[Resolved]  Orange Properties — Harassment

There is case of open cheating by Orange Properties in their furniture venture. I booked a dining table on 5th May 2008 and they promised delivery date on 12th May 2008 in writing provided I give them the payment of complete cash by 8th May 2008, which I did on 7th itself.

After collecting complete cash, the harassment starts. Firstly there was a person "Manjunath" who committed these dates, then I was given another cheat's number "Bhushan" saying he is the one taking care and he promised another date; later Bhushan says he is not responsible, call the corporate office. In corporate office, another shameless liar lady named "Bhavya" takes the call and promised me delivery on 29th May 2008 else refund. 29th full day nobody turned up and the same lady refused to come online while I called, instead another person in bunch of cheaters "Geeta" promised a date of 2nd June 2008, which again was not met and when called the earlier liar dropped saying it will be on 6th June 2008. I heard these guys did lot of propert sales and sold dreams of future, this message is to warn you all to be very careful to park your money with these goons.

The way these guys change their tone and lie blantantly is worrisome, the website is also accused of spreading malicious content and in any case Orange Properties & Orange Woods does not look like intending to be in business for long and could be causing overnight scam one day

Here are some things that you must know about the Orange Properties offer at Devanahalli:

1. The proposed location of the property is off all main highways and is in fact further away from the Intl Airport. Guess where that puts you in terms of commute time to the city! The location does not fall within 48 kms of the city center making it out of purview of even the Bangalore Master Plan 2015... you will have to wait till 2020 (with Abdul Kalam's vision!) for some proper infrastructure around the place.

2. There are only TWO (!!!) villas priced at about 69 lks in the entire project that is on offer - that too without including the VAT and club-house charges that must be paid for. Of course, you have to bear the registration costs as well! The other villas are priced anywhere between 70 lakhs to 1.1 crore without the other additional costs of course. Psst... the 69 lakh villa comes on a 997-sft parcel of land - hardly any place for what I would term a "villa". And yes, its only a 1500 sft "Villa" - just a tad bit bigger than your standard three bedroom apartment in the city. I also note a sudden disappearance of the D category villa priced at over 1.6 crores which I am sure was there when I visited the website the first time round! Wonder what happened to that! ;) Curiously, the number of smaller villas has gone up to 195!

3. There are supposedly 800 apartments and 195 villas in the project with one club-house! And, Eureka!, the company collects Rs. 5 lakhs from every villa buyer and 1 lakh from every apartment buyer for the same club's membership! That's a cool 17.75 crores for just the club-house facility that on closer inspection can be set up for less than one-sixth of the money collected (the land comes free, remember?!)

4. Lets look at another interesting aspect of the apartment offer - There is an offer of a rental of Rs.5000/- a month (for an as yet non-existent and unfinished apartment!!!) until completion - two yrs in timeline. Now, lets dissect, you pay 2 lakhs in booking amount and the company pays you 5000*24=1.2 lakhs over a period of two years! Wow - magic - you got rent!

5. Now - coming to the most interesting piece of them all! The Mercedes Benz! :) Another thing to keep in mind is that given that the company will book delivery of at least 20 vehicles at a shot, it is possible to get a discount of 40% on the cost - lets just say that the cost per car for the company is down to about 19 lakhs. Now, how does the company fund this whole thing? Some cool math below:

Given that the cheapest villa is what you buy (No. A-37), here is what you pay:

At Booking: 10 lks
Land Cost: 19.94 lks (at a massive Rs. 2000/sft for land that was probably acquired at less than Rs.400/sft - Foolhardy if it has been acquired at a price higher than that so far from the city!)
Construction Cost: 39 lks (Wow! At Rs.2600/sft for construction, this should qualify as the MOST expensive builder in town! Any good contractor worth his salt should be able to do a decent job for about 1200 a sft - all inclusive - Raw material prices are falling yet)
Development Cost: 9.97 lks (What was that again?? You are charged for the land, you are charged exorbitantly for the construction and then you pay for "Development" - Excuse me??! Most plot promoters in the city provide all "development" like compound walls, underground cabling and drainage as part of the plot's cost.)

Here is what a regular builder would charge - You would probably get the land for about Rs.600/sft (am willing to bet!), construct at 1200/sft, spend on approvals and other stuff like compound walls and motors at maybe 200/sft. Comes to 30 lks in all for the property. Leaves a good 39 lks for the freebies - "Mercedes BENZ" :) which is acquired at about 19 lks and 20 lks for the balance sheet and the ad campaign! Ah yes, you can get membership at any one of the multitude of clubs on the NH for a far lower price - I checked.

6. A look at the payment schedule, the company proposes to entirely fund the cost of construction of the complex (and the cars) out of booking and agreement amounts received! The booking amount is only adjusted on completion of the flooring, when you have already paid 80% of the total price!

There is little, if any, indication of the execution capabilities of Orange - they have branched out into multiple business lines solely on the strength of their marketing ability. Some who purchased furniture from the company's other venture have had to wait long for delivery and have been at the receiving end of goof-ups in the production, logistics and after-sales service departments. The problems with all the holidays that were booked (through another division) are only unraveling now.

Net-Net Orange is a group of clever marketers that dwells on the enormous hype it generates to attract customers who will be blinded enough not to read the fine print until later! The short time period of the offer (which I don't believe holds), the massive ad campaigns (running in crores!) and the attractive price points (that are not all encompassing with prices often higher than market for their "other" eh-options!) all point to a strong marketing team but speak nothing of the execution behind the promises made. Beware! :)

*Note: All data provided above has been taken from the Orange website, various newspapers and promotional material distributed by the company and a little bit of analysis by yours truly!

Warm regards,
Raj
I have the same experience with Orange woods, beyond all this, for the delay of furniture delivery they gave me a reason, saying in the mid of sea the ship was repair or else they would have delivered in time, i paid them a complete cash of 35K and they commited the delivery of 15Days but they gave me the delivery of furniture after 3Months, they had given me atleast of 20 delivery dates, and they delivered all my furnitures part by part and the quality of wood they used is very poor and in 20 days the cot they had given broke in to two pieces when i went for asking for the replacement... they say it is not in waranty...

MY DEAR FRIENDS I REQUEST YOU ALL... NOT TO GET MESMERIZE WITH THE OUTLOOK OF THEIR FURNITURE... PLEASE DON'T BUY ANY OF THEIR FURNITURE OR PROPERTY FROM ORANGE WOODS OR PROPERTY
I have the same experience with Orange woods, & orange properties, more than six month back i have supplied a plywoods to orange wood.my payment still pending, they usually gives the postdated cheques when the dates comes means the cheque wil be bounced, more than 50 times i got cheaue bounce of orange properties, whenever i cal them they tel deposite on next weak if i deposit means again it got bounce bouncing, cheques bouncing is became the hobby for them, so please be care ful from this people i dont know weather i wil come out are not from this compony, ...
ORANGE PROPERTIES - Whats the latest on Orange properties? Has anyone got any refunds? Is this forum formed a group and discussed the issues in person?
Hey Friends.

Did any one get PDC cheque from Orange properties for Granity Properties? Did the cheque got cleared so far??

Or your cheque got bounced?

Pls share your experience so that we can fight against with these cheaters,
Hi All,

I have also come across a few of my friends having this problem with Orange Propertise.

They have got the Cheque which bounced and all are going legal.

They have approached a advocate together to make the case stronger.

Let me know what have you done or if you are interested in joining their group.

Good luck
Mohan
Somebody possibly in Bangalore must start a joint action group to take these people to court, they seem to be getting away with defrauding people as they please.
After reading all the complaints i am convinced that the orange properties / woods is a fraudent organisation . thanks one and all for saving my hard earned money.
hi this is prashant here from mumbai be carefull all u guys dont not invest ur valuable money in this fraud company as i no b'coz i was jst working for this company in temporary basis in mumbai day have taken money from the mumbai clients and ran aways without payin them a single rupee and all of this above if the company pays the cheque to the customers 110% it bounces. when happened in my case also as i didnt got my salary for 2months so do u think guys they will pay you ur amount as fast and customers who have already paid i request you to take serious action or complaint against them.
WHere is this property and who are the people you talking about