[Resolved]  Barclays Bank Plc — Harassment for non settlement of accounts

This is to bring to your notice of your office the harassment issues faced by me from Barclays Bank plc (Credit card division). I had taken a new card from them in the month of July`08 no. [protected]. I had opted for both hard copy as well as soft copy of my outstanding statement. My first statement was due to me in the month of August`08. To my surprise I get a call for non payment sometime in the mid of the month. They claim to have delivered my statement at my flat building to someone named Vijay( whom I don’t even know neither we have any security by that name in our building). Plus the email address was wrongly entered by their processing department and hence the statement never reached. Once they submitted the duplicate bill I had promptly cleared the outstanding on the 24th of August`08. In between I had a lot of follow up calls from them claim it is not their fault and hence I need to pay interest for the delay.

I had decided to discontinue the card for the harassment meted to me will calls on weekends, holidays, innumerous SMS s etc. My next statement was due for 13th of Sept`08 and I cleared my usage of Rs 24, 966/- on the 12th of Sept`08 which was subsequently cleared on the 16th of the same month. Cheque no 446949 dtd 12th sept`08 ICICI bank- MG Road Bangalore.

After repeated exchange of mails with the head service dept of their HO in Mumbai they reversed the interest on the card charges for the August delay.

Now for the past 4 months I have been regularly harassed with dire consequences for non payment of the sept dues. Had extended complete co-operation with the bank and provided copy of my bank statement clearing the same. This has been provided to their various offices and in person both in hard and soft copy formats.

I continue to get threats for bad rating in CIBIL and legal case against me whereas some of their colleagues have agreed to revert in 7-10 days time in early Nov`08 and have never reverted.In a particular day I received 25 calls from them.

I have also been given to understand from our acquaintances that this Bank in particular has a very poor service quality and they have also faced harassment from them.

I would like your good office to guide me for the next course of action that I need to take so that citizens like me are not harassed by such banks that still don’t have a proper system and process in place and play the blame game.Till today I get atleast 4-5 SMSs and 2-3 calls daily.

Looking forward to your support

With warm regards,

Gurdip Singh Khokhar
Mob: [protected]

hi all
i received a barclays credit card in july'08. but over past 6 months i didnt even see how a barclays statement looks like. I made several complaints but never received any response to complaint. now fed up with all, i asked for settlement a month and a half back wen their execs called me. but they dont respond .moreover they want me to pay min due 1st only then i can go for settlement. kindly advise me wat to do...i am already charged abouut 13000 in excess as charges out of my total outstanding of 20, 499. advise me any further action against this bank.
This is to bring to your notice the harassment issues faced by me from Barclays Bank (Credit card division) …

The Card started in operation from 17th Apr’ 2008 …

(I.) First Bill: 2 (Two) Transactions were made of Air Ticket i.e. Rs. 3620/- on 14/04/2008 and Rs. 5074/- on 20/04/2008 for which the total amount was Rs. 8674/- but the bill was not recd. at the time and a call came from Barclays office that … due date of the above bill was 28th we are sending the person to you and you pay him the cash. I agreed and immediately handed over the cash of Rs. 8694/- to thier representative.

(II.) Second Bill Dated: 07th June ‘2008 was recd. at time I had requested Barclays helpline indicating the debit interest and the late payment dues have been wrongly mentioned in the bill i.e. Rs. 1134.61 on the earlier bill which we paid after three days delay as the bill was not recd. by us. Our transaction amount on this bill was Rs. 9881.99 whereas Rs. 1134.65 have been charged as miscellaneous charges and late payment charges against the earlier bill which we have paid three days delay due to non-receipt of bill from them.

I was regularly calling on their helpline and could not resolve the problem ultimately on the second of July ‘2008 they people told me to pay Rs. 10, 610 instead of Rs. 9, 882 and assured me that this access amount of Rs. 728/- which I ‘m paying access at this time will be adjusted in my next bill. Immediately without making any single minute delay I have deposited cash at the same moment in the Nehru- Place branch of Barclays bank.

Then again their bill was recd. on 08th July ‘2008 in which transaction bill was Rs. 2918.88 and the extra charges they mentioned was Rs. 555.60/- out of that after discussing their helpline department on the duplicate bill except the miscellaneous charges I paid the entire transaction amount of Rs. 2920/- as instructed by their helpline.

Then, their August Statement Bill was recd. with a detail of 1 (One) transaction of Rs. 2784.16 Against a Telephone Bill Payment and their miscellaneous Charges was Rs. 771.45. Regularly I was approaching to their helpline regarding the miscellaneous and late payment charges which were never due to my fault but they never replied in a satisfactory manner and told me that this time you pay and later on we will see. Ultimately, when I felt tired from the working of this bank I paid Rs. 1, 955 the total outstanding balance till that date and stopped and intimated to their helpline that I will not using their card unless they finalize the matter. This was the end of the story.

Conclusion: After that also I have sent them several times the details of the transactions and amount paid but instead of doing anything they simply started calling me regularly to make the entire payment which was not due at me. Ultimately, in the month of December their representative called me up and told me to pay Rs. 210/- and the account will be settled. I agreed and paid the cash of Rs. 210/- to ther Representative on 17th December ‘2008 but I have not made any transaction after 18th of July ‘2008.

But till now, the process of harassment is still continued. Now for the past 4 months I have been regularly harassed with dire consequences for non payment. I had a lot of follow up calls from them claim it is not their fault and hence I need to pay interest for the delay. I recd. calls on weekends, holidays, innumerous SMS s etc from them. I have also been given to understand from our acquaintances that this Bank in particular has a very poor service quality and they have also faced harassment from them.

I would like your good office to guide me for the next course of action that I need to take so that citizens like me are not harassed by such banks that still don’t have a proper system and process in place and play the blame game. Till today I get at least 4-5 SMSs and 2-3 calls daily.

Looking forward to your support

With Warm Regards,
Ram Avtar Dalmia
Barclays Credit Card No.: [protected]
Mobile No.: [protected]
E-mail: [protected]@gmail.com

Barclays
    Customer satisfaction rating Customer satisfaction rating is a complex algorithm that helps our users determine how good a company is at responding and resolving complaints by granting from 1 to 5 stars for each complaint and then ultimately combining them all for an overall score.
    69%
    Barclays Phone
    +91 22 6000 7888
    Barclays Address
    View all Barclays contact information