Central Board of Secondary Education [CBSE] Complaints & Reviews

Updated: Sep 23, 2025
Complaints 7049

File a complaint to Central Board of Secondary Education [CBSE]

Having problems with Central Board of Secondary Education [CBSE]?

File a complaint and get it resolved by Central Board of Secondary Education [CBSE] customer care. It’s quick, effective and absolutely free!

Central Board of Secondary Education [CBSE] reviews & complaints page 46

First Term 10
Dec 13, 2021

Sir/ Ma'am

With due respect, I would like to inform you that many questions which came in the 10th class term1 English board question paper whose code no. is 002/2/4, series no. is JSK/2 and set no. is 4 were unclear and some questions ' answer key is also wrong declared in the official sites.
I am here mentioning one question which can have more than one option as correct due to its ambiguity.

If you may not understand this so to make my issue understandable to you I would like to cite one example.

Let us assume that once there were two friends, Ramesh and Ganesh . Due to some misconfusion, Ramesh says to Ganesh, " A lady sweeper who comes to our house has a very happy family. They have all the necessities and their children are studying in a prestigious school ". Ramesh had heard wrong from his mother. Actually, his mother had told him about their one of their neighbors but since their names were same he got into misunderstanding. The lady sweeper who came to his house did not have a happy family.

Now, if a question is asked from the above extract as :
Que 1. A lady sweeper who comes to our house has a very happy family .
The statement is:
A) A logical conclusion
B) A piece of good news
C) Ironical
D) A pleasant surprise

I would let the readers to first guess its answer as my efforts would then make a difference.

You may see that the question has a statement which is a piece of good news . It is also ironical in context with that the lady sweeper actually did not have a very happy family in the extract. It 's answer cannot be a logical conclusion and a pleasant surprise.
But if the question is like this:

Que1. " A lady sweeper who comes to our house has a very happy family", said by Ramesh in misunderstanding .
The above statement is:
(A) A Logical conclusion
(B) A piece of good news
(C) Ironical
(D) A pleasant surprise

Its answer cannot be a piece of good news because it is clearly stated that this statement was said in confusion . So, its answer is ironical.

Hence, I conclude with my above example that someone would have understood what I tried to do.

With this, I am mentioning Que 16. o[censored]nseen passage II of Section A of the English term1 question paper.
Que 16. Hazel grouse and ground squirrel are classified as species of least concern.
The statement is:
(A) A logical conclusion
(B) A piece of good news
( C) ironical
(D) a pleasant surprise

Its answer cannot be one of the above options. The first three options suite best as its answer . If someone creates this Que, he/she would not think of clearly mentioning the question but when he/she reads it first time would think that this question in accordance to the options is not clearly mentioned.
Try to read it as you read it first time. So, you will find that it is a logical conclusion as well as a piece of good news.
But if we think that in the passage hazel grouse and ground squirrel are studied as the species of most concern then it could be correct to write its answer also as (c) ironical.
So this unclear question 16 has three options correct : (A), (B) and (C).

If the question was :
Que 16.The hazel grouse and ground squirrel were found to be the most at risk of local extinction but are classified as species of Least Concern Red list of Threatened Species.

The statement is:
(A) An ironical logical conclusion
(B) A piece of good news
(C) Ironical only
(D) A pleasant surprise

Now here, the correct answer is only (A) An ironical logical conclusion.
The options ( B) cannot be correct because the above statement is not a piece of good news. The option (C) is also incorrect because the above statement is not only ironical but also a logical conclusion. The option ( D) is also incorrect because the above statement is not a pleasant surprise.

●So, the correct answers of Que 16. given in the question paper are (A), (B) and ( C) . If only (C) is accepted as correct it would mean the person has hal[censored]nderstood the question.

《《 《 It would not eradicate the "mugging up " conditions in India but conversely, it will increase the hal[censored]se of mind and mugging up of the such type questions' answer. 》》》

Hope my complaint will not go waste. It will be listened by the related experts . I would be highly grateful for acknowledging my efforts.

Yours Faithfully
XYZ
10 other people found this review helpful
10 found this helpful

Sundaram Kumar Singh
    Dec 13, 2021

Address: Khmabeshwari Vihar, Turang, Angul

If a child spent much of his time in reading the passage and did all the answers correct but due to lack of time he was not able to answer other questions correctly then obviously the passage is the cause of the decrease in marks, then there should be an arrangement for this. One should be give grace marks irrespective of the mistake committed by the student because a student might have done the passage correctly but might have answered other questions wrong.
    Yes, it's 100% correct.. Same thing happened to me also...
    Yes, I 100% agree with you. This term 1 was more like a trial of MCQ type board paper rather than actual board paper. CBSE must not risk the students ' future by doing anything uselessly. Sometimes it gives 50 questions to be attempted in 90 minutes and sometimes 55 questions. But actually we have to read all 60 questions in 90 minutes that 25 to 30 pages very fast. Also we cannot cut the box and correct the answer in answersheet . Also there is no extra OMR sheet.
    9 other people found this review helpful
    9 found this helpful

Term 1
      Dec 13, 2021

Dear CBSE
      Please go through these pictures and spend your valuable and precious time for students. We should be given marks

Expecting an answer from your side
      THANKYOU
      +14 photos
      Dec 16, 2021
      Updated by Term 1
      Pls go through these pictures and change the answerkey
      18 other people found this review helpful
      18 found this helpful

Khushi Kumri
        Dec 13, 2021

I am a student of class 10 CBSE board. Please don't give marks for 1st passage.. It's not right.. I had spent my maximum potential to solve that and I did. And because of that I wasn't able to give my time for grammar and literature part.. And my maximum mistake occurs in that part only. And if board will give free marks for passage than its injustice for me.. Please please I request board to please if board will give free marks for passage 1 than please for literature part and grammar part also give some free marks.
        Same here friend. I support u.
        Ayush123@#'s reply, Dec 13, 2021
        Same here
        11 other people found this review helpful
        11 found this helpful

Sundaram Kumar Singh
          Dec 13, 2021

Address: Khmabeshwari Vihar, Turang, Angul

According to the latest circular by the CBSE all students will be getting marks for passage 1 but why did the CBSE didn't make any arrangement for those students who answered correctly in that passage, they should be provided with grace marks in other questions. I kindly request you to look into this matter because we have lots of hope from CBSE, after all no one wants the board exam to go bad for them.
          9 other people found this review helpful
          9 found this helpful

Sumod_Kumar
            Dec 13, 2021

Respected panel of academicians,

I am the guardian of one of the students that attended the CBSE Term 1 Board Examination this year (November - December). I would like to bring to your kind attention some observations on the English Question Paper - in particular.

Exam Date : Dec 11th, 2021
            Question Paper : JSK/1
            Set No. 4
            Code 002/1/4

While we are also extremely appreciative of CBSE for conducting this Term 1 examination in a new format, I would also like to represent the students' view out here.
            In our view, considering this as an examination for which students and their well wishers were putting in a lot of effort - especially during this uncertain period filled with lot of distractions related to Covid 19, Online-Offline classes and so on, some of the questions sounded vague and there were only thin lines between the right option and the rest - especially from the eyes of a 10th Standard student.

About 15 questions (out of 60) sounded vague, /ambiguous / very much subject to interpretation.
            One common pattern was that - in many cases, more than one option sounded to be correct - depending on the perspective.
            Such patterns can be upsetting for students while in the examination hall. Few questions were quite far off in concept in comparison with the model question papers published by CBSE itself.

Let me quote some examples.

Section A (A controversial passage - "Some teenagers live in a world of their own. Various causes can be found for this state of affairs")
            Question 2 : The answer seems to be illogical
            Question 7: Ambiguous
            Question 8 : illogical answer as there is no such reference to arrive at the answer

Section C : Literature
            Question 36 - Option b & c can be correct
            Question 39 : It is an illogical /interpretable question

No mention in the story about Lencho's religion in the passage . It is stated that he has deep and unshaken faith in God. That's all.
            Option B - Wrong (it is clear)
            Option D - .Wrong because Lencho goes to post office on another Sunday also, to inquire about any letter from God and that day itself, he sends another letter to God after collecting paper and pen from the post office officials.
            Option C - could be correct (from a view).

Question number 41 - Option B, C, D are close and three of them can be correct.
            Question number 43 - Options A & C can be correct
            Question number 46 - Option A appears to be most correct
            Question number 56 - Options A and C can be correct. C lacks facts though.
            Question number 60 - A&B can be correct.

Attaching couple of images for your reference

In short, Paper with so many ambiguous Or uncertain answers.
            Maybe, in a descriptive examination it is fine - as students can write their answers and justify their reasoning.
            But in multiple choice, with only 1 answer is perceived correct, this is a tough situation to be in.
            In a sense, it comes across as not testing the knowledge of the students; but their ignorance & luck.

Such a way of testing is really sad - during this pandemic period and hope that the board authorities will consider our concern and do the needful before publishing the results. We hope - the differences in difficulty level among various question papers do not affect the whole results.
            We would even suggest a re-examination if feasible.
            7 other people found this review helpful
            7 found this helpful

First Term 10
              Dec 13, 2021

Sir/Ma'am
              I would like to inform that I encountered many errors in the answer key of term1 English board question paper whose code no. is 002/2/4, series no. is JSK/2 and set no. is 4.

Que2. Of the unseen passage 1 of Section A has its correct answer as only (A) but when it was studied carefully it was found that it can have all the four options as correct . I have provided the proofs supporting every option as appropriate in the images. Please spare some of your very valuable, significant and precious time from your schedule for reading their depth in detail proofs.
              It would be highly appreciated if you consider me one of the honorable citizens of India who really needs the attention and support in this matter of social concern.
              I admit that I am not 100% laborious student, not a topper since nursery, not enrolled in any courses offered by prestigious coaching centers and not genius that whatever I mentioned would be at all correct but the right of asking justice is not given to only brainly and topper students in our constitution.
              Whatever I say here is not to insult anyone's feeling . Please ignore if I did any mistake unknowingly. I don't mean to hurt anyone's sentiments or to blame someone as guilty.

Please apologize me if provided wrong explanation in support of the options as correct.
              I am merely a student who is dependent on your committee of experts for getting the marks which I should have really scored but none of the experts of your committee is somehow ready to stand with me and us where we are really correct concerning the errors in the English answer key of set no. 4 of JSK/2 .
              I hope that this complaint would be read positively and understood.

Yours Faithfully
              XYZ
              6 other people found this review helpful
              6 found this helpful

Term 1
                Dec 13, 2021

ENGLISH ANSWERKEY CLASS 10
                PUBLISHED BY EXPERTS OF CBSE 002/2/2 IS INCORRECT...

1st COMPREHENSION SECTION A
                5th question the correct answer should be option c
                Both the statements are given in the passage para 4

GRAMMAR SECTION
                21st question it can be option a
                Answer can be IF

WRITING SECTION
                26th question answer can be option a, c and d
                According to the question pedestrians are put into trouble, insanitary conditions and health hazard are mentioned.

28th question answer should be option d
                1)LOCATION OF THE WORKSHOP
                2)GARBAGE LITTERED
                3)THE HEALTH HAZARD
                4)PUBLIC INCONVENIENCE
                5)NOISY SURROUNDINGS
                6)ACTION REQUESTED

29th question answer can be a, b and d
                The answer depends...but it cant be option c because even if we re going to shift the workshop the same problems will be caused...

30th question answer should be option b
                It should be Yours Faithfully as writing a letter to an editor is a formal letter

36th question answer should be option b
                YES..Lencho was unhappy, hopeful at the same time he was curious as well because he asked himself "neither god could have denied his request nor God could have made a mistake"...So Lencho was curious...

43rd question answer should be option c
                The tiger terrorizes the village because people have cleared his habitat{forest} for their own basic needs...
                So appropriate answer should be option c

59th question appropriate answer should be option c
                It was quite pleasant working for Anil as he was a simple person should be the right answer...it is even mentioned in the textbook that Anil was a simple and easy going man..

THESE ANSWERS HAS TO BE CORRECT AND ANSWERKEY SHOULD BE CHANGED!!!
                PLS CONSIDER OUR REQUESTS
                EXPECTING AN ANSWER FROM YOUR SIDE CBSE
                THANKYOU
                Dear CBSE
                Please go through these pictures and spare your valuable time for us

EXPECTING AN ANSWER FROM YOUR SIDE
                THANKYOU

Term 1 exams - Comment #3931579 - Image #0
                Term 1 exams - Comment #3931579 - Image #1
                Term 1 exams - Comment #3931579 - Image #2
                Term 1 exams - Comment #3931579 - Image #3
                Term 1 exams - Comment #3931579 - Image #4
                Term 1 exams - Comment #3931579 - Image #5
                Term 1 exams - Comment #3931579 - Image #6
                Term 1 exams - Comment #3931579 - Image #7
                Term 1 exams - Comment #3931579 - Image #8
                Term 1 exams - Comment #3931579 - Image #9
                Term 1 exams - Comment #3931579 - Image #10
                Term 1 exams - Comment #3931579 - Image #11
                Term 1 exams - Comment #3931579 - Image #12
                Term 1 exams - Comment #3931579 - Image #13
                19 other people found this review helpful
                19 found this helpful

Sheetal429
                  from ALLAHABAD, Uttar Pradesh
                  Dec 13, 2021

Address: Jhalwa Prayagraj

Respected Sir/Ma'am
                  The English paper of Class 10th held on 11th Dec was little more tougher then the 10th level and there more than 5 to 6 question which were having more than multiple answers . It was very confusing for us .
                  Please see to it and resolve it .
                  8 other people found this review helpful
                  8 found this helpful

Sheetal429
                    from ALLAHABAD, Uttar Pradesh
                    Dec 13, 2021

Respected Sir/Ma'am
                    Set 002/2/4
                    This is in regard to the English examination that was conducted on 11 th Dec that
                    Q-11 of it can have both option (b) and (c) as correct but in answer key it's only (c) option.
                    Q-35 option (c) can also be a correct answer .
                    Please see to it and resolve it .
                    6 found this helpful

Ayush123@#
                      from Karnal, Haryana
                      Dec 13, 2021

Sir there are more than errors I thought in English exam term 1 answer key provided by you In literature section two option appears correct so it was very confusing for students
                      It was quit tough exam for class 10 level students. So we request you to give grace marks for those questions or conduct exam one again.

Ayush garg(Student in class 10)
                      6 found this helpful

Term 1
                        Dec 13, 2021

Hello cbse, its a request from our side that answerkeys for english should be changed for class 10, 002/2/4 which was held on 11th DEC...In grammar section and literature sections
                        ENGLISH ANSWERKEY CLASS 10
                        PUBLISHED BY EXPERTS OF CBSE 002/2/2 IS INCORRECT...

1st COMPREHENSION SECTION A
                        5th question the correct answer should be option c
                        Both the statements are given in the passage para 4

GRAMMAR SECTION
                        21st question it can be option a
                        Answer can be IF

WRITING SECTION
                        26th question answer can be option a, c and d
                        According to the question pedestrians are put into trouble, insanitary conditions and health hazard are mentioned.

28th question answer should be option d
                        1)LOCATION OF THE WORKSHOP
                        2)GARBAGE LITTERED
                        3)THE HEALTH HAZARD
                        4)PUBLIC INCONVENIENCE
                        5)NOISY SURROUNDINGS
                        6)ACTION REQUESTED

29th question answer can be a, b and d
                        The answer depends...but it cant be option c because even if we re going to shift the workshop the same problems will be caused...

30th question answer should be option b
                        It should be Yours Faithfully as writing a letter to an editor is a formal letter

36th question answer should be option b
                        YES..Lencho was unhappy, hopeful at the same time he was curious as well because he asked himself "neither god could have denied his request nor God could have made a mistake"...So Lencho was curious...

43rd question answer should be option c
                        The tiger terrorizes the village because people have cleared his habitat{forest} for their own basic needs...
                        So appropriate answer should be option c

59th question appropriate answer should be option c
                        It was quite pleasant working for Anil as he was a simple person should be the right answer...it is even mentioned in the textbook that Anil was a simple and easy going man..

THESE ANSWERS HAS TO BE CORRECT AND ANSWERKEY SHOULD BE CHANGED!!!
                        PLS CONSIDER OUR REQUESTS
                        EXPECTING AN ANSWER FROM YOUR SIDE CBSE
                        THANKYOU
                        Term 1's [Complaint's author] reply, Dec 16, 2021
                        Hello sir I request you to pls change the answerkey for English as there are many errors
                        Hello sir pls change the answerkey for English
                        17 other people found this review helpful
                        17 found this helpful

Ayush123@#
                          from Karnal, Haryana
                          Dec 13, 2021

As you solved our problem of first passage but their are still many errors in second passage especially in question no 13 and 14 where no question is printed so it is very confusing for us and there are also many errors in literature section so as you resolved our problem of first passage please resolve this too.

Ayush garg
                          7 found this helpful

Vimal Sajan
                            Dec 13, 2021

In Q. 39, the answer is given as opt. (a) in the answer key, but it is wrong as it has not been mentioned in the chapter whether Lencho was a christian or not.
                            8 found this helpful

Aashima Yadav
                              from Gurugram, Haryana
                              Dec 13, 2021

Address: Laxmi International School

In science class 10th set 4 paper Ques 31: Assertion: Sodium hydrogen carbonate is used as an ingredient in antacids.
                              Reason: NaHCO3 is a mild non corrosive basic salt .
                              According to the answer key sent by cbse it's showing 'B ' as the correct answer that both assertion and reason are correct but is not correct explanation .
                              But it's answer must be 'A' that both Assertion and reason are correct and correct explanation because reason is telling us that NaHCO3 is used as an antacid because it's an mild basic salt and non corrosive also so that it doesn't harm our stomach .
                              8 found this helpful

ALEYAMMA MATHEWS
                                Dec 13, 2021

In Q.43, the answer is given as opt. (c) in the answer key, but the answer should be opt.(a) or opt.(d) as people can admire the looks of a caged tiger as well as can feel safe as it is caged.

In Q.46, the answer is given as opt. (d) in the answer key, but the answer should be opt.(a) as it has been clearly mentioned in the extract that he felt amazed realising that the room was empty(i.e no one was visible in the room)

In Q. 56, the answer is given as opt. (c) in the answer key, but the answer should be opt.(a) as the boy felt sad when he lost his ball.
                                7 found this helpful

First Term 10
                                  Dec 13, 2021

Sir/ Ma'am
                                  With due respect I would like to inform you that are actually many errors in the answer key of class 10 board term 1 English question paper whose question paper code no. is 002/2/4, series no. is JSK/2 and set no. is 4.

I have mentioned their correct answers with their proofs in the image. Please refer to them and spare your very precious time in reading my complaint in the given images.

I would be highly grateful to you for understanding my and many others' problem in this situation which may occur simple and not difficult to you.
                                  But since students learn in schools which have been treated as sacred places it may be the responsibility of one to listen to pure hearted ones.
                                  It is appropriately said that nobody is bad by birth but the atmosphere, the surroundings and the situations are so opposite which persuade them to do wrong.
                                  So, there is a possibility for you to consider that may be the situations are opposite to what you think and that has made the students turn from intolerable ones to bullies.

Kindly listen to my humble request and carefully the question complained in the images provided.

Yours Faithfully
                                  XYZ
                                  8 found this helpful

First Term 10
                                    Dec 13, 2021

Sir/Ma'am

I am here providing the images in which I have described my issue. Please refer to them and understand my complaint. I would be highly grateful to you for your response.

Yours Faithfully
                                    XYZ
                                    8 found this helpful

First Term 10
                                      Dec 13, 2021

Sir/Ma'am

I am providing the images where I have put forward my complaint. Please spare your precious time in reading my complaint given in the image.

XYZ
                                      +7 photos
                                      Dec 16, 2021
                                      Updated by First Term 10
                                      There were really many errors in the term 1 but CBSE is not ready to believe us.
                                      Dec 16, 2021
                                      Updated by First Term 10
                                      Even editors and reporters are suppressed from showing our complaints in newspapers and social media. This is black game.
                                      Dec 16, 2021
                                      Updated by First Term 10
                                      CBSE has provided us very less time for the preparation of term 2 and above that it is not ready to believe any of our complaints.
                                      Dec 16, 2021
                                      Updated by First Term 10
                                      It is very shameful to say that CBSE, the national board of education in India, does not listen and believe our complaints.
                                      Dec 16, 2021
                                      Updated by First Term 10
                                      CBSE did not clear that the answer sheet was not a OMR sheet and also did not explain the invalid and not attempted fillings. It has not really cleared us in many other cases, how we will get marks.
                                      Dec 16, 2021
                                      Updated by First Term 10
                                      Why is CBSE not listening to any of the complaints being sent everyday regarding term 1 errors in the answer keys?
                                      Dec 16, 2021
                                      Updated by First Term 10
                                      Why is CBSE disapproving the requests and complaints sent by principals, expert teachers and laborious students by giving any useless reason ?
                                      7 found this helpful

Divyangana Prajapati
                                        from Aligarh, Uttar Pradesh
                                        Dec 13, 2021

Sir/Ma'am
                                        With due respect, I would like to inform you the I am the student of class 10th and has incurred several errors in the answer key declared in the official site for English term 1 question paper of class 10th whose question paper code no is 002/2/4, series no. is JSK/2 and set no. is 4.
                                        I hereby mention a few of them with their proofs. I would be highly grateful to you if the below given questions are re-read carefully, their answers declared by you are analyzed and correct answers are justified within a considerable amount of time.
                                        If the mistakes pointed out by me are justifiably correct and not ambiguous, their official declaration can be a must and urgent.

● Section A Que II. Que 13. and Que 14.

Their questions were not printed in the question papers distributed. Several others and I, in my school, were informed to leave their responses, * and # blank without any kind of interference unless and until one is sure of what their questions are . They were though attempted by me dreaming and realizing that their questions might be :

'Choose the correct statement. '
                                        Using my odd-one -out logical sense which is used in odd-one-out finding questions in Science subject, this question had more probability to be the actual question of both Que 13. and Que 14.

When I attempted them, I actually found the correct statement out of 4 statements.

● Que 13. Correct answer should be (C)

◇ ' 50% of Europe is covered only with
                                        roads.'

● Que 14. Correct answer should be (C)

◇ ' Number of road-kills depend upon
                                        the population density of small
                                        animals.

■ Option (A) of Que 13. 'While planning roads we should see which species to protect. '

It is wrong because the lives of every species is precious and it becomes no considering to protect specific species of animals while planning roads. This is not the correct measure to prevent animals from road-kills. Also, there is no measure mentioned in the passage to prevent road-kills of animals.
                                        Hence, it becomes clear as transparent that option (A) of Que 13. is incorrect.

■Option (B) of Que13. 'We are doing a lot to protect those most at risk.'

It is wrong because in the passage it is given
                                        ' Despite this, the long-term protection of species is not currently considered when assessing the impact of new roads on wildlife, meaning we risk giving support to only the endangered species, 《 doing nothing to help those at risk》 .'
                                        This cleary states that the option (B) of Que 13. is incorrect as far as we consider that this statement refers to the situation of that in only Europe .

■ Option (C) of Que 13. ' 50% of Europe is covered only with roads.'
                                        It is correct because in the passage it is given
                                        ' Road densities in Europe are among the world's highest, with 50% of the continent within 1.5 km of a paved road or railway. '
                                        Hence, from the above statement, it is clear that the option (C) of Que 13. is absolutely correct at no doubt.

■ Option (D) of Que 13. ' Small animals even with low population density are most at risk.'

It is wrong because in the passage, it is given :
                                        ' They found that small population with 《 high population densities 》 and which mature at an early age were most likely to be killed on roads. '
                                        Hence, I can say that the option ( D) of Que13. is too incorrect.

● And, in Que 14. answer C is correct and since it is also declared by you I need not to prove it.

●●● It can be a matter of concern that neither the questions were printed nor provided by many schools of Que 13. and Que14. I have here brought que 14 and 13 with that perspective too that they were somewhere faulty for creating confusion and intolerance among many students. They can be blamed that they did not imply odd-one-out logical sense but it is unethical for one to say. Those who did not attend these questions on obeying principals and teachers and those who attempted to avoid risk on scores which could have occurred later in the future by incorrigible circumstances 》》》should be ethically awarded marks for both the questions.》》》

》》》And, if keeping moral principles as the soul basis of CBSE organization, their committees should also award them marks unhesistatingly . I would not fear to say that they must and must provide marks being on the position of a moral and sympathetic citizen of India.

So, I conclude that my requests would be listened and I would be grateful to everyone who here supports me.
                                        If the above issue is already rectified by the department, I am highly sorry for bringing it to you and sparing a lot of time on reading this. If my complaint sounds harsh and unpleasant, please forgive me for my below level, as fixed by you, complaint letter writing skills.

Divyangana Prajapati
                                        Class 10th student
                                        7 found this helpful