Tamil Nadu Electricity Board [TNEB] Complaints & Reviews

Updated: Nov 17, 2025
Complaints 6284

File a complaint to Tamil Nadu Electricity Board [TNEB]

Having problems with Tamil Nadu Electricity Board [TNEB]?

File a complaint and get it resolved by Tamil Nadu Electricity Board [TNEB] customer care. It’s quick, effective and absolutely free!

Tamil Nadu Electricity Board [TNEB] reviews & complaints page 278

suseela dayanand
Apr 19, 2015

Dear sir, This is a reminder to our complaint dt 11 June 2014. I have purchased plot no.76, 1 st, Street., Venugopal Nagar, Kattur, Trichy. This is a corner plot with roads on two sides. The road width is 15' feet as per the Layout plan. Since the plot was lying vacant for a long time the public was using part of the plot as road and the TNEB has erected Electric Post right in the middle of actual road as per the Layout plan in front of 3/902 1st street (Post office street) Venugopal Nagar. Already the matter was taken up by the Residents Association of Venugopal nagar but no action has been taken so far to shift the post 10 feet towards the storm water drain. As I am planning to construct my house in the plot I request you to kindly arrange for shifting the post at the earliest by about 10 feet towards the drain so that the road is relaid according to the Layout Plan and I can reclaim my portion of the plot. Thanking you, yours faithfully, Suseela Dayanand.
Tamil Nadu Electricity Board [TNEB] customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.

ravis1970
    Apr 19, 2015

Sir, Regarding, Front of my home main line very lower also entered in to the compound, No street light(Lamp) for three poster in the street last three years. Please take immediate action. Address details: kundrathur Metha Nagar, 4Th East Street, other Extansion also going till today. chennai, 600069 By, Social Welfare Association Team,
    Tamil Nadu Electricity Board [TNEB] customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.

Kbalki1957
      Apr 18, 2015

I AM RESIDING IN AK-20, 6TH STREET, SHANTHI COLONY, 11TH MAIN ROAD, ANNA NAGAR (W), CHENNAI 600 040. IN RECENT TIMES THERE IS HEAVY VOLTAGE FLUCTUATIONS. wE AFRAID TO USE THE ELECTRICAL APPLIANCES. NOT ONLY THAT WE ALSO FEAR THAT THERE MAY NOT HAPPEN ANY ELECTRICAL MISHAP IF WE DO NOT LOOK INTO THE MATTER IMMEDIATELY. ALSO IN OUR STREET SOME HOUSES FACE THE SAME PROBLEM. PLEASE HELP US.

123SIVARAJ
        from Sivakasi, Tamil Nadu
        Apr 16, 2015

Address: Dindigul, Tamil Nadu

I have already complained on 10.4.15, 13.4.15 and 16.4.15. But the problem is not resolved yet. Complaint Id:[protected] on 10.4.15 Complaint Id:[protected] on 13.4.15 Complaint Id:[protected] on 16.4.15 Service No::[protected]

kvsn010
          Apr 15, 2015

THEFT OF GOVT ELECTRICITY BY ILLEGAL CONNECTIONS

Address: Madurai, Tamil Nadu

PLEASE CHECK WHOLE EB AND PLUMBING CONNECTION OF A BUILDING NAMED DASHKIR BUILDING LOCATED AT 4/6 MATHA KOIL 3RD STREET, K. PUDUR P.O. MADURAI 625007. THEY HAVE ONE MOTOR FOR SALT WATER FOR 6 APARTMENTS AND RUNNING DAILY 18 HOURS. SURPRISINGLY THE EB EB BILL COMES EACH TIME AT BETWEEN RS. 20 AND 50. THIS IS MIRACLE. AND THE HOUSE OWNER HAS A/C AND OTHER LUXURY THINGS BUT HIS EB BILL ALWAYS COMES BELOW RS. 300. FOR THE LAST 8 YEARS. ALL EB...
          Aruarumugam ganesh
          Apr 10, 2015

Dear Team service no is[protected] We never got this much of Electricity bill and We were not at all using the power this amount is showed Rs.200 for March month 2015. our usage is very low then how is it ????. This is with the reading problem so, Kindly take necessary steps to sort my problem as soon as possible..

Krishna Murthi Sundaram
            Apr 10, 2015

TO The Chairman, (Superintending Engineer), Consumer Grievance Redressal Forum, Chennai EDC/South TANGEDCO (FORMERLY TNEB), 110-KV SS Complex, Anna Main Road, K.K. Nagar, Chennai - 600 078 Respected Sir Sub : NAME TRANSFER SERVICE NO 316/068/99 - DODGING - AE O&M Since the last two days I am being dodged by the AE O&M - KOVILAMBAKKAM - S KOLATHUR - CHENNAI SOUTH, in regard with my name transfer. Very recently we purchased a flat and we intend to name transfer. PFE all the papers scanned for your reference. In spite of all the papers in place, the A E is not doing the needful Am not understanding what does he require. As per the clause 1 given in the name transfer form i am supposed to encl SALE DEED which has been enclosed. But the A E after dodging me for 2 days now says that he needs attestation from a GAZETTED OFFICER on the sale deed. My request is when it has not been asked by TANGEDCO for name transfer when the sale deed is present why is he insisting? What does he expect from me? Already two working days has been lost by me for no use. Kindly requesting you to go through this issue and pl do the needful. Krishnamurthi S #2, 2nd street, Arul Murugan Nagar, Nemilichery, Chromepet 600044 [protected] [protected]@yahoo.com
            +9 photos

dheepi
              from Bargarh, Odisha
              Apr 9, 2015

Dear Team, myself Dheepika, my service no is [protected] name & address (Rajendran, no.16, Sivaraj 2nd street, puzhal, chennai -66) we are tenent to the above mentioned address for more than 8months.We never got this much of Electricity bill and We were not at all using the power in the day time . Then i dont know how we got 960 units the amount is showed Rs.5166 for March month 2015. our usage is very low then how is it ????. This is with the reading problem so, Kindly take necessary steps to sort my problem as soon as possible.
              I am retired IA & AS officer and have been a tenant of 1 B Brindavan, 6/13 Noor Veerasami St, Nungambakkam for the last several years My Meter No: is[protected]
              The reading this time taken on April 15 shows a very high jump. Pls see the readings below

Bill Month Bill Year Acct.Description Amount Due Date Description
              4 2015 23100-Cc Charges 7872 [protected] CC CHARGES
              Total: 7872 PAY ONLINE

15/04/2015 15/04/2015 1740 1370 7822 50 7872 0 0 7872 04/05/2015 0 7872 NORMAL
              11/02/2015 12/02/2015 370 739 3657.4 50 3707 0 0 3707

From a consumption of 739 units on 7th Feb, it has almost doubled to 1370 units.
              The charges have similarly jumped from Rs 3, 795 to Rs 7, 872 in the current period.
              We are just two people, my wife and I in the flat and there has been no change in our lifestyle !
              I have paid the bill but will be grateful for a review
              I am retired IA & AS officer and have been a tenant of 1 B Brindavan, 6/13 Noor Veerasami St, Nungambakkam for the last several years. My Meter No: is[protected]
              The reading this time taken on April 15 shows a very high jump. Pls see the readings below

Bill Month Bill Year Acct.Description Amount Due Date Description
              4 2015 23100-Cc Charges 7872 [protected] CC CHARGES
              Total: 7872 PAY ONLINE

15/04/2015 15/04/2015 1740 1370 7822 50 7872 0 0 7872 04/05/2015 0 7872 NORMAL
              11/02/2015 12/02/2015 370 739 3657.4 50 3707 0 0 3707

From a consumption of 739 units on 7th Feb, it has almost doubled to 1370 units.
              The charges have similarly jumped from Rs 3, 795 to Rs 7, 872 in the current period.
              We are just two people, my wife and I in the flat and there has been no change in our lifestyle !
              I have paid the bill but will be grateful for a review

Balamurugan Rajagopal
                Apr 9, 2015

There has been no power at our apartments which houses over 400 families sinc 6pm this evening. The AE and his team tried to fix, but gave up on it. And said it can be investigated only in the morning. Please could you arrange for this to be resolved at the earliest for the sake of over 400 families in darkness here. Jain's Alpine Meadows, Temple Town Road, Tiruneermalai 600044

kuppusamy.V
                  Apr 8, 2015

V residents of Kamaraj Nagar, 13th West street, Thiruvanmiyur are facing difficulties regularly due to the poor facilities and irregular maintenance of transformers and wiring . The transformers are highly in the risk of dangers as they are almost 37 year old and not maintained properly by the exisitng power sub stations. The power failures and voltage flu tat ions leads to sudden bursting of electronic items due to power short circuits. We request for necessary and immediate actions.

Rameshqmr
                    Apr 7, 2015

Hi sir, I am Ramesh, residence @ Region 01-Chennai-North Circle 404-North Section 066-MADHAVARAM I Address 8 7TH AMBEDKAR NAGAR MADAVARAM CHENNAI 600110 Consumer No: [protected] recently as govt change old meter to digital one, hence i payed EB bill for Jan month due to door lock, but for this month reading as taken by person came to home total reading is 250 units and he said us to come and pay in EB office were in office the reading is not highlighted in their system, they said me to contact AE, i reached AE and he said that from their end they cant change anything, so asked my mobile no, said will check then call you, because the person who upload data for first time in system he upload reading as 22122014 instead of old meter last reading, so it cause big problem to us to pay bill[protected] is the date format 22-Dec-2014, they upload date as reading. now i cant able pay the EB bill please investigate this problem as soon as possible With thanks in advance Ramesh Kumar M Contact no +91 [protected] Email: ramesh.[protected]@gmail.com

abhinaya.radha
                      Apr 7, 2015

online payment made on 6.4.15 for Rs.850 My service No.[protected] still shown transaction is pending to day extra amount Rs.66/ included transaction details are Account Number : [protected] Transaction Date : 06/04/2015 Transaction Amount : (INR)850.00 Transaction Type : DR Transaction Description : IPAY/ESHP//60837486/[protected] My Email: abhinaya.[protected]@gmail.com My Mobile NO. [protected]

selvodhaya
                        Apr 6, 2015

Sir, We've Apply for new electric power connection on November 2014 last year, but they postponed to next week for shifft electric line connection above nearest to the house we have waiting for next payment untill last Month 18 March 2015 till now they not yet Do it .kindly check and complite It as soon as possible. Thanks By M. Loganathan, Thokkiyam,
                        Alamara Street, 89 veppampattu no any reading taken since last six months and average bill sent through SMS in this regard compliant to JE sevvapet and she assured that send line men to your home.but not yet readed last one month service connection no 761, 3042, 3043

Nishavivek
                          Apr 4, 2015

Dear Team, my service no is [protected] name & address (R.Mythili 11/A teachers colony 2nd street kodungaiyur) we are tennet to the above mentioned address for more than 2.5 years.We never got this much of Electricity bill and We were not at all using the power in the day time . Then i dont know how we got 400 units the amount is showed Rs.1030 for March month 2015. our usage is very low then how is it ????. This is with the reading problem so, Kindly take necessary steps to sort my problem ASAP.

Shahjahan Shahul Hameed
                            from Jayamkondacholapuram, Tamil Nadu
                            Apr 2, 2015

I have paid my bill amount of 977 rs on 29 march 2015, amount is debited from my bank account but in TNEB account it showed i have 977 rs bill pending. I tried after 2 days i.e on 1 April 2-15, this time amount is debited and also in TNEB account it showed nil balance.But I received receipt for those two payments in my email. I have attached the proof of transaction and the receipt with this complaint.Plaese kindly look after it and help me to get the money back..
                            Apr 02, 2015
                            Updated by Shahjahan Shahul Hameed
                            My consumer id is[protected]

mohsin ali
                              Apr 2, 2015

Sir, the officials in TNEB office at Govt Estate are wantonly harassing us by giving us higher bills for the service No[protected], If not followed they are cutting the electricity. They are under influence of some local rowdy elements, who are eyeing on the property. Please take appropriate action against these officials.

Anup Kumar Shah
                                Mar 31, 2015

Respected Sir/Madam, I, Anup Kumar Shah, tried to make an online payment of INR 690/- using net-banking from my HDFC Account on 25th March 2015. The money has been debited from my account but it has neither been credited to TNEB, nor has been credited back to my account. I am attaching screen-shot of the bank statement as proof (have hidden the other transaction amount to highlight the transaction for Rs. 690/- Request you to credit the money to my account at the earliest. Thanks and Regards, Anup [protected]

vnn_kkdi
                                  Mar 31, 2015

Dear Sirs, We are having a EB service connection [protected] ( Karaikudi Kalanivasal town south ) in my name ( V.Nagappan, 17, Lakshmi illam, Jawahar street, Karaikudi - 630001 ), We are staying temporarily at Chennai for the last 12 months and our house where the above service is located is vacant and we usually pay Rs 81/- (i.e.) On an average of Rs 100/- or less, but due to the new meter which seems to be a faulty one our meter is running always even though we are not consuming, and you have charged 24 times than that of the normal charges during the current month assessment ( Mar 2015) as Rs 1899/- Kindly change the meter and arrange to re assess and update the correct minimum charges so as to enable me to remit through online and avoid disconnection

puplice
                                    Mar 31, 2015

Dear sir, No.99 V.o.C Street, Kamaraj Nagar, New Perungalthur, chennai Hotel Name: Vijalakshmi, Complianit Details for publice Distance street tariffs probleam poleson probleam wastage food home Eb power use commercial House Eb Power using commercial using pl take actions This for kind information's Sir

rita valantina
                                      Mar 31, 2015

I'am a resident in vettuvankeni at chennai. they have connected electrical wire joint infront of our house. it is often bursting . so we don't feel it secure. they have made three joints near the gate and also near car parking. secondly, high voltage wire is going above our house . but they have removed the wire for our neighbours house and turned the directing of wire. we have informed A.E about this issue several times but no action is taken. so i kindly request u to take action regarding these issues.