Loreal Hair Smoothing — SEVERE DAMAGE

TO WHOM IT MAY CONCERN.
I WENT TO A LOREAL AUTHORIZED AND TRAINED BEUTICIAN ON 19TH DECEMBER 2009 TO GET A TREATMENT WORTH RS 2000/- WHICH WILL SMMOTHEN AND IMPROVE THE QUALITY OF MY HAIR. ONCE IT WAS DONE I NOTICED A SMALL BALD PATCH IN THE FRONT OF MY HEAD. THE BEAUTICIAN TOD ME THAT ITS LOOKED LIKE A BALD PATCH BECAUSE MY HAIR IS SLIGHTLY STRAIGHTENED.. ONCE I GOT HOME , I TRIED COMBING IT TO COVER THE PATCH WITH HAIR. TO MY SHOCK SURPRISE AND ANGUISH MY HAIR STRATED COMING OUT IN CLUSTERS.. TO IS THE 24TH AND IT CONTINUES TO FALL.. I HAVE STARTED LOOKING LIKE A VICTIM OF CHEMO THERAPY.
THIS HAS TURNED MY WORLD UPSIDE DOWN.. I DEMAND A COMPENSASATION OF 50 LAKHS FROM LOREAL , CONSIDERING THEIS AGONY WILL LAST ME AT LEAST 2 YEARS TO GET MY HAIR BACK.IF ANY ONE WANTS TO SUPPORT ME IN THIS REGARD PLS EMAIL ME @[protected]@REDIFFMAIL.COM
L'Oreal customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.

Sorry to hear about your traumatic situation. I am also going through similar kind of experience. can you please share what are the steps you have taken to proceed legally.

Thanks for your input.

Neha
hey tapati.
thanks for sharing your experience.
my friends did the same but they haven't experienced anything that terrible.
but i'm supporting you. go grl. sue them..
Hi tapati,

I had rebonding hair treatment from Loreal last year and now my hair are so less that every one asks me what has happened to your hair, but somehow i am managing. If it has ill effects on hair then these (LOREAL) ppl should stop these treatment . Should not fool people by using such harsh chemicals.

Go ahead Tapati.
hi guyes i can give u 1 good suggestion is that * i[censored] r getting done a rebonding or smoothening, when ur hair stylist apply the first cream and the hair are stick on the board and i[censored]r scalp is burning or itching ask ur stylist to remove the cream from the scalp because that is the root cause of hair fall thats when then chemical breaks the bonds of hair and our scalp is warm so the procedure takes place faster and u guyes have a hair fall later because hair has been damaged

*and i[censored]r hairs are badly damaged then apply a damage repair condition and give hot towel treatment at home it will help!
love ur hair !
i[censored] need any tip u can mail me on : [protected]@yahoo.com
Hi.This is what i learnt..Some have hairfall n some don't..Some of the factors include (1) dandruff - it can be caused due to stress, Oil rich diet, hair not washed completely of its shampoo n conditioner which then drips on the scalp over the next few days n clogs ur pores. (2) Fever- incase u hadn't noticed, after an episode of fever, u naturally lose some hair, (3)Heat- fever means ur body gets hot so when ever ur body heats up (summer season) u probably lose hair (4)natural hair loss-ur longest hair strand is probably 6 yrs old so its expected to fall..around 20-200 hair strands fall a day to accomodate new hair growth...
Well thats as far as i can remember...Remember, some can have reactions to even natural products while most don't..so u can imagine what chemicals do to our hair...By the way...i had done smoothening(the label on the porduct said Glatt) but apparently it was part of Swarzkoph (or however u spell it)...it was gud for about 2 weeks but then some portions started getting a little wavy n falling more than usual...2 mths later wn i went to the same salon to purchase Swarz...whatever..conditioner, the salonists wr surprised that i was buying the conditioner for my hair not realizing that i straightened my hair there !! But one of the managers was kind, apologized, asked why i didn't come back to show them the hair change, threw in a better n more expensive Swarzko...conditioner (than what i planned to buy ) for free, asked me to set up an appointement wth their experts to check what went wrong...got them to see my ahir...told me all the problems for hairfall n what went wrong in the process AND have offered to do it again for free...!!So the info provided above bout hair fall is a combination of what i've read n what they told me...but u knw what? the only thing that honestly worked for my hair fall control was- PRAYER. I've decided not to go for any more hair straightening coz honestly God knws whats best for me n if He wantrs my hair to be wavy..its a headache to try n make it look otherwise...So no matter what sueing u do...only God can replace what u lost..
Jesus Loves You.Thats why He died for u.Whoever believes in Him will have eternal life.God Bless.
Thanks for telling. I was planning to do rebonding from Loreal . You saved me.
I agree with whoever said - You will definitely loose hair. I am extremely happy with the way i look and therefore my mindset only pushed me to use natural hair packs made of CURD - EGG - OLIVE OIL. Trust me they are better than your chemical products. All you need to have is patience and determination. The natural products bring effect but in due time so please start using it and trust me people do complement me for my hair. they do look frizzy but what the hell they are natural - start loving what u have women only then others will love it.
oh thnk god fr showing me the reality of doing smoothening or rebonding, i shall never go fr it .,
My mum also got similar treatement done. Its been years and she is fighting with alopecia. But i use a lot of herbal products on my hair. Infact things like henna mehendi with coffee, egg, curd help to color, smoothen and straighten the hair (the process is slow though).
Hey Tapati,
Hope your hair status has improved by now.
Felt really sorry after reading the horrible effects of smoothing. I have been thinking of getting the treatment done, but after a series of consulting and hearing the experiences that gals have had after smoothing, i will definitely not go in for the treatment. And for that sake y only LOREAL.. any other hair chemical treatments will lead to this...
Thanks for uploading your exp here, it helps a lot.. U take care of your hair ...
Pooja...
hey,
true !!! i had very long hair and now after rebonding they have become shabby and frizzy and the quality of my hair has deteriorated. my hair are damaged with split ends and i can do nothing about it. :( Yes, if you can do anything against Loreal/Wella people...please go ahead. All d best !!
they just want to mint money and not bothering to tell us the harmful effects of all chemical treatments.

Best,
Aishwarya.

Sorry for the loss.

I had took 5 times rebonding in 4 years and my hairs are ok now..Only go for the Matrix products. There products have very less side effects. So, I suggest everyone who wants there hair to look straight, ONLY GO FOR MATRIX PRODUCTS.

Amit
me too agree with this fact but to be frank its not the loreal brand mistake as there more than 1000, s of scientists working behind that, this was surely because of the technicians (loreal) fault as they have'nt analysed u r hair properly. just for the money sake they have done the service. But this shows that how a brand name get spoils beacuse of the poor training.
REALLY...I DO FEEL LIKE TO KILL THAT PEAPLE.I HAD DONE MY HAIR STRAGHTENEND ON 4 JULY 2012 AND THE PROBLEM IS WHILE STRAGHTENING MY HAIR WAS ITCHING...AND SINCE NOW AND I HAVE NOTICED CLUSTER OF HAIR BREAKED AND CAME OUT WHILE WASHING AND COMBING NEAR SCALP.NOW I AM SCARED TO BE BALD.I WENT THERE AGAIN WITH THE COMPLAIN BUT THEY DEFUSED THAT IT WILL BE NOT A PROBLEM OF BALDNESS ..FOLLOWING ME WTH A TREATMENT OF ANTI-HAIR BREAKAGE.BUT NO CHANGED...I AM SEVERELY SUFFERING FROM THE PROBLEM.BEING A GIRL, AM REALLY SCARED...BUT I THINK HAIR IS ALWAYS EVERYBODIES PRIORITY...LOREAL MUST BE BAND FOR ALWAYS, SUCH A DUMP...HORRIBLE COMPANY.
sorry my scalp was itching
yeah loreal people r . Even I am facing the same problem. always go for natural or herbal shampoos completely chemical free. What has happened cant be changed. atleast the least we can do is stop buying loreal products. go to hell loreal
Heyy i have a lttle curly hair so i wanted to go for smoothing but since reaading this post i get that its dangerous.its ok to have a little unmanaged hair...but atleast u will have hair.All this chemical treatments damage hair eventually.Dont take a risk.
Am getting married next month and had plans to go for hair smoothing... I have dry, frizzy, curly and fluffy hair... after reading this post.. am terrified... I think its better to have dry, frizzy curly and ugly hair than not have them at all... :(
i am planning to do smoothening on my hair so plz tell me which is the best to choose????
GUYS PLZZZZ I AM TELLING EVERYBODY WHO ARE THINKING TO GO FOR LOREAL HAIR SMOOTHENING TREATMENT AND THINKING THAT IT WILL MAKE YOUR HAIR STRAIGHT LIKE HOLLYWOOD ACTORS THEN YOU ARE ABSOLUTELY WRONG!!...ITS BETTER TO GO FOR HAIR REBONDING THE BEST TREATMENT FOR GETTING HAIR STRAIGHTENED, SOFT AND SILKY AND ALSO WHO HAVE COLOURED HAIR CAN ALSO GO FOR REBONDING THERE IS NO ISSUE AT ALL ITS MY PERSONAL EXPERIENCE..SMOOTHENING IS TOTALLY MONEY WASTE TREATMENT.I GOT IT DONE A WEEK BACK AND THE RESULTS ARE NOT AS I HAD EXPECTED..BCOZ I WANTED STRAIGHT N SILKY HAIR AND I GOT JUST SOFT AND MANAGEABLE HAIR.. SALON EXPERTS WILL MISGUIDE YOU FOR NOT DOING REBONDING AS IT WILL DAMAGE YOUR HAIR, MAKE YOUR HAIR MORE DRY ALL THIS CRAPY STUFF etc. NEVER GET CARRIED AWAY JUST BLINDLY GO FOR REBONDING!! ..SMOOTHENING WILL JUST MAKE YOUR HAIR SOFT, IF YOU COMB YOUR HAIR IT WONT TANGLE BUT IT HAS NOTHING TO DO WITH STRAIGHTENING..!

L'Oreal
    Customer satisfaction rating Customer satisfaction rating is a complex algorithm that helps our users determine how good a company is at responding and resolving complaints by granting from 1 to 5 stars for each complaint and then ultimately combining them all for an overall score.
    37%
    L'Oreal Address
    A - Wing, 8th Floor, Marathon Futurex, N.M Joshi Marg, Lower Parel, Mumbai, Maharashtra, India - 400013
    View all L'Oreal contact information