Indian Overseas Bank Complaints & Reviews

Updated: Nov 8, 2025
Complaints 2361

File a complaint to Indian Overseas Bank

Having problems with Indian Overseas Bank?

File a complaint and get it resolved by Indian Overseas Bank customer care. It’s quick, effective and absolutely free!

Indian Overseas Bank reviews & complaints page 95

sorna14
Sep 1, 2016

Address: Chennai, Tamil Nadu, 600044

I have booked a ticket in redbus on 9th july 2016 from chennai to thoothukudi. During transaction amount rs.700.50 got debited in my account and page not responding. I have contacted redbus regarding a refund amount but they have given me a bank reference number: "[protected]" to contact the bank (Given by redbus).

Then i contacted customer care. They booked a complaint on july 26th 2016 said that amount will be refunded in next 10days and they given me reference number: "sk260707" for further communication.

Till now there is no response from them. When ever i used to call them.. They are saying me to call back after two days later..

Kindly resolve this issue

Thankyou
Indian Overseas Bank customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.
Sep 04, 2016
Sivamuruganbala's response
Mobile number registeration
Sep 04, 2016
Thank yiu
Sep 04, 2016

I am bala murugan, home toen from k.m kottai, i am iob atm use money transfer, sms on my mobile number alert soon.

name:bala murugan.V

bank name:iob

account no:[protected]

branch name:ramasamipatti

Anbu0706
    Sep 1, 2016

Address: 604601

Indian overseas bank kilpennathur branch 0656.. His name is ravi kiran working in that branch he is giving proper answer to customers.. I asked him to clear internet banking issues but he is giving proper answer to me and talking in diiffrent manner.. Please take on him proper action.. Currently i'm working in bangalore how i can able to come to my home town.. If i called customer care also they are telling to send your relative or friends to the branch... Then if i send to my relatives also they are not giving proper answer...
    Indian Overseas Bank customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.
    Sep 01, 2016
    Updated by Anbu0706
    Please take on him action.. and tell to him to clear my internet banking issues
    Sir My ATM Card is deactivated . The card No. is [protected].

Kindly do needful please.

tamil.ice
      Aug 31, 2016

Address: 621215

This is tamilvanan from thottiyam branch, trichy dt, tamilnadu. Pin: 621215, branch code: 0117 assistant manager mr. Rajesh behaviour is totally irritating and he is not working properly. Always he comes to bank at 11am even other staffs came early 9am. If any problem related bank account he told come aftr 2 weeks why becoz our bank system problem. So kindly make action about him. Whenever i asked about the problem he told that he is not intresting to work. I hope you will take action on him. Becoz like me most of the customers are worrying becoz of him.

cityhospital
        Aug 27, 2016

Address: Dakshina Kannada, Karnataka, 575003

I would like to inform you that today evening around 5.30 PM we made online payment of examination fee to Rajive Gandhi university of Health science bangalore from our IOB net banking account No [protected] .An Amount of 1, 15, 813.00 debited to our a/c but said amount is not credited to beneficiary account .Details as below,

Merchant Reference Number GIOB[protected]
        Narration RGUHSEXAM
        Amount 115813.80
        Transaction Date 27/08/2016
        Bank Reference Number 854119

please recredit the amount to our A/c No [protected] at the earliest to enable us make fresh payment since it is matter of examination fee of students, Kindly do the need ful

Chitra Govardhan
          from Madurai, Tamil Nadu
          Aug 24, 2016

Address: Chennai, Tamil Nadu, 600048

Dear IOB CC Team,

This is chitra & my complaint no. is AJ 110806 registered on 11/08/16. Am writing this complaint to the higher authorities there to take an action immediately, please take this complaint to your Higher Authorities.

I have given my complaint on 11/08/16 & today is 24/08/16 but still it is not resolved. Can i know why it has not been resolved. What is the action taken from your end. Do you know the meaning for Customer Care ????

Today i have called the customer care to know the status but they have given this number[protected] to get the status but the f#ck nobody is picking the call. Are you people playing with customer?? Please note & register my complaint against Mannivakkam IOB Branch Manager for his irresponsible job.

We are customers for IOB & this is the you treat us. I want my money back to my account without any delay if not...

planetamol
            Aug 24, 2016

Address: 411002

Dear Sir/Mam,

My name is Amol Ajit Rahatekar, since more than 20 years, I have a savings account No. [protected] with Pune City Branch of Indian Overseas Bank, Pune. I have always maintained good balance with the bank account.

In Nov. 2015 i went to fill up petrol in me two-wheeler. However I did not have cash so I presented my IOB debit card to the vendor, but to my surprise the card did not work as it showed 'Expired' status even tough it was due to expire in Dec. 2015. I faced a lot of humility and trouble.

So next day I went to the Pune City Branch of Indian Overseas Bank and asked the Branch Manager why my card was disabled before the due date. To this, he had no answer and asked me to apply for a new one. Other banks like ICICI Bank, where I have another savings account, send new cards by courier as soon as the old cards are about to expire. Indian Overseas Bank does not have a proper system to deal with this issue.

Even after waiting for more than 2 months, I did not get my new card. Upon enquire, the manager told, there is a problem in their system which is being upgraded to a new software therefore they are not able to issue debit cards. I faced great inconvinience. Then I sent a written complaint to the branch manager and warned him about lodging a cunsumer complaint case against the bank, still he did not budge.

Today, it has been more than ten months, they have not given me a debit card. Today they are saying, you will get a debit card without my name printed within 2-3 days. They have fooled me so many months. Every bank prints names of account holders on the card, why is Indian overseas bank denying me the service and previledge.

I want strict legal action to be taken against the bank and the branch manager, send them to 2-3 years prison and compensate me appropriately for the mental agony I went through due to visiting the branch so many times for such a small thing. My old age father, uncle had to visit the bank so many times for follow-up. I will never recommend anyone to deal with Indian Overseas Bank in my life. It is the worst bank in the world.

Amol A Rahatekar
            Nov 21, 2016
            Updated by planetamol
            Dear Sir / Mam,

The Indian Overseas Bank Issued a Debit Card to me, but till today it has not been activated. The branch manager told me to go to the ATM and enter insert ot in the ATM Machine and a pin number will be sms to my mobile. Actually there are very very few IOB ATMs in my locality. One i traced in Kasba Peth, Pune. When I inserted the card, no sms was generated. I tried going there 4-5 times, still it has not worked.

Neither did the IOB Bank sent me any ATM Card pin through post or courier. Therefore, it has not solved my problem yet. The bank has denied me the service and here negligence has caused me tremendous mental agony and financial problems.

I request the relevant authority to take strict action against the bank and its negligent officials and pay me appropriate compensation with interest.

Amol & Jaibala Rahatekar
            SB Ac. No. [protected] (IOB)
            May 03, 2017
            Updated by planetamol
            Dear Sir / Mam,

Today again the bank manager asked me to submit a handwritten and signed application to generate a pin manually for my debit card for the same account. She said, after she receives my application, she will process a request for new pin. Then after 7-10 days the branch will receive the pin. After that she will hand it over to me.

I want to ask is, in this digital age, IOB is still taking so much time for such small small things. Even after all this, I am not sure whether my card will work of not. Government should close down such banks with pathetic service.

Amol & Jaibala Rahatekar
            SB Ac. No. [protected] (IOB)

akshat z
              from Muzaffarnagar, Uttar Pradesh
              Aug 24, 2016

Address: 251001

This bank open my account in 3 months their rules are out my sense, 1st they tell your account will take 5 minutes in opening and then it will open in 3 months. And it again happening and this time it is my debit card. They tell your card will come to you in 15 days but now it is over a month and they only one answer wait wait. Please take strict action against it

svav.mukundan
                Aug 18, 2016

Address: 620021

I am pradeepa, (My account number 23413) i have an account in iob k. Sathanur branch, trichy. An amount is missing in my account from the following dates (8/4/16, 19/4/16, 20/5/16, 25/5/16, 27/6/16) in our passbook entries they mean aecn5640-nfs26479, aecn5640-nfs07467, aecn5640-nfs00244,, aecn5640-nfs02551, itntn133-nfs55802, itntn133-nfs53370, itntn133-nfs78223, itntn133-nfs82482, itntn133-nfs86925, itntn133-nfs91307. I dont understand the words in passbook. So i request u to please reaccount the missing amount.

My mobile number [protected]
                Address.
                M.Ajantharani
                w/o Paul Peter
                1/144 east street
                Venkatakulam(po)
                Alangudi (tk)
                Pudukkottai(dt)

Debit card no;[protected]

Kathirvel N
                  from Eraniel, Tamil Nadu
                  Aug 17, 2016

Address: 639136

I applyed net banking through online in last month and then i was created my net banking user id successfully then i got printout for that user id and details of that my net banking. Then i was sighned in that printout after verfiied that printout and give to my nearest iob branch, they told, in two days your acoount will be actived. But after two days i was checked it was showing this message your account is deactivated likewise and i wait another two days and then i went to ask i got this kind of message when while i am logged in that, they was told ask there they will help to you and then i am asked, they told, "i was activate your account in after an a hour sir"like wise. But stil now my account was in deactivated. So please help me.

cavinay
                    Aug 17, 2016

Address: Ajmer, Rajasthan, 305001

I have deposited cheque in overseas bank ajmer date 8-8-2016
                    cheque no 032367 bank OBC AJMER
                    Favour of Vinay kumar
                    still waiting ...my account number is [protected]
                    please check n reply to me as soon as
                    Vinay kumar

Ilamathi Thiru
                      Aug 17, 2016

Address: 613403

Sir/madam,

I tried to make a payment to www.ding.com for my online recharge purchase through iob internet banking. The cash was debited twice but not transferred to the merchant.

I have tried many times to register through the online complaint section of iob. But the page always shows ' page cannot be displayed '.

Details :
                      Bank: indian overseas bank, sastra branch.
                      Ac no.[protected]
                      Date: august 1, 2016.
                      Transaction id:[protected]vid319697o010186x2602 and dflt9999- vid517320o010816x2602

Please make necessary action at the earliest.
                      Nov 9, 2021
                      I got the money back. It was credited after 15days of complaint

DeepanAmbis
                        Aug 17, 2016

Address: 610001

We have been asking for the statement for the past 2 years as we are not sure about 10k in our account. But the bank executive told that there is no balance in your account as of now. So we suspect that they are giving wrong info so we asked them to print all the transactions in passbook. Till they are not at all giving any details and every time they are giving some lame excuses.

My uncle age is 65 and every week he is going to the bank and coming back without any luck.in case if anything happens to my uncle while coming to the bank who is responsible for that?

So kindly ask the concern person and provide all the transactions details in a passbook or else any statement would be great. Basically we need to know if the amount is incurred by us or not.

Iob, kangalancherry, thiruvarur (Dist) - 610001
                        Aug 13, 2016
                        joco's response
                        mobile number
                        Aug 13, 2016
                        joco's response
                        Aug 13, 2016
                        joco's response
                        Updated by joco, Aug 13, 2016
                        mobile number
                        Updated by joco, Aug 13, 2016
                        Update of mobile number

Sukhdev gupta
                          Aug 12, 2016

Address: 229001

Issue.clerkall time use mobile phone for listen song.2.bank watch is 5 min fast.3.debit and credit file is completed 4 pm .4 mostly tell us server is not working . 5my sb a/c [protected], 3692, [protected] me rd link hai lekin amount deduct nahi hota reason My bad luck. 6.clerk 4 pm par chala jata hai.7manager stay half day coming time 10:30
                          I have lost my password, its giving error as number of attempts exhausted,
                          please send my password on the alternate email id [protected]@yahoo.com so kindly help with sb account.

Vijay998
                            Aug 12, 2016

Address: 637502

I have apply for new pan
                            For that it show me to pay 117.35 rs on net banking
                            At 9th augest 2016 at night i have loggedin
                            But transaction was incomplete balance was debited
                            I tried again
                            That time also fails
                            Totally 234.70 rs debited but transaction was failed
                            Plzz refund iob
                            09-aug-2016 [protected]@824710 debit 117.35
                            09-aug-2016 [protected]@824616 debit 117.35
                            These are id
                            Plzz
                            Till today balance not refunded
                            I register a complaint on my branch also no use
                            Plzz take action to refund

Apoorv Sai
                              Aug 12, 2016

Address: 226004

Sir, i apoorv shukla did online payment but amount has not been recieved on the other side, this is the messeage which came.(Rs.1008.60 Debited to SB-xxx8569 AcBal:4073.21 CLRBal: 4073.21 [[protected]V ] MOTI NAGAR on[protected]:30:14) so sir kindly see in dis matter and please let me know what action has been taken or whom.else to be concerned as its a serious issue Ans needs to be resolved.waiting for ur action

Rupesh Kadav
                                Aug 10, 2016

Address: Kutch, Gujarat, 370201

My atm card is showing invalid card while I put in the atm.if it is blocked unblock immediately
                                Acc num [protected]
                                Atm card number [protected]
                                Rupesh Vilas Kadav
                                Contact number [protected]

Guruprasadh Gopalakrishnan
                                  Aug 9, 2016

Address: 600033

I guruprasadh customer of west mambalam branch a/c no.[protected] needed one time password to be sent to newly registered mobile number. Though sms alert has been changed but still otp is always received to my old number.
                                  Please change at the earliest.
                                  I have informed many times to the bank by writing letters thrice
                                  I think it would be good if iob impose letter writing on 5th standard students so that they can learn.

TJeyaseelan
                                    Aug 9, 2016

Address: 600008

I have made a complaint vide the following letter dt.30.6.2016 regarding debiting of an amount of Rs.70, 010/- from my account without swiping my visa card. My visa card limit per day is Rs.50, 000/-; but Rs, 53, 960/- has been debited only on 22.2.2016. Further, no SMS alert was received for the above transaction. In this regard, no reply has been received from the branch till date. I request that kind necessary action may be taken to credit this amount to my account after verifying your records.

Thanking You..

My complaint dt.30.6.2016 to IOB / Mount Road Branch, Chennai.
                                    From
                                    T.Jeyaseelan,
                                    New no.75, s1, Sankara Flats,
                                    Sait Colony II street,
                                    Egmore, Chennai 600 008

The Branch Manager,
                                    IOB, Mount Road Branch,
                                    Chennai.

Sub.: T.Jeyaseelan, Pension account in IOB (a/c. no.[protected]) – Details of transactions
                                    made on certain dates – Requesting of – Reg.
                                    I am having my pension account (a/c. no.[protected]) in IOB, Mount Road Branch, Chennai from 28.11.2013 onwards. While verifying my transactions through my pass Book, I came to know that several transactions have been made to “DFLT9999VID….” as follows; but to my knowledge, it was not made by us.

Date Details Amount in RS.
                                    23.12.2015 DFLT9999-VID7681 60
                                    2.1.2016 DFLT9999-VID6717 300
                                    2.2.2016 DFLT9999-VID4587 300
                                    12.2.2016 DFLT9999-VID8771 870
                                    16.2.2016 DFLT9999-VID4747 1200
                                    16.2.2016 DFLT9999-VID5549 3100
                                    17.2.2016 DFLT9999-VID9309 2400
                                    17.2.2016 DFLT9999-VID9328 1200
                                    17.2.2016 DFLT9999-VID1712 2400
                                    18.2.2016 DFLT9999-VID9848 3600
                                    22.2.2016 DFLT9999-VID7593 6200
                                    22.2.2016 DFLT9999-VID4057 6200
                                    22.2.2016 DFLT9999-VID2259 6200
                                    22.2.2016 DFLT9999-VID7639 7400
                                    22.2.2016 DFLT9999-VID4131 3100
                                    22.2.2016 DFLT9999-VID3351 6200
                                    22.2.2016 DFLT9999-VID0641 6200
                                    22.2.2016 DFLT9999-VID5828 6200
                                    22.2.2016 DFLT9999-VID6139 6200
                                    22.2.2016 DFLT9999-VID1351 60
                                    25.2.2016 DFLT9999-VID9194 620
                                    TOTAL 70, 010

Hence, I request that the details of above transactions to whom it was made may be informed to me. Further, I request that if it is confirmed that these transactions were not made by me, kind needful action may be taken to credit this amount to my account.

T.Jeyaseelan.
                                    Jan 03, 2017
                                    Updated by TJeyaseelan
                                    No action had been taken from IOB. No reply received.

Bhargav Bsk
                                      Aug 7, 2016

my name is boda siva krishna bhargava. i have my iob account at Tapeswaram branch in andhra pradesh.
                                      my account number is [protected].
                                      I tried for freecharge wallet recharge of 1000/- on 21st june. Money was debited from my account but recharge was not done.
                                      i enquired this with freecharge customercare. but they told that money was returned back to your on same day.
                                      They gave the below details.
                                      order id OC-[protected][protected] on 21/06/2016 and bank reference number [protected].
                                      So, please verify and credit the money back to my account.
                                      Thanking you sir.
                                      No token system is maintained, even the elders are standing for hours to deposit and withdraw.
                                      No proper air conditioner is maintained except the manger room.
                                      The ATM is not maintained properly, no security for the atm

dhivya94
                                        Aug 6, 2016

Address: Chennai, Tamil Nadu, 600021

My account no is [protected] in woman entrepreneurs branch, but I transfered it to oldwashermenpet branch two months before. I was opened recurring deposit on 15/05/2015, I had submitted documents many times in the branch, I did not get any response from the branch end. I was waiting for more than 8months.my rd account is [protected].