Tamil Nadu Electricity Board [TNEB] Complaints & Reviews

Updated: Feb 17, 2026
Complaints 6294

File a complaint to Tamil Nadu Electricity Board [TNEB]

Having problems with Tamil Nadu Electricity Board [TNEB]?

File a complaint and get it resolved by Tamil Nadu Electricity Board [TNEB] customer care. It’s quick, effective and absolutely free!

Tamil Nadu Electricity Board [TNEB] reviews & complaints page 187

nalluvveeraiyan
from Namakkal, Tamil Nadu
Mar 30, 2019

Address: NO.90 NEW GOLDEN NAGAR, PUDUKKOTTAI., 622001

வணக்கம்.
மின் இணைப்பு எண்: [protected], [protected] மேற்கூறிய இணைப்புகள் வீட்டு பயன்பாட்டுக்கு பெறப்பட்டு. தற்பொழுது வணிகரீதியான (Commercial use) பயன்பாட்டில் உள்ளது. எனவே மேலே குறிப்பிட்ட இணைப்புகளை ஆய்வு செய்து நடவடிக்கை எடுக்குமாறு கேட்டுக்கொள்கிறோம்.

குறிப்பு:
Sri shabhari chemicals private limited, no.90, new golden nagar, pudukkottai.
Tamil Nadu Electricity Board [TNEB] customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.

maruthiraj
    Mar 29, 2019

paid meter service connection for irrigation horticulture purpose

Address: M Maruthiraj Burdhakotai village , singarapettai,uthangarai taluk-635307, 635307

As i have applied for electrical connection for horticulture irrigation on 15th november 2018 by submitting all the required documents from the village accountant and horticulture department. By paying meter provision deposit of rupees 2500, cc deposit rupees 2400, estimate charges rupees 31330 on 18th december 2018.. Receipt no 410-11/18-711. But the service has not been given till date and the authorities concerned are not responding to...
    murthy08951
    Mar 28, 2019

Address: E206 LANCOR LUMINA NELLIKUPPAM ROAD GUDUVANCHERY, Chennai, Tamil Nadu, 603202

My consumer no. [protected]. address: E206, Lancor Lumina, Nellikuppam Road, Guduvanchery, Chennai-603202.

The meter reading as on 26.03.2019 is 9660. I am monitoring my meter reading on daily basis.
    Your Line Inspector took the reading on 26.03.2019 for bi-monthly billing purpose and the reading is noted as 9690. Actual reading on that day is 9660. Because of erroneous reading the rate slab is changed.
    I sent a mail on 27.03.2019 explaining the above facts. I also taken a photo of meter reading on 27.03.2019 at 8.00pm and the same is sent
    as an attachment for your ready reference which is showing as 9672. The reading is changed due to one day consumption.
    It is clear that your Line inspector has not taken the meter reading correctly and intentionally increased the reading.
    In view of the above I request you recalculate the billing and send me
    revised demand to enable me to make payment.
    Tamil Nadu Electricity Board [TNEB] customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.

Dhandapani Venkatraman
      from Madurai, Tamil Nadu
      Mar 28, 2019

Address: Madurai, Tamil Nadu, 625018

Consumer number:[protected]Vilangudi) of v. Dhandapani
      Complaints were made 11.01.2019, 29.01.2019 in person at vilangudi office and through portal on 18.01.2019 & 25.01.2019 vide ref.[protected] & [protected] respectively. No action taken till now and hence had to pay higher amount of bill to atune of rs.1500/ bi-monthly over and above the actual consumption charges.

K.Chellamuthupandian
        Mar 28, 2019

Subject: eb bill reading-reg
        I am doing poultry breeding farm at arumuga nagar, velayuthapuram, samusigapuram pancheyet in rajapalayam (Viruthunagar district)
        Eb bill reading came to take reading at my poultry breeding farm service no[protected] and he didn't write eb bill reading and watts consumption details in our eb card and he didn't taken reading for my another service no[protected]. When i asked him about eb bill reading and watts consumption details. He said that he won't tell my eb bill reading and eb ae officer told me to do this and scolded me with vulgar words and he didn't give me respect. They doing as team work performed by eb bill reading man, eb poll man and eb ae officer to affect my poultry breeding farm and reading taken by eb bill reading man is wrong and having low payment amount
        I kindly request you to solve my problems as soon as possible
        Yours truely,
        K. Chellamuthupandiyan

Sundararajan Ramaswamy
          Mar 28, 2019

I am not able to access online bill payment system

Address: 498 G V Residency, M K Palayam, CBE-641028, 641028

My account number is[protected] for electricity bill payment
          From coimbatore (Singanallur area). I can log into my account but the web page says access denied and i have no privilege o[censored]sing
          The service. I had been paying the bills online ever since the system was provided. I request to fix the problem so that i can
          Pay my bills as usual.

My name is r r sundararajan, 498 g v residency, m k palayam,...
          aarul02
          from Arani, Tamil Nadu
          Mar 28, 2019

Electricity supply to my quarters was disconnected without proper intimation 5 days back on saturday.. Even after paying the bill electricity supply to my quarters is not given.. My working time has difficulty in approaching tneb during work hours... I'm not able to get the contact number of line man also... If we electricity boards have rights to disconnect power supply without intimation then they should given power supply on the next day of my payment..

Arundas H
            Mar 27, 2019

Address: 7/204A Om SakthiNagar 9th Street, Near Subhksha Avenue, Kovilambakkam, Chennai, Tamil Nadu, 600129

I have been moved to a new lease house in june 18, while the tneb staff came only we have found that the meter is not functioning. The tenants who stayed before me were using 2 acs and hence they paid almost rs 2000 as bill, where as i do not even have ac and most of the time there were no one in home. But now i have to pay the minimum fee as 1945 from july 18 to till date (March 19). I have already submitted a written letter to the tneb office, also last january i have raised a online compliant ([protected]), it got in to second level escalation. But no use, no update received from them
            I am rangasamy from vorugavoor in kallakurichi I am having a house at allamara street in that place they are taking a new 2 phase line above my house I am didn't allow to do this if any loss happened to my family or if any work done above my house the workers may also got any loss the full responsibility will go to tamilnadu electricity board
            Consumer No.[protected] I am having having 3 Phase line but I am getting Single Phase fro the past one year so kindly resolve it Immediately...

Eswarraj
              Mar 26, 2019

Address: No 42, Velacheri Main Road, Guindy, Chennai - 600032, Near Raj Bhavan & Opposite Tamilnadu Sports Authority, Kannigapuram, Raj Bhavan, 600042

Meter is running fast. Last one and half years, the bill amount comes under 560. But, this month (19/3/2019), the bill amount is 4234. I am staying in velachery, chennai. My tneb consumer no. Is [protected]. I have raised the complaint in the tneb portal. But no response. So, please take the necessary action against it. The bill amount that now came is sum of one and half years. I could not able to pay that money. So please take the necessary action.

Venkatesh Selvaganapathy
                Mar 26, 2019

Address: Chennai, Tamil Nadu, 600119

I have traveled out of the country and just missed the last payment. They have disconnected the service. But then they also do not have any way to pay the due online and restore the connection

I am out of the country and how can i restore.

Consumer number is[protected]

We will not be able to come in person and there is no one there to pay on my behalf

Please help
                Venky
                I have applied for temporary EB connection for construction of house in kanathur reddy kuppam sun raise avenu.
                Two months have already over and still connection is not given for want of EB meter.I kindly request you to provide EB meter at your earliest. Thank you

-sathik meera
                Sir, Due to non taking of reading the minimum bill was not paid in due time . Now TNEB authorities insisted to pay of Rs.488/ . But, while acessing to make payment, the service reply has come as service disconnected . Please enable to pay bill on my consumer number[protected] in North Chennai zone .
                C.K.Thanikachalam

Govindaraj S
                  Mar 25, 2019

Address: Coimbatore, Tamil Nadu, 641697

This is to inform you that the tneb department have erected electric poles in our agriculture land survey no: 3/3, in karegoundenpalayam village, pogalur post, coimbatore district. Im residing in hyderabad and haven't received any prior information nor taken our permission regarding the erection. This is done in the intention to help the co farmers to provide electric supply.Also spacing of 45 Mts was not follwed inbetween poles . I kindly request the concerned official to take necessary actions against the law breakers and shift the pole away from my land.Due to this we are facing safety risk of low lying tramissions
                  May 20, 2020
                  Updated by Govindaraj S
                  No update received till now
                  We are risiding at peralam. Most of the time power not available in this area. We are not able to cantact EB officers at peralam.
                  Now more than 3 hours electicity not available
                  Time:2:15 AM to 6 AM
                  Kindly take necessary action.

Subashini_Rajaram
                    Mar 23, 2019

Address: Q-71, 4th main road, 14th street, Annanagar, Chennai, Chennai, Tamil Nadu, 600040

When the tneb had approached my father mr. Rajaram for construction of transformer, without discussing with my mother, mrs. Pushpa, he had given his consent.in a recent incident at around 2 am in the morning, there were lot of fire sparks and burning, and my mother is very worried. She and the neighbours want the transformer removed as soon as possible.
                    In my area ground water level zero condition, now metrowater lorry supply on going in this circle. In my street electric cable low height, it's trouble to entry lorry in the street. So kindly raise the cable height as soon as possible.
                    No power supply in Uddanapalli[protected]
                    BSNL service

Tabssum Ara
                      from Vellore, Tamil Nadu
                      Mar 22, 2019

Address: 600100

Hi, there is no electricity in pallikarnnai area, i called to eb office for the reason and they told there is some problem with transformer and said electricity will come only in morning.. I really bad to know that there is no one to help nd there is no one to fix the transformer problem. Chennai weather is already hit the these people are making it more worst by not helping nd saying that electricity will come only in morning. Really bad..

petvinlat
                        Mar 20, 2019

Address: Adv.Anniter alwyn apartment,, 548/33D, House -A, Henry street, Nesamony nagar, Nagercoil 1, 629001

My consumer number is [protected], meter number 7012670, nagercoil town 6, reading has been taken before 15 days. But it is not updated in our tn eb online payment. I contacted eb bill payment counter phone is [protected]. Nobody pick up the phone. Kindly do the needful.
                        Address
                        Advocate anitter allwyn apartment
                        House no.548/33d, house' a', henry street, nesamony nager, nagercoil,
                        Kanyakumari district.
                        We are residing in the above address. the EB current pole is in my house which is totally damaged we complaint to our local EB office but still now no action taken to remove it. It is almost fully damaged and going to fall down many childrens and old age people residing near that kindly remove it asap.
                        I am live in thoppur, thiruchendur at tuticorin district.Last two days (14-3-19 to 15-3-19) power failure in night time onyl . please take action for power failuer.

Sukumar Km
                          Mar 20, 2019

Dear sir / mam,

This is to inform you that the tneb department have erected electric poles in our agriculture land survey no: 387/2, in eripudur village, anaicut post, vellore district. We are residing in bangalore and haven't received any prior information nor taken our permission regarding the erection. This is done in the intention to help the crusher factory to provide electric supply which is under process to setup nearby our land. I kindly request the concerned official to take necessary actions against the law breakers and shift the pole away from my land.
                          Hi Sir, I am dhana from Trichy distick M.Kannanur

Our village on the shore of the big lake (Pariya yeri) one of the lamp post going dangerously slanted, please inform your representative to instate back the as soon as possible.
                          When logging in to Online Tangedco account, it says bad credentials/account not activated.

I have already activated and using my account for payments in the previous month.

Need appropriate solution

umapathyvani
                            Mar 19, 2019

Address: Kanchipuram, Tamil Nadu

Am a senior citizen, residing at mantri synergy, padur. My eb service no is 09/577/003/1961. My last 9 billing cycle average consumptiosn is just 280 unita. But suddenly on 18/3/19, the meter reading is shown as 11850 and the consumption shown as 1160 units.
                            When i persoanlly checked up the meter it was showing only 10990. Have taken a photoshot and attached.
                            Thus it can be seen that there is an error in noting down the actual meter reading and so my bill amt is shown as rs 6136.
                            The increased amount is due to the wrong meter reading recorded.
                            Pl correct the same and send the revised actual bill
                            I am from kadapokathi, tenkasi, Tirunelveli.It is located at Gunaramanallur Panchayat.From last two weeks all our area street lights are not working.So please come and solve my area Street lights problem as soon as possible sir.

Thiruvasagam Raghul
                              Mar 16, 2019

Address: No. 17 , Mettu Street, Oil Mill Road END, Porur, Chennai, Tamil Nadu, 600077

Im a thiruvasagam raghul, resident of noombal/ayyapanthangal locality for the past year. The fluctuations in voltage has been a disaster in our location for n number of times. Poor people here have lost numerous appliances and tvs. We tried informing regarding these problems to the local eb office to no avail. I kindly request you to acknowledge this complaint and proceed so noone has to suffer in the upcoming summer.

Thiruvasagam raghul
                              I'm the resident of Noombal Mahakshmi Nagar, for the past two weeks we experience frequent power failure and low voltage problems.
                              Please let's know whom to be contacted to rectify the problem.

Krev$$$
                                Mar 15, 2019

Address: Coimbatore, Tamil Nadu, 641006

Expecting the bribe they approached us, when i said my uncle is in income tax, they are asking us to put an additional poster for 30000 rupees additionally 10000 rupees for the workers.
                                Additionally am giving bribe to bill collector and also water department for new connection. It has been around 1 lakh now. We are fed up with all these 3rd agents
                                My temple thirumal marugan temple kannika colony nanganallur, chennai-61 meter reading not updated in tneb system. consumer no.[protected] pl.help.to make online payment urgent action informed AE nanganallur also..

Antony Samy Edal Mary
                                  Mar 14, 2019

Address: TNEB, karasangal, Kanchipuram, Tamil Nadu, 601301

We applied for temporary connection in eb office, karasangal. But they gave two receipts for our applications within a year.. They don't give connection.. It lasts for about 11 months.

Detail explanation:

The eb officer at karasangal told us to get approval for plan from panchayat. We got approval from panchayat office. Then they told that the receipt which they give earlier was expired and asked us to give new application. After we gave new application, they told the old application had been found. Then they give another new receipt. And asked us to talk to ae in kuduvanchery office.. Both the ae in karasangal, kuduvanchery asking 3.5 lakhs for giving temporary connection. Our land is dtcp approval land... To which government is giving free connection and posts...
                                  I have applied temp EB connection on 11.2.23..but still connection is not offer they told no metre is there to give connection...it will come but we don't know when it will come ??..urgently we want to construct our home .. already complain is registered in minnagam but no response is there..pls give temp connection immediately then only we will start our construction...our eb office is NGGO COLONY, THUDIYALUR COIMBATORE.REF NO [protected]

SureshEsh
                                    from Puducherry, Puducherry
                                    Mar 13, 2019

Address: 637019

I have applied for temporary service for my construction work in namakkal. Its been more than 1.5 months. Till now they have not provide service to me. They are saying some reasons which is not convincing. Kindly check and let me know the status. Expecting service to be provided as soon as possible.

Name: suresh e
                                    04-erode-209 — rural/north/namakkal
                                    Mudalaipatty eb office

Suresh e