[Resolved]  Royal Goan Beach Club — False promises & refusal to refund amount

This is to bring to your notice the way some Timeshare holiday companies (ROYAL GOAN BEACH CLUB)are making fool of customers and not providing them with the facilities promised earlier.

I had gone to goa for a scientific conference with a friend. i stayed with him at THE HAATHI MAHAL RESORT owned by the ROYAL GOAN BEACH CLUB. i was impressed with the resort and thought that i could also be a member.
during their presentation i was told that they would provide me & my family a 7days and 6 nights stay every year for 25 years. if i took their platinum membership i would be given their Imperial apartments which are really worth the money.
as an ongoing offer i was told that i would also get the Membership of DAE (Dial and Exchange) holidays which would enable me to enjoy holidays anywhere in the world. i was told by royal resort manager that this membership is only for royal resort platinum members and that its cost is Rs.40, 000/-. but as a platinum member it would be included in my membership package.

beside i was also told that only royal resort had a tie up with ICE CRUISE HOLIDAYS, AUSTRALIA which would give me and my family to enjoy cruise vacations every year for 25 years and that the membership fee for this is Rs.75, 000/-. again i was told by their executive that Royal resort was the only company with which ICE Cruise has a tie up.

i was given a total package of Rs.4, 15, 000/- which included the platinum membership of royal resorts, their affiliate resorts, DAE membership and ICE CRUISE membership for 25 years. as an ongoing offer if i paid this entire amount in 90 days i would need to pay only Rs.3, 00, 000/- .
now a discount of Rs. 1, 15000/- was too good to resist and i took their membership and paid Rs.30000/- as advance and came back from goa to my home in bhopal.

when i checked the website of DAE www.daelive.com i was astonished to find that the DAE membership was absolutely FREE and that any one who is a member of any timeshare holiday package could become a free member!! and i was told and presumably charged Rs.40000/- for it.

Now i checked the ICE website www.icevacations.com.au and sent an email to them to know the details of membership. again i got a reply that the membership fee is only Aus $ 250/-( Rs. 8000/-) and not Rs. 75000/- as told to me by royal resorts!!

this is not all, when i called up to know the status of my platinum membership i was told that it did not include Imperial Apartments and that i was supposed to pay another Rs.65000/- to avail of the imperial apartments!!

i feel grossly cheated and do not wish to continue my terms with this company which has started a 25 year customer relationship with a bundle of lies!!!

even my friend with whom i stayed was shown an IMPERIAL APARTMENT at the time of becoming member and was made to stay in an ordinary apartment!! now he is being told he has to pay 65000/- extra if he wants to stay in IMPERIAL APARTMENT!

the sales executive of the company will take you to their presentation hall and "explain" the package to you. he will lure you by giving false promises like free membership of cruise and give you a very high figure. he will also tell you that this amount is valid only for today. he will then call his manager who will come and as a "Special Offer" will reduce the price to almost 50% and again tell you that this offer is valid only for today.he will take you and show the Imperial Apartment & tell you that you will get the same apartment when you go on a holiday. actually when you arrive the first time for a holiday you are given an ordinary apartment and on asking are told that you need to pay Rs.65000/- to get Imperial apartment!!!

i am not the only person being cheated by these companies they have been cheating thousands of consumers!!

a similar scam was brought to light by the sting operation carried out by ABC News in USA last year.
please check this link for the sting carried out by ABC News
http://www.thetimeshareauthority.com/2008/04/29/royal-holiday-timeshare-making-t...

it's not just the question of money but of trust on a company for the next 25 years.
i need your help in this regards.

the company executive is now denying that he ever told me this and is refusing a refund.
i feel your organisation could also bring this to the notice of general public who are constantly being fooled by such companies promising them wonderful holidays and taking them for a ride!

kindly reply to my mail and guide me how to approach this problem

Dr Pramod Sharma

This is true that the company is cheating. I also became member last year but now have asked for refund of membership. Any body who got the refund, pls share..

Rohit
kinmin.[protected]@gmail.com
Please note - Mr Chopra has requested his posting above (Jan 16th 2013) be retracted but to date this has not been amended.

However, his issues with the Company have now been settled as he contacted the customer services and the matter was settled to his family’s complete satisfaction.
“I wish to retract my statement above made on 16th Jan 2013 saying that Royal Goan Beach Club was cheating me. Having made contact with the management and customer service department of the Karma Royal Group, the matter was settled to my family’s complete satisfaction.”

Pls remove my complaint from the website.
“I wish to retract my statement above made on 16th Jan 2013 saying that Royal Goan Beach Club was cheating me. Having made contact with the management and customer service department of the Karma Royal Group, the matter was settled to my family’s complete satisfaction.”

Pls remove my complaint from the website.
@ Ashoppai & arun.rajan,

Agree, RGBC is fleecing customers. Dates are never available. They have been successful in running a big money making racket. We need to get together and fight this. I have also been cheated, taken membership, company always has some reason or the other to deny dates.

Kartik
Good day Susan,

Ref our telecon, pls be appraised your services have greatly improved since management controlled by Odyssey Premier. For, initial one year of membership, I was not getting favourable response from your office regarding availabilty and bookings of accommodation, even upto over 6-8 months notice in advance that led to suspect intentions of RGBC, hence I was prompted to post in consumer complaints forum.

For example, I had to book with great difficulties with multiple communications and telecons, abt nine(9) months in advance for a accommodation in your Royal Light House Villas of phuket property. You will appreciate no one can make planning for vacations so much in advance. However, on last occasion for Bali Jimbaran booking Odyssey premier was quite pro active and they managed to provide accommodation within two(2) months planning though they reduced stay to four(4) days instead of promised seven(7) days due to their other constraints. Still we felt, we are being looked after reasonably well. Now we see more transparency in your time share vacations operations.

Appreciate, if your esteemed management can curtail management fee to a reasonable amount in par with other vacation clubs so it does not cause unnecessary burden on members. Suggest, you should have a annual general body meeting with available members by invitation on yearly basis and minutes of the meeting be posted on the website. That will build up more confidence among members.

Promising you of our continued patronage,

Thanks & Best Regards,

Capt Shashi Kumar

Navi Mumbai

+91-[protected]/[protected]
RGBC has been fleecing customers since a long time.There are a lot of marketing tactics involved in making members.While on a holiday in goa they distribute fake scratch cards saying u have won a free holiday.Once the potential customer enters their office they try to push the membership on you inorder to get you to buy the membership and pay the "advance".your credit card details are taken before you enter their office!!! Then they keep bargaining about your membership fee which is in lakhs and offer you a "special" discount.Just to check how much your willing to spend on your membership.Finally, the poor victim who wasnt given the time to think about this falls prey and buys it.I became a member in 2010.They had told me that i had to pay maintenance charges of 10, 000/- every alternate year.And 2014 its gone to 18, 000/-.They are now saying it will keep increasing every year!!! Which was not told to us at the time of signing a contract...This is a total scam!!!the last time we went for a holiday they kept pushing us to take up the platinum membership.from the letters above it seems there are others who have been cheated too.This must come to a stop! Each day they keep making new members based on false promises and once you become a member rooms are not available without a year's notice.This should be taken to the consumer courts and all members should unite and fight against this.
Please be aware that the above person Nikita Alvares - has told us that she requested that this posting be removed from the site.

To date it has not been removed so please note that after talking to the membership services department of the Company, she has resolved her issues and received satisfactory answers to all her questions .

Now that she understands better how to use her membership she is looking forward to booking holidays in future through them.

Susan
[protected]@royalperspective.com
As i have already submitted a request for retraction of my above comment.Please look into this matter soon.Since, the problem has been resolved for now.
Hi Friends,

After talking with the Customer Service team in Karma Royal Group lastyear, my issues and misunderstandings with regards to the membership gotcleared. Now I am better informed as to how to proceed when making bookings. I no longer believe that the Company is simply running a big money makingracket, no longer feel cheated, fleeced and am once again happy with mymembership. In addition I would suggest that anyone who has an issue with KarmaRoyal Group should in the first place contact their Customer Services division, which is very helpful and accommodating.<?xml:namespace prefix = o ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:office" />

Kartik
Also would request the site admin to remove my post dated 6th September' 2013 as all issues stand addressed and misunderstandings are cleared. Have sent a request to this effect on 29/03/2014, awaiting action.

Kartik
I have not visited it yet, but still I want to review it because of the way
customer care treats me, i’m sure i’ll never be able to stay there at a
time of my choice even though they have robbed me of nearly 2 lakh Rs
for membership saying the we’ll be treated us as HOLIDAY OWNERS of this
resort. The customer care people here are trained to fool
people like us, humiliate us continuously so that we never dare to call
back to book holidays ever again and just keep paying membership
charges.

I've probably not even completed 5 years of membership and the charges have
already increased almost 3 times! at this rate i'll end up paying a
membership charge of close to a lakh within a few years!! That too when
we so called "holiday owners" at their
resort never get any booking during peak season. The rooms are
available for us "Owners" only during off-season when they go vacant and
it is scorching hot in goa. the "Owners" are expected to plan holidays
and book rooms at least 1 year in advance.
Everyone please note re the posting on 3rd June 2014.

We have emailed JOYD on this site to ask them to please to get in touch with us directly. There are a few discrepancies in their post and we wish to resolve them.

When an activated member is not getting proper service or unhappy with any aspect of their membership they only need to call us and speak with the Manager of the relevant Odyssey Department, which is the membership services division of the Royal Resorts members.

Alternatively, you can also email me for assistance ([protected]@royalperspective.com) and I will look into the matter.As a consultant for the Karma Royal Group it is my role to ensure all members are being serviced fully.

The India Odyssey Office number is +[protected] or the Toll free number is[protected].

Please be aware we are here to assist you at all times. We want you to make the most of your membership and enjoy many happy holidays with us. When you are not happy then please ensure you speak to the Manager or myself.

Susan .

I would like to withdraw my complaint against Royal Resorts, Goa as they have resolved my complaint completely to my satisfaction. I am satisfied by the professional manner in which my issues were addressed by their management and I have no further grievances against them.

I request you kindly remove my complaint against them.

Pramod Sharma
I am a victim (member)of rgbc since last twenty years.When you are in goa you are chased by these so called agents of this royal goan beach resort.This is a big fraud company and shameless blood suckers of innocent tourist.when i purchased their membership 20 years back i was told by their representatives that the maintenance charges would come down as more members would join RGBC and the burden will be less as the new members would also contribute towards maintenance but to my utter surprise the maintenance is galloping by around 20% per year to the present day 25, 000 rs per year this is besides the principle amount of rs 4 lacs. different people are quoted different prices starting from Rs 6 lacs approx. 60 thousand u.s dollars and then coming down in the name of discounts, they lure you by saying if you join today you will get a massive discount, there is no fixed membership rates, suppose if the membership is Rs 3 lacs then they will quote Rs 6 lacs and then start offering you bogus discounts till you are trapped you might be feeling happy that you have got a big discount but in reality they are laughing at your stupidity. just imagine how much you need to maintain a room for one week, definitely not Rs 25, 000/ .my brother owns an apartment in mumbai which was voted as the best maintained society three years back by the most reputate
d news paper THE TIMES OF INDIA and as of today his weekly maintenance is Rs 5000/ only and mind you they have all the luxuries like a gym, well maintained gardens and lawns, swimming pool, top security etc that too in mumbai which is way expensive as compared to goa.Now out of 20 years experience i shall explain you by simple logic how we are further cheated by RGBC .As of today let us go on the lower side and suppose the membership fee is Rs 3 lacs and the maintenance is Rs 25, 000/ if you calculate a simple interest of 12% per year which is Rs 36000 plus Rs 25000 maintenance which equals to Rs 61000now you add RCI MEMBERSHIP plus exchange fee which roughly works to around all inclusive Rs 70, 000/ per week for that much amount you might as well stay in the taj, leela zuri or any other 5 star resort, that too whenever you want to where as you will not get rooms during peak season in RGBC. The RGBC has around 350 rooms in their 5 resorts in goa and one room has got 52 weeks you just multiply by 350 rooms and you shall comr to know the amount of money they are making by bleeding us indians. my calculator cannot compute because the figure is astronimical. it is time that we come together and save othere from the clutches of these DRACULAS. JAI HIND. I have been cheated but i want to save the rest of my berthen.
I am a victim (member)of rgbc since last twenty years.When you are in goa you are chased by these so called agents of this royal goan beach resort.This is a big fraud company and shameless blood suckers of innocent tourist.when i purchased their membership 20 years back i was told by their representatives that the maintenance charges would come down as more members would join RGBC and the burden will be less as the new members would also contribute towards maintenance but to my utter surprise the maintenance is galloping by around 20% per year to the present day 25, 000 rs per year this is besides the principle amount of rs 4 lacs. Different people are quoted different prices starting from Rs 6 lacs, approx. 60 thousand u.s dollars and then coming down in the name of discounts, they lure you by saying if you join today you will get a massive discount, there is no fixed membership rates, suppose if the membership is Rs 3 lacs then they will quote Rs 6 lacs and then start offering you bogus discounts till you are trapped you might be feeling happy that you have got a big discount but in reality they are laughing at your stupidity. just imagine how much you need to maintain a room for one week, definitely not Rs 25, 000/ .my brother owns an apartment in mumbai which was voted as the best maintained society three years back by the most reputated
d news paper THE TIMES OF INDIA and as of today his weekly maintenance is Rs 5000/ only and mind you they have all the luxuries like a gym, well maintained gardens and lawns, swimming pool, top security etc that too in mumbai which is way expensive as compared to goa.Now out of 20 years experience i shall explain you by simple logic how we are further cheated by RGBC .As of today let us go on the lower side and suppose the membership fee is Rs 3 lacs and the maintenance is Rs 25, 000/ if you calculate a simple interest of 12% per year which is Rs 36000 plus Rs 25000 maintenance which equals to Rs 61000now you add RCI MEMBERSHIP plus exchange fee which roughly works to around all inclusive Rs 70, 000/ per week for that much amount you might as well stay in the taj, leela zuri or any other 5 star resort, that too whenever you want, to where as you will not get rooms during peak season in RGBC. The RGBC has around 350 rooms in their 5 resorts in goa and one room has got 52 weeks you just multiply by 350 rooms and you shall come to know the amount of money they are making by bleeding us indians. my calculator cannot compute because the figure is astronomical. it is time that we come together and save othere from the clutches of these DRACULAS. JAI HIND. I have been cheated but i want to save the rest of my berthen.
TO,
CONSUMER COMPLAINTS
I have lodged a complaint with you regarding the royal goan beach club which you have not posted.I kindly request you kindly oblige and do the needful. By posting my comments you shall be saving lots of innocent holiday makers from these cheaters, if howsoever there is some matter which is controversial kindly let me know.
You may contact me on my mail. Hoping for a quick response from you. email i d [protected]@gmail.com.

yours sincerely,
subhash julka.
I am a member(victim) of the RGBC since last 20 years. This is a big fraud company and shameless blood suckers of innocent tourists. I was pressurised to buy their membership saying that if you buy today you shall be given heavy discount. There was no cool of period or thinking time given to unsuspecting members. There is no standard or fixed rate of their membership . T he same type of membership is sold at different rates to different members, to some members they have sold it for 6 lacs to some they have sold it for 5 lacs ant to some for 3 lacs. This clearly proves the company has no business ethics and morality. When I was pressurised to buy their membership I was told the maintenance fee (M.F) was on the higher side because there were fewer members but once more members join the RGBC the M.F would come down as the burden of maintaining the resort would be shared by the new members as well, but to my utter surprise the M.F. has multiplied to the current amount of Rs 25, 000 though they boast of around 90, 000 members, if you calculate the principal membership amount plus the maintenance fee and the RCI membership and the exchange fee it comes to approximately Rs 70, 000/ per week, for less than this amount, you can stay in 5 star resorts like the TAJ, LEELA, ZURI etc that too any time of the year, unlike RGBC where, whenever you want your vacations they tell you they are fully reserved. The M.F. at club MAHINDRA is only Rs 12, 000 that too with much better facilities and many more destinations than RGBC.
Now I shall tell you how much these cheats make out of gullible holiday makers. The RGBC has around four properties in Goa each having approximately 75 rooms that is 300 rooms and one room has 52 weeks(one year), each week (membership)is sold for around Rs 3 lacs, so the income from one room is 3 lacs multiplied by 52(weeks) that is 1.56 crores per year per room and they have approximately 300 rooms so 300 multiplied by 1.56 crores that is 468 crores per year, and the shocking thing is that there is no expenditure because they put this burden too on the members in the guise of (M.F.) which is Rs 25, 000 per week per room that is RS 13 lacs to maintain a room for one year only, this comes to around 39 crores per year from 3oo rooms .
It is high time that we all members collectively stand together and take legal action through our honourable courts as well use social sites and the media to stop this blatant violation of our constitution by these unscrupulous foreigner who is a shameless cheater.
sir, through your (https://www.consumercomplaints.in) I would like to see that justice is restored to the aggrieved members by this company which uses different names like PRESTIGE HOLIDAYS, RGBC, ODYSSEY INDIA and so on and I am seriously contemplating of taking legal action against them.
yours sincerely,
subhash julka.
is all this fake story or its happening this way only. their offer is luring and when there is greed then there are some hidden issues also. its like leaving a goat for tiger.

I am confused whether to go there or not.
Timeshares have always been a bad buy. But for those who really feel they need one I make one recommendation: Never buy from the developer. Always wait for timeshares to appear on the secondary market, usually at half-price. People like you get excited at the new developments and jump right in, only to become disillusioned later and dump the property onto the secondary market, at a loss, for a patient, informed buyer to take advantage of. I have recently read articles about this scams at http://www.timesharescam.com.

Royal Resorts
    Customer satisfaction rating Customer satisfaction rating is a complex algorithm that helps our users determine how good a company is at responding and resolving complaints by granting from 1 to 5 stars for each complaint and then ultimately combining them all for an overall score.
    65%
    Royal Resorts Phone
    +91 83 2672 5300
    Royal Resorts Address
    Haathi Mahal, Cavelossim, Mobor, Salcette, Goa Velha, Goa, India - 403731
    View all Royal Resorts contact information