[Resolved]  Honda Unicorn — Defect in Bike and Customer Service

My name Arun Kumar and I bought a HONDA Unicorn from Didar Motors Chennai (#340 (old # 654), Anna Salai, Chennai – 600006) on 18th Feb 2008. The bike was good, until I found out this defect. This Unicorn Bike in allergic to water, the moment it gets wet the engine cools down and bike turns off. When I visited some websites to figure out what has gone wrong, I got replies from forum members saying it’s a common defect in UNICORN and I need to get this fixed. Being an Engineer I accept a defect can occur in a product, and I don’t blame HONDA for this. But what followed was even more surprising. First I went to Didar motors saying I have this problem, the guy had a look at the bike, looked at spark plug and then gave it back to me saying “Now it’s fine…” Four days after this had happened, we had rain in Chennai, and the same old problem reappeared. This time after completely getting myself drenched in rainwater I somehow managed to push my bike to a nearest service center JSP Honda Vepery. An authorized service center in charge gave me this reply “Sir. I understand your problem, but I suggest you to take it to Didar, we will have problems servicing it here”. Next day I went to Didar again, this time the person in charge of that service station said to a mechanic “Same problem which we had in the Black one, look into this…” I was finally happy; some one has recognized my bike’s problem. He got the bike back in 10 mins. I got even more excited thinking they have super mechanics who can fix such problems in matter of minutes. But I had doubts in my mind so finally decided to give it for First Service on 27th March (again in Didar). This time, I asked him to retest this problem. Next day I got the bike saying “It’s all fine….” Today 31st march again we had rain in Chennai, and again the problem reappeared. Again I took my bike to Didar at 6.15PM saying I have this problem, the attitude with which the person in charge replied to me has actually got me upset. The guy replied “Get the Bike tomorrow when it is raining, we will test drive the Bike in rain and then see what can be done….” in a manner, as if I am asking him for some HELP. I literally pleaded to him, to have my mike there and have a closer look at it. HONDA Company did not gift me this bike, I bought this Bike with my hard earned money for Rs 62, 160.00 + Rs 868.00 (accessories) and I expect only things which a person normally expects out of his Bike and nothing more. For all along I was quite, but now I feel things are going above a tolerable level. Consumer’s right should be protected, and it is not only the responsibility of a Company but also (Dealers, Sub dealers) every single person associated with it. I don’t know whom I should report this to, so I send this mail to every single mail ID of persons whom I think can really help me. If you have any suggestion for me do reply back to [protected]@yahoo.com

Arun
Yes (3)
Honda Cars India customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.

i have purchased honda unicorn bike from anna nagar jsp honda on 11/5/2009.The bike has run for upto 5500 km... from the date of purchase the engine was vibrating more, i have done services for 4 times at jsp service center, thirumangalam, anna nagar, chennai, but till now my problem is not solved... i have complained so many times... pls help me out soon. waiting for your reply.
My name is SAJIR. hve bought my unicorn in 2009(oct) from PACE Motors Kasargod, kerala.Bike Registration No. KL 18 F 758. I have a problem with my Honda unicorn the bike.i am getting only 32kmph but they promised me 50kmph, this is shamely poor

SAJIR TK
Mob: [protected]
i am really unsatisfied with the service provided by dealer, unicorn is more weight, and it's tire has not useful in this vehicle.

Honda Unicorn — not satisfication servicing centre

Hi my sel[censored]dayanath behera.I bought honda unicorn on 2009 sep. at gugnani honda Bhubaneswar. the bike is good but servicing centre at berhampur, Ganjam, orissa not satisfication. They donot know how to satisfication of custemer.
i am also facing the same problem of vibrations and some weird chain noise. although having reported this problem a couple of times the issue still remains and nothing is done by the aero wheels padmavati service center

Honda Unicorn — Regarding Service

I am Nilesh Shirishkar from mumbai, I got new Honda Unicorn in last month and i went for 1st service at om sai authorised sevice center after 750km. After 1st service their was tapid noise in engine and average came to 37km/L. I went to service center for this problem they told me that this is normal but at same time one guy came for same issue that guy told same to this guy. But that guy told when i went to nasik. Their was honda service center they told that this can cause major problem later on and he came to mumbai and this guy is saying that this is normal. So i want to complaint of om sai honda service that they are giving wrong promise to cust. This is not way to treat cust. Plz rply me what you can to for this as soon as possible on mention E-Mail ID.

Honda Unicorn — high waiting

i want to book a new honda unicorn, when ever i gone at showroom of honda they every time say you wait for 3 month or 90 days etc. actully i want the bike quickly.the company will never launch high no.quantity of bike .if company want custemer satisfaction please increase the product level & create good market .............so i thought company will take a good action for this

If company could not react for my action i would like to prefer another bike
& i also suggest my frnd not to buy a honda product
I have bought a Honda Unicorn from KUN Honda, Adayar, Chennai. before 8 months. The service received from the dealer is very poor, even they do not wash the vehicles properly given for service. On complaining to the management they say that they service around 120 vehicles every day and some times they miss such things. This is OK, but they even forget to screw up the nuts and bolts. After my 4 th service I found the foot rest bolts missing and the supervisor said that the thread has been rubbed and its very usual in Honda. Very poor service from this dealer. Kun Honda has ruined my trust in Honda bikes.
I V.SATHIAMOURTHY have Booked an Honda Unicorn Bike on Jan 28, 2010 under Receipt No PR43076Booking No – B020689 advance Amount Rs. 1000/- (One Thousand Rupees) from HASAN ASSOCIATES PRIVATE LIMITED PUDUCHERY. Branch. At the time of booking i got a commitment that i will be getting delivery within 2 months. that means March ending But its already 2 months passed. I did not got any calls from the dealer till date, When i gave a call to showroom they put me on hold for 20 to 25 minutes.I spoked with Mr. manager your customer care, he told me that i will be getting delivery after 4 months from the date of Booking. That means in the months of May.
I am very upset with your sales person that why they are giving wrong commitment to the customers at the time of Booking & Service which you are provided is very Bad. I booked this bike for the purpose of my sister's marriage but till date i have not got any response from the local branch and lot of problems raised between alliance house and my house. There is no peace of mind and i can't able to survive due to this situation...
Please help me in this matter & let me know till when i will be getting Delivery of my Bike.. Thanks!!!

My phone no: [protected]
RESPECTED SIR/MAM,
SUBJECT: COMPLAINT
I BOOKED A SILVER COLOUR HONDA UNICORN BIKE BY PAYING Rs.500/- ON 09/12/2010, AND ON 23/12/2010, I CHANGED THE COLOUR TO BLACK, FROM ONE OF YOUR DEALER, ARYA BHANGY MOTOR, NEAR PERUVARAM TEMPLE, NORTH PARAVOOR, PIN 683513, KERALA. THEY AGREED TO DELIVER AFTER TWO MONTHS TIME, AND TOLD THEY WILL ALSO INFORM 15 DAYS BEFORE DELIVERY. I PAID RS.22000/- ON 09/03/2010 AS INITIAL PAYMENT AND Rs. 39, 186 BY THE FINANCING BANK. BUT TILL 15/03/2010 NOBODY CONTACTED ME, WHEN I CALLED THEM BACK THEY BEHAVED INDECENTLY, AND TOLD WILL GET THE VEHICLE ON 25/03/2010.
WHEN I DISSCUSSED ABOUT THE EXTRA FITTINGS, Mr. SABEER TOLD IT IS COMPALSARY TO BUY ALL EXTRA FITTING BUT MY REQUIRMENTS ARE NUMBER PLATES, CRASH GUARD AND LADIES HANDLE ONLY, HIS BEHAVIOUR WAS TOTALLY DISAPPOINTING.
SIR, I AM REDY TO ADMIT THE DELAY OF DELIVERING THE BIKE, WHY I AM SENDING THIS COMPLAINT IS, THE PERSON Mr. SABEER WHO IS THE BRANCH IN CHARGE TOLD "YOU CERTENLY GET THE VEHICLE BECAUSE YOU ARE PAID, BUT YOU HAVE TO BE HERE FOR PERIODIC SERVICES AT THAT TIME I WILL SHOW YOU" IT MEANS HE WILL MAKE ME TROUBLE WHEN I APPROCH ARYA BHANGI FOR SERVICE.
I BOOKED THE VEHICLE ONLY BECAUSE OF THE PASSION IN HONDA BIKE, IF THE DEALERS ARE BEHAVING LIKE THIS HOW I CAN EXPECT BETTER SERVICE FROM YOU. THEY ARE SHOWING A KIND OF MONOPOLY. LOOKING FORWARD FOR YOUR REPLAY.
YOURS SINCERELY
LIGNO PETER

I booked unicorn Honda at showroom in January, they told me that there will waiting for 3 month time but in march i got the call that they will take one month to delivered the bike.

I would like to understand the problem
If its good brand, why company spoiling their name?
There is other bike which is available in 1 one month. Is it production problem? Please clarify... don’t use public money...it will give bad remark

Honda Unicorn — Shock Absorber Problem

While Riding In Uneven Roads The Back Shock Absorber Is Not Functioning Properly
ibook the unicornbike feb end month 2010 after 112month iask honda show room tey not giving exact date show room sridihi honda nellore ap they not satisfinig the customers - ever time saying the loadis not comig frommanufacture factory
I had booked Honda unicorn on[protected]. At the time of booking I was told the delivery will be within 60 days. Now it is more than 2 months passed. When ever I call upon them the answer is we will inform you, whenever we get the delivery from factory. It is for information that I made the full payment at the time of booking( that is the procedure). There is no responsible answer from them. There are no other dealers if one wants to book Honda Unicorn through else where. I am forced to go through this dealer. When ever I talk to the salesman through whom I booked, to transfer my call to the proprietor, the answer is "she is busy talking with another customer". I fail to understand why this behavior. Am I not a customer?
Hi Mera naam Hemant Sawant Hain maine Honda Unicorn 23/11/2009 ko li thi, , per jabse li hain tabse uska Handle complaint sovled nahi kiya ja rahaan hain, , , mene uko Bhiwandi se Sai point se perches ki hain pls meri bike thik karado...

i purchased honda unicorn on last year.

now i have seviour back pain problem for your bike mono-suspension.

please take action for my request.

Honda / Unicorn motorbike ( Black ) — Delay in delivery of Unicorn Bike Black

I wish to complain about the delay in delivery of my Dealer as follows:
On 01.03.2010, With great interest and enthusiasm I have booked a above said bike for my son'birthday. My dealer while booking the product promised me to deliver within a month. After 30 days they telephoned and informed me the extention of another 15 days,I accepted for that also

Today (24/04/2010) when I enquired about my delivery of bike, again they are extending some more days. By this I could understand that the dealer is not properly indenting / coordinate with the manufacturer and due to this the business is being diverted to other competitive product's dealer.

Finally the birthday of my son has gone without my gift that is the ultimate result. Kindly look into this matter and advise your dealer to make arrange ment of early delivery

My Name : A.Jayaraman, Booking Reference ; USA 1308
Receipt No : 6070
Dealer's Name : BalajiAutomotive,#570,T.H.Road,Chennai-600021

Honda CB Unicorn — delivering a defective bike even after the payment of its total price

I took a CB unicorn on 19th aprill2010 afetr waiting for a long period of time,i didnt mind waiting because i believe in the engine quality o[censored]nicorn and its not even a week now tat i ve took it , i m getting a unbearable sound in the engine,i ve been said that there is a problem in the engine and it need to be opened ,i am extreemely dissappointed with it,it is not even a week tat i ve bought my bike and that too it took 5 long years for me to arrange or all that money and in the very first week my engine needs to be opened,
pls kindly help me out in replacing the bike as it is a major problem,I took it from hyderabad,pratul honda
Hi Nilesh,

very true. the most of the Honda service centres are worst. I have had experienced problems in Delhi and Bangalore as well. Haiku honda in 2007 during the service, left the engin oil nut loose and consequently the engien got choacked in 4 months. They need to learn from Maruti the service part.

Bhavendra
Hi Arun,

i believe every word u mentioned here. Honda dealers are th biggest pain to deal with. they always treat u as i[censored]r absolutely new in this world and have come from afghanistan or an alien.

Honda must look into this very seriously. One more problem i[censored] have noticed in Honda...u drive it at 80-90 Kmph for even 10 mins and this will get switched off...try this.

Bhavendra Jha, Bangalore

Honda Cars India
    Customer satisfaction rating Customer satisfaction rating is a complex algorithm that helps our users determine how good a company is at responding and resolving complaints by granting from 1 to 5 stars for each complaint and then ultimately combining them all for an overall score.
    29%
    Honda Cars India Phone
    +91 11 3989 8918
    Honda Cars India Address
    D-126, TTC Industrial Area, MIDC Shiravane, Nerul,Thane-Belapur Road, Navi Mumbai, Maharashtra, India - 400706
    View all Honda Cars India contact information