HTC Touch — Warranty - No repair or replacement on failure

 
58 Reviews
 Madhav Limaye, Pune
I am Madhav resident of Pune, Maharashtra. I have purchased hTc P-3300, and right from the day of purchase (March 16, 2008) it became a headache dealing with Customer Service Center and Technical Service guys. Fortunately I have a habit to note down all details like name, date & time of call, while talking to any Tele Support Persona. Special thanks to All Credit Card Phone Calls.

Following is the complete list of calls/conversation.
Date of Purchase: March 16, 2008
First time hang: with in 2-3 days of purchase.

List of calls and Verbal/e-mail communication with hTc Service Center/Technical Support

Representative: Manoj
Date & Time: 20-03-08, 13:00
Me: I reported the slowness, auto multi select mode switching and hang..
Solution Suggest: s/w problem, format it once using “Clear Storage” option in settings.
=================================================================

Representative: Manoj
Date & Time: 20-03-08, 14:30
Me: The solution in last call did not work.
Solution: Need to go to service center.
Case ID Created: 032008-66, Ph: 40100915
Contact Person: Mrs Jyoti, Pune
=================================================================

Representative: Roopam, Technical Support, Pune
Date & Time: Afternoon, March 21st or 22nd, 2008
Me: Same problems and given the Case ID.
Solution: reinstall the Windows Operating System
In this case I had been there personally.

Representative: Roopam, Technical Support, Pune
Date & Time: Afternoon, March 22nd or 23rd, 2008
Me: The problem is still persist.
Solution: Now we need to change the motherboard of the device. But we need to wait for 2-3 weeks for get the motherboard from the company.
This was conversation on phone.

Now after waiting for almost 4 weeks, waiting to get a call from Technical Support, I called up.

Representative: Receptionist
Date & Time: Afternoon, April 21st, 2008
Me: Does motherboard got available now?
Representative: Get your device to Center.

Now here I found Mr. Roopam has not updated the system/people there and I had to repeat all the things happened 3-4 weeks back.
After depositing the device at center, engineer said I will get the device tomorrow, i.e. on March 22nd, 2008.

Representative: Receptionist
Date & Time: Afternoon, April 22st, 2008
Me: Is the device ready?
Representative: It would take another 3 days.
Me: Why?
Rep: It takes time for motherboard to get available.
Me: But you said yesterday that motherboard is available and get your device. Also yesterday while giving the Job Sheet, engineer said it will be done by tomorrow.
Rep: Let me talk to engineer.
Engineer: The device is ready and under testing, you can collect it in next 1-2 hours.

Now here one can observe, there is NO co-ordination exists. Around 4 weeks back Engineer says he has log the requirement. When I called, there was no such a log.
Even on the promised date representative says it will take 3 days, engineer says, device is ready and on testing.

So after receiving the device by replacing motherboard, the problem increased dramatically high. I had to hard reset the device at least 10 to 15 times a day. There were no certain steps to make the device hang. Even in many points it hang while I had kept it on my table and was not in use for long time .

So now I again called up service centre. I could not connect to Pune center for whole that day. So I called up toll free number. Data as follows

Representative: Vikas
Date & Time: April 24, 2008, 13:45
Me: Told all the history, reinstall, replacement of mother board
Representative: Will talk to senior and will call in next 2 hrs.
==================================================

No call from Vikas so I recalled


Representative: Vikas
Date & Time: April 24, 2008, 16:52
Me: What happened?
Representative: call tomorrow 9:30 AM.
==================================================

By the time I got success to get through the call with the engineer who had replaced the mother board. After knowing the problem is still there, he talked to his senior at Delhi and said to me, we will again replace the motherboard.

To make the problem more dark, the prequency of hang and need of hard reset increased to 20-25 times a day and finally on Friday, 24th it did not show up after reboot. I put on for charging thinking, the battery would be low, whole night. But it did not show up any further.

Now looking at all the things happened, I have decided to request for device replace ment and on Saturday, 25th, I personally went to Technical Center. Here I meet Mr. Ramesh Pulli, Head Mobile Division. He told me that he does not have authority to sanction the replacement and I have to write to the company using www.hTc.com => Support => e-mail option.

According to Mr. Ramehs, I wrote e-mail on Monday 28th. I did not get any response from hTc by Tuesday 29th, so I called Mr. Ramesh and asked about it. He said team is working on it and wait for another day, hTc will directly call you. By waiting till 30th and not receiving the call, I called up again. Conversation is as follows.

==================================================
Representative: Mr. Manoj.
Date & Time: April 30, 2008, 13:40
Me: Told all the things and about the mail.
Representative: There is no buddy named Ramesh.
Me: Ramesh is manager mobile operations, Pune.
Representative: transferred the call to his TL, Mr. Gaurav.
Mr. Gaurav, TL: We will work on it. Give us 1-2 days. But I cannot give any commitment on time lines.
Me: But Ramesh said team is already working on it since two says, so why need more days and why cannot give commitment on time lines?
Gaurav: Mr. Ramesh, TL Pune is the one to be contacted for replacement. We are technical support and do not entertain these kind (replacement) of things. If you wish, talk to Mr. Vijay Biju on 020-66021442, he is Manager Customer Service, Pune. Thanks for calling hTc. Have a nice day (and the call was dropped by Gaurav)
==================================================

Now I again called Mr. Ramesh. He said he will call me back in 10-15 minute. This was 13:40 in the clock. After waiting for his call for around 2 hours, at around 15:30 hours, I called up him again.

Mr. Ramesh: I am talking to my senior. He is on tour. I will call you in the morning tomorrow. We will provide you a better solution.


Now one would get boared even while reading as well. And still I do not have any concrete solution from hTc/Technical Support/Customer Service.

Complaint comments  57 Comments     Updated: Share0Tweet0Share0

Comments

ya similar problems with my htc touch cruise, these htc guys really need to be dealt with have to do something. all of us htc sufferors have to combne and kick htc's .
HTC Touch Fake company in india so as the company which bring this cheap product to cheat india market BHARTI... no service... no consumer care center... not to buy HTC!!!
hi madhav i have read ur problem with HTC, basically i was thinking to purchse same model no thnk god, , any way soory to hear that y cnt u lodge a compliant in consumer court.
I have a HTC - Touch P3460, the problem with you all is atleast accepted by the Manufacturer's approved Service Agent, but my case is little different, here the Service Agent is putting blame back at me saying that I have drop-damamged the phone, my phone looks as good as new, with no scratches.
They wanted me to pay for the replacement of the Motherboard, which has failed.

Imran Iqbal.
I too bought this stupid phone and its doing everything except receiving calls and sms . . I gave it to service and they reinstalled the software . .
Still the same problems . . i wrote a complaint to the customer care and they said they will get back to me after consult with technical team . . 3 weeks but no reply till . . i wrote reminders 4 times . . I trown my hard earned money in to dustbin simply as bought this phone . . we indians r cant do anything to the HTC . . as we stuck in the govt systems . . is this happen in UK r US ? they ll f*** the company . .
I Have HTC Touch . i given to service station because of small complaint while charging . no they are saying to change the Mother board which wil not come under warranty . They are no able to Soldering a pin which is damaged .need to spent around 13k for motherboard. the best thing is hand set is working fine with out any complaint . only problem I’m not able to charge my battery .
Some one give any contact in Bangalore who will do chip level service
i lost my HTC touch. but there is no customer care to complaint. cn u guys please help me with the customer care because i cant find it. my wanted to lock my phone
I also have the same complaint.
My phone P3300 stopped switching on totally after one hang.
It was only 5 months old.
I took it to the service centre (200KM away)
Without even putting in the battery, they said "motherboard has to be changed".
How do they know?
HTC service is horrible.
Please do not buy HTC products in India.
You will regret it badly.
You guys are great.I wanted to invest in HTC touch but now i won't.Listening to your grievances maine toh kaan pakad liye!Thankyou.Hope all your problems get solved soon.
Thank You to Madhav Limaye,
i was about to buy HTC mobile phone, but by reading the experience of Mr. Limaye, i will never like to do so.
I have also faced a similar problem with a Brand New HTC !!!
I just got it 3 days ago and now it does not want to start at all. It also hung a couple of times that I noticed but got out of the hang automatically when I was using. On one such hand I think it shut down. Now there is nothing I can do to get this stupid phone to get to life. Is there a way I can get this fixed or since I am under 14 days, I should get a replacement ?
i have bought a HTC_P3450 this is a bledy idiotic phone i have ever bought
and my only advice to all the people is never buy HTC phones
5 months ago i have bought a HTC_P3450 the problem is that this f***ing phone at times it never recieves any calls or sms and it has no good battery backup and the biggest problem is that there is no service centre near by
This is ravi,

i bought this mobile on 22/05/2008 the day 1 i bought this mobile i am facing so many issues one day i found the servicing center and i gave it for servicing and they informed that the issue is with toch screen and they changed the touch screen...

The next day onwards...another issue started with battery back-up then i tought ok i have servicing center in my place i gave it for servicng and he informed me i need the mobile for 3 dyas becuase i have to keep it for obvservation then i said ok..

after 3 days yester day i collected my mobile and still the same it worked for 1 day and today afternoon when i was in my office it started roaring no battery then i tought ok ihave to charge it and i put for charging after 2 hours it showed that it's 100% then i tought ok and removed it from the charger and thats it gone still the same...and moreover its not even switching on now..

However tommorow i'll give the phone again in servicing center and if they fix the issue that is ok other wise i'll complaint in consumer court, and i need one help from you people that does anyone know how to apply in consumer court and i am in chennai, i don't know where is the servicing center please reply to me...

Regards,
Ravi .
Please ignore the previous comment...

This is ravi,

i bought this mobile on 22/05/2008 the day 1 i bought this mobile i am facing so many issues one day i found the servicing center and i gave it for servicing and they informed that the issue is with toch screen and they changed the touch screen...

The next day onwards...another issue started with battery back-up then i tought ok i have servicing center in my place i gave it for servicng and he informed me i need the mobile for 3 dyas becuase i have to keep it for obvservation then i said ok..

after 3 days yester day i collected my mobile and still the same it worked for 1 day and today afternoon when i was in my office it started roaring no battery then i tought ok ihave to charge it and i put for charging after 2 hours it showed that it's 100% then i tought ok and removed it from the charger and thats it gone still the same...and moreover its not even switching on now..

However tommorow i'll give the phone again in servicing center and if they fix the issue that is ok other wise i'll complaint in consumer court, and i need one help from you people that does anyone know how to apply in consumer court and i am in chennai, i don't know where is the consumer court please reply to me...

Regards,
Ravi .
After readin all dis i ve decided to go for nokia...thanx guys...
I have same problem, its have heating & screen align i bought 2 week back ... now they are not replacing... worst PDA phone & same kind of service ...
my htc will hang if i put sim card, play songs.
while playing songs if i try to use other apps it will hang(some times even in the idle).
please give me solutions.
I have Htc p3350 also faced a similar problem with a Brand New HTC !!!
I just got it 2month ago and now it's touch in screen not working. It also hung a couple of times that I noticed but got out of the hang automatically when I was using. Now there is nothing I can do to get this stupid phone to get to life.I had given to service center in mumbai . since, they told that htc hardware part still not come form delhi .my handset is still there over 15 days. I should get a replacement ? or get a police or press compliant.
Please dont buy HTC phones.!!!

I bought an HTC touch on may 06 2008, it was defected and i used it only about 20 days till today.

I have sent a court notice to them. but no response. unfortunately i am in sweden now, so cannot do anything about till december. But, I am not gonna leave them.

I have made 50+ phone calls, 15+ trips to service centers, 25+ emails. NO USE. they are the biggest cheaters. They dont have an address in india. have you noticed it? they have service partners in india. SALORA international is one among them. I will take them to court for cheating me by replacing my phone with anther defected one which is much older than mine!!!

THIS IS THE WORST CUSTOMER EXPERIENCE IN MY LIFE!!!

I am sending several emails to in_service@htc.com, but there is no response!!!

Dear friends, please suggest something to wipe away such cheaters from our country.

Regards,
Joby Joseph

Post your Comment

    I want to submit Complaint Positive Review Neutral Comment
    Your Rating (1 star is bad, 5 stars is good)
    code
    Customer satisfaction rating
    2%
    Complaints
    2202
    Pending
    0
    Resolved
    35
    location
    E-99, 1st Floor, Lajpat Nagar -II, New Delhi, Delhi, India - 110024
    HTC Touch - Warranty - No repair or replacement on failure
    www.bdomains.com