Tamil Nadu Electricity Board [TNEB] Complaints & Reviews

Updated: Nov 17, 2025
Complaints 6284

File a complaint to Tamil Nadu Electricity Board [TNEB]

Having problems with Tamil Nadu Electricity Board [TNEB]?

File a complaint and get it resolved by Tamil Nadu Electricity Board [TNEB] customer care. It’s quick, effective and absolutely free!

Tamil Nadu Electricity Board [TNEB] reviews & complaints page 279

Maheshvins
Mar 29, 2015

We are residing in MCN Nagar 6th street, Thoraipakkam, Chennai - 600097, There is a long gap between two electricity poles in MCN Nagar 6th street, exact location is MCN Nagar 4th street connect to MCN nagar 6th street. Due to this High voltage power lines are hanging down, every time heavy vehicles touches the voltage wires when it enters from MCN nagar 4th street to MCN nagar 6th street it passes. when the voltage power lines touches the heavy vehicles, we are losing power and one of the costly electronics items got damaged. we have to spend every day more than 10thousands for the repairs, please make sure to place a electricity pole between them to reduce the gap
Tamil Nadu Electricity Board [TNEB] customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.

vedam
    Mar 25, 2015

While erecting 230kva HEAVY ABLE BY YOUR CONTRACTOR PUGALENDHI PHONE NO.[protected] THEY HAE DAMAGED SWERAGE MAIN LINE AND NEW RAIN WATER GUTTER COMLEETELY if asked for repairs they have refused to do, and started quarreling with public using fealty usages and without doing the rectification they have went off., Complaints have been lodged with metro water, Corporation of Chennai also, they have replied that it is responsibility of TNEB AND CONTRACTOR CONCEERNED ONLY. SINCE WE ARE HELPLESS WITH OTHERS WE REQUEST YOUR GOOD OFFICE TO RECTIFIY/REPAIRS THE DAMAGES
    Tamil Nadu Electricity Board [TNEB] customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.

nananananana
      from Jammu, Jammu and Kashmir
      Mar 25, 2015

Sir / madam from few days before the street line wire come with very low height. it is very dangerous to public. all vehicle go on that road. Address Pillayaar kovil apposit 23, keelmandur-Pandanallur (VIA) Thiruvidaimaruthur (taluk) Thanjure dist Tamil nadu

Sudharsanan Mothilal
        Mar 23, 2015

Dear Sir/Madam, For the past few weeks in Poonamalle (Sundar Nagar) area we are facing voltage fluctuations, due to which our house hold inverters were getting on and off frequently because of this chances of damaging electrical appliances. Moreove voltages here in our locality was around 176V to 190V which is very low. Do take necessary actions for voltage fluctuations and also to maintain voltage in safe level which is around 220 to 240 V. Kindly do the needful Regards, Resident @ Sundar Nagar .

Garis
          from Guruvayur, Kerala
          Mar 23, 2015

From Dated: 7th March 2015 Mr. M.G. Fernandez 1/15, Venkateswara Nagar, Kolathur Chennai 99. To, The Assistant Engineer Kolathur Electricity Board, Kolathur, Chennai 99. Dear Sir Sub: Calculation of EB consumption recorded during faulty period – reg Ref:075/005/303 I wish to bring to your notice that the calculation of the electricity consumption during the faulty period as incorrect, I say it in accordance with the consumption of power recorded by the electronic meter by your office in response to the complaint lodged As per the recording so far the average consumption of power is 10 – 13 units per day. Going by the recording of a fully functioning electronic meter and the calculation arrived at by your office for payment during the defective period brings the conclusion for the incorrectness. Enclosed the copy of the EB card with the break-up of consumption, recorded and also request you to kindly check with the newly installed meter for reference. I would like to add that you will notice the high value of consumption of power during the summer season for exhaustive use of air conditioner. Also wanted to make a mention of the average billing as per the precedent four months as per the findings of Ombudsman towards such cases I request your personal intervention in this regard and also provide us relief to this consumption calculation and for the settlement of our dues. I once request your good office to kindly do the needful and oblige Thanking you Yours Sincerely M.G. Fernandez [protected] [protected]@tnebnet.org

Raja55555
            from Kallakkurichchi, Tamil Nadu
            Mar 22, 2015

Address: Namakkal, Tamil Nadu

IN our area the transformer is basted due to overload on friday (21/03/2015) at 10AM.We are request you to change the transformer immediately we are out of current For a past days. ((BUT THE lineman's came and visit and asks the 1000 or each home in our area to change the transformer)) Authurampalayam, Tiruchengode(TK), Namakkal (DT)

Grashin C JOY
              from Lalgudi, Tamil Nadu
              Mar 21, 2015

fuse failure

Address: Coimbatore, Tamil Nadu

my house is in darkness without power supply due to fuse failure. i have tried many emergency numbers as mentioned in the tneb website for the same reason but none of the connections are at no respond either these numbers are not in existence or noone is picking them up. i just want the power connnection back as soon as possible. if there is a delay in payment of bill they are very active to take the fuse off, but when there is a complaint...
              Dinesh Parthasarathy
              Mar 19, 2015
              Feb 16, 2023
              This thread was updated on Feb 16, 2023

Correcting the name

Sir/Madam, I would like to file a complaint about the spelling mistake in my name registered in the bills of Electricity Board. Its been typed as 'P.PARTHASARATHI'. I need my name to be typed as 'P.PARTHASARATHY'. Account number is[protected].Kindly please change the name in the register. Thank you....
              97 other people found this review helpful
              97 found this helpful
              10 Comments
              ananymos
              from Suchindram, Tamil Nadu
              Mar 15, 2015

Address: Kanyakumari, Tamil Nadu

There is a coconut leaf hanging from live transmission line in a small street opposite to Raymond's show-room next to Derik Super Market in K.P Road Nagercoil. It would be easier to register complaint if phone numbers are readily available in internet.
              Mar 15, 2015
              Updated by ananymos
              it has been resolved one line-man removed it.

Poorna dhivya
                Mar 15, 2015

Sir, We are residing at Limeklin street, Aminjikarai area. Here the power cut is happening very frequently ( 2 days once). When we make complaint the workers are coming lately & make some work. But it doesn't even worth for 1 week. if you check the complaint calls from this area you can find out how many calls we have made. Kindly take steps to stop this power cuts to this area. Limeklin street, Aminjikarai, chennai, 600029

berjin paul
                  from Suchindram, Tamil Nadu
                  Mar 14, 2015

Address: Kanyakumari, Tamil Nadu

Sir, Am from kanyakumari district, under arumanai EB ofice. Now the 2015 Board exams are going on and the atmosphere here is both rainy and hot. . . The complaint is, during this exam seasons we are not getting proper electricity through out the day and night. Some times its off for long times and in night session too irritating power failures. When we called to EB office, they are always replying TRANSFORMER PROBLEM. ALSO SCOLDING US WITH BAD WORDS. Please take this complaint as a serious matter just because our area students Public exam. Please dont make the problem into political, facebook and wattsup. We need 24 hours proper electricity and its our rights.

Kothandaraman Ragupathy
                    Mar 13, 2015

r.santha 26 bawa st alwarpet chennai-18 -ph[protected] for the past 2 days we cannot go out or come in due to ur contractor dug trench in front of my front door - rubbish accumulated - not cleaned which he did for my neighbours - broke drainage pipe - not bothered to my requests - my complaints to ur officers not evoke help - pl instruct ur local AE -DE to help me immdtly- i am sr citizen - no powerful support for me -thanks

maruthamalar
                      from Palakkodu, Tamil Nadu
                      Mar 12, 2015

Address: Tirunelveli, Tamil Nadu

Chettikullam Thonnukkal, Alangulam Post, Kuruvikullam, Sankarankoil Taluk, Tirunelveli District. In That Particular village there are several posts are damaged and some high voltage main power lines are in low level. request you to prevent that advance before getting any accidents. By, Maruthamalar (Monthly Magazine), For Thonnukkal Village.

Mohamed Muzammil
                        Mar 12, 2015

Sir, I Stay in 66/39 unisali street, mount road chennai-600002. Our 3Phase one line is not working from past one week. Regarding this, i have reported to A.E but still no response from them. I have to keep following them everyday to solve this issue. I request to solve this issue as early as possible. Thanking You Your's Faithfully Mohamed Muzammil
                        I Stay in 66/39 unisali street, mount road chennai-600002. Our 3Phase one line is not working from past one week. Regarding this, i have reported to A.E but still no response from them. I have to keep following them everyday to solve this issue. I request to solve this issue as early as possible.

Your's Faithfully
                        Mohamed Muzammil

amjad r.s
                          from Pathanamthitta, Kerala
                          Mar 10, 2015

Complaint on otteri eb office

for past 2 hour power was cut but I try the otteri eb number they or not picking the call I tryed the call to eb office in mount road, in otteri, lineman ae, De they all r not picking the call and I went to the eb office of otteri I saw there the complaint reciver is sleeping and he kept the telephone reciver upon the by the distabence of the public so take this...
                          11 other people found this review helpful
                          11 found this helpful
                          smdalimd
                          from Tirupati, Andhra Pradesh
                          Mar 10, 2015

Dear Sir, Today 10/03/2015 i paid my bill through online. Amount debited from my account.But my bill not generated.Please urgently solve this issue NAME;V.KAUSALYA SERVICE NO;[protected] MY BANK TRANSACTION NO;78483068CH2059588 AMOUNT;8912 CONTACT ;[protected], 28525636 THANKING YOU

Thangavelpblr
                            Mar 9, 2015

Address: Perambalur, Tamil Nadu

Dear Sir, Last 07-03-15 th i am payed my Eb Bill through online. Amount debited from my account number. but not bill generated. Please urgently solve the issue. EB Number :- [protected] Bank trasaction Details Date Narration Cheque/Ref. No. Value Date WithdrawalDeposit 07 Mar 2015 [protected]TNEBNHDFC [protected] 07 Mar 2015 700.00

This is R.Bhuvaneshwari, W/O M.Ravichandran, Plot# 244, S.F# 636/3, Annamalai nagar, Namanasamuthiram, Thirumayam Taluk and Pudukkottai district.

I have applied for new EB connection on last[protected] and site was inspected by the concern officers for additional electric poles, further works has been completed, meter was issued (No#1318) and its ready to connect. (Photos attached for your references)

In this situation some unknown persons are creating the troubles with the EB officers and their concerns is electric poles are passed on their lands, so Officers hold my connection and told it will be investigate then we will give the connection.

Today they are asking the non-objection letter to proceed the connections were those seniority are at behind of me, and they are saying " Your connection will take 6 months more"

I have completed the bore well and took the loan to construct the home, now monthly loan interests are raising and really disappointed with this.

In these case, i kindly request you to do the necessary actions and kindly provide the electric service connection as soon as possible.

Your cooperation is highly appreciated and thankful.

R.Bhuvaneshwari

Mobile: [protected]

umaswaminathan
                              Mar 9, 2015

Hello sir, we are in below address: K.R Swaminathan, 176/53A west mada street, Thiruvottriyur, chennai-19. From yesterday we don't have power, we called your people, but till now power has not come.. Kindly please check and clear our problem.. Thank you.

drstephen raj
                                from Kunnamangalam, Kerala
                                Mar 7, 2015

Address: Salem, Tamil Nadu

the person for taking reading doesnt come his name is SETTU HIS CONTACT NUMBER IS [protected].when asked response is lethargic. billing is very high.i stay in a commercial complex for rent and run a dental clinic.last time they billed 16, 260.This time 9000.00 please help me to solve this isssue.my Service No : [protected] TamilNadu Generation And Distribution Corporation Ltd SALEM EDC Assessment for the month of 02/2015 Service No : [protected] Consumer Name: RAJASEKER Address : Bridhavan Road Avk Nagar Tariff : LM51 Phase : 3 Assessed Units: 950 Bill date :[protected] Due date:[protected] [protected][protected][protected][protected] CC Charge Fixed Cost MD Penalty PF Penalty E-Tax Amount [protected][protected][protected][protected] [protected]**

palanikumarks
                                  from Paravur, Kerala
                                  Mar 7, 2015

Address: Sivaganga, Tamil Nadu

we are suffered uninformed power cut problem from feb 2015 last week onwards. Our electronic goods are struggled due to uninformed power cut and also low voltage but we are paid what ever the tamilnadu electricity board fix it would be done.