Show menu
Close
FAQ FAQ Categories Categories Sign in Sign in
Close
ADVERTISEMENT

[Resolved]  HDFC Bank Bank / Credit Card / Car Loan — waive off the flawed charges

Dated 07th July, 2009

The Manager,
HDFC Bank Ltd.
Delhi.

Subject : Once again request to waive off the flawed charges asked in the credit card statements from past few months.

Dear Sir,

I am writing this letter to you after visiting your office at Rajouri Garden on 29th June, 2009. I am having a very bad experience with your Credit Card department as well as the Bank also. I am holding a credit card of your bank bearing credit card no. [protected] and my salary account is in the name of Neeraj Gupta and my Account No. is [protected]. I am not using your credit card anymore since 06th Jan, 2009. But you are charging the flawed charges in the name of Financial charges in each and every statement thereafter every month.

I talked to your many customer care executives and every time they have assured me that the extra charges will be waived off in my next statement and asked me to pay my actual buying amount and so I did the same but I did not get what I want from them. Even I had sent a request letter, as asked by Mr. Dixit on 13th Nov, 2008, by fax on 20th Nov, 2008 to waive off the flawed charges for Rs. 2, 133.25 regarding these charges but instead of this there was no response once again. So I decided not to use your bank credit card anymore. Once again the same letter is attached for your reference and record.

But instead of this you have charged the flawed charges in each and every statement. In 02nd May, 2009 month statement this figure was Rs.7, 334. My Last payment was Rs. 6, 936/- on 24th Dec, 2008 as per your statement dated 02nd Jan, 2009. But total due in the statement was Rs.10, 055.36.

Now a new dispute has been created by your Bank as I have my salary account with HDFC Bank and My Car Loan (Car Loan No.[protected] was also sanctioned by the same bank. My EMI for Rs. 4, 605 deducted by ECS on 07th of every month. Therefore I have to maintain EMI amount every month in my bank account. But in May my balance was 4, 384.45. From which, without any information, the credit card department had deducted Rs. 4, 384.45 as there credit card dues. And thereafter my balance was NIL. And no amount was left for my next EMI, because of which I had to deposit my car loan EMI for the month of June in the Safdarjung Enclave Branch by cash and faced lot of inconvenience. Who is responsible for this? This is very shameful act that a Bank deducted the amount without the permission of the Account Holder. How could you do this to a valued customer? Isn’t this a criminal offence?

Now I am telling you my actual buying amount and the flawed amount once again.

My actual buying for which I have not paid is as per following table.

Sr. No. Date Amount
1 02nd Jan, 2009 1, 978
2 02nd Feb, 2009 500
Total 2, 478

And you have deducted Rs. 4, 384.45 on 25th May, 2009 and Rs.11.47 on 01st July, 2009. Total amount deducted by you is Rs. 4, 395.92 from my salary account without my wish.

Now in the current statement i.e. 02nd June, 2009 credit card statement is showing Rs. 3, 171.99 is still due from my side after deducting Rs.4, 395.92 from my salary account which is absolute rubbish. Instead of this the credit card department has to refund my balance amount i.e. Rs. 1, 917.92 which it has deducted from my salary account.

I have suffered a lot since September, 2009. If it would have been corrected in the early days then this would not had been happened and my relation with your bank would not have been so worse. If this problem will not be resolved from your side as soon as possible then I have no way left except the Consumer Court.

At last I request you solve this matter once and for all and I want to keep your credit card for future use but without any dispute from our side.

Thanking you
Neeraj Gupta
[protected].




Dated 18th November, 2008

The Manager,
HDFC Bank Ltd.
Delhi.

Subject : To waive off the flawed charges asked in the credit card statements.

Dear Sir,

I am holding a credit card of your bank bearing credit card no. [protected]. My credit card limit is Rs. 50, 000/-. But it got exceeded to Rs. 55, 440.97 while doing purchasing in the month of September. Therefore you have charged overlimit fee of Rs. 500/- in September statement, which is not my fault. How can a person know for how much he has shopped for? The card must have been declined for the further payments until and unless the credit limit for purchase is exceeding.

For this extra charges of overlimit fee, I talked to your customer care person Mr. Amit Kumar on 07/09/2008 and he promised me to waive off the same.

Unfortunately when I dropped my cheque for Rs.55, 000/- vide cheque No. 481238 for the same I forgot to mention the date on the cheque and hence it was dishonored by your bank. And again you sent me a new statement for following charges:-

Finance Charges Retail 1, 777.59
Service Tax 345.31
Cess Tax 10.35
[protected]
Total 2, 133.25
=======
In this regard I talked to your customer care person Ms. Kalpana on 13/10/2008 and she also promised me to waive off the same.

And one more time in your next statement for the month of November you have charged Rs.347.00 as Finance Charges. Why you charge these financial charges in your statements?

For this matter I again talked to your customer care executive Mr. Dikshit on 13/11/2008. On that day your system was not working so he suggest me to fax a letter in this regard.

Therefore I request you to waive off all these extra charges which is amounting to Rs. 2, 980.25.

Thanking you
Neeraj Gupta
[protected].
Was this information helpful?
No (0)
Yes (0)
Aug 13, 2020
Complaint marked as Resolved 
Complaint comments  Add a CommentShareTweet

Post your Comment

    I want to submit Complaint Positive Review Neutral Comment
    code
    HDFC Bank
    Customer Care Service
    Customer satisfaction rating
    58%
    Complaints
    28014
    Pending
    0
    Resolved
    15409
    HDFC Bank Phone
    +91 22 6160 6161
    +91 22 2498 8484
    HDFC Bank Address
    Branch 542, Trade World, A Wing, Ground Floor, Senapati Bapat Marg, Lower Parel, Mumbai, Maharashtra, India - 400013
    View Full Information
    ADVERTISEMENT