[Resolved]  Indian Railway - Ticket Refund Deductions — Unjustified Deductions in the Ticket Amount for a Cancelled Train

I am disappointed to say that the customer service quality of the organization with the biggest network is so poor. i have been trying to call up Indian Railway customer service from last 8 days and nobody is picking up the phone after the IVR, also tried sending mails on "[protected]@irctc.co.in" & "[protected]@irctc.co.in" but everytime gets a bounce notice. I had booked a ticket from Mumbai to Delhi from "August kranti Rajdhani Express" (2953) for[protected] but due to the unfortunate situation in Rajashthan, Indian Raily decided to cancel the train for the day. The ticket costed me Rs. 1940/- but when I cancelled it, Indian Railway charged Rs. 485/- for cancellation. I would like to clarify that the cancellation was not from my end and was the other way round and hence the customers are entitled to receive refund of the entire amount.

I have already got a refund of Rs. 1455/- and would request your kindness to Refund pending Rs. 485/-. I have attached a copy of the cancellation screen for your reference.

Details :

Passenger Name : Sonia Mathur
PNR Number : [protected]

Would appreciate your fast action.

I am a user of IRCTC online ticket booking service. I get bitter experience from IRCTC TDR refund system. Due to my family problem I do not travel on my ticket at last moment.So I placed my tdr cancellation on 21.1.09. Still today 150 days gone, I do not return back my refund amount to my account. I already complain two times, everytime assurance. So my earnest request to you please return back my refund amount urgently. . Ticket PNR number PNR No. [protected].I am awating your kind reply.
With Regds, Soumen Majumder
Sir, I made 05 e-tickets from Guwahati to Kolkata for 28 Jul 09 Saraighat Express for sleeper class. I want to cancel all the tickets due to some inescapable problem. I want to know that how much refund I would get if I cancel these e-tickets.Waiting for reply...
I had booked ticket from Kanpur to Jhansi by train No.1110/LKO JHS INT EXP for date 15 Oct 09.The same ticket was cancelled on date 12 Oct 09. PNR No.[protected].Please arrange to refund the amount in S.B.I. A/c No [protected]
Thanking you sir

Har Narayan
i had booked a eticket which was not confirmed. two of the three tickets did not get confirm status and i have not recived the refund so far as my agent is not giving me any details kindly help the pnr no was -[protected] journey date was 25th june 2009 kindly give me the exact status of refund
7057 train cancel pnr no.[protected] journey date 24/10/2009
hi i wanted to know how i ll apply for the refund against the auto-cancelled e-ticket(which was in waiting list).i have 3 tickets like that which worth me around 3000. I want the money, can any body help me in that please..
Thanks in advance.
I HAVE BOOKED E-TICKET ON 26 DEC 2009 FROM H NIZAMUDDIN TO BANDRA TERMINUS BY MISTAKE I WANT TO SENT THIS TICKET TO DELHI ADDRESS BUT I BOOKED THIS TICKET ON MY HOME ADDRESS . PLEASE HELP ME TO SENT THIS TICKET DIRECTLY TO ANOTHER ADRESS.my ticket PNR NO:- [protected] Transaction ID [protected]
Sir, I am a user of irctc online booking service. i had booked 1 e ticket on 22 dec 2009, journey from kozhikode to quilon in 6603 maveli express, but ticket was not confirmed, Waiting list was 22. I went my railwaystation asked to the railway inquiry officers about my journey, they said you can"t travel aiong with this ticket, take new ticket if need to travel, and your E ticcket amount will refund to your Account as soon.but, until idid not get any information via Mail or SMS. so I Request to you please return back my refund amount as soon, Ticket PNR NO, [protected].I am waiting for your reply...Thanking you, .. .OAM PRAKASH .
good mornign

by miss i click (I ticket) not getting my ticket what i do...?

i reserved the
PNR-Number [protected]
Train Number 2725 Train Name INTERCITY EXP
Date 2- Jan- 2010
From Station SBC To station HVR
Reservation upto HVR Boarding point SBC
Class 2S No of passengers 3
Charting Status CHART NOT PREPARED
Upgraded Class
Hi Sir,
I had 1 seat reservation through e-ticket- New Delhi to Gorakhpur at 20.25 on[protected]. I reached in time however the train was late. It was announced that train will arrive late by 3 hrs. However it was rescheduled to to arrive after 4.30 hrs after 0100 hrs. Due to extreme weather conditions I had to abort my journey.

I tried everything possible to seek refund however nothing worked. My e-ticket details are below-

Transaction ID: [protected]
PNR No: [protected]
Train Name and No: 2556/GORAKHDHAM EXPRESS
Class: Sleeper
Date of journey: 02-Jan-2010
Boarding from: NEW DELHI (NDLS)
Resv Upto: GORAKHPUR (GKP)
Quota: GENERAL
Scheduled Departure: 20.25
Actual Departure: 01.15 am
Total Fare: Rs. 312.00

Please do the needful to refund.

Gyaneshwar Nath Pandey.
Email: [protected]@yahoo.com
Mb#- [protected]
i hve booked ticket from patna to new delhi for 9th january and from new delhi to patna for 17th january in sampurna kranti express.ihave cancelled both the tickets on 5th january .but money has not been refunded in my account till now.thePNR no. for ticket of 9th january is [protected] and the transaction id is [protected]. the PNR no. of the ticket for 17th january is [protected] and the transaction id is [protected]. please refund the money into my account
i booked a e ticket from SURAT to JAIPUR by train no 2979 in 3A class. the details are as
pnr no [protected]
no of pessenger---2
dt of journey[protected]
journey could not be performed due to unavoidable cicustances.please cancelled my ticket and refund the amount.
vimlesh meena
after cancellation money not refud in my account...
Despite several correspondence through e-mail to the Chief Commercial Manager/Refunds I am not yet get my refund in respect of refund of fare of E-Ticket PNR No. [protected], transaction ID [protected] dt. of departure 20/4/2008. Kindly furnish status of said refund please.
PNR Status Details
PNR-Number[protected]
Train Number 2626 Train Name KERALA EXPRESS
Date 24- Mar- 2010
From Station RDM To station BZA
Reservation upto BZA Boarding point RDM
Class SL No of passengers 2
Charting Status CHART PREPARED
Due to my personal reasons I cancelled my Travel of both Tickets. PL arrange REFUND asper the rules at the earliest.I am informing you before Train depature before 4 hrs of RDM stn
Thanking you sir
Ranga Rao
Booking details:
refund my e-tekit

PNR No [protected]
Train No 2060 Train Name KOTA JANSHTBDI
From NZM To BXN
Date[protected] Class CC
Boarding Point NZM Reservation Upto BXN
Quota General

S# Name Age Sex Seat/Berth Coach Status
1 SANJAY KHANDELWA 038 Male 0000 WL 11
i have cancelled(cancellation date: 29.03.2010) one e-ticket pnr no.:[protected](from jaipur to bilaspur, journey date-30.03.2010), still i havn't got refund amount so pls check the problem at the earliest.
I had booked two tkts for Pune to Jammu for the 09/10/2009 by Pune Jhelum Exp. My tkts was for waiting list but unfornately both the tkts were no confirmed till the last moment, so i did not travell by that train. I filled the TDR for refund of above tkts on the 11th oct 2009, but still waitng for the refund.
Same has happened to me with another tkts I was to travell by express train no 2859 to Akola on the 4/10/2009 but i missed the train, so i filed for refund through TDR, but no refund and I am still waiting for the refund pls help me.
Copy of both TDR attached

Transaction Details
PNR Number [protected] Booked On [protected]
Transaction ID [protected] Ticket Type eticket
Class 3A Internet Service Charge Rs 25.00
Date Of Journey 04/10/2009 Ticket Charge Rs 1205.00
Bank ICICI Total Rs 1230.00
Train No 2859 Railway Zone SER
From Station MUMBAI CST(CSTM) IRCTC Zone Group General Manager-1/Eastern Zone (IRCTC) Kolkatta
To Station AKOLA JN(AK) Quota General

Ticket Details
S# Name Age Sex Coach Seat Res-Status
1 s h bhamani 61 Male B1 0007/ SL Booked
2 v delvi 50 Female B1 0008/ SU Booked

Reason For TDR : Passenger Not Travelled.
TDR Status : Forwarded To Railway
Reference No : ekt[protected]
TDR Zone : SER
TDR Filing Date : 09-Oct-2009
Forward To Railway On : 22-Oct-2009
Refund Status : Refund under Process
Refund Date : Not Available
Refund Amount : Rs.0.00

XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

TDR Details
Transaction Details
PNR Number [protected] Booked On 4-9-2009
Transaction ID [protected] Ticket Type eticket
Class 2A Internet Service Charge Rs 25.00
Date Of Journey 09/10/2009 Ticket Charge Rs 3299.00
Bank ICICI Total Rs 3324.00
Train No 1077 Railway Zone NR
From Station PUNE JN(PUNE) IRCTC Zone CCM/Refund, Northern Railway New Delhi
To Station JAMMU TAWI(JAT) Quota General

Ticket Details
S# Name Age Sex Coach Seat Res-Status
1 s h bhamani 63 Male 0000/ Booked
2 s s bhamani 57 Female 0000/ Booked

Reason For TDR : Passenger Not Travelled.
TDR Status : Forwarded To Railway
Reference No : ekt[protected]
TDR Zone : NR
TDR Filing Date : 11-Oct-2009
Forward To Railway On : 23-Oct-2009
Refund Status : Refund under Process
Refund Date : Not Available
Refund Amount : Rs.0.00
pnr no-[protected] id no-[protected] journy dt[protected] train name-deharadun exp, to nzm to vadodara jn ply refund money my account thanks
Booking details:
PNR No [protected]
Train No 2934 Train Name KARNAVATI EXP
From ST To BCT
Date [protected] Class 2S
Boarding Point ST Reservation Upto BCT
Quota General

S# Name Age Sex Seat/Berth Coach Status
1 G N SANGHAVI 050 Male 0082 D7 CONFIRM
2 H G SANGHAVI 049 Female 0083 D7 CONFIRM
Total Fare 00000182
For cancellation of your ticket, please log in to your account, select the PNR you wish to cancel and cancel your ticket online. Cancellation of your e-Ticket is possible only on the website www.irctc.co.in, and is NOT possible on PRS Counters.Cancellation can be done till the time of chart preparation for the train which is normally 4 to 6 hours before the scheduled departure of the train from the train originating station.(For trains starting up to 12 in the afternoon the chart preparation is usually done on the previous night).

You can cancel any of the passenger names from the list of passengers on this ticket without affecting the ticket as a whole.

For CHANGE OF BOARDING STATION & CHANGE IN NAME customer can now approach the nearest Railway Reservation Office with ?ElectronicReservation Slip? print out and photo identity proof mentioned in the ?Electronic Reservation Slip? at least 24 hours before the scheduled departure of train as per existing Railway rules.

Once you have cancelled your ticket, the fresh details and changes made by you will be available on the Cancelled e-Tickets History (as a link to site)The refund amount due to you after cancellation will be credited back to the same account which you had used for booking the ticket.

Now users can check their refund status online by clicking 'Refund status' link after logging in.If by any reason you are unable to cancel your ticket on the website till the time of charting and also unable to perform the journey, please send a mail to [protected]@irctc.co.in at the earliest giving the details of your claim .We will represent your case with the Railways Claims Wing. However since this is a long drawn-out process. If the user wishes to cancel his E-ticket, he can do so till the time of chart preparation for the train (which is normally 4 to 6 hours before the scheduled departure of the train from the train originating station.(For trains starting up to 12 noon the chart preparation is usually done on the previous night). Similarly these and any other claims/contingencies on this e-ticket may be conveyed to us at [protected]@irctc.co.in for processing. For any further assistance, please contact us at us at 24*7 Hrs. Customer Support at[protected], MON - SAT(10 AM - 6 PM[protected], Chennai Customer Care[protected] or mail us at [protected]@irctc.co.in.

Just dial 139 from your landline, mobile & CDMA phones for railway enquiries.
*************************** Information******************************
For any enquiries or information regarding your transaction with IRCTC, do not
provide your credit/debit card details by any means to IRCTC. All your queries
can be replied on the basis of 10 digit IRCTC Transaction id/ PNR no./User id.
IRCTC does not store the credit/debit card information in any form during the transaction.

Customer Care
Internet Ticketing
IRCTC

pasenger not traveling

Indian Railways
    Customer satisfaction rating Customer satisfaction rating is a complex algorithm that helps our users determine how good a company is at responding and resolving complaints by granting from 1 to 5 stars for each complaint and then ultimately combining them all for an overall score.
    25%
    Indian Railways Phone
    +91 11 2338 1213
    Indian Railways Address
    Rail Bhawan, Raisina Road, DL, India, New Delhi, Delhi, India - 110001
    View all Indian Railways contact information