Tamil Nadu Electricity Board [TNEB] Complaints & Reviews

Updated: Nov 17, 2025
Complaints 6284

File a complaint to Tamil Nadu Electricity Board [TNEB]

Having problems with Tamil Nadu Electricity Board [TNEB]?

File a complaint and get it resolved by Tamil Nadu Electricity Board [TNEB] customer care. It’s quick, effective and absolutely free!

Tamil Nadu Electricity Board [TNEB] reviews & complaints page 254

Nirmalkumar Maheshwari
Jul 21, 2016

Address: Chennai, Tamil Nadu, 600 017

My EB card no[protected] . my average by monthly payment is 3000 Rs suddenly it has increased to 17500 . Requesting you to check the total unit consumed for the past six months because similar heavy payment made in september 2015 we have paid 14500. Pls check.
I file a complaint for suddenly enarmous current bill raised for payment of RS 17, 474/- for the past one year record if you check average by monthly payment is not more than 3000/- so, there is some mistake in demanding this huge amount.
Tamil Nadu Electricity Board [TNEB] customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.

Cups n Teas
    Jul 21, 2016

Address: Chennai, Tamil Nadu, 600090

My account number is[protected]. Ours is a small scale tea shop with minimal electrical equipments running for almost 3 years.In month of may our bill was suddenly rs. 17, 347 /- which usually has been only around 4000 bimonthly. This bill came without any excess usage of power. I had sent a letter to the besant nagar tneb office on 1- jun-16 for a verification.In july the old amount was corrected to rs.6631/- and another 6631/- for the next term with payment due date of 25 july. On 11 july i went to pay by cash 13, 465/-. The officer wanted a cheque and the delay caused my payment to be postponed. When i went with the cheque on 12-jul-16, i was not allowed to handover cheque and my connection was disconnected and i was asked to pay 20, 000/- and above and was told the amount there was 7000/- billing between 5-july to 11-jul and i was told 800 units consumed in those 5 days. My reading as of 11-jul as per the eb office was 6130 kw/h. I requested for a verification of reading. The eb officer who came for verification on 16 jul confirmed reading was only 5410kw/h. Hence i requested for deletion of the excess billing once again. But the ae of besant nagar has asked me to pay the complete 21, 000/- with interest. I kindly request the senior officer to look into my over billing and help me pay the correct amount.
    Tamil Nadu Electricity Board [TNEB] customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.

Jagan Chennai
      Jul 21, 2016

Address: 600118

A couple of days back wiremen in keelkatalai came to our street (sai street near s 7 police station) and did some work on the elec. pole. while leaving they disconnected my house elec. wire n it got in loose contact with t main elec. cable. due to tis wenever there was a slight wind or rain t current would go off n would be back only after some couple of hours wen t wind or any birds ait on t wire n it gets in contact with the main elc. cable. a complaint was raised nearly 10 days back n thr is no response yet. current went out july 20th night n as noone responded to t calls made we again registered a complaint t next day morning on 21st, after 10-15 calls, 2 men came at evening after 7 n left saying rudely they will come n see t next morning.. we hav spent 2 nights without current n have a 6month baby in home.. eb people in keelkatalai only work fr ppl who have power or money.. after doin any work they also demand for money (bribe to complete t work) as if t govt is not paying them a rupee.. very rude workers in keelkatalai.. am not sure what help this website could do as this is my first complaint here..

Kewin
        from Muttupet, Tamil Nadu
        Jul 20, 2016

Delete my mobile no. from old service no.

Address: 638401

To pay eb bill through online i added my mob no. To an old eb service no.In which i lived for rent. Now i moved from that house but still i receive bill amount to this no. I. E. [protected]. The old service no. Is[protected]. I kindly request you to delete my mob. No. From this sc no.

Kewin t.
        34 other people found this review helpful
        34 found this helpful
        12 Comments
        balajic
        Jul 20, 2016

Address: Chennai, Tamil Nadu, 600028

Salaiyar street
        Mandaveli, chennai 600028

There is no power for the past 7 hours from the morning and there is no proper response in the customer care phone number 1912. I have called this number 4 times from morning and they do not know the actual reason why there is no power in our area.

Can someone help me in fixing this issue. Since there is no power, there is no way to switch on the motor for water supply.

Balaji

vinomi
          Jul 20, 2016

Address: Kanchipuram, Tamil Nadu, 600063

To whomsoever It may concern

This is vinoth MiRanda from sadanadapuram New perungalathur.
          It has been almost a week they changed the old Electric pole to new electric pole, but they left the old pole in front of our house gate, it is very disturbing for Me to take my vehicle in and out .

Can any Higher authorities take responsibility to clear the old pole left behind.

Vinoth MiRanda
          Kannagi street
          Sadanadapuram
          New perungalathur
          My problem is not been resolved.
          I think I am wasting time in posting complaints.

adiu
            from Virudunagar, Tamil Nadu
            Jul 19, 2016

Address: Virudhunagar, Tamil Nadu, 626001

ஐயா,
            தமிழ்நாடு அரசு விருதுநகர் மாவட்டம் கால்நடை பராமரிப்புத்துறையின் கால்நடை நோய் புலனாய்வுப் பிரிவு அலுவலகத்தின் மின் இணைப்பு எண் ----[protected]ரோசல்பட்டி - 916 ) முகவரி ---- உதவி இயக்குனர் அலுவலகம், கால்நடை நோய் புலனாய்வுப் பிரிவு, ரோசல்பட்டி சாலை, விருதுநகர் மாவட்டம். எங்கள் அலுவலக மின் இணைப்பிற்கு எவ்வளவு மின் கட்டணத் தொகை என்ற விபரம் எங்கள் அலுவலக கைபேசி ( [protected] ) எண்ணிற்கு SMS மூலமாக கடந்த சில மாதங்களாக அனுப்பப்படுவதில்லை. எனவே தயவு செய்து எங்கள் அலுவலக கைபேசி ( [protected] ) எண்ணிற்கு SMS மூலம் மின் கட்டணத்தொகையை தொடர்ந்து அனுப்புமாறு மிகத் தாழ்மையுடன் கேட்டுக்கொள்கிறேன்.

இப்படிக்கு,
            தங்கள் உண்மையுள்ள,
            மரு.கே.செண்பகராமன் பி.வி.எஸ்.சி
            உதவி இயக்குனர்,
            கால்நடை நோய் புலனாய்வு பிரிவு,
            விருதுநகர் மாவட்டம்

vskash
              Jul 18, 2016

Address: Kanchipuram, Tamil Nadu, 603210

1. Urapakkam, iyyencheri, madurai meenakshipuram 1. Daily mornings and evenings, the connection is disruptive. 2. A small wind and rain lasting less than 5 mins on 6th july. Power was cut at 8pm, restored only at 1230 midnight. 3. Again a small wind and splash rain, power cut at 830pm, not yet restored till 930 pm. 4. Urapakkam, iyyencheri, madurai meenakshipuram lines restored immediately after the breeze.

2. Urapakkam, iyyencheri, madurai meenakshipuram - post no: 86 ; in eb line fully covered in the trees, its very dangerous condition, please resolved. Other wise the full eb line to be cut.
              Urapakkam swami vivekanantha nagar area power cut today 5clk to till time power not coming (1month street light not working )
              Chengalpet dis

Shriraj N
                Jul 16, 2016

Address: 600087

For the past 3 months we are being charged excessively on our electricity bill.
                The bill after the chennai floods was nullified by the electricity board but since that they have been heavily charging us for units that we are not using. Is this the way of compensating the losses during the flood time. The guy who comes to take the reading says that our name/address does not exist in the list so does not take reading of the meter and yet the electricity board is blindly charging us for 2300 units for past two months. Our average consumption is around[protected] units (See attached bill history). I have raised a complaint in their official website (Https://www.tnebnet.org/) on 10/07/2016 but its status is still 'to be processed'. I need a refund of the excess bill that has been paid by us or deduction in future bill. This is daylight robbery. As it is a govt. Run body, it doesn't mean its errors can go unseen.
                I am having the same problem now at Thoraipakkam OMR

Vijay Jabeen
                  from Madurai, Tamil Nadu
                  Jul 16, 2016

Address: Chennai, Tamil Nadu, 600014

My home situated in muthu street, royapettah, chennai 600014.
                  Everyday power shutdowning and also especially at night daily from 9.30pm to 12 midnight power shutdowning.
                  When trying to eb office nungambakkam at their contact [protected] no one is answering. if it is one or two days means we can adjust like some problem in transformer. but it's happening daily means we think its a planned power shutdown by the eb department voluntarily (intentionally) without intimating public which will be gone to result of theft or murders etc., and we are paying every time payment on time. if anyone not paid the eb bill before due date the very next day the department sending their person to cut the power immediately. but when they are not supplying proper power supply are they going to reduce the bill taking (accepting) the fault at their end. definitely no..!
                  Then we have to suffer...?
                  Power cut . eb person told full night no power. do somthing . we are all suffer same problem last 2 week before. area 4th. street, nehru nagar, anna nagar, west., chennai 40

devigautham
                    Jul 15, 2016

Address: 600099

The e. B post is already near our compound. Now a person who is opposite to our house is trying to shift the post very near to the compound. Due to this the e. B wire will enter into our house is fully surrounded with trees. If the wire touches the tall green trees there is a danger of getting sparks. Since small children and old people are in our house, we object the shifting of the e, b post

C. Gajapathi
                    No. 129, balavinayagar koil street,
                    Pelavarai, vinayagapuram
                    Chennai-600099

Vijex Accounts
                      from Tiruchirappalli, Tamil Nadu
                      Jul 15, 2016

We are having our godown three face connection. Last 15 days coming line 1 face only. We are informed your office. Area supervisor came to our building informed road line fault break road and clears the issue. I will inform office get permission settle the issue. So far 1 week gone nobody take action line fault. We are suffering to day to day work.

We sincere request to kindly take action and clear line fault.

Our godown address:-

11, kammalar street
                      Thousand lights
                      Chennai - 600006
                      ok

Padmavathi1984
                        Jul 13, 2016

Address: Perambalur, Tamil Nadu, 621108

My place one person meter is not working more than year, they are using a/c, fridge, washing machine and all heavy accessories but paying only rs-120/-

Please send your team and repair meter to save the amount on government.

Address on below

D. Padmavathy
                        Rose nagar
                        Ramakrishnaschool
                        Perambalur

Yours.

Government relation people

Gopi02
                          Jul 12, 2016

Address: Chennai, Tamil Nadu, 600071

I am from avadi, chennai. My area is vasantham nagar. I am an 3 phase card holder. Every time the reading is taken late 10-12days so we get extra units as reading my point is if my used units is 640units cost is 2750 if the reading is taken correct i can be reduced 100 units.540units cost about 2050ruppes so my pay is extra 600-800 rupees loss every time. I[censored] r not responding this i am going to file complaint against it in the court.

VISHNUYACHAS
                            Jul 12, 2016

Address: Chennai, Tamil Nadu, 600088

In nilamangai nagar, adambakkam, for the past few days there is heavy voltage fluctuation at night after 9 p. M. The voltage is insufficient for even fans to rotate at full speed. Suddenly the voltage surges up. This may cause electrical appliances to become damaged. There is also frequent powercut during day time and also at night. I have complained about this a couple of months back through this forum, but it elicited no response. Being a consumer, paying money for the power used, the tneb is answerable to this. This is deficiency of service. I request the officials to take immediate action in this regard. Otherwise i may be forced to file a consumer suit against the adambakkam eb officials.
                            I have a problems with in my home about the E.B low voltage. In this case i have complaint so many time to E.B office but there are not take any action. please do needfully.

Karthikayan
                            same thing low voltage reason bore well connection not working, A/C, Fan and fridge those are the equipment's was damaged because of low voltage. some times high voltage also came, so we are facing so many problems in our full ares ( Shakthi Nagar ) please take series action and do needfully .

thanking You,

karthikayan

Bhaskara Ramam
                              from Salem, Tamil Nadu
                              Jul 7, 2016

Address: Chennai, Tamil Nadu, 600089

Aswini amarisa apts, ramapuram, block 9, 10, 11 under kk nagar scope. 1. Daily mornings and evenings, the connection is disruptive. 2. A small wind and rain lasting less than 5 mins on 6th july. Power was cut at 8pm, restored only at 1230 midnight. 3. Again a small wind and splash rain, power cut at 830pm, not yet restored till 930 pm. 4. Ramapuram lines restored immediately after the breeze.
                              Sir, yesterday evening at 7 pm powercut started in my area PANNUR sunguvarchattram, 7pm to till time could not solved problems, full night very disappointed this area people, every time this problem faced in rain seasons. Could you please slove this problems in now and future.
                              1. Urapakkam, Iyyencheri, Madurai Meenakshipuram 1. Daily mornings and evenings, the connection is disruptive. 2. A small wind and rain lasting less than 5 mins on 6th july. Power was cut at 8pm, restored only at 1230 midnight. 3. Again a small wind and splash rain, power cut at 830pm, not yet restored till 930 pm. 4. Urapakkam, Iyyencheri, Madurai Meenakshipuram lines restored immediately after the breeze.

2. Urapakkam, Iyyencheri, Madurai Meenakshipuram - POST NO: 86 ; IN EB line fully covered in the trees, its very dangerous condition, please resolved. other wise the full eb line to be cut.

Kandappan Srinivasan
                                Jul 7, 2016

Complaint of power theft

Address: Coimbatore, Tamil Nadu, 641029

Theft by marimuthu
                                10/162, 2ndst, ragavendra colony, g.nn.mills, cbe29
                                from 2009 for running industry in house 4lacs loss to eb
                                Waste cotton unit without permission from corporation since five years. No ssi number.functioning In residential colony
                                Trucks come to dead end road inconvenience to all in connivance with officials loot the power for years...
                                Sudha Petcy
                                Jul 7, 2016

Address: 600037
                                Website: www.tnebnet.org/awp/paymentDetail?execution=e9s1

While trying to login and make online payment the list of payment is not shown in my login.

Need your immediate assistance.
                                Sudha petcy
                                Username: petcy2000
                                Consumer no.[protected]
                                I tried calling the toll free no. No response. Request someone to call me to resolve the online issue. My no. is [protected].

SP_Senthil
                                  Jul 7, 2016

Address: Chennai, Tamil Nadu, 600063

I had a login created in TNEB and was making online payment for almost 3 years now, but today when I loginto the account i dont see any previous history or the current month (July 2016) bill amount to which I have to make payment.

Is there an alternate way to make online payment without doing it through account only using the SC number

My user number [protected]

sufar
                                    from Karur, Tamil Nadu
                                    Jul 3, 2016

Address: 614630

Electric wires are passong through our newly constructing house. We have made a complaint to replace the post to avoid unnecessary damages. We have provided money and raised request to CE. But till now nothing has been changed, its been month. On daily basis we are keep on calling, no response we are getting nowadays. Kindly please take this case on high priority. Thanks in advance.