[Resolved]  Auto Rickshaw — Fare

I travel frequently travel by rickshaw, especially between Dahisar Check Naka and Hiranandani, Powai. I am quite surprised at the various amounts of fare payable after the travel. They usually range from Rs. 120 to 145. However, giving consideration to the traffic condition, I had till date not thought much about the same. Yesterday, on 1st April 2009 (kindly note this is not any April Fool Joke), I took an auto rickshaw (MH 03 Z 403) from Dahisar Check Naka at about 7.45 - 8am to travel to Hiranandani, Powai. The fare surprisingly was Rs. 175. I had to pay the Rs. 175 as there was no way for me to prove that the fare was quite high as even though the traffic encountered was lesser than usual. I fail to understand the reasons for such high degree of variation in the fares. It seems that the meters are rigged. People say that for travelling between Dahisar Check Naka and Hiranandani, Powai the fare should be about Rs. 120. However in my frequent travels, it was only once that the fare was Rs. 125, as most of the times I had to shell out around Rs. 140-150. I request the concerned authorities to kindly take some action in this regard as this not a phenomenon ristricted to travel between Dahisar Check Naka and Hiranandani, Powai, but elsewhere as well. Thanking the concerned authorities in anticipation of early positive actions. Regards, Vikas R. Joshi.

On May 1st 2009 around 2.45 PM to 3.00 PM, I took a auto Rickshaw from St.John Hospital to Silk board flyover, Bangalore. It will be hardly 2Kms but the Meter went on to Rs 28. When i gaved him Rs.30 he refused to pay back Rs.2. The minimum fare should be Rs 14. He had a old meter and tampered it as the meter runs like anything. His auto number is KA -05 B- 6344.

I request you to take strict action on this.

MS
Are these complaints actually being read by any authority and is actually any action being taken against these auto rickshaw driver?? I doubt!!!

I have a complaint but I think before posting any complaint, we need an answer to this. Otherwise it seems more like a forum for busting out our frustration on these cheat auto rickshawwala.
Auto Number KA05C4222 running at Yeswanthpur railway station area has demanded as well as threatened me for getting more money than prepaid bill amount. The driver behaves as if like a gunta to get the money he demands. He was revenging at me to go and complaint and see the results.
I have got the prepaid bill with me as the proof. Please suggest where to complaint. Is this Auto Gang especially in Bangalore are ones who cannot be controlled and put under law?
on June 4 2009 at 6.30pm I took a auto rickshaw from linking road evershine nagar to Andher east seepz . After I reached Seepz gate no 2 I realized the meter was too Fast & it read 107.00 Which I informed the driver . he refused to accept that the meter was fast & told me you think you are the RTO & demanded for extra 10Rs . I informed him that I take a rick everyday & the fare is only 75-80 & never exceeds that . He stared speaking loudly & screaming on top of his voice saying things like just because you are a lady & I cant touch you or I would have showed you . jao jao . In the mean time there were a lot of people gathered but no one bothered to say anything in public . I informed the security on the Seepz gate what had happened & he told me why did you not call out to me ? This is Bad & I wish to bring that old man the driver to books . He even said take down my number & do what you want to do I don't care .

Mrs C Fernandes
on June 4 2009 at 6.30pm I took a auto rickshaw from linking road evershine nagar to Andher east seepz . After I reached Seepz gate no 2 I realized the meter was too Fast & it read 107.00 Which I informed the driver . he refused to accept that the meter was fast & told me you think you are the RTO & demanded for extra 10Rs . I informed him that I take a rick everyday & the fare is only 75-80 & never exceeds that . He stared speaking loudly & screaming on top of his voice saying things like just because you are a lady & I cant touch you or I would have showed you . jao jao . In the mean time there were a lot of people gathered but no one bothered to say anything in public . I informed the security on the Seepz gate what had happened & he told me why did you not call out to me ? This is Bad & I wish to bring that old man the driver to books . He even said take down my number & do what you want to do I don't care .

Auto Number # MH03 AA3790 .

Mrs C Fernandes
Respected sir/madam,

this is to bring to your notice that the auto rickshaws bearing regidtration Auto Nos AP 9V 9073, AP 1T 8490, (OLD METER), AP 9W 1218, AP 13W 8760 plying on the route from Mehdipatnam (via mehdipatnam bus depot )to Tallagadda Hyderabad, holds Tampered and Setting Meters installed in their auto rickshaws, Meter Reading of the above mentioned Auto Rickshaw is running very fast.

This is sheer corruption on the part of the auto rickshaw drivers and it is really become nuisances for us consumers as we are the ones who are suffering . Govt has setup digital meter because the auto drivers where modifying the old meter setting..but know they know how to modify the digital meters as well. Please control this and take action against such auto drivers

After all we cannot spend our hard earned money to fill the houses of auto rickshaw drivers.My suggestion would be that there should be a separate wing which takes up the complaints and matter of such auto rickshaw drivers so that they dont break laws. Thanking you.

Yours Faithfully,
Mrs Harpreet Kaur.
Read comments
Auto no AP 12U 2879 was very fast and was on the wrong side of the road and suddenly came in front of my car and I have to apply sudden brakes and my one year daughter sitting on the side seat with me fell down, driver was very rude, and was not allowing my car to move he flewed the scene even i tried to stop him. please trace him
auto number MH 08 E 4999, the auto driver asked for Rs.20/- which under normal circumstances costs Rs.13/-; whom to approach to launch the complaint? Very arrogant behaviour! I jst said dat "give me meter card", He ran away! what's this nonsence??? please explain.
your truly,
aditya
I dont know whether a action will be taken or not as so many compliants listed above shows how much the listeners are taking care of them. Well there are several ocassion I had a argument with auto drivers for there meter being tampared. This time it was too much a distance of 5.5 km which in normal circumstances is Rs 40-45 was showing Rs 80 in the meter and it showed a distance of 10.5km. When I told him about this he started arguing and wanted the money. Its not an issue to pay Rs 40 extra once a while, but these type of inappropriate meter reading cant be beared by citizen every time. So I want the authoroties to take a severe action against such anti elements in the city who make the environment ugly. The auto number is as follows AP 10 V 7909. Date of travel 10/8/09 evening after 8.30pm.
Do take some actions as the City needs it.

Autorickshaw — Without setting meter, asked extra money

There have been many such incidents with me, but this one I am reporting as it is increasing day by day.
All the AUto wala's at Kothrud Depo Stand, Pune expect to give them fare without setting the meter. Their Unity is such that if one Autowala refuses to come by setting meter then rest of the AUtowalaa also refuse to come. This puts us normal people in big problem during urgency. Same is the case with Rickshaw wala's in Aundh Rakshak Chowk.

To be specific
AutoRick Number : MH12FA4395
I travelled from chandni chowk to Kothrud depo, which is a distance less than 1 KM.The Autowala asked me 40 Rs. straight. I told him to come by meter but he refused. As I was having a lot of luggage in my hands, I tried to negotiate it to 20 Rs. He then left me only till Kothrud depo. When asked to drop me to an apartment just 2 blocks away, he said that would cost me extra 10 bucks.
I mean this is ridiculous. Do they dont know the law o[censored]sing Meter ?

I hope this would be taken care. Thats the least I can do. Else we face this situation everyday.
auto rickshaws are a nuiscance in every city.
In Bangalore the min fare is 14 Rs, if you pay them 15, the auto wallahs are not willing to return 1 re.
But try paying them 13 rs they will make a big issue out of it.
1 re is as dear to a software techie as it is to an auto wallah.
Also please beware of this auto KA 05 B 7193 in banaglore, his first offence was that he asked for 20 rs for a place, 5 rs extra..and when we reached there, he started harassing and shouting telling he had asked for 30 rs.
I had to pay 30 rs as i was travelling alone, immediately wanted to file a complaint against him.
I hope some action will be taken against this auto driver.
we were travelling from auto rickshaw from necklace road to sri-nagar colony for which the maximum fare is Rs30 but the digital meter was tampered and it showed Rs 46...when we enquired them about it they started abusing us.They are not even afraid of the police...The Auto Number is AP11X4884.KIndly take some action regarding thes kind of auto wallah's.

WE Road — Bad road conditions on both sides of Dahisar toll

The road conditions are too bad on both sides of the Dahisar tool road. I guess it is the responsibility of the company collecting the toll to maintain the roads. That's why they charge the toll. It is disappointing and frustrating to see govt, Municipal corporations do not keep any watch on these vendors colelcting the tolls. There should be mandatory checks and penalities for not mainitaining the roads.
Complain against MH03 J 2484 Auto Rickshaw Driver for manipulating meter and rude behavior.

I travel from andheri east to IIT, Bombay, Powai, inside campus, regularly.
as per link - http://www.iitb.ac.in/campus/howto/howtoget.html -
fare should be between 65 to 70. And I normally get same reading but on 11th December 2009 it was 77 even I did not enter into the campus. When I asked about this to the driver he started speaking rudely with me and asked me to complain as he knows nothing is going to happen even if I complain about him.

I request you, please take strict action against him to stop loot.
A friend and myself boarded an auto rickshaw No. MH-03-AK-2986 yesterday evening after office at 6.05 p.m.from Saki Vihar to go to Jogeshwari Station. Without much traffic, hardly we reached Matoshree on JVLR we found that the meter was running very fast. Normally this would come to around Rs.25/- his meter was showing Rs.32/-. We brought to the notice of the driver and he started arguing and abusing us. He told us to get down. We requested him to take us to the station and would pay the normal fare which we pay everyday, around Rs.45/-. He refused and we had to step out. It becomes very difficult to get a rick on a fast moving traffice road.

We feel action should be taken against this rickshaw driver and his auto meter should be checked. We may find 0.1% honest auto drivers... rest I would say they all have tampered with the meters.

We would like to know what action has been taken against this driver.

Mehroo & Rakhi

auto rickshaw complaints — Refused come to the place i requested after getting into the auto

Today i.e. 27/02/2010 afternoon 2;30 PM i came to bangalore yesvantpur railway station, i asked for the auto but very one in the auto stand fixed their own prices they are not ready use their auto meters.

I refeused to take any one from that auto stand and i walked to bus stop, their i got an auto number 'KA03 - 5503' he has taken me in his auto and i told him to drive to Nanjappa circle near vidyaranyapura.

than i told me get down because he thought nanjappa circle in shantinager, it was horrible for to accept since i had laugage and my wife and kid.

i told that i will go no compline against but he laughed loudly and went off....

i came to know that our country will never go no be developed ever :(

byeeee
Is this site really useful. Did the complaints are actioning or just taking only the inputs from the customers.
The Autorichshaw fare in airoli is just a stupidity. The literally charge twice od what the fare has to be. The distance between the Airoli Sector-8 to Airoli station is just of minimum fare wherein they charge a fixed rate of Rs. 20/-. This problem is faced by every one at Airoli. Before sitting in the auto they will fix the fare either Rs. 20/- or Rs. 25/-. And they don't have the manners to talk also.

I took an auto from Prakash Nagar to Somajiguda on June 18, 2010.
Normal charge is around 25 Rupees but the auto rikshaw meter clocked 38 Rupees.
Dispute followed afterwards and anger.The Rikshaw Number is AP 28 Y0360.

Sumit Juyal
Respected Sir/Madam,
I am a commuter who travels more or less often from west marredpally in secunderabad to balkampet which is near ameerpet in hyderabad. The auto number'AP 11 X 5168' has a tampered digital meter. Generally the fare comes to aroundRs.70. but this time I had to pay Rs.80 and walk an extra kilometer till my home since I had to compensate for the faulty meter as I did not have extra money that day. I request the concerned authorities to look into this matter.
Yours Sincerely,
Achanta Krishna Sameer.