Tamil Nadu Electricity Board [TNEB] Complaints & Reviews

Updated: Feb 17, 2026
Complaints 6294

File a complaint to Tamil Nadu Electricity Board [TNEB]

Having problems with Tamil Nadu Electricity Board [TNEB]?

File a complaint and get it resolved by Tamil Nadu Electricity Board [TNEB] customer care. It’s quick, effective and absolutely free!

Tamil Nadu Electricity Board [TNEB] reviews & complaints page 176

Dhamathoty Srinivasan
from Kaveripattinam, Tamil Nadu
Jul 2, 2019

Address: 600062

Sir, i d. Srinivasan residing at no.5 parijatham street, annanur chennai 600062 do hereby complaint that there is a frequent power failure in my locality for the last one week. If there is no power supply for 1hour or 2 hours is bearable but it is continuining further till 6 am morning. I rang up several numbers[protected],[protected], [protected] many times but no one is interested in sorting out in a timely manner.in my house small children are suffering. I hope proper action will be against this frequent power failure.
D srinivasan
Tamil Nadu Electricity Board [TNEB] customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.

Kumaresh Pazhani
    Jul 1, 2019

Address: 19/18, SECOND STREET, SAMDHARIYA NAGAR, AMBATTUR, Chennai, Tamil Nadu, 600053

This is pazhani.s staying in ambattur (murugan theatre backside). This complaint is to change the Eb post near my house which may fall at any situation and looking to be at worst condition. I request you to take faster action as fast as possible. In case if it falls and lead to accident the full responsibility is to be taken by TNEB department due to improper maintanance.
    I have attached my phone number and address for your reference. Please take the following action as soon as possible.

Phone No: [protected]/[protected]
    Address: No 19/18, Second Street, Samdhariya Nagar Ambattur, Chennai-53
    Jul 1, 2019
    i have also made complaint on tneb whatsapp care now for faster action
    Tamil Nadu Electricity Board [TNEB] customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.
    15/05/19 my last payment date, but i am not payed, am payed went to eb office they not accepted and return back and payed force him to 16/06/19 new reading also, so 12500 schedule payments payed, but bill copy 5961 only given, for one month payment only bill received, balance money not return to my father.

rathinaselvam
      Jul 1, 2019

Eb meter fixed in my home seems to be running fast. Last time i was been charged for rs1100 and this time rs 3760. Hence complaint was raised in tneb website thrice in last 2 months but the issue was not sorted out still. Though the complaint was closed by paruthipattu ae with some invalid justification.

Complaint number - [protected] escalated on 26/04/2019
      Complaint number - [protected] escalated on 07/05/2019
      Complaint number - [protected] escalated on 24/06/2019

I have even went and saw the ae in person last week but he did not sent any technician to inspect or nor took any steps to replace the faulty eb meter. Ae's response was totally not satisfactory.

Nivetha Roam
        from Puducherry, Puducherry
        Jun 30, 2019

Address: TNEB , Krishnapuram, 621103

Greetings from customer i'm lived in a vengalam village dr. Ambethkar street i have to complained more than twelve times regarding illegally used free current service but still now not response from tneb krishnapuram office. (In my near neighbouring house people having tneb free service but they have to used illegally borewell motor and other uses so that only my home electronic appliances totally damaged because of low voltage i have depressed so much also economically so please could rapid solution otherwise i would file a complaint in highcourt against tneb)

pisaejayaprakash
          Jun 30, 2019

Address: 600078

It has become a regular event for disruption of power supply in and around 9th sector, 52nd street and surrounding streets in k. K. Nagar during night time. Only about 20 houses face this problem while other houses in the same street have the supply which is hard to understand. There is a problem in communicating the situation to the fuse call centre or 1912 as the telephones remain disconnected. Representation to the chairman's office also say that we have to contact only 1912 while this number remains off the line. The chairmans office remain unhelpful and they are not responsible for it.

The standard reply when contacted in person is feeder failure or tripping.

If a problem is a persisting one can't they find a permanent resolution of the long pending issue or those responsible should address the route cause to find a permanent solution?

Needless to say power supply is an essential service which is being paid for on dot
          Jayaprakash

rajambal@1962
            Jun 29, 2019

Address: 23, Kannaki nagar, 4th street, Korattur, chennai-80., Chennai, Tamil Nadu, 600080

Our company fluid control services at 23, kannaki nagar, 4th street. Korattur chennai-80. Cmwssb ppl broken our electric cable during pipe installation.
            There is no power from 28.06.19 at 9am.
            Eb ppl told him to correct it by cmw ppl.
            Please solve our problem. There is huge lose of my company due to power failure. Please take necessary action.

Arye Astaria
              Jun 29, 2019

Address: TNEB,MMDA, Arumbakkam,chennai-600106, 600106

I am d. Innoceng rakkini with consumer no[protected], arumbakkam, chennai-106, tamil nadu. I registered a complaint on 5th june, 2019 in tneb website regarding excess billing which is 5 times more than my normal bill amount and i doubt malfunction of our digital meter which was installed during october, 2018. Since no action was taken till then, on 17 th june i visited our area ae personally and explained my situation. Though she said she will take action by using a check meter, till now no action has been taken and i meet them in person everyday regarding this complaint. My bill due date is over and since no action has been taken on my complaint for more than25 days, i am unable to pay my bill. I am afraid that my service might be disconnected if my bill is not paid sooner. Kindly rectify this issue as earliest as possible.

Sasikala Ramesh
                Jun 29, 2019

My tenant was using the tneb online payment option. Now he has vacated and and the new tenant has to change the user id and password for online bill payment.
                Any attempt to change the id has proved to be futile and moreover the information is going to the already registered mail id of my old tenant
                . Kindly do the needful

Ramesh

Raje@
                  Jun 29, 2019

Address: Subramaniyapuram, 607301

Respected sir, we are applying single phase connection in our own house last 4 weeks before. Already we paid rs.3000. Still they want another rs.1000. Really we are very hard to earn this money. I have two children also they are studying school,. Pls help to advise what i need to do. Pls help us thank you. If any direct contact pls let us know...,...

Jun 28, 2019

Address: Erode, Tamil Nadu

we applied the tatkal self-financing scheme (17-18) for the 7.5 hp Agriculture purpose. on[protected].
                    connection number 360-09/11-334. recept number ERG360AR2D1500

till now we not got the connection almost one year completed.
                    attached recept details for your reference request you help me to get the connection as soon as possible.

Raju
                    raju.geethan.[protected]@gmail.com

Krishna Madhava
                      Jun 27, 2019

Address: 600014

In royapettah balaji nagar 1st street opposite to jaya complix our eb main line wire four core has been punched due to careless laying by the eb ppl and it's fillps or burst whenever rains fall. The main cable is very visible on road. Eb ppl are giving a permanent solution. And more over for asking bribe from each time. I have the guy's name.. Dnt want to mention. He asks even for selicon eb tape also which too bad. Why they are been paid salary... But they are behind money bribe. Plz see into this matter at once if any one of you really gueuine. Hope i will soultion.
                      Respected sir.
                      I'm living in vivekandhar 2nd st, kottivakkam, chennai. Here we are facing continuous power cut from past 4 days. Sir, we have little kids on this area, who can't manage this and crying... Please help to solve this sir. l. Thank you for your help sir.

Maheraj
                        Jun 26, 2019

Address: 148/ 2 Mettu street ayanavaram, Chennai, Tamil Nadu, 600023

D/sir
                        We are residing at ayanavaram mettu street, everyday power failure in our area. Once power gone eb office phone always not reachable and we tried no response from them. Today also 26.06.19 5p. M power gone other side houses power have been given at 9 p. M but ours not yet connected till 10.15p. M. As of now we tried no response
                        Mahesh
                        Jun 26, 2019
                        Updated by Maheraj
                        as of now no power and no response from EB
                        Jun 26, 2019
                        Updated by Maheraj
                        everyday we suffered a lot for power cut
                        Jun 26, 2019
                        Updated by Maheraj
                        Nobody not taken care in this regard
                        Jun 26, 2019
                        Updated by Maheraj
                        What is use for complaint given any action or rectify

Janaki Rajasekaran
                          Jun 26, 2019

Address: 5/118,ANNA NAGAR,KALLATHUR,621803, 621803

I'm writing this letter kallathur from ariyalur district. Our eb office is located in jayankondam. We have faced uninformed power cut frequently if its one or two hours we aren't complaining, now we have faced 12 hours power cut. About this issue we have complained already to ae and some other eb employees.

The employee's told so many reason for power cut, whatever the reason is they should resolve it. Seriously our people are struggling a lot. Especially school going kids, they can't concentrate on their studies due to lack of sleep.

More then 12 hours power cut is serious issue in our village. We need immediate action on this.
                          Sir/Mam
                          Am living in perungalathur, peerkankarani, Kancheepuram. We are experiencing frequent power cuts at unusual times. We have been working all the day and trying to fall asleep at night when we are experiencing this in this kind of hot summer days. Its horrible daily. Please look into this complaint and do us a favour.

Thank you!
                          Power cuts for more than 4 hours. No response from local eb office -kilkkattalai

Karim Motho Sam
                            from Sivakasi, Tamil Nadu
                            Jun 25, 2019

Address: sanguthirtam street rukmani kolam mannargudi, Tiruvarur, Tamil Nadu, 614001

I'm from thirvarur dist mannargudi tk temporary address at rukmani kolam. It's complaint against the electricity board mannargudi. Always we have the fuse disconnected again and again but the working staffs never come to recover the problems. And never they pick the phone calls of complaints. And in night hour's never take the calls. U can check it in night hours contact number is[protected].
                            Pls do the needful actions to the working staffs who are in night shift duty.
                            K kannan

Benedictreno JB
                              Jun 25, 2019

Address: Plot No 32, LIG 1, TNHB Colony, 3rd Street, Velachery, Chennai -42, Chennai, Tamil Nadu, 600042

Rever tneb consumer number:[protected]Velachery-chennai), i have created new user id pw via online to pay eb bill amount but for more than a week the user id doesn't activated. Provided necessary information at the time of new user registration. So, kindly help to activate user id:[protected] to pay eb bill through online as per said time. Any further requirement, please let me know via registered mobile number (Contact)-thanks
                              Our digital meter suddenly started malfunctioning and the electricity charges has gone from average of 900 rupees to 6000 rupees. kindly do the needful. Our service number is[protected]. my residential address as follows. n. Balajee. d/69, gopalakrishna appartments, nethaji road, srirengam, trichy -620006. mobile number:[protected]
                              Rama Subramaniam Nageswaran's reply, Jun 20, 2019
                              Our digital meter suddenly started malfunctioning and the electricity charges has gone from average of 900 rupees to 6000 rupees. kindly do the needful. Our service number is 06-270-011-701. my residential address as follows. n. Balajee. d/69, gopalakrishna appartments, nethaji road, srirengam, trichy -620006. mobile number: 9487517317
                              I am living in keelkatalai and we are facing frequent power cut at night between 10 pm to 1 pm

It's really hard for working people and prevent women's during the night. It would be great if required action is taken.

Our area it o we taken by madipakkam TNEB

THANKS IN ADVANCE

vivek
                              Chennai Medvakkam Nehru Nagar 1st Street we are always having power cut due low voltage. It happened some houses in the same street. Need your support to solve the asap sir.

Ramesh N
                                Jun 25, 2019

Address: MBT Road , Ramapuram village , Kadaperi - Vellore Distric, Vellore, Tamil Nadu, 6325

For urgent purpose i was requested early for temporary service, i was completed that house works and all, that service i no need, i was requested for remove on that service so many month before, that's not done still, i was requested kaveripakkam eb office, each and every activity they requested money for that, if not then that will have pending so many month, they reply having work and all, i was requested to je officer on that eb office still not completed for me on my house work..
                                Dear Madam/Sir,

I have applied for 3 phase connection on 30.05.19 AND PAID 6589 RS until today there is no connection given even though there is enough electricity post.
                                There is RI is telling there is no Meters available. Every time when I go there he ask me to come next day. It’s almost 20+ Hassle days now.

Kindly do the needful

Ranjith Kumar Raghu
                                  Jun 25, 2019

Address: Cholapuram, 600053

There is no proper power facility in ambattur cholapuram area. Always power failure and low voltage. People cont live in this area with kids and all. Government just watching all and being simply. If we call to ambattur eb office. No one will pick the call. Lots and lots of flats are presented in this cholapuram area and no transformer are fix to handle the power supply.

I think i'm just speaking here. Dono who will take up this complaint in this nation!!
                                  Since last ten years waiting for Agriculture free EB connection but as on date no response from TNEB department.we have been visited many times there are not responponed.

Name of applicant: Jagatheeswaran
                                  Application no: 30666
                                  For the past one week we are experiencing power cut in the night between 10 pm to midnight 1. Why we do not know. Please check and rectify the problem as the night sleep is must for everyone.
                                  We are highly pissed off with the late night power cuts of the TNEB. Its happening daily around 10pm and lasts till 1pm to 2pm.. I don't know what actions these ppl are taking on the TNEB. There no mechanism to track the accountability o[censored]nschedule power cuts .
                                  Vyasarpadi 8th St s.a colony, sharmanagar, ch39 last two hours power in my area. no one take a phone call.. Please send any electricians immediately..

Sathya Balachandar
                                    Jun 25, 2019

mangadu frequent power cut

Address: 600122

Very worst electricity distribution in kanatchi amman nagar, mangadu, near gangai amman kovil stop, due to frequent power cut childrens are suffered a lot, whole night they cut the power supply how can we sleep, low voltage problem also there for that also no response, no proper channel of contact numbers to contact them and also the staffs are not giving proper reply for the queries raised. I have raised so many concerns for frequent power...
                                    17 other people found this review helpful
                                    17 found this helpful
                                    n.mani kandan
                                    Jun 25, 2019

Very worst electricity distribution in pallavan nagar maduravoyal due to frequent power cut problems occurring more oftenly. No proper channel of contact numbers to contact them and also the staffs are not giving proper reply for the queries raised. I have raised so many concerns for frequent power cuts but no action taken on it.
                                    Tneb services need to improve a lot.. Very poor service.

VISHNUYACHAS
                                      Jun 24, 2019

Address: 600088

I live in nilamangai nagar, adambakkam. Many a times i have submitted complaint through this forum regarding unannounced powercuts for hours together daily especially during evening or night (That too only after 10pm) in our area. The voltage of supplied power also is low always. While the minister maintains that there is no powercut at all in tamil nadu, i don't know why they cut power daily in our area for hours together causing lot of agony to everybody. Won't the higher authorities take immediate action. Lots of flats are coming up and the transformer capacity is still the same. We want relief from powercuts in this area. Will authorities take swift action?