Air India — Booked my flight on Air India prior to Corona and the airline kept canceling flight through Corona phase and now ticket not valid.

Ref: (1) E-TICKET NUMBER:[protected] DATE OF ISSUE: 23FEB21

(2) EXCHANGE TICKET:[protected] RLOC: AI HM5VL

(3) Passenger Names: (a) Mrs. Carol Pradeep
(b) Ms. Tiya Karina Pradeep
(c) Mr. Nash Rohan Pradeep

(4) Itinerary: LON-TRV-LON

The ticket was originally booked on 27.10.2019 for travel on 17.07.2020. However, all flights were canceled by Air India due corona and I could not travel on the above dates. I called air India office and the executive said they cannot re-book on any flight on a later date as the airline was uncertain about when they would be able to fly.

As per advice of your contact center executives, I called up again on 23.02.2021 and they re-booked me on AI 134 leaving LHR on 22.07.2021. However, this flight was also canceled by the Airline due to Corona. On calling Air India customer support, they asked me to call them later when flights resume as they were not in a position to re-book on any flight.

Accordingly I called the customer support on 01.12.2021 to re-book the flight for Aug 2022. I got through the customer support but they did not complete the booking nor called me back, even though I shared my contact details. I am pasting here the mail I wrote to Ms. Poonam, your customer care executive on 01.12.2021:

[protected][protected][protected][protected]
From: Carol
Sent: Wednesday, December 1, 2021 8:23:23 AM
To: Air India
Subject: Poonam at ticketing


Dear customer service,
Re:
Ticket no:
[protected]
[protected]
[protected]

These are my ticket numbers to be rescheduled. I was almost done but phone got cut off. Please ask Poonam to call me on [protected]

Reschedule dates were as follows: aug 2022
2 aug Lhr to BOM 21.30-10.15
BOM to TRV 17.20-19.40

Ret
29 aug 2022
Trv to del 21.10-12.30
Del to lhr 02.40-7.30

Please retrieve this booking
Thanks
Carol Pradeep

I got a response from Ms. Sana, customer care executive the same day, asking me to again contact the customer care phone number. Here is the mail I received:

[protected][protected][protected][protected][protected][protected]
From: Air India
Sent: Wednesday, December 1, 2021 10:50:23 AM
To: [protected]@hotmail.com
Subject: RE: Fwd: Poonam at ticketing

Dear Pradeep,

Greetings from Air India.

It is our pleasure to help you with your query and apologize for the inconvenience caused.

With the reference to your email, we request you to kindly contact our Air India Customer care support for rescheduling your travel as we need verbal confirmation from passengers to make any changes in the booking.

We are providing you with our customer care number[protected].

For further queries feel free to contact us.

Thank you for contacting Air India.

Regards,
Sana
AI Contact Us Team

I tried to call Ms. Poonam on the number given but it kept disconnecting. Thereafter, I sent another mail to Ms. Sana requesting her/Ms. Poonam to call back and reschedule my flight but to no avail.

I called the customer service again after two days to learn that my ticket is no longer usable as it passed the validity period. I tried many times thereafter but the customer service was parroting the same lines. I was literally traumatized by then after going through the ordeal over two years and getting my $2700 locked with Air India, who treated me like a beggar.

I have been a regular traveler with Air India over decades and I never expected this treatment ever. I need my money refunded at the earliest and urge you, in the capacity of CEO of the airline, to take an ethical, moral and judicious decision on this matter.

Please revert should you need any further info.

Appreciate an early response from your end.

Thanks & regards,

Carol Pradeep
Was this information helpful?
No (0)
Yes (0)
Air India customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.
Complaint comments 

Post your Comment

    I want to submit Complaint Positive Review Neutral Comment
    code
    By clicking Submit you agree to our Terms of Use
    Submit
    Air India
    customer care contact
    Customer satisfaction rating Customer satisfaction rating is a complex algorithm that helps our users determine how good a company is at responding and resolving complaints by granting from 1 to 5 stars for each complaint and then ultimately combining them all for an overall score.
    Read more
    9%
    Complaints
    3149
    Pending
    0
    Resolved
    294
    Air India Phone
    +91 11 2462 4075 [Helpdesk]
    +44 207 760 3290 [UK]
    +49 69 1200 9821 [Germany]
    Air India Address
    Marine Drive, Nariman Point, Mumbai, Maharashtra, India - 400021
    View all Air India contact information