Show menu
Close
FAQ FAQ Sign in Sign in
Close
ADVERTISEMENT

[Resolved]  Standard Chartered Bank — most urgent * regarding fraudulent transaction of inr 2,42,112.21 on my credit card no - xx6793 complaint no.[protected]

This is to inform you that a fraudulent transaction for an amount of INR 2, 42, 112.21 on my Credit Card No - xxxxxxx6793 on 04/11/2019 at PSP*dmarket.com Gibraltar GI. I would like to inform you that this is an unauthorized transaction and was not done by me by any means.

I have called your Customer Care No. and raised dispute Complaint No.[protected] with yourselves.

Below is the sequence of events as to what exactly happened.

When I woke up in the morning of 05/11/2019 Tuesday at around 07:00 AM in my house, I saw a few fraudulent transaction SMS on my mobile from the bank which were done in USD total amounting to INR 2, 19, 235.56 on my Standard Chartered Manhattan Credit Card No. [protected].
I immediately called Standard Chartered Customer Care no:[protected] and informed them of the fraudulent transactions done, however they told me that since it takes around 48 hours for the Merchant to claim the amount, you need to call the Bank after 48 hours. I immediately checked Standard Chartered Internet Banking and Mobile Banking app but the same was not reflecting any transaction and messages were coming that the server is temporarily down, please try after some time.
I went to the Bank personally and submitted the dispute form for above amount. I also sent the dispute form to the registered mail id with the bank card.[protected]@sc.com, customer.[protected]@sc.com, head.[protected]@sc.com and nodal.[protected]@sc.com.
Next day on 06/11/2019 after returning from my office, when I checked actual amount debited was INR 2, 42, 112.21 on my Standard Chartered Manhattan Credit Card No. [protected]. So this time I called Standard Chartered Customer Care no:[protected] and got Complain no.[protected] from them. Today on 07/11/2019, I have again re forwarded Standard Chartered Bank Dispute Form for amount of INR 2, 42, 112.21 to the registered mail id with the bank card.[protected]@sc.com, customer.[protected]@sc.com, head.[protected]@sc.com and nodal.[protected]@sc.com.

Below is the List of SMS i received in the morning. These are all in USD

VM-FROMSC

11-5 Tuesday 04:41

MSE-234108 is your one time password (OTP) for transaction o[censored]SD 195.81 at PSP*dmarket.com on your Credit Card ending 6793.Valid till 04:48 AM IST - StanChart.

Favorites

StanChart: Today a transaction of INR219235.56 was charged to your card 6793 at PSP*dmarket.. SMS 1 if you made the transaction; SMS 2 if you did not to [protected].

Favorites Delete

Dear Client, we have tried calling you. Your Standard Chartered card ending (6793) has been temporarily blocked due to security reasons. Please call 66014444/39404444 for assistance.

CAY-303483 is your one time password (OTP) for transaction o[censored]SD 3, 088.24 at PSP*dmarket.com on your Credit Card ending 6793.Valid till 04:37 AM IST - StanChart.

Favorites Delete

QDP-600276 is your one time password (OTP) for transaction o[censored]SD 3, 088.24 at PSP*dmarket.com on your Credit Card ending 6793.Valid till 04:40 AM IST - StanChart.

StanChart: We appreciate an urgent response to verify your transaction. SMS 1 if you made the transaction; SMS 2 if you did not to [protected].

Favorites Delete

StanChart: For your account security, please respond urgently to verify your transaction. SMS 1 if you made the transaction; SMS 2 if you did not to [protected].

Thank you for using StanChart Card No XX6793 on 05/11/19 for USD 1.16. Call [protected] if you have not done this transaction.

Favorites Delete

Thank you for using StanChart Card No XX6793 on 05/11/19 for USD 1.95. Call [protected] if you have not done this transaction.

Thank you for using StanChart Card No XX6793 on 05/11/19 for USD 3088.24. Call [protected] if you have not done this transaction.

Thank you for using StanChart Card No XX6793 on 05/11/19 for USD 1.94. Call [protected] if you have not done this transaction.

Thank you for using StanChart Card No XX6793 on 05/11/19 for USD 195.81. Call [protected] if you have not done this transaction.

Now I would like to express following discrepancies in the same-

1. OTP received by me were Alphanumeric in nature which is not possible as we always receive the numeric characters only.
2. All the OTP's involve USD amount which are amounting to $1.95, 1.94, 1.16, etc which is a clear indication that firstly hacker tried to do transaction using small amounts so that they will come to know whether the card is working or not. Once the hacker knew that the transactions are happening on the card, he performed larger transactions.
3. The OTP's received were for more than around 5-6 transactions but only two amount totalling upto INR 2, 42, 112.21 are only appearing in the statement.
4. The hacker not only fully utilised the full credit limit but also used the buffer limit available with the card.
5. The merchant named is PSP*dmarket.com Gibraltar GI which is domiciled outside of India.

I would further like to inform you that this card was in my possession at the time fraudulent transaction happened and was not done by me.

Therefore in view of the same, I request you to please resolve the same as soon as possible.
ADVERTISEMENT
Complaint marked as Resolved May 1, 2020
It was solved by bank on the basis of facts presented by me.

Complaint Status


[Jan 03, 2020] Standard Chartered Bank customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.
Updated by Kshitij Jha Jan 11, 2020
The issue has still not been resolved. Please look into the matter.
Updated by Kshitij Jha Apr 01, 2020
Please solve the case and abide by RBI Circular. Their are so many cases happened from your bank.
Complaint comments  6 Comments     Updated: ShareTweet

Comments

Any update on this case ? similar fraud happened recently...
Dr.Satyaranjan Patra's reply, Mar 7, 2020
Any updates brother?
Any updates? Similar fraud happened with me
Nothing positive yet. Looking forward to the forum's support to push this case.
Dr.Satyaranjan Patra's reply, Mar 15, 2020
Brother have you any contact no?
Please contact me [protected]
ADVERTISEMENT
Please contact me 9302seven seven5772
My name is Satya Ranjan Patra, I was holding standard chartered credit card. On the night of 14 jan 2020, I was woke up to drink water and checked my phone, I got shocked when I saw a series of messages regarding online transaction from my credit card. Then I immediately inform bank regarding this fraud transaction through number they provided in their message “ Call [protected] if you have not done this transaction”.

On the same day I reported this incident to cyber crime Bhopal and raise a dispute in bank.

After taking all necessary action I am waiting for a bank’s reply and after one month bank replied “Transaction was done on the secured website and OTP is sent to registered mobile number”.

I just want to put some facts to you please reply me with concrete answers:-
1. The card was with me in my possession at all times during fraudulent transactions. I was not using the card for last 6 months till date of fraudulent transaction happened. It means NIL transactions on my card.
2. I did not clicked on any spam or phishing link as i am totally aware that i do not need to disclose my card details with any third party.
3. As per my trail mail, you will find that I have got only one OTP sms early in the morning as per trail mail, when I was sleeping which also means I did not shared it with anyone but two transactions were reported on statement, why? and please tell me OTP is used for smaller amount or for bigger amount with evidence.
4. When I woke up in the night, I observed following sms also to which i immediately responded. StanChart: For your account security, please respond urgently to verify your transaction. SMS 1 if you made the transaction; SMS 2 if you did not to [protected]. I immediately sent 2 to [protected] which you can check from your records that you received sms from my registered mobile number. My number is postpaid and same is appearing on my mobile bill also. Now it was Banks system fault that it should had stopped the transaction immediately and should not had allowed merchant to claim these transactions.why the same happened as it is your Bank system Flaw?
5. I further request you to please provide me the IP address of the system from where the secured transaction( as per your saying) happened, you can check the IP location of the hacker by the same. I was in Bhopal with my family and i have the eye witness to the same. Same can be confirmed with my tower location of my mobile. I request you to prove that it was definitely done by me with concrete evidence.
6.Further to that, I request you to please check the shipping and billing address with the merchant to prove my involvement whether my name is appearing or not and it was me who have only availed the services from the merchant.
7. The transactions were done in USD but initially i was only informed of the below sms to which i responded by sending 2 to [protected]. You can check your records. If i responded with 2, why did not the bank immediately stopped this transaction and allowed merchant to claim it? Again, your bank system flaw.
9. Most importantly, i called your bank immediately same day same time at 4:05 AM regarding these fraudulent transactions and informed them regarding these frauds but your bank said, let us wait for 48 hrs and let it allow to be claimed by merchant and then you can raise the dispute. I was assured that i will be helped on every possible way but now bank is saying that i carried these transactions. My simple question to you all is that if I had informed on the same day and at same time, why the bank does not immediately stops the payment when the customer immediately says that these were not done by the customer, please explain?
10. I as a vigilant and awared customer have done my duty by immediately informing the bank regarding these unauthorised transactions immediately same day and at same time which comes under zero liablity policy of RBI.
11 The merchant name is PSP *dmarket Gibralter GI which is domiciled outside India and is not known to me by any means. I also don’t know what kind of goods or services they provide?
Now the Onus is on the Bank to prove that it was indeed done by customer only as per RBI Circular No . RBI/2017-18/15 DBR.No.Leg.BC.78/09.07.005/2017-18 dated July 6th, 2017 and in absence of any detailed investigation report, they cannot prove the same.
I also understand that as an honest customer, I have given all my facts and figures to the bank which clearly indicates that I am innocent and hacking happened with the Bank. I would also like to clearly mention that till my lifetime, I will not pay a single penny to the Bank as I did not used the card for these fraudulent transactions.

Post your Comment

    I want to submit Complaint Positive Review Neutral Comment
    code
    Standard Chartered Bank
    Customer Care Service
    Customer satisfaction rating
    57%
    Complaints
    1276
    Pending
    0
    Resolved
    701
    Standard Chartered Bank Phone
    +91 11 6601 4444
    +91 11 3940 4444
    Standard Chartered Bank Address
    19, Rajaji Salai, Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India - 600001
    View Full Information
    ADVERTISEMENT