[Resolved]  General Motors — Engine Problem in Beat Diesel

General Motors India Pvt. Ltd. 22/11/2013 Plot No.15, Echelon Institutional Area, Sector 32, Gurgoan- 122001 Haryana, India. Replacement of defective Diesel Engine & Radiator Dear Sir, Influenced by the tall claims of your company and impressed by the CHEVOLET tag we decided to buy your Beat Diesel Model Car. We purchased the car from your authorized Dealer M/s Shiva Motors Sahibabad, District Ghaziabad vide their Invoice No. R00277 dated 05/08/2011 bearing the following details: CHASSIS NO. MA 6 BFBFNBBT061440 ENGINE NO. 10AB5Z[protected] For almost one year the car gave satisfactory service but after one year the car engine started giving trouble. we kept on pointing out the defects to your authorized service station M/s Shiva Motors but they kept on assuring us that there is no defect in the engine and that the nature of defects being pointed out to them are common in Diesel Engines and with the time the engine would settle down and kept on providing cosmetic adjustments just to probably complete the warranty period. It was only when the oil leakage increased and the Radiator also developed leakages did we realize that the company was taking us for a ride. We went to Shiva Motors to get it rectified we were informed that one oil pipe and the radiator base needs replacement & both are not covered under warranty. We were shocked to know that such a vital part of the engine on which the whole life of the engine depends is plastic based. Sir, such important information is not reveled anywhere in your booklet nor the literature being provided by you to the customer which amounts to cheating. Finally after a lot of discussion they accepted to rectify the defects and the car were handed over to the workshop on[protected] We were informed that radiator has been arranged but for the oil pipe has to procured from pune plant and since the replacements have been ordered with the company the car shall take some time before it can be delivered back to us. On inquiry after almost one week when there was no call from Siva Motors when we called them only then we were informed that the oil pipe has yet not arrived but the radiator base is available & since there is not much leakage the car can be used even without its replacement for some more time. We were told that since for replacing the pipe the radiator also has to be opened. When oil pipe will be replaced at same time radiator will also be changed simultaneously both defects will be rectified together. On their assurance that since there is not much leakage & Radiator will be replaced along with oil pipe on receipt of the same from the company, we took the delivery of the vehicle. After almost two weeks when we did not receive any call from the Shiva Motors & while driving the same we noticed that the car was getting heated up, We took the car back to M/s Shiva Motors & told them to rectify the defects again, We were surprised by the answer that they forget to procure the part from the company because of which they did not call us. After almost one week we received the vehicle from the Shiva Motors after paying Rs7588/- for the Radiator. After driving the vehicle for almost[protected] kms the vehicle again started heating up. We again took the vehicle to Shiva Motors who later informed us that the water and oil in the engine is getting mixed up and that the engine needs overhauling for which they gave us an estimate of approximately one lac. They again informed us that such repairs are not covered under the warranty given by the company and for any further discussion on the subject we should approach the company. We would like to be informed on following counts 1. What is the meaning of warranty as far as your car goes? 2. What are parts not covered under warranty & why they have not been highlighted in your pamphlets or service book. 3. Why your authorized service station could not detect the faults at the first instant? 4. Why your workshop do not have adequate stocks of spare parts to rectify the defects as & when they are deducted. 5. What are the parts which are specially covered under the warranty? 6. Why your service station did give the car to customer without changing the radiator? We would request you to kindly look into matter as we feel your workshop has goofed up somewhere and could not detect the faults in time because of which we are in the present situation. We would also wish to point out that the company cannot wriggle out its responsibility towards its customers on such flimsy grounds. We also wish to point out that if in case we do not hear from you within one week of date of this letter we shall have no alternate but to go to consumer court to force you for your warranty obligation. We hope the matter shall receive your very urgent attention and you shall replace the defective parts immediately. Thanking You, Yours truly, For Alpine Industries, (BHUPINDER KAUR)