - c/onl/09-17/276
                  Cancel receipt & tax invoice no. Wbfdc/eco/01137/17-18 sac no.9963

Joydeep sarkar
                  Kolkata, west bengal
                  Mail id - sarkar. [protected]@gmail.com

Ahelimli
                    from Siliguri, West Bengal
                    Nov 18, 2017

Address: Howrah, West Bengal, 711110

As per my usage, my current bill is generated more than that. Customer id is [protected]. From this meter usage only for three lights, two fans and one 1.5 ton ac. For your information the ac machine was very rarely used last month. So i am not convincing with the amount of bill. So i request you please look into this matter, and send me a justified bill.
                    Today existing meter is showing 2142 at 9:50 pm but whereas meter read by CESC executive as 2240(confirmed through SMS)

Need correct meter reading for payment
                    Attached photo for reference

LT customer ID : [protected]

high bill value - Comment #2930441 - Image #0

Puspita Mukherjee
                      Nov 16, 2017

Address: 700140

Customer id. : [protected]
                      Consumer no. : [protected]
                      Consumer name and address
                      Sri abani bh mukherjee
                      Chatterjee para
                      Batanagar
                      Adrasha pally
                      24 parganas south
                      In the electricity bill for the month of october 2017 shows the consumption of 318 units where as my average consumption never went above 175 unit in whole year/ 12 months. This some fictitious consumption is being shown which might have raised due some external intervention.
                      Please look into the matter and make necessary inquiry at the earliest and relieve me of paying huge bill amount for rs 2350.00
                      Puspita mukherjee
                      Consumer No[protected].Customer ID is [protected].I paid my Electricity Bill for Oct 2017. on 201.11.2017.
                      Rs 1230.00 was deducted from bank account but I have not got any receipt from CESC.
                      Please provide me the current status.
                      Occuring Date of incident 20.11.2017.

Hemabh Chandra Sharma
                        Nov 15, 2017

My meter (Id [protected], consumer no. [protected]) is in running position and power supply is also ok till now, but since last few months i haven't received any bill and and no any massage on my registered mobile no ([protected]) from cesc.
                        I have received a mail from cesc dated 25th oct.17 that was my account has been closed and my meter no. Has been disconnected from 06th sep. 17 because i was applied for disconnection.
                        For your kind information i don't apply or no any request for disconnection. Your official website also showing my account has been closed, i met two week ago with this issues at howrah regional office, your office assured to me that your a/c will be opened within few days but till now no further changes or action for this issues.
                        Please take proper decisions and solve it. Thanks,

Yours sincerely
                        Hemabh chandra sharma
                        My consumer number is [protected] prem prakash mishra 48/b/23/29 Karl Marx sarani Kolkata 700023, few month my bill to high unnecessary amount has come so please I request to you please check my bill

Lovely Singha
                          Nov 13, 2017

Cesc customer id [protected]
                          Cesc customer no [protected]

Since may 2017 onwards usage is very high, unit consumed is on higher side every time. Average meter reading is possible.
                          Compiled before but no one bother to concern, perhaps monopoly business thats why
                          Next time will go to consumer court for the same.
                          During june 16, when usage was only 131 unit, this year it was 338, when there was no additional electronic item had been used.
                          For last 7 months, bill amount charged approximately rs 1830... Where as last year is was approximately 1150.

redstaranuj
                            Nov 12, 2017

I would like my meter to have a check if all is working well or not as bill for last few months are too high. Normally it would be around 1500 but nowadays it's around 3k approx each month'. Pls be kind to help in this regard
                            Consumer number [protected] and consumer id: [protected]

Keshab ch ghosal
                            3rd floor (North)
                            153/4 picnic garden road
                            Lp-1/32/2/1
                            Kolkata -700039
                            Contact - [protected]

Saktiman
                              Nov 12, 2017

Address: Kolkata, West Bengal, 700065

I had requested for altn & shft of my electric meter and had deposited the required fees amounting to rs.28642 on 20.08.2017. Till date iam waiting for the job to be completed.

I havent received any further communication from cesc.

Details given below

05/14142/17/3/1

Account address : 49, subhas nagar 2nd bye lane, kolkata : 700065
                              Lp no. 79/6
                              Nov 18, 2017
                              Updated by Saktiman
                              How does customer support notification help me. Its been a week and no progress .
                              Consumer Id: [protected]
                              Consumer No.: [protected]
                              Consumer's Name: Purnyashri Mukherjee
                              Address: 2-FR, FL-B2, 33 Vidyasagar Sarani, LP-94/23/6, Kol-8
                              Total Unit : 133
                              Total Amt. Payable: Rs. 810/-
                              Total Amt. Paid : Rs. 810/-
                              Paid On: 05 Nov' 17
                              Paid Through: ICICI MAster Card
                              Card Holder's Name: Sandip Kumar Chattopadhyay

from Supaul, Bihar
                                Nov 12, 2017

This has reference to the captioned subject, in respect to consumer id : [protected], consumer no. [protected] for bill no. : [protected], bill date : 04/11/17, electricity bill for the month of october 2017, in the name of sm sarla devi mall, 353 upper chitpore road, kolkata - 700 006.

We had paid the referred electricity bill, amounting to rs. 780.00 after availing the discount on 12/11/17 at 02:30 hrs. And this time being the otp sent to my cell phone for the confirmation at the payment gateway for finally crediting the amount from my e-wallet (Rupay debit card) to the account of the beneficiary i. E. Cesc ltd. The record being saved in my cell phone for future references if required by your valued end.

But unfortunately i could not get the e-receipt for the aforesaid payment made to the account of the beneficiary although we had again been in receipt of a confirmation message for the debit of the aforesaid amount from my e-wallet by my banker at 03:38 hrs. As on the same date.

It is earnestly requested to kindly look into the matter for the sake of natural justice.

This is for your information, record and early necessary action please.

Yours sincirely

Smt. Sarla devi mall
                                Cell no.[protected]
                                E-mail : [protected]@rediffmail.com