[Resolved]  ABN AMRO Credit Card — Credit Card Account Closure & Removing from RBI defaulter list

Dear Pehredar Team,

This is Atul Dixit from Mumbai.

After watching the program at 3:30pm today,
I feel should report you about the similar issue, I am facing with ABN AMRO credit card.

I have been issued credit card free of charge on 15.06.2003 by ABN AMRO because of my association with well known MNC.

I used this card for almost 6 months & made regular payments of the dues.

Incidently, even after payment for month of Jan 2004, due to technical error,
I was levied Return cheque handling charges with service taxes.

Upon request to bank for reversal of charges, ABN AMRO has confirmed the reversal on 6th March 2004.
For Next month's statement, same was also reflected partly.
But to my surprise, same charges were levied again & this time with late payment charges.

After checking with ABN AMRO, they confirmed on 28th April 2004 about the investigation in detail to sort out the problem.

Incidently, no reply was received from Bank & these charges were added again & again for next months.

Because of repeated problem of adding late payment charges, I contacted ABN Amro again on 29.06.2004.
Incidently, this time again, ABN AMRO has confirmed the reversal on 30th June 2004,
surprisingly keeping later payment charges again.

Now, with repeatation of problems & no sensitivity to handle customer issues,
I did not get any feedback on my queries upto 11th Feb 2005.

I stopped following up wih bank, as they were not serious to resolve the issue.
Instead, ABN AMRO kept charging me for months together bringing this late payment to huge sum.

Meanwhile, I left India in November for 1 year on official duty.

Due to troublesome letters sent to my local address, I again raised the issue with bank on 11th May 2005.
Unprofessionally, bank asked me to pay huge sum of Rs.4508.
This was arrived just by repeatedly charging for late payment & other charges for months together as shown.

Since this was ignorance at it's peak, I decided to block the card & informed @ same on 14th Jun 2005.
Bank representatives promised this time to look in to the matter & resolve same,
but since no response from them for 2 weeks, I dispatched the cards in pieces on 28th Jun 2005 & sent via courier from Singapore.

Instead of acknowledging the reciept of cut card & apologising for unprofessional handling of whole episode,
ABN Amro sent a letter asking me to pay for Rs.5077.

Tired by its sick responses, I stopped talking to bank again, since the issue was closed at my end.

Incidently, some where last year, I got a call from ABN AMRO's Gurgaon office,
with a lady asking me for repayment of Rs.8958.
When asked about the awaited response from bank, she has threatonned me for same.

The latest version, heard from ABN AMRO bank on 11th July 2008, i.e. last week, Mr.Ravi Malhotra[protected], Supervisor,
Consumer Risk Dept, ABN AMRO Bank, Noida office asking for settlement on Rs.6000/-.

He informed me that this will help me remove my name from defaulter list of RBI.
This started with reversal problem of Rs. 100 & without accepting the responsibility for poor handling, spoiling my image now.
Incidently, my recent applications for new cards of Barclays, SBI, Citibank got rejected for wrong reporting by ABN AMRO at RBI.

I have been using crdit cards from HSBC & American Express for 8-10 years now.
In fact due to regular re-payment on my account for years, I am also considered as privildge member of these well known banks.

With this long history, I request Pehredar team to take up the matter with ABN AMRO & close the issue.
I should receive the credit card account closing letter with apologie from bank.

Also request to remove my name from defaulter list of RBI & issue NOC.

I would highly appreciate the efforts by your team & report the same to our renowned & respected MNC company.

Thanks & Best Regards,

Atul Dixit

Sub: Stop Facility of auto debit for Credit Card

I am herewith requesting to stop the auto debit facility for my credit card no:
( [protected]) my Abn Amro Bank savings account no:[protected].
In fact I had not asked for this auto debit facility at the time of applying
for the credit card.

Kindly do the needful at the earliest.

Yours truly,

P.Basanth Kumar
[protected] / 42138136

ABN AMRO
    Customer satisfaction rating Customer satisfaction rating is a complex algorithm that helps our users determine how good a company is at responding and resolving complaints by granting from 1 to 5 stars for each complaint and then ultimately combining them all for an overall score.
    57%
    ABN AMRO Phone
    +91 11 2370 2555
    ABN AMRO Address
    Hansalaya Building 15, Barakhamba Road, New Delhi, Delhi, India - 110001
    View all ABN AMRO contact information