Southern Railway Complaints & Reviews

Updated: Aug 12, 2025
Complaints 745

File a complaint to Southern Railway

Having problems with Southern Railway?

File a complaint and get it resolved by Southern Railway customer care. It’s quick, effective and absolutely free!

Southern Railway reviews & complaints page 7

hariknair33
from Kottayam, Kerala
Oct 18, 2019

Address: Southern Railways, 679301

PNR#[protected], The TDR was filed itself by Railways on 24th August because the train was not touching either boarding station & arrival station. The train ticket was booked through UPI online payment system, hence the refund has to be by online only. If the ticket was booked through station queue counter we could have got the refund at station counter itself, same day without any issue.

After one month the TDR was approved by Southern Railway, but despite that the refund was not yet credited to customer. Now its almost 2 months still refund not returned!!!.

We dont understand, if the manual process is much simpler, that is TDR refund can be obtained same day at station counter, why online process is much complex, why railways & government is pushing people to go digital??
Southern Railway customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.
Insult and rude attitude towards passengers in mavelikara railway station ticket counter
Is this the way you treat customers
Try to have proper corrections accordingly

Kishor ku
    Oct 10, 2019

Address: Thiruvallur route train, Chennai, Tamil Nadu, 631210

Last month i noticed that coal carrying cargo where not cover the each car with covers due this coal scattered from the car untill it reach destination.
    According to my calculations each day 05 kg of coal where loss for one month crossed 150 kg coal. Coal is a non conventional energy so please take action

Why the cargo locomotive pilots and the coal industry don't notice this kind of losses
    Without or 2nd Class ticket people traveling in 1st Class which is injustice happening for the 1st class ticket people. If this is the way they the government officials not taking actions it's against the law framed by Indian Railways and GOI rule. Please take action immediately to setright.

Mohan Chandhar V

Kishor ku
      Oct 10, 2019

Address: Thiruvallur, 631210

Last one month i noticed that every coal carrying cargo where with out covering the each car with cover due to this when the cargo train passes each station coal get scattered on the station platform and also hit person a little bit. Pls take action on this issues. Each day 2 k g of lignite coal where scattered from the train due to coal car not covered with cover
      Charging points not working in S-1 coach at Train No.12164 even after 2 hours of departure from Chennai Egmore.. kindly do necessary things..
      Train always late. Morning and evenings. Not coming on time at all.

madhanalways
        Oct 5, 2019

Address: PLOT NO 24, F1, 3RD STREET,, JEEVA NAGAR,, MADIPAKKAM, 600091

This madhanraj c from chennai madipakkam, i have booked bulk train ticket toward and returns in train no 16105 & 16106 for the trip of[protected] from chennai to tiruchenur and return on the same train on[protected] and it was an debit card payment, in that journey i have cancel totally nine tickets up and down, its booked on[protected] and cancel in central railway station chennai (Mas), on[protected], they said the amount will be refunded to the debit card account in two days but still i did not get the refund, in the mean while i have visited three to four times to mas station regards the refund an finally they now ask to send a mail regards to this email id and i am doing it. Here with i a enclosing the cancel ticket pnr numbers and details and the copy of ticket to your view pls do the needful.

Sno pnr number amount no of tickets date of journey
        1 [protected] 670 2 [protected]
        2 [protected] 465 2 [protected]
        3 [protected] 1470 5 [protected]
        4 [protected] 405 2 [protected]
        5 [protected] 1230 5 [protected]
        6 [protected] 550 2 [protected]
        Total 4790

Athul T P
          Sep 25, 2019

Address: Sree padam,Thayyil purayil ,medical college po ,calicut, Kozhikode, Kerala, 673008

I have take 3 tickets on august 10. Calicut to byndur in nethravathi exp 16346
          Pnr no.[protected]
          But due to heavy rain and flood in kerala the train has been cancelled on the date. As i had seen in manorama news paper of august 10th 2019 the last date for applying refund request was on october 15th 2019 but when i ask in railway station about this on 25th september 2019 they are telling it is up to september 15 so that i can't be able refund from here, is there any way for refund. So kindly please accept this and tell what all procedures is to refund the ticket.

Dinesh Kumar N P
            Sep 20, 2019

Today i reached chennai central station on train no 12696 trivandrum chennai superfast. I had 2nos. Vada at the kiosk near the gates, where the amount displayed was rs. 17.00 for the 2 pieces. The vendor gave it on a flimsy tiny paper place with just a spoonful of sambar on it. I paid him ₹20.00 but the vendor is now reluctant to give the balance change. When asked he replied the additional amount was for how he served otherwise the 2 vada would be given in the customers hand., mockingly.
            Are these people under the control of southern railway? Is southern railways officials empowered to control these cheats. Hope indias pride will not be put to toss and shame by these haphazards. Really annoying to notify you about happenings under your nose.

Suresh Murugaiyan
              Sep 17, 2019

Address: Kanchipuram, Tamil Nadu, 603001

Hi sir,
              Am suresh, am travelling from chengalpattu to guindy in first class compartment with proper first class ticket. But every day there is so seats available for who have having first class ticket, most of the people are travelling in first class without proper tickets, then what is the use of spending money in first class. Ticket checker are not checking those things. Are else attach more first class compartment in chengalpattu train. Kindly look into this.

Gopinath Devaraj
                Sep 15, 2019

Address: Perambur, Chennai, Tamil Nadu, 600011

Dad has came for treatment in chennai perambur railways hospital, while using toilets most of them are unhygienic and it will spread so many diseases.. Since it’s a famous hospital no tablets for patients at midnight and tell patients to collect the by morning.. If the hospitality goes likes this patient will not come for any treatment.. Photos attached for your reference

cork
                  Sep 11, 2019

I had travelled from chennai to sankarankovil in 3 tier ac in train no 12661 on[protected] along with my son pnr no [protected], my son's ticket was rac-1 in b5 coach seat 39. Though there were 03 berths vacant due to passengers not turning up, the concerned ttr refused to allot those berths to rac listed passengers on priority as per the railway rules. Instead he allotted those berths to subordinates of an mla who were possessing only open unreserved tickets. When asked for an explanation he told that he is allotting them by imposing fine for each ticket as per the rules. Kindly investigate this matter and uphold the sanctity of the railways.
                  K. Premkumar

Siddharthan mk
                    Sep 10, 2019

Address: 670703

I am siddharth and today (10/09/2019 tuesday). I approached palakkad junction railway station counter at about 7.48 pm in evening to take train to aluva. As it was an emergency journey as my relative got admitted with serious illness.
                    I took a queue in the physically challenged counter and as my turn appeared, the lady staff at the time (Around 8:04pm) withheld my ticket even after i gave money saying that the ticket she printed will be given only after we provide money in change. The need of providing a change was not written either in counter as a notice or near ticket counters. It costed us a time wastage and we lost a train (Superfast) passing through palakkad at 8:10pm.. Now we have to take the train at 8:40pm which makes us more than 20 min late than the expected time. The relative is to be taken to a serious surgery at 11 and if we go late.. It will psychologically affect him to get into operation theatre without seeing us.
                    I kindly request you to take an action for this.🙏🏻
                    This is seriously a life related thing. If this happened to a student going for an exam or interview.. Just think how mentally it will affect them.
                    Either put a notice on counters if change needed or give more training to officials to mind their body language as well as words to the customers.
                    Sir daily we are travelling from minjur to central for college and the trains are really worst delayed we r not able to reach on time even a single day and get lot of problems and kindly make more direct train from velachery to and fro in morning and evening to commence direct journey

rohitsmarty
                      Sep 9, 2019

Address: Jhansi, Jhansi, Uttar Pradesh, 284003

I have filed a tdr for the below mentioned details

Tdr date: 18-aug-2019 23:52:15
                      Transaction id: [protected]

Pnr no.: [protected]

Tdr filling reference no: [protected]

Train no: 22404 from new delhi to jhansi

Passenger: 2

Class: 2ac
                      Date of journey: 18.08.2019

Reason: train late more than three hours and passenger not travelled.
                      But now tdr status is saying regretted.

Actual timing: 23: 45 and train rescheduled from new delhi and expected departure on 19- aug-2019 at 03:30 am. Which is more than 3 hours.

Attached you will find details for sms which i had received from irctc for train delay.

So, request you to kindly reopen the issue and settle the claim, as we haven’t travelled, as the train was late more than 3 hours. And on same day we had booked ticket for another train pnr no. [protected] * dakshin express from nzm to jhansi.

Rohit kushwaha
                      Train no. 12623, Chennai to Tvm on 30/08/2019, unauthorized persons travelling in sleeper coach S 11, no action taken by TTE or police lot of inconvenience to passengers not feeling any safety, please take immediate action in this regard

Rafeekyaar
                        Sep 8, 2019

My train was cancelled for pnr [protected] from boarding station due to natural calamity/heavy floods in kerala. Since we were not in a position to retrieve our tickets due to electricity down and non access to internet. Southern railway had already issued a statement through all leading news papers as railway have decided as a very special case to permit tdr's till sep 15th against normal rule of within 3 days from journey date.

Requesting you to please consider this as a special case and process my refund. I am contacting through irctc care and even send mails to commercial agm, ddgp, adrm, cco_mas claims but no response received and my previous mails were ignored with out knowing the proper customer issue.

Rafeek. A

S.TAMIL VANAN
                          from Kanchipuram, Tamil Nadu
                          Aug 30, 2019

The train number 40803 reaches walajabad by 5.18pm. It will stopped till 5.56 for giving crossing for 40956. At the same time 40956 reaches kanchipuram by 4.45pm. The unwanted stopping at walajabad of 40803. The station master planning to travel in this train 40803 after crossing of 40956. Work to service people's. Not to hurt the public. Time is precious for people's. Most of them travel from kanchipuram to other place.

S.TAMIL VANAN
                            from Kanchipuram, Tamil Nadu
                            Aug 27, 2019

The train number 40803 traveling time from tambaram to walajabad is 2 hrs. Four crossings for express train and Emu's. And this train stopped at SP Koil for gate opening. The train stopped at Katankulathur, SP koil, Palur, and Walajabad for crossing. I already complaint about this train so many times. What you think about towards kanchipuram trains. I put a complaint to ministry of railways. Worst running status if this train

Srivishal
                              Aug 26, 2019

Address: 627006

I have been traveling on train between senchottai to tirunelveli passenger train for more than year. I will get the train on tirunelveli town for tirunelveli junction it's just next station and charge is only ten rupees. Everytime, while i'm going to junction i use railway mode but there's no station master to issue the passenger tickets. So i can't able to use the train because without proper tickets any time i can able to fined for without tickets. So now a day's i'm avoiding the train for this simple reason. He's not doing his job it will causes punishment in tirunelveli junction railway station

Selvamani C
                                Aug 15, 2019

Address: 560036

I am facing lot of problems due to my mobile number written in so many train toilets for sex chat and body massage and sex etc. I don't know who is written all are calling and disturbing me day and night please I request you please remove my numbers From Kerala trains, Tamil Nadia trains, karnataka trains and Andra trains toilets and in compartments.
                                +7 photos

Akash Aashu
                                  Aug 15, 2019

Address: Park railway station (Chennai Beach - Tambaram route), Chennai, Tamil Nadu, 600001

Yesterday at park railway station (14th aug 2019, 10pm), the heavy rain water from the shelter top directly falls over the electric switch & plug boxes kept for mobile charging. Which is seriously dangerous one. Any short circuit can lead big accident. I do attached a photo for proof. Kindly take an action to avoid major injuries in future.

Akash r
                                  The morning trains from beach to Tambaram/Chengalpattu are not keeping up the timings as per the new schedule, especially in the morning. As we commute in trains in the morning to reach our colleges/offices on time, delayed trains makes it difficult to be on time. I request the department of railways to ensure the correct timings of trains.

meiazhagan opto
                                    Aug 8, 2019

Address: L&T, 601203

I am one of the public. Daily we are travelling gummdipundi to chennai central, very worst travel in this side after 18.00pm. Hardly will take to reach gummdipundi 2 1/2hours. There is so much of patients, house wife, child baby, very public will take the risk to travel.

Minimum travel to central to gummdipumdi hardly will take 1hr but daily so much of signel problem, xpress crossing, and not mainting gate keeper.

So please take a action to reduced the timing.
                                    And we need fast every 1hrs.
                                    No one picking the call at the station ...the video taken by the guy showing the incident got viral...so I tried to call the same no. Today...but same happen.

Need action against this irresponsible behaviour.

Selvamani C
                                      Aug 6, 2019

Address: 560036

I am facing lot of problems due to my mobile number written in so many train toilets for sex chat and body massage and sex etc. I don't know who is written all are calling and disturbing me day and night please i request you please remove my numbers. I am sending photos for your reference please download the attachment.

Selvamani
                                      Aug 06, 2019
                                      Updated by Selvamani C
                                      So many Kerala trains, karnataka trains, Tamil Nadia trains and Andra trains please help me to remove my numbers all are calling me day and night .
                                      Aug 06, 2019
                                      Updated by Selvamani C
                                      I am uploading photos for reference few passengers sent this pictures to me.

I am an regular passenger traveling from Thiruvarur to Tirichi and at Thanjvur station vendors from shop and in train collecting RS. 20 for Rail neer which is actually RS. 15. Why the consumer law is not working in railways except in Kerela State.

Subramanian VK
                                        Jul 24, 2019

Address: A6,Ishwarya Apartmnets, Plot No.22,Viswanathapuram, Chennai, Tamil Nadu, 600114

Sir/mam
                                        Greetings for the day
                                        This is to inform you that subway passage no light for public. All wires are here and there and station master of meenambakkam railway station doesn't switch on fans even in hot summer. All college going students of jain college meenambakkam suffers.in rainy season water is logged in passage there are lots of leakage in walls. Daily in dark only public walks in sub way