Tamil Nadu Electricity Board [TNEB] Complaints & Reviews

Updated: Nov 17, 2025
Complaints 6284

File a complaint to Tamil Nadu Electricity Board [TNEB]

Having problems with Tamil Nadu Electricity Board [TNEB]?

File a complaint and get it resolved by Tamil Nadu Electricity Board [TNEB] customer care. It’s quick, effective and absolutely free!

Tamil Nadu Electricity Board [TNEB] reviews & complaints page 251

Dessika
from Malappuram, Kerala
Oct 5, 2016

Address: Cuddalore, Tamil Nadu, 608601

My electricity bill dated 5/10/2016 has double the consumption as compared to the last month bill. With this current billing cycle, we have faced power outage for 2 days due to some problem with the incoming power to my home from the distribution. so we have raised complaint, they have come and changed the supply to different line.

Usually we have the consumption range between 270 units to 400 units. If we have guests, we will be having 100 units more than the normal consumption. This month we have got 870 units which abnormal reading for our usage.

Please kindly look into this issue since this outrages for our usage.

You can reach me at [protected]/[protected].

Bhuvanagiri
Connection number: 1751
Name: Koushalya

Dessika
Tamil Nadu Electricity Board [TNEB] customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.

Vikramathithan
    Oct 4, 2016

Address: 641014

Respected sir we are living in coimbatore at nehru nagar, kalapatti road. For the past 5 months we r facing voltage problem. Because of this I can't use the washing machine. I had severe back pain problem.in our home the input current does not exist 190 volt.they told to change the washing machine.but the machine is very good condition it is a brand new washing machine
    Tamil Nadu Electricity Board [TNEB] customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.

Janaki Sadagopan
      Oct 2, 2016

Address: 609301

நாகப்பட்டினம் மாவட்டம், தரங்கம்பாடி வட்டம் ஆக்கூர் அஞ்சல்மண்மலை கிராமத்தினை செர்ந்த விவசாயி திருமதி.பார்வதி அவர்களின் வீட்டிற்கு, வேறு ஒரு பிரச்சனையை சம்மந்தப்படுத்தி மின் இணைப்பு கொடுக்க மறுக்கப்பட்டு உள்ளதை எதிர்த்து மண்மலை விவசாயிகள் நலசங்கம் கடும் கண்டனத்தினை தெரிவித்து கொள்கின்றோம்.ஏற்கனவே, இவரது மகன் டான் ஜெட்கோ சரியான நிலைப்பாட்டினை எடுக்காத நிலையில், அவரது மகன் தற்கொலை செய்து உள்ளார்.இன்னிலையில், திருமதி .பார்வதியும், வயதான காலத்தில் மின்சாரம் இல்லாமல், தடுமாறி விழுந்து முதுகு எலும்பு ஒடிந்து தற்சமயம் மகளின் தயவில் சென்னை சிம்ஸ் மருத்துவ்மனையில் மருத்துவம் பெற்று வருகின்றார்.இன்னிலையில், அக்கூர் இளநிலை பொறியாளர் அலுவலகம் மூலம் அவரது வீட்டிற்கு மின் இணைப்பு வழங்க தகுந்த நடவடிக்கைகளை எடுக்க வேண்டுமாறு பணிவன்புடன் சங்க தீர்மானத்தின் படி பணிவன்புடன் வேண்டுகின்றோம்.
      பணிவன்புடன்
      ரமேஷ் கிருஷ்ணான்
      செயலாள்ர், மண்மலை விவசாயிகள் நல சங்கம். .
      Oct 02, 2016
      Updated by Janaki Sadagopan
      ஐயா,
      நான் திருவள்ளூர் மாவட்டத்தில் பூவிருந்தவல்லி தாலுகா, குத்தம்பாக்கம் ஊராட்சி, இருளப்பாளயம் என்ற் கிராமத்தில் ஐம்பது ஆண்டுகளாக வாக்கப்பட்டு ஐந்து மகள்களை பெற்ற ஒரே காரணத்தினால் மிகவும் கொடுமைபட்டு வருகின்றேன். கிராமத்தில் படிக்காத நிலையிலும், ஆண் ஆதிக்க சாதிய வன்னியர் ஆதிக்கத்திலும் எனது சொத்துக்கள் அனைத்தும் சுரண்டப்பட்டு, என்னிடம் இருக்கும் சொத்தினையும் மைத்துனர்கள் மூலம் பிடுங்கப்பட்டு, நான் இன்று மகள் வீட்டில் வாழும் நிலைக்கு தள்ளப்ப்ட்டேன்.காவல் நிலையத்தில், பெண்கள் கொடுக்கும் புகார்கள் அருகே உள்ள காவல் நிலையமான வெள்ளவேடு காவல் நிலையம் வாங்க மறுக்கப்பட்டு உள்ளார்கள்.சம்பவம் நடந்த 200 நாட்களுக்கு பிந்தான் சிஎஸ .ஆர் போடப்பட்டு உள்ளது. என்னுடைய இடங்களை எனது அனுமதி இல்லாமல் வேறு ஒருவருக்கு வாடகை விடப்பட்டு உள்ளார்கள்.இவை எனது அனுமதியை மீறி கொடுமைபடுத்தி செய்யப்பட்ட செயலாகும். எனவே, அருள் கூர்ந்து சம்மந்தப்பட்ட திருவள்ளூர் க்கண்காணிப்பு அலுவலர், கிராமத்தில் நடக்கும் பெண் வன்முறை கொடுமைகளை பதிவு செய்து திரு.ராஜேந்திரன் மற்றும் திரு.கருணாகரன் மீது தக்க நடவடிக்கைகளை எடுக்க பணிவன்புடன் வேண்டுகின்றோம்.
      Oct 02, 2016
      ஐயா,
      நான் திருவள்ளூர் மாவட்டம், பூவிருந்தவல்லி தாலுகா, குத்ஹம்பாக்கம் ஊராட்சியில் இருளபாளாயம் என்ற கிராமத்தில் எனது இடங்கள் வாடகை கொடுக்காமல், ஆண் ஆதிக்கத்தின் கீழ் என்னை கட்டு படுத்தியுள்ளார்கள் சம்மந்தமே, இல்லாமல், திரு.ராஜேந்திரன் (குற்றவாளி என்று சொல்லப்படும் ரெள்டி)என்ற குற்றவாளி, எனது இடத்தினை, இருளாப்பாளயம் EMP பிரிவரேஜ் எதிரே உள்ள எனது இடத்தில், பிரபு என்ற கொரோம்பேட்டையை சார்ந்த ஒருவரை கடை நடத்த அனுமதி கொடுத்து உள்ளார்கள். கேட்க செல்லும் போது உயிருக்கு அச்சுறுத்தல்கள் கொடுக்கின்றன.இவை வெள்ள வேடு என்ற காவல் நிலையத்தின் கட்டுப்பாட்டில் இருக்கின்றது. புகார் கொடுத்த போது புகாரை வாங்க அலைகழிக்க வைத்து இறுதியில்மறுத்தும் உள்ளார்கள். எனவே, சம்மந்தப்பட்ட உயர் அதிகாரிகள் தகுந்த நடவடிக்கை எடுக்க பணிவன்புடன் வேண்டுகின்றோம்.பெண்கள் கொடுக்கும் காவல் நிலையம் தேவைதானா என்பதை திருவல்ளூர் கண்காணிப்பு அலுவலகம் முடிவு எடுக்க வேண்டுகின்றோம்.எங்களுடன் உதவிகளில் இணைந்துள்ள மகளிர் சங்கங்கள் அருள் கூர்ந்து காவல் நிலையத்துக்கு வேண்டு கோள் விடுக்குமாரு வேண்டுகின்றோம்.
      Oct 02, 2016
      With our reference, consumer Mrs. Parvathi SC 196 unable to get power domestic single phase connection due to the proper reason from you.. She has been living in her daughter house. Her house is going to damage to unable to stay for the maintenance. We request to provide arrange the enquiry further in this regards.

In our Indian penal code law will not say anytime to not provide the food, water, electricity to get suffer to the human being.when we related other issue.Hoping your action will be highly appreciated

Prakash Bindhumadhavan
        Sep 29, 2016

Address: Chennai, Tamil Nadu, 600059

In east tambaram area power cut from yesterday night 10pm time is 2am now rain is stopped they can give power.. How can we go to office tomorrow when government organization is like this.. Worst ever electricity board don't even respond to customer calls, waste of money we are paying our taxes as salary for them we can give this to any private organization to avoid power cut..
        please change the damaged post in our area ktk thottam koli pannai, mangalam road, andipalayam, tirupur 641687. near venus rotary
        printing in front of marvel residency .The transformer posts are very worst in any time falling
        condition so please change the post and action immediately.

Srinivasan Ns
          Sep 28, 2016

Address: Kanchipuram, Tamil Nadu, 603202

Consumer no[protected]

On 08.09.2016 i paid an amount of rs. 1957/- vide receipt number chg584 ar 3 s 92 dt 08.09.2016 time 10:58:38 directly to the office of tneb urapakkam. At the time of payment l was told by tneb official that there is no due against my service. As per their record i paid the amount. On 28.09.2016 all of a sudden tneb official came to apartment and removed the fuse carrier in my absence. At the time of payment i told the tneb officials my house was severely affected by flood it was locked around 9 months for renovation, i haven't used the current for more than 9 months even then they claimed rs. 1957/- (Amount cited above), immediately i paid the amount without objection on top of that they cut the service is painful to me. This is for your information and necessary action.
          From
          S.RAMESH
          s/o.m.sannasi
          manambakki
          seikalathur(post).manamadurai(tk)sivagangai(dist)tamil nadu

sir my house back side thirephase line pole buttam damaged
          very very dangers all family members street line plese thirephase pol e
          immediate change the pole
          Electric motor is not getting power supply

Senthil G
            Sep 28, 2016
            Jul 4, 2024
            This thread was updated on Jul 4, 2024

95 putlur village low voltage problems - reg

Address: 602025

Tiruvallur district 95 putlur village eb supply is very very low. Electrical appliances tv, mixi, fan, grinder, water pump motors are damaged this village peoples. The public problems clear 19.07.2016 the indu tamil news paper and 17.08.2016 news 7 channel.
            This problem complaint through eb ae on 03.06.2016, eb ee on 03.08.2016, dbdo on 15.08.2016 copy to collector on 16.08.2016 by rpad and se on07.09.2016 by rpad.
            Somany transformer...
            nagarajan.al
            Sep 28, 2016

This is to inform you that as we are using 150-200 units as per these units supposed get rs.275. But now bill is raised rs.2440 request you to kindly rectify & make correction for the same.

(Complaint id:[protected])

Tamilnadu generation and distribution corporation ltd
            Sivagangai edc

Assessment for the month of 09/2016
            Service no : [protected]
            Consumer name: alagappan. K
            Address : vengalur
            Tariff : la1a phase : 1 assessed units: 600

Bill date :[protected] due date:[protected]

Cc charge fixed cost md penalty pf penalty e-tax amount

[protected]*
            I request you to please resume power supply for the connection.

Senthil29
              from Avinashi, Tamil Nadu
              Sep 28, 2016

No power in vengadamangalam

Address: 600048

I am residing in Casa Grande urbano Vengadamangalam where no proper electricity provision. Unable to sleep properly. Unble to manage kids due to power problem. If rain starts even drizzling power will go off automatically.

And here low voltage problem. No fan running properly. Sweating always.

Please consider our worst situation and do the needful.

Now it's 12:47 am and no electricity...
              10 other people found this review helpful
              10 found this helpful
              VISHNUYACHAS
              Sep 27, 2016

Address: Chennai, Tamil Nadu, 600088

Sir, I am living in Nilamangai Nagar, Adambakkam, Chennai. For the past few days, the residents are again being plagued by low voltage problem at night especially. The voltage is not even sufficient for the fans to operate at maximum speed. As the weather is similar to summer and sultry at night, air-conditioners have to be switched on at night. But they don't work due to low voltage. This is the third time, I am making a complaint but in vain. This low voltage and voltage fluctuation problem has been there for years in our area and it used to be in summer but now in September also the same problem persists this year. Office goers, students, children and elderly are suffering due to sleepless sultry nights due to this problem. On the wake of constructions of so many flats in place of individual housesm why don't the authorities replace the transformer with a new one so that this problem can be solved. As a consumer paying money for electicity consumed, we need justice. I hope the authorities involved will rectify this problem immediately.
              Sep 27, 2016
              Updated by VISHNUYACHAS
              Sir/Madam, I am a dental patient and visit the Govt.Dental Hospital near Broadway bus stand frequently for treatment. I have visited even before 4 years. Before 4 years when one Dr.Nasseer was the Dean, all the main gates used to be kept open till the outpatient time. Now after the new Dean has taken charge, the main gate near the Broadway bus stand side is closed before 8.30 am and the main gate near TNPSC building is always closed. The middle gate is only half open and it is the only gate through which both vehicles as well as pedestrian(patients) have to go in and come out. Because only one of the door in the middle gate is kept open, the vehicles two wheelers as well as cars and other vehicles entering and exiting through this gate pose great risk to the patients, due to lack of enough space for movement. The security persons in charge simply stand or sit on a moulded chair without controlling the vehicular traffic. They say that the gate on Broadway side has to be closed as soon as the Dean enters the Hospital. That is the instruction given to them it seems. Actually, it is through this gate the ambulance and other vehicles have to enter and go through the ramp to the OP ticket issue counter and they have to exit through the gate near the TNPSC building side. This is the reason why those two gates are there. Now since only the middle gate is kept open, even the ambulance and other vehicles carrying patients have to go in a round about manner. Pedestrians alighting from bus near broadway bus stand and train in Fort station face difficulty as the gate on Broadway bus stand side is closed. This also facilitates private vehicles to be parked outside the gate and even slum dwellers have started occupying this space. The pavement outside the Hospital is occupied by fruit juice and other vendors causing inconvenience to the public and pedestrians. This is the third complaint I am making, but still there is no action. If action is not taken, I will have to represent this to higher authorities in the Government. While the pavement outside the TNPSC building is maintianed free of hawkers why not this Hospital?. Gates are meant for the public to enter and exit and as thousand patients attend the hospital everyday the gates have to be kept open at least during OP hours.Will the authorities take immediate action?.

kishorekrish
                Sep 27, 2016

Address: 600066

SIR/MADAM
                I am living in sakthivel nagar, puzhal (Land mark: OPP puzhal Jail) for the past 6 years. i have been facing power cut issues frequently .After repeated complaints, issue was resolved temporarily .But now i am facing low voltage problems for the past 10 days especially during evening and night. After registering complaint through phone, they said that they are working on it will be resolved shortly. But the low voltage issue remains the same. kindly take necessary action to resolve the issue at the earliest.

RajPrasan
                  Sep 27, 2016

Address: Chennai, Tamil Nadu, 600002

My house is located in chindaripet, past two or three month in mukki ammon koil street low voltage. especially night.
                  When complaint the staffs who availble in chindaripet eb office they said will come and check. some times they say you just call in the night time when you facing the problem. if we call in the night time they say come and register the complaint to ae. they are keep in diverting to take responsible.

Antony Saviour Kingslin Lourdusamy
                    Sep 24, 2016

Address: 600126

I am residing at Sithalapakkam and i made complaint on 22-March-216 about Electrical line was very low with high danger position in front of my house.
                    It have also the same lower lower position on 2nd street.
                    My father and me directly complained so many time but i did not got any call or action on this.
                    Whenever we approach the office to find our what's wrong all we get is harsh reactions and answers.
                    The TNEB and Panchayat office officers of Sithalapakkam are the responsible persons if any inconvenience caused to heath or life of people.
                    There is a number [protected]/[protected] to contact me and my TNEB number is 3386402.
                    Here i enclosed my complaint letter and photos for your reference.

Kindly take an action.

subbuvicky
                      Sep 23, 2016

Address: Chennai, Tamil Nadu, 600032

We are staying in guindy, masuthi colony 1st street, maduvaankarai, guindy chennai.in our area very few houses are facing the same problem of frequent power cut during night time, because of this power cut we are suffering lot. We have already compliant the issue to the concern authority in our eb office but no proper response from them. Monthly probably 10 to 15 nights we are facing the issue. We have compliant to everyone. Please take care this issue and take immediate action to rectify it.
                      Its been more than 2 weeks I am calling TNEB daily to resolve a connection issue which they did incorrectly to complete it soon. The way they speak or respond s pethatic. No one cares to do their job. Y only our Gov s still the same !!!

prabucse
                        Sep 22, 2016

Address: Chennai, Tamil Nadu, 600100

Hi, In our area one of the electric pole is in damaged condition for past 1 year. It may fall down at any time to nearby house. We have raised complaints many time to Medavakkam EB office. But no action was taken from them.

Please replace the damaged pole as soon as possible. The address of the location is mentioned below,

Sevalie Sivaji street,
                        Anjaneyar Nagar, Jalladianpet,
                        Chennai -600100

zone:14
                        ward :191

promojai
                          Sep 22, 2016

Address: Nilgiris, Tamil Nadu, 643001

My Electricity connection line is disconnected somehow and I am trying to reach concerned A.E and line man to restore it but there is no proper response from their end, for the past 25 days there is no power in my home alone and we are severely affected by this outage, hence please help to restore at the earliest, due to bad weather its is making life even tough without electricity connection. hence please address it immediately

nangilashok
                            Sep 21, 2016

Address: Chennai, Tamil Nadu, 600091

It has been observed and noticed that i applied for free connection for agriculture purpose on last month particularly dry land agriculture development. we couldn't invest in commercial connection because we try to develop only dry land plants.
                            After obtained and came to know that lot of farmers are applied for free connection and waiting for past one decade but no one avail the connection as lac of people were registered in tneb. i request you to give the following information for know the actual situation going on.
                            1. howmany application received for free connection.
                            2. status of waiting list
                            3. when will implement at field level as per proce
                            4. when we will get the connection

Kindly consider my request as proper perspective and give the information.

Note; our state is now extra producing current as announced in our assembly.

S. ashok
                            [protected]@gmail.com.
                            The secretary,
                            Tnerc, chennai.

It has been observed and noticed that i need free connection for agriculture purpose particularly dry land development. we couldn't invest in commercial connection because we try to develop dry land plants.
                            After obtained and came to know that lot of farmers are applied for free connection and waiting for past one decade but no one get the connection for lac of people were registered in tneb. i request you to give the following information for know the actual situation. going on.
                            1. howmany application received for free connection.
                            2. status of waiting list
                            3. when will implement at field level.

Kindly consider my request as proper perspective and give the information.

Note; our state is now extra producing current as announce in assembly.
                            S. ashok
                            [protected]@gmail.com.

vigneash v s
                              Sep 20, 2016

Address: 600040

Suddenly power box bursted and eb person came and did some work but left work incomplete and told they come on Monday 19/9 and do remaining work but didn't came .. today 20/9 when I called Eb person, he knows that work is pending but speaking in irresponsibly manner and asked me to come in person to Eb office .. if go there means how can I go to work .. that too he speaks in low respect attitude ... I am afraid o[censored]sing appliances in home since connection is not complete.. for years it is running well only but suddenly box bursted and I called local electricians they told it is Eb problem only then only Eb person accepted and didn't some work but that too incomplete.. how could everyone go to Eb office and wait and ask or do they want to beg them ... Irresponsible

Ap 704, 1st Street, h block, Annanagar West

Jay84
                                Sep 20, 2016

Address: 600126

I am residing at Sithalapakkam since Nov 2015 and there is not even a single day gone without powercuts. Since a week there has been very frequent power cuts especially during the nights. No one is answering our calls when we try to reach them.

Since last week there was power hardly for 4 to 5 hours in a day. There is a number [protected] to contact them. But whenever we try to call them the line says busy and we have to call them continuously for atleast 20 times and then they pickup and the answer we get is the power will come in sometime. For the past four days.
                                Saturday - 3.30 am - 11.30 am, Sunday - 9.30 PM - 12 midnight, Monday - 7.30 AM till 11.30 AM, and 10.30 PM till 1.30 Pm and today (Tuesday) 7.30 - 8.30 the power cut happened.

Whenever we approach the office to find our what's wrong all we get is harsh reactions and answers and the repeated statement - The Power will come in sometime.

We have a kid of 3 months who is having a tough time and not only us, there are more small babies around our place and many IT people in here. The housewives are having very tough time. The Older generation's difficulties need not to be mentioned.

Kindly take an action.

selva1471
                                  Sep 18, 2016

Penalty Imposed

Address: 600058

Eb card No.[protected]
                                  we are paying regularly EB charges twice a month online.. when EB officer written on the card indicating to pay 2060 and i went to EB office on 05/08/2016 to pay and they said as per our system there is no due and system shows only Rs.340 and as of now, No due to be paid and they strike out the figure written by the officer and written nil payment in the EB card . Now i have received a SMS to my mobile and asked...
                                  Mani Sutha
                                  from Palakkodu, Tamil Nadu
                                  Sep 12, 2016

I paid bill Rs.193 today through net banking by canara bank for the following consumer no[protected]. But the amount was debited from my account but not credited in TNEB. I can not get bill. Please solve the problem.

Trans No- TNEB_TRANSACTION[protected]
                                  2308 (Canara Band)
                                  Sep 05, 2016
                                  Gayathri272's response
                                  Please take action
                                  Sep 12, 2016
                                  Updated by Mani Sutha

I paid bill Rs.407 today through net banking by canara bank for the following consumer no[protected].
                                  But the amount was debited from my account but not credited in TNEB. I can not get bill. Please solve the problem.

Trans No- TNEB_TNEB_TRANSACTION[protected]
                                  2308 (Canara Bank)
                                  Sep 14, 2016
                                  Viraj Rubbers's response
                                  Electri Meter is Not running[protected]
                                  We are residing in Adyar under indhira nagar control eb office... Power was not there for past 5 hours... While we call the respective number there was no response from the eb office... Having a 3 months old kid without power is very irritating on u ppl...
                                  My shop No. 144 Sastrinagar 3rd street Tondiarpet Chennai 81.
                                  I am shop tanent my shop Eb is disconnected. Pls take action.. I will pay the regular Eb payment...
                                  My number. [protected]
                                  G3 Kamatchi Block I 114 Chandraprabhu colony Moolokadai Chennai 600110- Mobile [protected]
                                  Complaint for our eb electronic meter[protected] is not running

address: padmagiri apartments
                                  new no.17, yogambal street
                                  t.Nagar, chennai-600017
                                  I am residing at No.20/8A Periya Pillaiyar koil Street . TNEB Employees are not taking reading and it was happened second time, Amount also coming very high. Kindly look into our issue and take the action immediately.