Skoda India — clutch worn out in about 5k kms

 
3 Reviews
Bangalore, India
 friendlyjame on Nov 9, 2018
Hi,

I am jameel, own a skoda rapid 2014 model ka04 mn 1729. I had always thought its a good decision me buying a skoda rapid instead of city, verna or ciaz. Unfortunately, i think am paying the price for that now.

Last time when i had given the vehicle for service at 35000 kms in may 2018, i was informed clutches are little tight and might have to be replaced after 5000 kms (After 40k kms). However they can confirm the percentage of worn out only after removing complete set which would have high impact on labour cost. I requested them to change without giving a second thought as i had to come back for service again only after a year and did not want my vehicle to face any issue.

I received the vehicle after service which totally cost me about 40k. I was happy and expected everything is fine. I drive on an average of 1000 kms per month. After 5+ months, i had completed about 41kms and was driving from bangalore to coimbatore on national highways with my family (5nov 2018) where i had difficulty in changing gears without any other symptoms. I had called skoda salem at about 2 pm informing this, i was told by them to come in the same gear as i was about 50kms away from them. Though i had tough time i tried driving towards salem slowly but my vehicle did not move after 15 kms, 35 kms away from salem. Salem skoda informed me i had to come before 4pm else they cannot work on this on the same day and next two days are holiday due to diwali. I requested them to come to the spot but i was given a number for towing service to get my car there. It took me 930pm to get my car to the salem skoda service station. I had given the car with the available people and took a taxi to my hometown which was about 160kms. After three days and following up with skoda service people several times i got to know that its clutch problem again. I was surprised to hear this considering i had changed clutch plate set just before 5 months which was told to be changed after 5000 kms when i had given for service earlier. Now i am told i had to pay 45 k for this. If i had to pay to change the same parts costing 40k every 6kms... What is the point me trusting the quality of this vehicle and spare parts offered at this place. Service and quality of the spare parts are biggest concern for me. I need an answer from skoda auto team on this. Please note that am not a new driver but i have experience of driving for more than 17 years both in india and abroad.

Very very disappointed with skoda auto and their service i do not think i will recommend anyone else (I had always recommended my friends and colleagues to go for skoda) to buy skoda cars ever if this issue is not taken up seriously by skoda auto.

Complaint Status


[Nov 09, 2018] Skoda India customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.
Updated by friendlyjame, Nov 09, 2018
Please note that clutch work was done at Tafe access service center, Kudlu, Bangalore,
Updated by friendlyjame, Nov 15, 2018
Awaiting...
Updated by friendlyjame, Jan 09, 2019
Its over two months now...
Updated by friendlyjame, Mar 21, 2019
Not even a call so far...not sure why people take it for granted, ...no response yet...more than 4 months now
Updated by friendlyjame, Mar 21, 2019
Paid abt 45k for the same issue twice in abt 5 months...so totally90k
Complaint comments  2 Comments     Updated: Share0Tweet0

Comments

How long should I wait???..?
Is this the right place to submit the complaint...not sure how long will it take to resolve this issue...its over 4 months...no response yet from anyone...

Post your Comment

    I want to submit Complaint Positive Review Neutral Comment
    Your Rating (1 star is bad, 5 stars is good)
    code
    Customer satisfaction rating
    46%
    Complaints
    963
    Pending
    32
    Resolved
    429
    phone
    1800 209 4646
    1800 102 6464
    location
    A-1 / 1, M.I.D.C., Five Star Industrial Area, Shendra, Aurangabad, Maharashtra, India - 431 201
    Skoda India - clutch worn out in about 5k kms