Tamil Nadu Electricity Board [TNEB] Complaints & Reviews

Updated: Nov 17, 2025
Complaints 6284

File a complaint to Tamil Nadu Electricity Board [TNEB]

Having problems with Tamil Nadu Electricity Board [TNEB]?

File a complaint and get it resolved by Tamil Nadu Electricity Board [TNEB] customer care. It’s quick, effective and absolutely free!

Tamil Nadu Electricity Board [TNEB] reviews & complaints page 215

Rajalakshmi Ravichandran
from Cumbum, Tamil Nadu
Apr 28, 2018

Address: 600087

Dear sir, i am a resident of ags colony, alwarthirunagar, chennai 87 would like to bring to your notice on a frequent problem that we are facing due to the falling of coconut tree leafs bunch on live line. This is leading to high voltage fluctuations and hence damaging electronic and electronic devices in many homes.
We have been requesting tneb to take a permanent action on this, by cutting the troublesome trees for a permanent solution, however no action taken on this so far.
I have attached a photograph for your reference to show how it is dangerous and you can see the tree is hanging just infront of an entrance of an apportionment where many children are living.
I would request you to take immediate permanent action on this to avoid any future fatal incident in our area.
J ravichandran,
Plot # 35, ags colony,
Alwarthirunagar,
Chennai 600087
Mobile # [protected]
Tamil Nadu Electricity Board [TNEB] customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.
Please past two days in my area Somarasampettai. New street was power failure and quick attent the problem thanking you.
In eb my name has wrongly entered, please make it correction.

In name correction : instead of S.ELANCHEZHIYAN it is mentioned as ILANJAZEAN .

All of my document name
mentioned as S.ELANCHEZHIYAN.
So I request want to my name correction correctly.

Your sincerely consumer
Pls do not cut the current at the night! We have exam tomorrow and couldn’t nagar to sleep at all! Pls understand the situation

Vishwesh Vichu
    from Sivakasi, Tamil Nadu
    Apr 27, 2018

In all household ac is not working properly due to electric board in town
    Town name kanakammachathram
    District tiruvallur
    Pin code 631204
    Plz tell electric board to supply additional two load to the town take immediate action resolve it in 2 days. It was the complaints file fr long 3years eb not taking any action against it
    Electric board junior engineer will not be there in office at anytime no proper maintenance of eb in town
    Tamil Nadu Electricity Board [TNEB] customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.

niyazahmed68
      Apr 26, 2018

Address: Chennai, Tamil Nadu, 600014

This is to bring to your kind notice that few days ago cable replacement work was done by digging along the platform by removing the interlock tiles.
      The pity is that after work electricity board foreman has failed to complete the work by fixing the intern lock tiles.
      Every time they do by digging but failed to reinstate the work back.
      This is not acceptable as small children and elder people are crossing the trench which cause tripping hazard and falling.
      Hence i request the authority to reinstate the work as it was before start of the work.
      We facing long time power cuts in rain time but our near by areas are not having this much power cut in this season and if we called to landlines means they not picking . Sundapalayam area Coimbatore.

Sethu Suresh
        Apr 26, 2018

Address: 600087

Our address
        12, subramania swamy nagar, 5th cross street, valasaravakkam, chennai 6000 87
        . Opposite to our house there is a post column which is very old.
        And about to fall any time.
        Had called valasaravakkam, local station so many times. No response at all.
        There are so many kids in our street.
        Please look into this matter at priority basis.
        Our complaint id : [protected]
        Anitha suresh
        May 04, 2018
        Updated by Sethu Suresh
        TILL NOW NO RESPONSE

ayub_trop
          Apr 25, 2018

Address: 600051

This is to inform you that,
          I have log the complaint on 15th of april 2018 regarding 3 face connection issue and register the compliant number 434. There is no follow up against the complaint. Yesterday gave reminder on that complaint register number 826 further as of now no response.
          Kindly guide me how to go fwd

Ayub. M
          We are staying in boopathi nagar saravanampatti, since last night there is power cut in one of the phase and we keep on trying to contact line man he is not picking the phone calls he is rejecting the calls there is no proper response from his side we common people are suffering a lot .so do the needful and take action.

Akilan M
            from Chengalpattu, Tamil Nadu
            Apr 23, 2018

not placing fuse after paid bill...

Respected sir/madam,

This is akilan m s/o p rosalin, my eb service no.[protected], residing at valathi village and post, melmalayanur tk, villupuram dist. 604 208.

Last date of my eb bill - 09/4/2018
            Fuse carrier removed - 10/4/2018
            Bill i paid (Devanur - 488) - 11/4/2018 (With fine, service)

But still now (23/04/2018) no response from eb office devanur. I went to office directly...
            birendra84
            from Madurai, Tamil Nadu
            Apr 21, 2018

Address: Chennai, Tamil Nadu, 600040

Sir/madam,

I have electric bill paid for rs. 408/- on 21.04.2018. But my consumer no. Is not reconnected till time. I am requested you to consumer no. Reconnected.

My consumer no. - [protected]

Birendra kumar.

Birendra kumar.   replace all

Mahendar C
              from Jayamkondacholapuram, Tamil Nadu
              Apr 21, 2018

Address: Chennai, Tamil Nadu, 600007

I’m staying at 24/50 ritherdon rd vepery ch 7, i’m facing regular disruption of power about 12-15 times a day i’m pained to inform you inspite of several calls & complaints made to line man, ae, de telephonically & personal visit there seems to be no respite in the disruption. I request your good selves to resolve the issue and find a solution as early as possible.
              Mahendar challani
              Mob no. [protected]

Apr 21, 2018

tneb porur

Address: 600116

There is power cut since the morning 8 am at porur and the lady sitting at customer service desk at the number [protected] does not have minimum courtesy to explain and kept on disconnecting the call.
                By the way people are enjoying, it does seem these people are not fit to be in a responsible chair as such.. Is there anyone who can help a power cut of 5 hours already so far???...
                ashok6930
                Apr 18, 2018

Address: 600037

I am ashok kumar residing in 7th block mugappair west for past 25 years. I have been paying my electricity bill for past 3 to 4 years online. I have registered account from which i receive notifications whenever a bill is generated. Through the link sent to my email i have been paying my electricity bills. There are three connections in my residence and also i pay for my residence at my native through online notification links. Last week on 09.04.2018 i received a call from area line man enquiring about my address and when i questioned the reason for enquiry his reply was "someone else's address has been registered under my mobile number and nothing else". After keeping the call, in half an hour one eb line of my residence was cut. When i called back the same number and questioned how can he terminate power supply without prior information, he simply said his ae instructed him to do so. I got ae mr. Madhan's number and called him. I asked him the reason for terminating my connection and why was it done without prior information. He said i haven't paid the bill for a year and even the last bill of may 2017 is pending. I was surprized and immediately logged into my portal id and saw that the bill was generated only till may 2017 and no bills after that. I informed him that there is no bill outstanding but there is no record updation from their end and asked whose mistake was it to not update the bill details on the portal. His reply was come in person and talk and reply will not be given over phone. My dad immediately visited eb office in mugappair west as i was in my office and questioned on this. We were informed that we had to pay the bill amount with fine rs. 20, 457 and their comment was that if we would have directly paid all our bills in office instead of online, all this would have not happened. Don't we have other work to do other than visiting tneb office to pay bills? Then why do you have online services if you want us to pay in person? After argument our line was back on. The other employees along with ae were not even ready to accept their mistake and were trying to blame everything on us. The next day morning we paid the amount with fine.
                My question to tneb superior officers

Why was my account not updated with readings and bill amount?
                Why was the line not terminated in 2017 itself? Why did you people had to wait a year to inform us on the due amount?
                Why was no prior information given before terminating power supply?
                Why did i had to pay the fine amount when the mistake was from your end?
                Even after more than a week after paying the amount still my records are not updated in my online account
                I hope actions are taken for unprofessional behavior of assistant engineer and i also need explanation for my queries.
                Consumer no:[protected]

Ashok kumar
                I reside in 2nd main RA Puram, Chennai.Last few days there is power cut for about 8 hours every day.Powee cut is there through out day and night.My address is 9 new, 2nd main road, R A Puram.Chennai 28.Ph:[protected].

Senthil1981
                  from Kayankulam, Kerala
                  Apr 18, 2018

I am living at flat no:b3/3, ranganathan flats, sarawathipuram first street, chrompet, chennai-44.
                  We having power fluctuation for past 5 years and still it was not rectified.. We are getting power connection from industrial transformer and it leads lot of fluctuations issue.
                  I had given several complaints to eb and still there is no action has been taken from thier end... Pl inform respective ae to take immediate action.

Senthil

Vignesh Packiaraj P
                    Apr 16, 2018

Address: 600044

Hi sir/madam

I am radha nagar kamaraj street chrompet. Chennai. We are facing voltage. Fluctuations for the last three years. I have complained several times. But no action were taken. Seriously voltage fluctuations is like anything.. Going down all of a sudden comming up. It may cause serious fire accident if it continues. Please officers
                    . Kindly take a step to resolve this issue. Don't wait until a big miss happy happens.
                    House address: 7/15, Soorathamman koil 2nd St., Srinivasa nagar, Perungalathur, Chennai-63. A cable from a fuse carrier in the DB is sparking at times due to a loose screw. Kindly arrange send someone soonest to repair the fault. Contact: [protected]

Bharath kannan
                      from Korampallam, Tamil Nadu
                      Apr 16, 2018

Address: 641047

I a person living in veerapandi privu, coimbatore, tamil nadu under the gudalur:2 the voltages are very low and due to low voltage my appliances has destroyed and this voltage is slowly killing all my electric device and the voltage in morning is of 170-180 and during evening the voltage is of 150-169 some time it goes to 130 and we have changed around 3 motor in a short period and due to this the old type lights are getting struggled to get start and ups and batteries gets damaged and total performance of the appliances has been reduced half due to voltage drop
                      I'm having two kids. I'm in nilakkotai dindugal district .every night is power cut in mid night. We cannot sleep properly.. here eb office power man not respons to customers so please do the need full as soon as possible sir..please take complaint and do the need full
                      Hi am Balamurugan from Elim nagar manthoppu 1st cross street, perungudi, chennai 600097
                      Here yesterday ngt onwards no electricity power.. I want to resolve this matter quickly as possible..

Karthick Freddy
                        from Kollam, Kerala
                        Apr 16, 2018

Address: 600118

Our street is facing frequent power cut for every ten minutes during night time.
                        And there is no proper instant power supply during night time.

This is happening for us since electricity cable has been layed under ground,

This is to bring your notice that this is happening for past one year.

Even we do regular call to eb office there is no proper response taken fromthere side.

So requesting your team to provide a immediate solution for this at the earliest since its been a summer time and tempearture is more than 30 degree.

Dinesh Aarumugaa
                          from Tindivanam, Tamil Nadu
                          Apr 12, 2018

Address: 600052

We have eb connection no[protected] name of s. Punithavathy. Now giving this house for rent godown purpose. So we want change our tariff plan to domestic to commercial. Already we submit formal application and letter to concern ae. Already some body came and supervised the same. But so for that tariff not change to us. Please do the needful to change the tariff plan.

Note: am paying commercial rate for past 4 year

Bharat Maddali
                            Apr 12, 2018

Address: Chennai, Tamil Nadu, 6000079

We are from george town, venkatesa naicken street past 2 days we don’t have power and no proper response from tneb. Kumarasan (Ae) not even answering the call ‭+[protected]‬
                            Line man haridas ‭+[protected]‬ says that he need 50 meters wire, ae not providing it such a shame to say no wire in tneb.
                            Total street is standing outside with there kids and due to no power past 2 days we don’t have water.
                            Apr 10, 2018
                            senthilkumar cpt's response
                            The AD/AE
                            ORM/TANGEDCO
                            Athur
                            Chengalpattu - 603 101

Sub : Shifting and Realignment of Electrical Poles in our Layout and Regaulating the Lines - Regarding
                            (Sri Sai Golden Homes - Athur, Vadapathy, Athur Post, Chengalpattu - 603 101.

With Reference to the above subject we have already Submitted DD for Rs.2, 76, 470/- Vide DD No.196855 dated 01.12.2017 Axis Bank, Nanganallur Branch, Chennai - 600 061, towards the cost of shifting and realignment of Electrical Poles. In this Regard we have many times Approached with Athur ADan AE regarding the above subject.

We have Constructed houses and undergoing construction in this Layout and EB Line passes through the houses at it is being Dangerous to our Labour working at site. So We have made so many complaints regarding shifting and Realignment of EB wires and Poles.

In this regard we have 5times reached by person 5times to the EB office at Athur - Chengalpattu and Conveyed this message through Phone calls to concerned AD and AE But Till date no action taken regarding this subject.

So Kindly take this matter as Emergency and Kindly take necessary action to Remove and Realignment of Poles at our site and do the favour as earlier as possible.

Apr 10, 2018
                            senthilkumar cpt's response
                            The AD/AE
                            ORM/TANGEDCO
                            Athur
                            Chengalpattu - 603 101

Sub : Shifting and Realignment of Electrical Poles in our Layout and Regaulating the Lines - Regarding
                            (Sri Sai Golden Homes - Athur, Vadapathy, Athur Post, Chengalpattu - 603 101.

With Reference to the above subject we have already Submitted DD for Rs.2, 76, 470/- Vide DD No.196855 dated 01.12.2017 Axis Bank, Nanganallur Branch, Chennai - 600 061, towards the cost of shifting and realignment of Electrical Poles. In this Regard we have many times Approached with Athur ADan AE regarding the above subject.

We have Constructed houses and undergoing construction in this Layout and EB Line passes through the houses at it is being Dangerous to our Labour working at site. So We have made so many complaints regarding shifting and Realignment of EB wires and Poles.

In this regard we have 5times reached by person 5times to the EB office at Athur - Chengalpattu and Conveyed this message through Phone calls to concerned AD and AE But Till date no action taken regarding this subject.

So Kindly take this matter as Emergency and Kindly take necessary action to Remove and Realignment of Poles at our site and do the favour as earlier as possible.

Senthil Kumar
                            We herewith Enclosed DD for Rs.2, 76, 470/- Vide DD No.196855 dated 01.12.2017 Axis Bank, Nanganallur Branch, Chennai - 600 061, towards the cost of Shifting the Poles, Since Electrical connection for the Houses urgently required and to avoid hindrance to the construction of houses.

Our area we are facing low voltage issue every day. Transform not maintain property it’s more then 50yrs transform. We informed many times to change the new transform. EB office team not yet changing the transform

Alamaram street
                            Thiruvallur district- 602024

Murali

Ramsankar29
                              from Ranchi, Jharkhand
                              Apr 11, 2018

Address: Kanyakumari, Tamil Nadu, 629201

I inform you there is six houses located in our compound but r-1-1764 and r-1-991 service number houses only have a power shutdown problem frequently. I think its loose contact. Please rectify the problem as soon as possible.
                              Address...
                              M. Ramsankar
                              A5, gnanadoss compound
                              Ananthan nagar
                              Medical college road
                              Asaripallam.
                              Opp old anwar hotel

Apr 11, 2018

Address: Ramanathapuram, Tamil Nadu, 623601

I am younus residing in abiramam, ramanathapuram district, tamilnadu.

I am going to complaint about my neighbour whose name is musafar gani.
                                He is keeping an electronic repairing shop.
                                In their house, always using aircinditioner. I think they use a/c minimum 18 hours per day. By this way we are experiencing power fluctuation problem. I surely know that they are getting power from direct without energy metre for a/c. So kindly take a immediate action as soon as possible. Here i can give the address of their home. Thanks

Mushafar gani
                                5/13/1, muthukulathur road,
                                Abiramam,
                                Ramantahapuram district.
                                Pincode 623601

RAVIKUMAR VELUSAMY
                                  Apr 9, 2018

fuse call complaint

Address: 641048

my name is ravikumar, iamfrom coimbatore, my eb belongs to kalapatti office my eb numbers are [protected] and [protected]
                                  today morning at 9.50 a.M i went to your kalapatti office and lodged complaint, two persons came at 2.00 p.M in that one mr murali occampined with a assistant, when he reaches our house my daddy was there he is aroun 85 years old, he told the both the lines power fluxation is there at times and...
                                  sathiya C
                                  Apr 9, 2018

Service no :[protected]

I paid the bill through online on 2nd apr'18. The first transaction was done through hdfc netbanking with an amount of rs.530 paid; there was a technical issue and the bill did not get paid in the portal but my amount got deducted. The transaction id is[protected].

So i did the transaction the second time on the same day thru hdfc netbanking with the same amount and this time it got paid. Receipt no for this transaction is pgnhdf7554828.

Please refund the first amount since the payment was made twice.

Name : sathiya chandar
                                  Phone number : [protected]