Show menu
Close
FAQ FAQ Sign in Sign in
Close
ADVERTISEMENT

[Resolved]  BSES Rajdhani — Excessive Billing

Subject: Excess billing against CRN No. [protected]

Against the above connection a complaint was lodged with BSES on account of excessive billing on 12th Aug 2009 and the necessary fee was deposited to facilitate investigation by BSES personnel. In brief, the bill indicated 4145 units consumed during the period July-Aug’ 2009, whereas in comparison, during the previous year the unit consumed were 1465 for the same period. This unfortunate and fatal error in billing occurred despite the fact that no new equipment has been installed in this period in the premises and hence question of increased consumption does not arise. However, in good faith the bill amount of Rs. 18,790/- was deposited in anticipation of retrospective correction at your end.

The excessive billing has started cropping up ever since the new electronic meter has been installed in the month of Dec 2008. For you easy understanding of the situation a tabular presentation of the billing data is appended below:


Period year
2008
A Year 2008
Units Billed
B
Year 2009
Units Billed
C
% increase in billing over year 2008
D
Billing after installation of electronic meters
Jan-Feb 641 683 6%
Mar-Apr 515 827 60%
May-Jun 974 2671 174%
Jul-Aug 1465 4145 182%
Sep-Oct 1015 2464 142%
Nov-Dec 1015 NA
Electronic meter installed on 13th Dec 2008

From the above table it would be clear without doubt that the BSES electronic meters are faulty and inaccurate and are a cause of great “harassment and anxiety” to its consumers. Please refer to column D to see the percentage increase in billing over the previous period.

On 26th Aug’ 09 a personnel from BSES reported at site and after checking the meter declared the same as defective and replaced it.

As of date not only the agony of excessive billing continues even after the replacement of the defective meter but on top of that BSES has not taken cognizance of the complaint made on 12th Aug, 2009 while issuing the bill for the month of Oct’09, copy enclosed and marked as annexure C. The current bill shows 2464 units consumed during Sep-Oct’ 09 as compared to 1015 units consumed in the previous year during the same period, an increase of 142% in consumption, which is absurd and illogical.

I therefore seek help of this forum to resolve this matter which is a cause of great anxiety and harrassment.
ADVERTISEMENT
Complaint marked as Resolved Aug 14, 2020
Complaint comments  4 CommentsShareTweet

Comments

Personal — over billing

Dear Sir,

I have recieved tel (with broad band inter net connection) bill for month of january 2009 that charged miscellaneous debits 9201/Rs we all are socked we never used like this huge timing we suspect some one used our iinternet connection by hacks or some illegal method so kindly request you send detail of billing amount whichever numbers dialed whenever used, whereever used already I paid that bill amount and disconnected internet line.Tel No[protected] Subcriber Name Halima Beevi H Mashaik Street, Nidur post 609203 Mayiladuthurai Taluk CRDA TELECOM DISTRICT, KUMBAKONAM Bill No- T[protected] Consumer No-[protected] Exange Code MMNID Subscriber is my mother.
Inflated Electricity Bill, New K. No: 2550 L527 0340, CRN No [protected]


Dear Sir,


This is to bring to your kind notice that my electricity bill is highly inflated for the last 5-6 months which is putting me under a lot of financial constraint. Each time for fear of disconnection and want of time, I have been making the payment hoping that it would be the provisional bill and the next time the bill would be as per actuals only to be mistaken.


It appears that the meter is faulty and it makes no difference whether the resident is using A.C. or not or even if there is minimum consumption as the bill seems to be generated at some random number. The statistics over the last one year is given below which would be indicative enough for you to analyse the faulty meter reading:-

S.No. Bill Date No. o[censored]nits Consumed

1. October ‘08 418

2. December ‘08 582

3. February ‘09 786

4. April ‘09 596

5. June ‘09 1752

6. August ‘09 1820

7. Oct ‘09 1063


I would request you to personally intervene into this matter and ensure that due justice is done and I am compensated for the highly inflated bills over the last six months. I have made repeated email complaints to ceo, BSES but it was futile and have also given a written complaint at Divisional Office for testing of meter.

These grievances should be addressed at the earliest.
CA#[protected] Electricity Bill for August 2009
Sir,

1.This is with reference to BSES letter no VP/BRPL/[protected]/8/38 dated 4/09/09.

2. Pl note that this is my third unanswered grievance note to your department on the a/m matter

3. GRIEVANCE A: I am in complete disagreement with calculations and Billing done for the months of Aug and Sep 2009. The total Sum being Billed to me for Jul- Aug as per your letter and Bills received thereof are for Rs 9475/- which is absurd especially since we were travelling out of station during a large portion of the above duration. It very clearly seems that BSES is trying to make money at the cost of the consumers. I would immediately demand a refund of the money which has already been paid to your office through ECS. As per your letter you are passing off the excessive billing of Aug 2009 due to part payment of July 2009. However, the entire amount billed is almost double of what it should be even after catering for the 10pc end of Govt subsidy.

4. GRIEVANCE B: In addition to the above Bill, I find that most of my bills in the last 6 months are more than 150 pc higher than what they were in the previous year. I would like an immediate check to be done of my electronic meter since it is clearly defective and excess amounts paid by me to be adjusted against future payments.

5. The matter of excessive billing is of a very serious nature and is causing extreme anxiety and harassment. Also seeing the lackadaisical attitude of your department I am immediately stopping ECS payments until the above matters are resolved to satisfaction.

Rgds
May 24, 2010


BSES Rajdhani Power Limited
New Delhi


Sir,

Subject: Excess billing against CRN No. [protected]


In connection with the above I would like to inform you the following:

1. The average monthly consumption as per previous bills is 62 units per month, which is tabulated below and the bill for the same is being paid regularly.

2. Meter reading is being taken regularly by BSES representative.

From the above it is quite clear that I am a genuine customer.

Being the genuine customer, today, on 21.05.2010, two officials from BSES visited to site and told that my connection is to be disconnected due to non-payment of bill, since neither I have received any bill nor any notice from the BSES. Now I printed the bill from internet and found it is showing total units consumed is 8207 in 4 months i.e. from Jan.10 to May 10, whereas in comparison during the previous 27 months unit consumed were 1683.

This unfortunate and fatal error in billing occurred despite the fact that no new equipment has been installed during this period in the premises and hence question of increased consumption does not arise.

For your easy understanding of the situation a tabular presentation of the billing data is appended below:

Period Unit Consumed

31.10.07 to 02.01.08 116
02.01.08 to 27.02.08 65
27.02.08 to 29.04.08 92
29.04.08 to 01.07.08 133
01.07.08 to 29.08.08 153
29.08.08 to 25.10.08 231
25.10.08 to 24.12.08 175
24.12.08 to 18.02.09 96
18.02.09 to 28.04.09 144
28.04.09 to 26.06.09 168
26.06.09 to 04.09.09 0 (Shown 0 but billed for Rs.1239.83)
04.09.09 to 03.11.09 185
03.11.09 to 01.01.10 125
------
27 months consumption- 1683

Monthly average = 1683/27 = 62


01.01.10 to 22.02.10 Bill not received
22.02.10 to 03.05.10 8207/4 months = 2051 Monthly average

From the above table it would be clear without any doubt that the BSES meter is faulty and inaccurate. From the bills it is also clear that reading is being taken regularly. Hence, it is totally an inaccurate and illogical figure.

I therefore, request you to please correct the bill and also please check and repair the faulty meter.

Thanking you,

Yours faithfully,



(SUNDER SINGH)
S/o Late Shri Shoraj
57-B, G/F F/P
Khizrabad,
New Friends Colony,
New Delhi
ADVERTISEMENT

Post your Comment

    I want to submit Complaint Positive Review Neutral Comment
    code
    Customer satisfaction rating
    35%
    Complaints
    1016
    Pending
    0
    Resolved
    360
    Rajdhani / Yamuna Power [BSES ] Phone
    +91 11 3009 9999
    Rajdhani / Yamuna Power [BSES ] Address
    Substation Bldng, Near Town Hall, New Delhi, India - 110006
    ADVERTISEMENT