Tamil Nadu Electricity Board [TNEB] Complaints & Reviews

Updated: Nov 17, 2025
Complaints 6290

File a complaint to Tamil Nadu Electricity Board [TNEB]

Having problems with Tamil Nadu Electricity Board [TNEB]?

File a complaint and get it resolved by Tamil Nadu Electricity Board [TNEB] customer care. It’s quick, effective and absolutely free!

Tamil Nadu Electricity Board [TNEB] reviews & complaints page 294

Deebesh Mukundan
Jul 1, 2014

Respected Sir, I'm M Deebesh residing in 23/10, Jaganathapuram 3rd street, Chetpet, Chennai -31. I have already submitted a complaint stating "excessive meter reading issue" EB person inspected and confirmed that meter is faulty and it should be replaced immediately. I met the EB CI who told me to remit Rs.2100 to replace my faulty meter. Please advise why i should pay for the faulty meter which is owned and managed by EB. Although my consumption readings are high due to faulty meter i have paid as per the reading for past few months but still the meter is not replaced, please intervene and help to replace the meter as early as possible. thanks regds Deebesh [protected]
Tamil Nadu Electricity Board [TNEB] customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.

gunadr
    Jun 30, 2014

Am living in 64, 4th street, jothiyammal nagar part2, east club road, shenoy nagar Chennai 30.
    lastweak Sunday was power supply is totally cut in my area, and eb person is also rectifying that problem.
    But yesterday is that that problems area is bust in continuously in street, Over street people are very fear in outcome of our house, because the line busted in street, and here with water leaked, and total street are earth in wall.eb customer care are no one cannot answering.pl's rectifying that problem.

Srikanth90
      Jun 30, 2014

Address: Tiruvarur, Tamil Nadu

In thiruvarur district valangaiman there is an unnecessary and unreasonable power cut has been happened for an last 2 years...as we are complaint it to the higher officers like d.e and j.e there is not even an single proper response from them...why they are in that posting and goverment providing an waste salaries with lot of public issuses and troubles.they said towns trasformer has been in fault for an last 2 years... Is there is not an end for this problem our towns people facing an lot of troubles bcoz of power cut at the time of mid night and early morning if we not get an proper response..as we sure we can move this as an big issue by the help of media and move towards respected C.M...pls take severe action to handle our towns eb officers and show mercy for public...

Dani9148
        Jun 30, 2014

Respected Sir, Madam My Name Is Daniel Adress No54/1, Thendral nagar 4th St, Kodungaiyur Ch-600118 In My House Monthly 6 Times Power Cut In My House Today 30.06.14 Morining 9.30 Left Power cut 6.30pm Still Not Coming Eb Fore Man shoul Not Pick The Phone This No [protected] After 10 Times Calling Then 4 o Clock I Call AE No He Also Not responsible Answer After 6.30 Mr AE I Telling Here No People wait Some More Time Our People Will Come My House Power Cut More than 9 Hours When Your People Come ? Sir, Pls Take Some Action In that area i hope You Give Good Respose my Mail

m.alagar
          Jun 30, 2014

Address: Madurai, Tamil Nadu

I paid to tneb bills on (26.06.14) amount Rs.640 transfer in my account in debited tmb. But tneb amount pending and no bill receipt plz help me sir

service no.[protected]

Chennailaw
            Jun 29, 2014

Iam residing at pleasant apts, 45 taylors road, kilpauk, chennai 600010. Since 12noon today there is no power in one phase due to which the lift is not functioning. There are senior citizens and three cardiac patients residing on the 3rd and 4th floor and they are unable to go out of thier house since 12noon. Despite making 25 calls and visits to TNEB KELLYS branch the service person has not turned up till now - 9.30pm. Last month when there was a similar issue, the person who attended to the issue had demanded for 500/- which was refused as we are against paying bribes, hence they are unwilling to attend to the issue now.. We have been calling on [protected] - tneb helpline kellys.

BALANIVARSUN
              from Palghat, Kerala
              Jun 29, 2014

I am residing at Rebeiro Street (Off Thandavarayan Street), Near Ponnusamy Hotel, Royapettah, Chennai - 600 014, there is a Old EB Junction Box in Front of my House which has been installed almost 40 to 50 Years ago and is in a VERY BAD SHAPE, with the Box almost Rusted and about to fall and the Wires are also openly seen. As this is Dead end street, Children residing in this Area are uses to playing in the Road, and are prone to this Risk. I would request your Good self to Kindly cause to arrange for Replacement of this Box at the earliest to avoid any untoward Incident happening in this Area as the monsoon is also about start in a couple of months time. Hope that action in this regard is taken at the earliest.

T M SUNDAR RAJAN
              NO 9 REBEIRO STREET,
              ROYAPETTAH,
              CHENNAI - 600 014.
              Aug 05, 2014
              Updated by BALANIVARSUN
              WHAT IS THE STATUS OF MY COMPLAINT

Kalaiv
                Jun 27, 2014

I am a resident from MGR Nagar Thiruverkadu... There is frequent power fluctuation and power cut problem during night time ..Due to this, machinery and appliances got damaged and we cant sleep peacefully...There is no action taken here against this.. Please take immediate necessary action to rectify this problem..

K7Rajkumar
                  Jun 27, 2014

Hi Sir, I am K.Raj Kumar staying in Tharamani, Chennai. I have already raised couple of complaint's by letter. I directly went to Velacherry EB Office 6 months before and also 3weeks ago to give the complaint letter. They just took the letter but no response from the department. I am sorry to say this, That some of the EB department officials are so irresponsible. So, i kindly request you to please look into my complaint and sort out my problem as soon as possible. Problem Regarding : My individual Shop EB Meter is not working. And asking a huge amount for which will not exceed more than 300rs - 500rs. Thank You. K.Raj Kumar.
                  Hi Sir,

We are tired to compliant against SEVEN WELLS EB office Staff... When we are calling at night when power cut they are not responding to calls... and finally We reached EB office staff they are consumed alcohol. i asked to higher authority number they refused to give number with vulgar words... How Should i resolve this problem Let me Know...Thanking you

loge100
                    Jun 27, 2014

We lost our EB card. On 25.06.14 i went to the EB office in Keelkattalai, chennai and submitted my request for new card. The AE acknowledged the request and gave the letter to another staff who asked me to come the next day. Again i went to the EB office on 26.06.14 to collect the card. A staffed named Palani demanded Rs 100 for the cards. Please take some necessary action on this staff. Beyond this, they didn't update the bill for the month of may for which I took the readings and that staff back dated the readings and made me pay the fine. Is this how they should be doing. I felt this unfair.
                    Tamil Nadu Electricity Board [TNEB] customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.
                    We are staying in Thoraipakkam. EB staffs are removing the main fuse and asking us to pay the bill.
                    But the bill was already paid online. We went to EB office near Chennai One-IT SEZ, Thoraipakkam.
                    There is no response from them. They are not behaving in a good manner and carelessly speaking.
                    We are facing the issue once in two months.
                    Please check this issue and ensure that this issue will not be repeated in future with other consumers.

ragasrgm1
                      Jun 27, 2014

Sir, My current EB bill amount is higher side. Our assumption is either meter is fault or reading is fault. Current EB reading is 2073 unit for by month. Every bimonthly average reading is below 500 units. But one by month is jump 2073 unit.. Is it possible? :Please check the meter or change the meter box. The details given below, Region: 09-chennai-south Circle: 406- West Section: 176-Nerkundram East Service No[protected] Address: 14/6, West Mada street, Koyambedu - Chennai -107
                      Tamil Nadu Electricity Board Region South Chennai(09) Section Sembarampakkam (542) Distrbution;Santro City(001) Service Number:262 and 266.Person Connection name is Mr.Ponnurangam.This person is not live in more than 25yrs.This land is belong to Mrs.Janaki Ammal for long term lease land till date. Present land owner is woman more than Fifty years.. This was the reason, xyz given Electricity connection without verification of Land Documents and Land EC.etc.The concern Superintending Engineer and Assist Engineer(operation and Maintenance)

We are lost our Vacant Land rent from other Industrial Sources .Because, the present occupier shows the Electricity Bill. We have the land loan approx3.62 Crore. The concern authority did not check the all data;s like Land Documents and EC etc. Who will bare our loss either EB or Oppcupier. We appeal to the High Court further in this regards.Hoping your reply.

Venkat
                      Woman Welfare Association
                      Poonamallee, Chennai -56, Phone:[protected]

sarathi mohan
                        Jun 27, 2014

I receive a SMS from tneb with the electricity charges Rs.2818 for SC.No.[protected]. But my electricity consumer number is SC.No.[protected]. I want my electricity reading details and correct my consumer No(SC.No). Give me a Information thorough the mobile No:[protected] (or) [protected]@gmail.com.

maheskrish
                          Jun 26, 2014

Address: Vellore, Tamil Nadu

here is continously power cut every night creating heavy trouble for all the people of bharathi nagar, kaniyambadi, vellore. Tneb is not taking any action against such fault. they are not responding in local EB office. Strict action against it must me taken immediately...

Sundar199
                            Jun 26, 2014

Hi, We used to have an average consumption of 500-600 units per billing cycle (two months). However last cycle we found the consumption had increased to 2700 units. We suspect there is some fault in the meter as we did not install any electrical gadget in past 6 months. When we raised the issue to EB department (Periyar Nagar EB dept) they are not willing to buy us and just said our consumption would have gone high. I wonder how in the world will consumption increase to 5 times in a month. I would like to know the means by which this issue can be sorted out. I dont want to pay the bill otherwise later we may have to run pillar to post for refund. Someone please help. Thanks, Sundar G.K.M Colony, Jawahar Nagar Post, Chennai-82. [protected].

eccdvenky
                              Jun 26, 2014

Dear Sir, I am residing at Plot No.9, Door No 15A, Balaji Avenue, Alapakkam, Chennai - 600116. Severe shock is being observed in the cable which is coming through light post to the Meter box. Also low voltage problem is continuing for more than 5 years and the problem is yet to be solved. Because of low voltage issue, fan, light and refrigerator are getting repaired and we are unable to survive and run our day to day life. Also pump motor is not running and we could not pump the water from the well because of the above issue. Kindly take necessary action to solve this issue immediately.

Sureshbabu_63
                                Jun 25, 2014

Service No:[protected] Sir, I regret to inform you that invariable there is a power failure in my house alone for about 2 hrs daily. Every time after the power failure I have to inform the EB and the line man attend the problem and it takes more than 2 hrs to restore the problem. I suspect that is a some problem in the pillar box that is the lug was melted which is causing the power failure. I request you to change the line and provide me and interrupted power supply by changing the line. Regards, G.Suresh Babu [protected]

josephgalvin
                                  Jun 25, 2014

Madam, the meter which is fixed in my residence has showing higher units o[censored]sage every month, we have given many more complaints to change the meter, but they force us to pay the current amount, and there after not responding to our complaints. we struggle to pay the amount every month, this month's our charge comes to 7000/- if the current bill comes like house rent, what can we do madam. There is no heavy machine like fridge, grinder, geezer, washing machine. only three members in our house .
                                  METER GETTING STRUCK :
                                  Many times we have face many issues in electronic meter. every month meter gets struck in between, and Eb officers force to pay the higher average amount. when we beg also they don't mind to reduce single penny. After paying the huge amount some time they change the meter, but the problem not come s to an end, it works fine for a month and then gets struck. this problem we are facing for many years. And we also checked if there is any leakage in our current. and we don't fine any complaints in our wiring or leakage
                                  Madam, Kindly take steps to provide us a good correct functioning meter in my residence.
                                  Many more complaints:
                                  As we enquired many public in our area, like tvk nagar, perambur, periyar nagar, kolathur, jawahar nagar, etc., they also faces the same issues which i am facing, i can also collect all the complaints from them. they all struggle in silent's.
                                  Eb officers complaints the government:
                                  When we give complaints regarding the meter to our Eb officer, the warmly answer what can we do, that is electronic meter, which is provided by the government.
                                  The meter's which is in our area is totally malfunctioning, Kindly take steps to find out the illegal supplier of malfunction meter,
                                  Madam, we have faced same issue in auto meter, then after you given the grand solution to that problem, likewise, kindly we beg you to take immediate to solve our issues in malfunctioning electronic EB meters.
                                  We are proud of your administration. and we support for you forever.
                                  Madam, kindly inform the Eb officer to change the perfect meter in my residence..

latha1988
                                    Jun 24, 2014

Hi I am latha from Thiruvanmiyur for the past two weeks we are continuosuly facing low voltage and power cut in our place.Power cut is not happening throughout the area only in my house.I called thiruvanmiyur EB office so many times but they are not at all picking up the call.I called head complaint department and registered a complaint also but it is also of no use

jbusna
                                      Jun 23, 2014

Address: Karur, Tamil Nadu

Online Customer support, All my below service numbers are deleted from my online account jbusna. I didn’t request to delete it and please add it back to jbusna online id and send me update ASAP. [protected] [protected] [protected] [protected] [protected] [protected] [protected] [protected] Please delete [protected] this service # from my account jbusna as I am not own this service any more. Please let me know if you have any questions or call me at [protected].

janak jain
                                        Jun 23, 2014

There is continously power cut every night creating heavy trouble for all the people of manikandan street, sowcarpet, chennai. Tneb is not taking any action against such fault. Recently many fans and general applicanes have been damaged worth lot of money due to high voltage fluctuations problem. Strict action against it must me taken immediately.
                                        the respected sir i am living to the kanchipuram dt baluchetty post muttavakkam village PIN-631551 sir my village people was low voltage problam in few months i have compliant TNEB HEAD DEPT THIRUPPUKUZHI all ready complient for all office there is no responce please take my comliant please save my village people
                                        thank you sir
                                        thanakarasu.p
                                        last 10 days we are facing low voltage problem.

Our complaint nos are :[protected]
                                        Hey, We are also facing the same issues in Chennai Chromepet., Even though if we raise our voices, these people will never take any action unless if you are in high profile. Hope you will understand about our Govt.
                                        Hello Madam,
                                        I am staying in Jegajeevan ram colony, Selaiyur 20th Ward. WE are facing severe low volage problem. We have raised many concerns with our counselor and Electricity persons. They are not ready to irrect transformers at our area. Simply saying there is no space to errect. WE have told them to errect in front of our home. They are not ready to do that. Request you to take immediate necessary action to resolve our issue.
                                        SPJ Nagar Ayyampet 614201, Papanasam Taluk, Thanjavur dist, Tamilnadu
                                        Voltage plunges to 130 volt at nights. Heavy voltage pluctuation enogh to damage household appliances. Reported several times earlier but to no response until now. Seems electricity is stolen of side drained by some affluent consumer with the knowledge of Ayyampet 614 201 TNEB office staff. Immediate recificaion sought.
                                        copied to CM Cell, St George Fort Chennai
                                        Madam /sir we facing the low voltage problem in papanasam BALAJI NAGAR,
                                        all ways 160to170, whater motor not working can you fix the problem

Power cut problem

Often power cut in thiruvottiyur area KALADIPET, now also we are suffering with infant baby and old parents. Please fix ASAP