Tamil Nadu Electricity Board [TNEB] Complaints & Reviews

Updated: Nov 17, 2025
Complaints 6284

File a complaint to Tamil Nadu Electricity Board [TNEB]

Having problems with Tamil Nadu Electricity Board [TNEB]?

File a complaint and get it resolved by Tamil Nadu Electricity Board [TNEB] customer care. It’s quick, effective and absolutely free!

Tamil Nadu Electricity Board [TNEB] reviews & complaints page 293

skbalar_123
Jul 10, 2014

Dear sir, my consumer number [protected] past one week the cable fault in road side. my address is mentioned the below. 12/1, vadamalai street. 1st floor sowcarpet chennai 79. your department line person has came given tem porary connection. i requet ti you send your person and change the cabe. waiting for your reply

We have facing sever power cut to our street due to the cable fault. Last two weeks no proper power supply and today from 1 AM we suffering from total power cut . In our street more than 50 family's are there. And I have complaint every day to our eb office but no response. So kindly take a immediate action.

S.karthikeyan

New street, Pallipet, tharamani,
Chennai - 600 113

We have facing severe power cut in our street due to the cable fault. Last two weeks no proper power supply and today from 1 AM we are suffering from total power cut . In our street more than 50 family's are there. And I complained every day to our eb office (kottur) but no response. So kindly take a immediate action.

S.karthikeyan

New street, Pallipet, tharamani,
Chennai - 600 113

maanasika
    Jul 9, 2014

Dear sir We are residing at LIC nagar, madipakkam. For the past 20 days we are facing very very low voltage. Even the fans and lights with electronic choke is giving 25% of power. Electronic items like fridge and washing machine work very rarely. Air condition has not worked for the past 3 months. When ever complaint is made. They say that they have problem with transform and new one has to come. Now for the past 20 days, we are Facing very bad situation. At least 10 times we have power cut daily and their is no proper response from the department. Most of the time EB department phone is engaged. When we go in person to complaint, the concerns person are always not available. Kindly look in to it and arrange for a new transform

ramachan0912
      Jul 9, 2014

Penalty charged for one day delay

Sub: Refund of Penalty paid for one day late payment of EB Charges Ref: EB Connections held in the name of my wife Mrs Kamakshi Ramachandran 3 Nos.[protected],[protected],[protected] I would like to bring to your kind consideration the following facts : For the above connections, the EB due date is 30th June 2014 and I have paid the Bimonthly EB consumption amount on 1st July 2014, and the details are as follows : 1. EB No.[protected]...
      35 other people found this review helpful
      35 found this helpful
      satheesh subramanian
      Jul 8, 2014

Great TNEB, For the past two months there is very worst power cut in gowrivakkam, and i have noticed that there is very frequently power cut only in my street(Lakshmikandhan street), gowrivakkam 73, please take necessary action and try to provide electricity to full fill people needs...

James Jayaseelan
        Jul 7, 2014

My consumer number is,[protected], chennai- south region.
        I have paid my Electricity bill online on 07/07/2014, using my debit card, for Rs. 2733 INR.
        The above said amount has been debited from my account, but i have'nt received any receipt for the payment that i made. Instead the website shown a message that said, process not completed due to a wrong operation.
        please check with your server and make my payment through. or kindly return the amount to my account, so that i can pay it again.

cibi1234
          from Tirupur, Tamil Nadu
          Jul 6, 2014

Address: Tirupur, Tamil Nadu

consumer no:[protected], since yesterday there is no power due some phase problem, and we have been calling Line Inspector since then but there is no response from your side, kindly see to that the problem is resolved immediately before we complain further to your high official. Address: 699/2 Sri Sapthagiri knits, RM brother industrial complex, palladam road, tirupur-5

Muralikrishnan S
            from Karur, Tamil Nadu
            Jul 5, 2014

Power Connection Number: 257/814/136 On 10/6/2014 the electrician Mr. Kannan from TNEB Substation Nehru Nagar installed a new digital meter after taking back the analog meter. Meter reading on 10/6/2014 as per analog meter was 54625. The same reading was recorded by the electrician in our EB card. But, while updating in the office database the meter reading entered was 54675, which resulted in extra 50 units in our power consumption bill. The new digital meter was installed with a reading of 6 units. Later, the meter reading was taken by the TNEB people for the bimonthly consumption on 24/6/2014. The reading recorded and updated in our EB card was 210. ACTUAL bimonthly power consumption as on 24/6/2014 is detailed below (in units): Analog meter reading on 10/6/2014: 54625 Analog meter reading on 19/4/2014: 53820 Power Consumption: 805 (I) Digital meter reading on 24/6/2014: 210 Digital meter reading on 10/6/2014: 6 Power Consumption: 204 (II) Total bimonthly power consumption (I + II): 1009 Bimonthly power consumption as on 24/6/2014 as per the TNEB bill is detailed below (in units): Analog meter reading in database on 10/6/2014: 54675 Analog meter reading in database on 19/4/2014: 53820 Power Consumption: 855 (I) Digital meter reading in database on 24/6/2014: 210 Digital meter reading on 10/6/2014: 6 (TNEB did not deducted form the final reading) Power Consumption: 210 (II) Total bimonthly power consumption (I + II): 1065 So, I have to pay an excess amount of Rs. 322/- due to the above miscalculation. When I represented this issue to our Nehru Nagar TNEB, They told they can't help it. So, I humbly request your personal intervention in this issue and kindly solve this problem. Yours faithfully S. Muralikrishnan Chitlapakkam, Chennai: 600064

prakashraj032
              Jul 4, 2014

No:18, raniammal house, Anthoniar street Charleshnagar, Pattabiram, Chennai-72. Sir, I am living in the above mention area for over 1.5 years. There is always low voltage and fluctuation in power supply in our area.Due to the lack of maintenance the particular above mentioned area experiences the power shut down. Due to voltage fluctuations my laptop got problem. It is happening 4 to 6 times a day. some times the power shutdown last for over 1 hours, So please help us to solve this problem immediately. Regards, R.Prakash

Ramesh Jeevarathinam
                Jul 4, 2014

One Phase is not working & Low Voltage Problem

Dear sir, I live in 16 Alamelumangapuram 1st Main Road, Madipakkam, Chennai 600091. For the last two months one phase is not working in our house and we have given complaint so many times till now no response from the concerned authorities. Also, there is a low voltage problem for the last 3 months due to which many electronic appliances are not work and many equipments have been spoiled. Kindly look into the matter...
                mshari
                Jul 4, 2014

I am M.S.Hari from 8 the cross Street, SVS Nagar, valasaravakkam, chennai - 600 087 We Have voltage fluctuation in our whole area for past 6 months. We have Informed many more time to EB office at Valasaravakkam and still no action was taken. We are loosing our house hold appliances because of this voltage fluctuation's Please do the needful and oblige . Kindly let me know who to I have to contact regarding voltage fluctuation.

valayapathi.v
                  Jul 4, 2014

Dear Sir X tenant was used the tneb online payment option.now he vacated and not giving the user name and password. Now I am the new tenant. So kindly arrange new user name and password. Consumar no [protected] Regards Valayapathi [protected] valayapathi.[protected]@gmail.com

vasi11
                    Jul 3, 2014

Dear sir/ madam Writting from vijayalakshmi nagar poonamallee area thiruvallur dist We are facing frequent and long power cut in our area(vijalakshmi nagar) Day and night. pl take action. Request tohave planned shutdown in case cant manage shutdown. Creating lot of problems for residence here

Arunsankar Manikandan
                      Jul 1, 2014

Address: Tirunelveli, Tamil Nadu

Dear sir, My husband PPO No is 25335 . He expired on 30/05/2014 . i send detailed death certificate and othr claim forms to your chief audit control office on 020/07/2014 . But till date date i have not received any communication from your office . Kindly take up the matter and settle at the earliest.. My address and contact No given below. S . ARUMUGATHAMAL. W/O K SANKARAKUMAR 31 SUNDARAT THOLAR STREET, TIRUNELVELI TOWN . PIN 627006 MOB NO [protected] EMAIL ID [protected]@gmail.com

Deebesh Mukundan
                        Jul 1, 2014

Respected Sir, I'm M Deebesh residing in 23/10, Jaganathapuram 3rd street, Chetpet, Chennai -31. I have already submitted a complaint stating "excessive meter reading issue" EB person inspected and confirmed that meter is faulty and it should be replaced immediately. I met the EB CI who told me to remit Rs.2100 to replace my faulty meter. Please advise why i should pay for the faulty meter which is owned and managed by EB. Although my consumption readings are high due to faulty meter i have paid as per the reading for past few months but still the meter is not replaced, please intervene and help to replace the meter as early as possible. thanks regds Deebesh [protected]
                        Tamil Nadu Electricity Board [TNEB] customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.

gunadr
                          Jun 30, 2014

Am living in 64, 4th street, jothiyammal nagar part2, east club road, shenoy nagar Chennai 30.
                          lastweak Sunday was power supply is totally cut in my area, and eb person is also rectifying that problem.
                          But yesterday is that that problems area is bust in continuously in street, Over street people are very fear in outcome of our house, because the line busted in street, and here with water leaked, and total street are earth in wall.eb customer care are no one cannot answering.pl's rectifying that problem.

Srikanth90
                            Jun 30, 2014

Address: Tiruvarur, Tamil Nadu

In thiruvarur district valangaiman there is an unnecessary and unreasonable power cut has been happened for an last 2 years...as we are complaint it to the higher officers like d.e and j.e there is not even an single proper response from them...why they are in that posting and goverment providing an waste salaries with lot of public issuses and troubles.they said towns trasformer has been in fault for an last 2 years... Is there is not an end for this problem our towns people facing an lot of troubles bcoz of power cut at the time of mid night and early morning if we not get an proper response..as we sure we can move this as an big issue by the help of media and move towards respected C.M...pls take severe action to handle our towns eb officers and show mercy for public...

Dani9148
                              Jun 30, 2014

Respected Sir, Madam My Name Is Daniel Adress No54/1, Thendral nagar 4th St, Kodungaiyur Ch-600118 In My House Monthly 6 Times Power Cut In My House Today 30.06.14 Morining 9.30 Left Power cut 6.30pm Still Not Coming Eb Fore Man shoul Not Pick The Phone This No [protected] After 10 Times Calling Then 4 o Clock I Call AE No He Also Not responsible Answer After 6.30 Mr AE I Telling Here No People wait Some More Time Our People Will Come My House Power Cut More than 9 Hours When Your People Come ? Sir, Pls Take Some Action In that area i hope You Give Good Respose my Mail

m.alagar
                                Jun 30, 2014

Address: Madurai, Tamil Nadu

I paid to tneb bills on (26.06.14) amount Rs.640 transfer in my account in debited tmb. But tneb amount pending and no bill receipt plz help me sir

service no.[protected]

Chennailaw
                                  Jun 29, 2014

Iam residing at pleasant apts, 45 taylors road, kilpauk, chennai 600010. Since 12noon today there is no power in one phase due to which the lift is not functioning. There are senior citizens and three cardiac patients residing on the 3rd and 4th floor and they are unable to go out of thier house since 12noon. Despite making 25 calls and visits to TNEB KELLYS branch the service person has not turned up till now - 9.30pm. Last month when there was a similar issue, the person who attended to the issue had demanded for 500/- which was refused as we are against paying bribes, hence they are unwilling to attend to the issue now.. We have been calling on [protected] - tneb helpline kellys.

BALANIVARSUN
                                    from Palghat, Kerala
                                    Jun 29, 2014

I am residing at Rebeiro Street (Off Thandavarayan Street), Near Ponnusamy Hotel, Royapettah, Chennai - 600 014, there is a Old EB Junction Box in Front of my House which has been installed almost 40 to 50 Years ago and is in a VERY BAD SHAPE, with the Box almost Rusted and about to fall and the Wires are also openly seen. As this is Dead end street, Children residing in this Area are uses to playing in the Road, and are prone to this Risk. I would request your Good self to Kindly cause to arrange for Replacement of this Box at the earliest to avoid any untoward Incident happening in this Area as the monsoon is also about start in a couple of months time. Hope that action in this regard is taken at the earliest.

T M SUNDAR RAJAN
                                    NO 9 REBEIRO STREET,
                                    ROYAPETTAH,
                                    CHENNAI - 600 014.
                                    Aug 05, 2014
                                    Updated by BALANIVARSUN
                                    WHAT IS THE STATUS OF MY COMPLAINT