Christ University — Non refund of admission fee for 2022-23 - christ college

Address:A-3/302 , BLOCK 4 , KAILASH DHAM HSG SOCIETY , SECTOR 50 , NOIDA - 201301

My son was granted admission in BBA (Finance & International Business) Course in Yeshwanthpur campus for the academic session 2022-23, for which I had paid an advance fee of Rs 2, 15, 000 as per the details given below :

1. Receipt Number 24444 - Rs 2, 10, 000 dated May 7, 2022
2. Receipt Number 24445 - Rs 5, 000 dated May 7, 2022

We also received a mail from you on June 29, 2022 stating that the session in Yeshwanthpur Campus will commence on Aug 4, 2022.

I visited their Yeshwantpur Campus on July 14, 2022 and was shocked to see that the college building was still under construction (Pictures attached). We later decided to go for cancellation of admission on the very same day through the portal and received an acknowledgement mail dated July 14, 2022 from Christ University.

We subsequently received a mail from Christ University on July 18, 2022 acknowledging the receipt of request for cancellation of admission and confirming that I would receive the refund in 21 days.

I have received a refund of Rs 2, 05, 000 only on August 16, 2022 as against a fee of Rs 2, 15, 000 paid to the College. I wrote multiple mails to the college asking the reason for deduction of Rs 10, 000 when the admission was cancelled 3 weeks before the commencement of the classes. This is also against their own admission / refund policy and the directives o[censored]GC where they have specified that colleges / universities will have to refund 100% fee if admission is cancelled before Oct 31, 2022 . One may go through the articles below published in various news papers :

https://www.news18.com/news/education-career/ugc-asks-colleges-universities-to-r... -5679085.html

https://www.edexlive.com/news/2022/aug/04/ugcs-letter-to-varsities-colleges-refu...

https://www.financialexpress.com/education-2/ugc-directs-universities-to-refund-...

After lot of follow ups and mails written to the college, I got a mail from admission cell on Aug 24, 2022 .. stating that Rs 10, 000 was deducted towards registration fee, which is factually incorrect .

Are colleges now above board and have the audacity to violate and ignore UGC guidelines . It is extremely shameful to see that a reputed educational institution like Christ University is resorting to such cheap ways and means to earn money and fleece innocent children .
+2 photos
Was this information helpful?
No (0)
Yes (5)
Christ University customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.
Complaint comments 

Comments

Hi, Just wanted to check if you received the refund of the balance amount. I am going through the same experience with Yeshwanthpuram campus

Post your Comment

    I want to submit Complaint Positive Review Neutral Comment
    code
    By clicking Submit you agree to our Terms of Use
    Submit
    Christ University
    customer care contact
    Customer satisfaction rating Customer satisfaction rating is a complex algorithm that helps our users determine how good a company is at responding and resolving complaints by granting from 1 to 5 stars for each complaint and then ultimately combining them all for an overall score.
    Read more
    11%
    Complaints
    37
    Pending
    0
    Resolved
    4
    Christ University Phone
    +91 80 4012 9600
    +91 80 4012 9100
    Christ University Address
    Hosur Road, Bangalore, Karnataka, India - 560029
    View all Christ University contact information