Tamil Nadu Electricity Board [TNEB] Complaints & Reviews

Updated: Nov 17, 2025
Complaints 6284

File a complaint to Tamil Nadu Electricity Board [TNEB]

Having problems with Tamil Nadu Electricity Board [TNEB]?

File a complaint and get it resolved by Tamil Nadu Electricity Board [TNEB] customer care. It’s quick, effective and absolutely free!

Tamil Nadu Electricity Board [TNEB] reviews & complaints page 224

Balakrishnanfrommadurai
Dec 11, 2017

Address: Madurai, Tamil Nadu, 625101

We have requested tneb so karungalakudi officers to replace damaged electric pole which is center of our village. As usual our officials simply taken the request letter but not taking any single step to resolve the issue. We think the officials will come to that premises only if people die from pole accident. We don’t why they are being like this. We hope the necessary steps will taken for the same and prevent us from artificial death.

Place: k. Kovilpatty
Kambur post
Melur taluk
Karungalakudi via
Madurai district
Pin: 625101
Tamil Nadu Electricity Board [TNEB] customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.
Paid Rs 650 bill from ICICI account. Amount debited in bank & transaction successl.TNEB shows transaction as Failed.when the amount will be refunded.?

Srinivasan Pl
    Dec 11, 2017

Address: 600017

There was a power failure in my house alone one month ago. Eb people came and made a temporary connection using cable drawing current from another line in a nearby house. They have not rectified the problem and the cable is lying outside posing danger to public and children. Kindly rectify the problem.
    Service no.[protected]
    No.15/16a, sivasailam street, t. Nagar
    P. Elumalai
    Tamil Nadu Electricity Board [TNEB] customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.

The power shutdown on 03hrs. What is the reasons.

terasa
      from Nagercoil, Tamil Nadu
      Dec 10, 2017

Address: Kanyakumari, Tamil Nadu

Dear sirs,

The concrete electric post at south street, karankadu, paraseri distribution unit, thuckalay e b sub division, kanyakumari district, with numbers 28/5/2, 10/74/, 8m/civil/tky/tneb/190/310398, 03/99/04/4, f ii/61, was badly damaged during the ockhi cyclone on 30.11.2017. The concrete electric post was broken on top, having cracks over the body, some parts withered and is waving. Four houses are at present getting electric connection through the post. The post is lying on a public path way and near a public water distribution outlet. The place where the post stands is surrounded by households also.

On 08.12.2017 some staff came and told they are going to replace the damaged electric concrete post with new one. However after some time they left without doing any work. On 09.12.2017, again some staff came but did not attend this work. When asked, two e b officials, executive engineer and an ad who were on the spot told that the particular electric post is in their list to be replaced, new electric post is also brought near the location, however they are not changing the post now, because they are under pressure to give electric connection to day (09.12.2017) itself and they do not have sufficient time for replacing the electric post and also that the concrete electric post is situated in a narrow lane. They further told that the particular electric post will not fall for about another three months and will be replaced by local t n e b staff. Other damaged post on the line was replaced and the fallen electric wires were fixed by them.

However the street light line was dismantled up to post number 10/75 and was not fixed on the posts.

We are without electricity from 29.11.2017 night to till now 10.12.2017 10.55 p m.

Please arrange to replace the damaged concrete electric post referred to above with a new electric post to prevent any loss or mishappenings; please restore the street light connections and please give electricity to our houses.

G pragasam

Manoharan V Adv
        Dec 10, 2017

Address: 631502

I am residing at no.109. Salai street, kancheepuram. I am having electricity service connections in my premises bearing service connection no.[protected]. Iam always paid the electricity bill through online from the date of inception itself. Now more than one year in our town, in online account summary and others have not been functioning, but in rural and other area it has been functioning.in this connections asked concerned asst enginner, he replied and accepted that in town it has been not functioning and further inform me that i will approach you for further relief. Hence i lodged this complaint for taking necessary action. Because of the not working the account summary i could not be in position to seen the earlier details, and also could not found the mistake committed by the reading assessor. Hence i expect from you to rectify the defect in a speedy manner.

padhalam
          Dec 9, 2017

eb low voltage in house

Address: 629156

After the cyclone (Okchi) we are get current after ten days that no problem i am under stand the situation.. But now after one day our area the two phases are low voltage due to ht fuse failure condition i am inform to (Palliyadi eb office) eb person, je, and the land line no also. Till the complaint not rectified. First they are telling, ok we should rectify the complaint, now they are not attending the phone. Totally no responding, today...
          A Jemela
          Dec 8, 2017

For the past ten days there has been power failure in our area chekkaravilai in mondaikadu, kanyakumari district due to cyclone ochki. Though power failure has been resolved in most of our neighbouring areas only our area didn't get back the power supply. I made calls to the eb department and they asked me to register a complaint through online. Kindly look after this issue and do the needful as soon as possible.
          Since two days only 2phase current is there and there is no responce from eb . we called several times there didnt attend our call because of two phase current, bank atm machine are error and ac is not working

Manoj jhambar
            from Kottayam, Kerala
            Dec 7, 2017

Address: Chennai, Tamil Nadu, 600024

Consumer no.[protected]
            S. Mahaveer
            I had submitted surrenderletter of old meter also given application for temporary connection for the construction at my address. Tneb delayed to replace meter. They have charged excess though my usage is average rs4000 bimonthly. On request to reverse i was forced to pay to avoid disconnection.
            Pls help
            Sir I usually paid eb bill 700-1000 but this month eb bill is 4900 rupees I went to ask sithalapakkam eb office but the eb officer is not giving any responce and the eb officer told whatever bill in the card u want to pay .even the officer did not see eb card so please resolve my problem sir
            I paid my bill due to BHIM -TNEB Mobile App Option . My bank account got debited but TNEB Shows over due. pls rectify the problem and credit my amount back. transaction details - Date[protected]:46:04 PM by UPI Ref No[protected] consumer number:[protected]
            Respected Sir, I'm suresh. In my house usually no bill was generated upto October-2017.But, December-10-2017 was billed Rs. 970. But, October Month, 2017 final reading is 550, And Today(December, 10, 2017) reading is 637. Current consumption is 87 unit's only(87 unit is less than 100 unit). I don't know they are billed. Please, register my complaint. CONSUMER NUMBER: [protected].
            CONSUMER NAME:ANNA MUTHU.

Pravin shelton
              Dec 7, 2017

The previous tenant has created online payment login and didn't share the details while leaving the house. Now i am not able to pay online as it is still pointing to the old tenant email id for username and password reactivation.

It is very difficult since we do not have the login details for online payment.
              Kindly look into this and resolve it.

Emailid: [protected]@gmail.com

Thank you in advance.

karty karthick
                Dec 6, 2017

Address: 600042

I have found that twice in a week night/day time there is no current and no response from any of the eb person. This is only happening in our area (Selaivayal_bhadharagiri nagar). I am with my family and my baby is not at all sleeping because we dont know when they are cutting the eb. Twice in a week it happening that also 8 to 10 hours.
                Dec 06, 2017
                Updated by karty karthick

I have found that twice in a week night/day time there is no current and no response from any of the EB person. This is only happening in our area(Selaivayal_Bhadharagiri Nagar). I am with my family and my baby is not at all sleeping because we dont know when they are cutting the EB. Twice in a week it happening that also 8 to 10 hours.
                Dec 06, 2017

I have found that twice in a week night/day time there is no current and no response from any of the EB person. This is only happening in our area(Selaivayal_Bhadharagiri Nagar). I am with my family and my baby is not at all sleeping because we dont know when they are cutting the EB. Twice in a week it happening that also 8 to 10 hours.
                Dec 06, 2017

I received a mail saying my Online Account has been deleted as another person requested to register.

This is unfair to delete my account without my consent and now I have lost all my payment histories.
                Street light not functioning in villupuram housing board area, magadevan nagar, srinvasa nagar, east pondy road villupuram.

Shanthi Sendilkumar
                  Dec 6, 2017

Address: 600024

Consumer no[protected]. We had submitted a letter stating house locked to ae of madhavaram. Subsequent to that we found that meter was not working and the ae approved change of meter after our written request. Only from nov-17 house is occupied but they have updated card with exorbitant amount. How can they charge when house was locked. Request correction. Staff are very rude when approached with complaint
                  Dec 06, 2017
                  Updated by Shanthi Sendilkumar
                  Consumer no[protected]. Had submitted letter stating house locked in Jan-17 to AE of Madhavaram. Anybody can check with neighbours on locked state. Later during painting work found meter was not working. Submitted letter to AE who approved change of meter. House was occuped only from Oct-17 house. But based on wrong updation at TNEB end, exorbitant amount is updated for payment, quoting faulty meter, not considering house was locked. During discussion, found staff very rude and being forced to pay. Request correction in amount.

Trent001
                    Dec 6, 2017

Address: Kanyakumari, Tamil Nadu, 639163

Due to cyclone ockhi, the area faced a lot of destruction and it took them around 5 days to turn the power on. Now only for our house there is no power for the last three days. Some cable seems to be cut at the post. Our house owner called the line man for the last 3 days. He is keep on telling like i will come, but no one turned. I don't know why he is not turning up. His name is xavier. We are not without power for 5+3=8 days. No water supply, cant do anything, living in dark. What is this, such a poor response. Because of such a person the entire tneb gets black remarks. If he is not willing, it should have been informed, so we will take another step. When power connection is given it is his duty to check whether all houses under the service got the power back or not. Even when informed, nothing happened. Is this the way to respond? Poor service. Today house owner is going to complaint against this matter with je. Lets see what will happen. Please do something on this.
                    Thanks in advance...
                    [protected] srinivasan chinnamolapalayam .sir my house with out electricity in last 15 days i will complain in over local line man and over eb bill payment office but still now no action and also I call back Tha line man in our area unwanted wordes are used.i complain register complain note but no visit but I am second time complain register but first time register problm sloved in recorded the note but still no . pls rectifiy over problem in quickely
                    Our locality has not working street lights which cause greater disturbances for public and vehicles.so please replace those lights as soon as possible.

ADDRESS:

ELANGO NAGAR, 1 ST STREET, T.N.K. PURAM (NORTH), TIRUPUR.

Sreeja Ajith
                      Dec 5, 2017

Address: Kanyakumari, Tamil Nadu, 629174

This is to inform you that our district kanyakumari is affected by ockhi cyclone on nov 30. Til now there is no power in certain areas (Azhagiamandapam, thiruvithancode etc). Why this much of delay sir? We're so much affected because of power failure in our areas.in our area lot of posts were damaged because of d gusty winds. But til now no work is going on here. Noone is ready to curb the menace in our area. For the past six days, because of power failure we're facing insufficient drinking water, no fud even in shops also, no lights. There was no rain for five days. Then why this much of delay in work sir? I kindly request you to curb this menace as early as possible in azhagiamandapam and thiruvithancode.
                      Dec 05, 2017
                      Updated by Sreeja Ajith
                      Iam from kanyakumari district.in our area there is no power for more than 6 days sir. They were providing power for main cities and in main roads. We were staying in rural areas in thiruvithancode (Melakonam paraicode). Here they were not doing aany work sir. Lot of posts gets damaged due to the cyclone. Still no work is going on till now. Why this much of delay in work sir? We were running our lives in the darkness for 6 days sir. I request you to kindly resolve this issue as early as possible.
                      it has now become a regular habit that in almost 30 days in a month there is no power for more than 15 days in our office premises, it is really sick, they if we complain they state either problem with cable or transformer for every alternative days we have so fed up to the extent of you pushing us to vacate

Edwin Charles Jerome
                        Dec 4, 2017

Address: Chennai, Tamil Nadu, 600044

Today morning there was a metro water digging happened in front of our apartment. We informed them to be careful, coz of the underground electric line connected to our apartment. Asusual they were very careless. We paid eb for there fault. It cost as 3000 something. We wont pay next month eb bill. Unless we r refunded from metro water. If eb comes to pull of the fuse. We vil take severe action against them. We are so angry with them for there carelessness..

From chromepet.

Harihara Ramasubramanian
                          Dec 4, 2017

Address: 600114

On24th november2017i have made tneb payment through icici bank and got debited of rs.2506, but in tneb webite it shows transaction got failed. Kindly find the payment details — transaction number generated is — [protected]. Kindly provide solution and do the needful.

Service number:[protected]

With regrads
                          Harihara ramasubramanian

PB Raj
                            Dec 4, 2017

Address: 614028

Dear officer,

Electric post on road since 3 years... Recendly people went to lot accident during night time. So i request you to kindly take action to replace this post to another side...

Electric post locations
                            Melathiruppalakkudi
                            Mannargudi taluk
                            Thiruvarur dt
                            Pin-614028
                            Undervullikottai electric board

Pbraj
                            Mainroad
                            Mekathiruppalakkudi

niyazahmed68
                              Dec 3, 2017

Address: Chennai, Tamil Nadu, 600014

This is to bring to your kind notice that the pillar located outside out house is of loose connection, due this loose connection some time we get only two phase, hence kindly take action in tightening the nut and bolts connecting the three phase cable in the pillar to get uninterpreted power supply to our house.
                              Address: 144/87 jani jan khan road, royapettah, chennai -600014.
                              My self Vinoth there is power cut problem daily at my home daily I am calling to the Natrampalli Eb office but there is no response, at present.My family suffering due to the power cut in our area. Kindly do the needful.

Address
                              Bayanapalli X Road
                              Velakalnatham
                              Bangalore to Chennai Main Road
                              Natrampalli

My Consumer No is [protected]. I have received excess billing amount of Rs 2822.00 stating CC Arrears. I have paid the amount, but please provide more information about this charge and why am I charged. I have been paying all my due on time, this is the first time I am being charged like this.
                              My EB number is[protected]
                              For past two days current is not proper in our house. Even we informed to the line man but he is not responding properly.
                              Due to this we are suffering a lot in night time.
                              I kindly request you to solve the problem as soon as possible.

Sherin Dhas
                                from Idukki, Kerala
                                Dec 1, 2017

Sir this is Sherin from Marthandam KK dist. Because of the cyclone there is no current in our place for the past two days. As of today there is no rain. They didn't start a single work today. And some are saying it will take one week for the current to come. It's hard to be without current. Because we don't have water. There is no shop. No lights at home. Kindly take further steps regarding this. Thank you.
                                No supply in two phase from yesturday, the problem is from past one year there is no supply in one phase. Repeatedly complained but only action so far.

Arjunvijesh
                                  Dec 1, 2017

Address: Chennai, Tamil Nadu, 600086

I reside in valasaravakkam, sri lakshmi nagar, only my house didn't have electricity at times.
                                  I had made a complaint already at early morning, and have been calling repeatedly all day long till night. They are responding that they'll send someone soon from morning. So i waited and went to office directly and requested to come so they sent someone. And he had repaired and the power was back but after an hour again the same problem. I request someone to take immediate action on this. I'm tired of complaining again and again.

Karthik Joy
                                    Nov 30, 2017

Address: 600030

Frequent power cuts in achuthan nagar 4th street, ekkatuthangal. We are suffering from full night power cuts during rains. If called to eb, they simply says it got tripped and power will come now, but for the whole night power will not come. This residential area has so many houses with small kids and babies family. Not all are having inverters. Due to mosquito biting we are afraid of dangerous deceases. So please take immediate action and protect us. Tq

Thiripuram
                                      Nov 30, 2017

Address: 608502

I am a retired senior executive from cental govt. Presnetly residing at 28,. Ramapadayachi street, agaram, parangipettai, 608502.
                                      The substation at b-mutlur was constructed by tneb in my property without my knowledge and compensation. They have not paid the compensation till date and at no communication from them.
                                      The details are
                                      Manjakuzhi village, rs no 77/2.0.45 acres.
                                      When i contacted them there is no response.in fact they are diverting me to some other dept.
                                      In fine concernd dept has to provide me alternate land or compenstion as per the present guide line values.
                                      R. Ananthakrishn
                                      Shollinganallur eb was giving very worst service to customer and frequent power intreption is happening at chemmancherry, kamaran nagar area same if call also not responding properly. This is happening frequently now a days
                                      I am getting error message "Service are temporarily not available",
                                      when I try to view Account Summary or Bill History after login to my account.and i had complained many time to tneb office and they telling its technical problem but no solution till date Kindly rectify the technical error.