Skoda India — service issues

Address:A64, Udadhi Tarang. Next to JW Mariott Hotel, Juhu Tara Hotel, Juhu, Mumbai City, Maharashtra, 400049

Dear skoda / volkswagen - worldwide customer relation / service managers,

When we buy a skoda / premium car, we feel that it should last us for over 1 lakh kilometres without any problems & fear of sending the vehicle to authorized workshops as we feel it will create more service issues in the car rather than solving it.
Every time we send our vehicle for servicing, more problems crop up in the car as nobody in the workshop supervises / takes care of the vehicle & we are faced to suffer.

Our vehice, skoda superb - mh-43-aj-2651 was sent to jmd kandivali workshop in mumbai-india for regular servicing on 13th of september 2019,

Work to be done:
1. General servicing
2. Abs, esp & tyre pressure indication comes on simultaneously intermittently & then all indications disappear for many days, pointing to some dirt / loose connection in wiring. Asked them to check & tighten the wiring connection.

When the car was at their workshop, we received a call from the service advisor – amit, that some of the bulbs need replacement. He said that he will run the scanner & then confirm back.
Also, he suggested polishing of the windscreen for better view, to which we agreed.

When the car was returned back to us after 2 days, we observed
1. None of the faulty bulbs had been replaced.
2. The windscreen polishing as suggested & confirmed was not done.
3. Nothing was done regarding the faulty sensing of abs/esp/tyre pressure simultaneous indication which comes intermittently. Now, it was constantly on as probably they have removed or replaced the sensor totally rather than cleaning it.

This same intermittent abs sensor problem was observed & reported to jmd - 2 years back, which jmd did not address & then we had to complain to skoda-india, who in turn asked jmd to recheck the vehicle & the abs sensor found dirty, was cleaned to remove the fault as per the confirmation & report received from mr. Naval barkund (Gm-service - jmd-skoda). If you need, we can forward the previous report to you.

Currently, after a few days, the dashboard started showing the epc error. Also the speedometer stopped showing any reading.
We called up the jmd customer relation manager – sachin dalvi regarding these problems, but after repeated calling he responded that he cannot do anything further until we replace the faulty abs sensor (Which was intermittent, but has now become permanent).
I asked him to send the same in writing, but in the email received, he has not mentioned anything regarding the epc error as reported to him.

1. The abs/esp/tyre pressure error has become permanent (As sensor is removed / replaced probably)
2. In the next few days, the epc & speedometer problem comes in the morning or evening & mostly disappears on restarting the car. (Photo 1 & 2)
3. After a few days, the dashboard started showing the steering wheel error & the steering wheel became hard to turn. It also mostly disappears on restarting the car. (Photo 1 & 2)
4. On 1 of the days, the spanner symbol started flashing where the gear no. Is displayed. (Photo 3)
5. Also, during regular driving, the car gives sudden # & sometimes, the engine revs up as the clutch disengages & automatically reengages after a few seconds.
6. Later again the exaust filter (We have already replaced same) light has turned on intermittently. (Photo 4)

None of these above problems were present in the car before it was sent to jmd for servicing & now it is at such a precarious situation when we never know when the car will stop functioning. It is very scary to drive the car.

All these errors are turning on/off intermittently (As in the above photos) & we do not know how to proceed as the jmd service manager is not ready to give any concrete solution.

We then reported these problems to skoda-india on 4th october. Mr. Shamir of skoda gave us a call on 5th october & in conference with him & mr. Mahesh – service head of jmd, we fixed a service appointment for the 9th october where mr. Shamir assured me that skoda engineers will personally check the vehicle under his supervision & report the solution.

On 9th october, we did not receive any call from mr. Shamir & so we called him up (+[protected] & informed him that the vehicle has been sent to jmd & he should coordinate. We again did not receive any feedback regarding our vehicle till the evening, so we called up mr. Shamir again to ask for update. Now he told us that that he is not aware regarding the vehicle & he is not the person i spoke to in the morning. This is highly irresponsible behaviour on part of skoda personnel as after so much complaint also & appointment booked through them, they are not ready to take any responsibility to solve the problem.

Then i talked to mr. Mahesh of jmd & he again stuck to his old rant of abs sensor being faulty. We then asked him to replace the sensor immediately on chargeable basis & send the vehicle back, as we were facing difficulties by traveling in taxi due to the vehicle not being available. After another hour, mr. Mahesh called me up & informed me that the abs sensor was not available & it would take more than 1 week to procure it. Why did he fix the appointment if he cannot solve the problem?

He has now sent back the vehicle with all the errors flashing on the dashboard. None of these above problems were present in the car before it was sent to jmd for servicing & servicing at jmd has caused all these problems.

We would like to put up a strong complain against the dealership of jmd-skoda-kandivali for doing the most shoddy job in servicing every time & then shirking off their responsibility with no concern to customers.
Also, we would like to place a strong complaint against mr. Shamir of skoda, as he has failed to understand the gravity of the situation & has taken no responsibility in getting the problem resolved with consultation from skoda-india team as confirmed.

Kindly take immediate action against the jmd dealership to get this sorted out as other potential skoda customers will also be very concerned if this kind of irresponsible behaviour is allowed to continue on behalf of such a prestigious car company.

Awaiting immediate reply.

Samir garg (M: +91-[protected])
Skoda India customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.

Skoda India
    Customer satisfaction rating Customer satisfaction rating is a complex algorithm that helps our users determine how good a company is at responding and resolving complaints by granting from 1 to 5 stars for each complaint and then ultimately combining them all for an overall score.
    60%
    Skoda India Phone
    1800 209 4646
    1800 102 6464
    Skoda India Address
    A-1 / 1, M.I.D.C., Five Star Industrial Area, Shendra, Aurangabad, Maharashtra, India - 431 201
    View all Skoda India contact information