Air India — Denied Onboarding for AI-143 on 01.03.2023

Hi,

I planned to travel to Budapest to join my new job on 01.03.2023 via Air India flight AI-143 to Paris further Air France connecting flight to Budapest on 01.03.2023.

When I was standing in the queue for check-in around ~10:10 AM on 01.03.23 at G section of Air India at Indira Gandhi International Delhi Airport T3 Terminal. One gentleman wearing an Air India badge arrived and asked the reason for my travel. He asked me to show him my passport, Visa and appointment letter. After showing the same, he took my passport and handed over my passport to Mr. Mazeed (who earlier informed me his name as Mr. Rajeev and later when checked with Supervisor Mr. Himmat Singh, I came to know his real name been Mr. Mazeed) for Visa verification, where Mr. Mazeed kept my passport for long.

Even after 15-20 minutes, I left my luggage there with no one supervision and myself rushed behind him and mentioned why visa verification needed here when the same was issued by Embassy I have proof of visiting the Hungary Embassy but he didn't listen to me. Then I requested to return my passport so that I can do the check in. Unfortunately he still didn't listen and asked for my appointment letter and ticket then I showed him my e-ticket and appointment letter from my phone for which he took the picture from his mobile.

After few minutes, since I didn't get back my passport, I again requested him to return back the passport so that I proceed with the check in and requested him not to harass me unnecessarily as I am BP patient and not to harrass me as myself going to join a new job at Budapest, If I miss the flight then it will be a huge loss to the undersigned, then after few minutes he returned back me my passport and asked me to proceed for the check in.

When I arrive for checkin at 2nd counter from the start there a lady named Aditi who mentioned my checkin luggage is little overweight I mentioned her I am OK to pay if it is overweight for which she refused and asked she will only allow to checkin if I reduce the weight.

Then I went to side then taken our the eatable I was carrying with me and again I came to checkin to her there she mentioned weight is 2.5 kg more. I said I am OK to pay for access baggage, which she denied.

I pleaded and even begged her that 1st there was a unnecessarily delay in Visa verification from Mr. Mazeed. (I never seen this scenario when Visa verification been done check in area in my earlier travels). By that time it was around 12:00 pm. I requested and pleaded to Ms. Pooja Akhtar who informed to be supervisor that I am a BP patient kindly don't harass me. And I am going to join a new job at Budapest kindly allow baggage check-in. I am ready to pay for extra weight. She even didn't support.

Then later she mentioned now flight doors are closed we cannot allow you to checkin.

With this I lost my joining there on 02.02.2023. Later when I lost my flight, I met there available Air India Supervisor (Mr. Himmat Singh) and apprised of the same scenario and requested him to plan me in other flight but he mentioned now I need to book new ticket he cannot plan me in alternate flight.

I had also filed a written complaint at Air India office near T5 at 1st gate prior to 1 number gate. Its update awaited yet. Person who took that complaint apprised that I will be getting the given written complain update in 24 hours in my email id which is yet awaited.

Your good office is liable to compensate the losses the undersigned forced to bear due to the huge physical, mental & financial torture the undersigned forced to bear due to the mis-behaviour done by onboarding Air India staff for AI-143 on 01.03.2023

Regards,
Tajinder Gulati
Was this information helpful?
No (0)
Yes (0)
Air India customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.
Jul 14, 2023
Updated by TajinderG
Hi, Kindly consider this as another reminder to share update on undersigned complaint submitted in your good office.

Despite number of reminders no concrete response coming from your good office.
Jul 18, 2023
Updated by TajinderG
Hi,

Response yet awaited from your good office for the filed complaint above.

Please share action taken report and further response at the earliest. Despite multiple mailers no response yet.

Regards,
Complaint comments 

Comments

Hi,

Please share response to the above compliant pending since days at your good office. The undersigned had sent a number of mailers but no response yet for the compensation your good office is liable to pay due to the misconduct done by your good office staff at G counter at IGIL on 01.03.2023.

Regards,
Tajinder Singh

Post your Comment

    I want to submit Complaint Positive Review Neutral Comment
    code
    By clicking Submit you agree to our Terms of Use
    Submit
    Air India
    customer care contact
    Customer satisfaction rating Customer satisfaction rating is a complex algorithm that helps our users determine how good a company is at responding and resolving complaints by granting from 1 to 5 stars for each complaint and then ultimately combining them all for an overall score.
    Read more
    9%
    Complaints
    3149
    Pending
    0
    Resolved
    294
    Air India Phone
    +91 11 2462 4075 [Helpdesk]
    +44 207 760 3290 [UK]
    +49 69 1200 9821 [Germany]
    Air India Address
    Marine Drive, Nariman Point, Mumbai, Maharashtra, India - 400021
    View all Air India contact information