The Hindu Complaints & Reviews

Updated: Sep 30, 2025
Complaints 801

File a complaint to The Hindu

Having problems with The Hindu?

File a complaint and get it resolved by The Hindu customer care. It’s quick, effective and absolutely free!

The Hindu reviews & complaints page 23

sathya karthik
Aug 22, 2017

Address: Rangareddy, Andhra Pradesh, 500086

Respected sir/mam,
We have received information about this apj abdul kalam welfare society - all india mathematics bright student award test thro' school.

So my daughter participated on july 2nd 2017 in hyderabad, and announced as winner (80% mark).

But we haven't received the scholarship, they told to send account details which was sent to them.

After that when i reached thro' the contact number provided by the website - their response is not good, i sent messages and mails to them - no response for that.

Looks like many kids are cheated by this welfare organization.. Each kid who participated for the exam paid 200/- for the exam. I strongly object this as it's affecting kids and when the kids where is the scholarship money which they promised, i am not able to say answer for them..

It's too young to cheat them. Pls do the needful, at least we have to create awareness, so that others will not get cheated.
The Hindu customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.
Despite repeat requests to the newspaper agent, does not deliver hindu newspaper at home. I have been continuoisly following up for a week. He gives random excuses. This could be a reason why the sale of hindu doesnot pick up in these areas.

Neethu Nair
Anurag
Exchange road
Chemmad
Tirurangadi p.o
Malappuram district

drdamu
    from Malappuram, Kerala
    Aug 20, 2017

Address: 679321

Dr damodaran
    Aripra kalam
    Aripra post
    Angadippuram 679321
    Kerala

Our family is subscribing “the hindu” news paper for more than 75 years. Now for the past 3 weeks we don’t get the news paper at home. I have been getting in touch with your local agents mr ummer at tirurkad and mr najimuddin mankada) and simultaneously with your ciriculation managers mr balamurali (Kochi) and mr deepu (Calicut) for a solution. There seems to be some communication gap and ego problem between the local agents and your officers regarding billing of the extra copies. I wonder why should the subscriber suffer for that. Kindly do the needfull to necessray action to reinstate the news paper distribution.
    Yours truly
    Dr damodaran
    i have already wrote to u about late delivery o[censored]r paper.till now he is delivering only after 7am.i thought u will take action, but it does not seems to be.hope u will take action immediastely.
    urs sincerely
    T, S.SRIDHARAN
    6, Narayanan street(first floor)
    Mahalingapuram,
    Chennai-34

Surendar S
      Aug 18, 2017

We subscribed for The Hindu newspaper by making an online payment on 26th July, 2017. Till date we did not receive the paper. We made several phone calls to their customer care centre but all our efforts went in vain and we are totally dissatisfied with their response. The details of payment is shared below for your kind reference.

Subscriber ID : R[protected]
      Hindu Reference ID : T20170726ESUB0135
      Amount : Rs.899.00
      Bank Reference ID : [protected]
      Date of Transaction : Wed Jul 26 17:55:32 IST 2017

We will be very much thankful to you if you help us in getting the newspaper at the earliest.
      Inspite of my complaint that ur paper is delivered only at 7 or after 7am.
      i cannot go on complaining .
      hope u will take necessary action immediately with vendor Mr.Palani.
      urs sincrely
      T.S.SRIDHARAN
      6, Naryanan street(firstfloor)
      Mahalingapuram
      Chennai-34

Kyshilpa
        from Jamshedpur, Jharkhand
        Aug 18, 2017

I have subscribed the hindu for one year on 10th august. My transaction was successful and at that time i was able to see the epaper. But when i logged in again it is showing me my previous status that is 'renew subscription'. I have called customer care they told me to mail them. I sent mail with necessary transaction details but till now there is no response from their side. Now they are not even picking up the call.
        Try to resolve this issue asap.
        Sep 20, 2017

tirupathisridharan
          Aug 13, 2017

Address: 600034

I have been complaining about late delivery of the hindu and toi. I was sending complaints for so long they are not able to solve. Sio i am complaing to u. Delivery boy puts paper only at or after 7am. Vendor mr. Palani is also not bothered. So i request u to take action immediately so that i get news paper at 5.30 or 6am.in g. Floor one delivery boy puts at 5.50am?
          Why not this delivery boy? I hope u will take it seriously to deliver at 5.30 or 6am without fail vendor they reach spot at 4.30 am but delivery boys skleeps goes only at 6 or 6, 30am to collect paper.
          Urs sincerely
          T. S. Sridharan
          6, narayanan street (First floor)
          Mahalingapuram
          Chennai-34

mdshahid2696
            Aug 10, 2017

Address: 600040

I am a student and i had subscribed hindu newspaper on august 2016. For 3 months paper came after that the agent didn't suppied paper and i complained to hindu customer care. They said they will look on matter but there was no result and no paper after that. After 8 months shifting my home anna nagar i applied for address change on august 2, 2017 but i never got paper till totay august 10, 2017. I am unhappy with way of response to complaints and the way hindu newspaper agents treating the customers.
            The hindhu news paper did not received iam paying money throgh online
            date of transaction 03/08/2017.
            but the news paper did not come so that the purpose please refund my money
            thanq

Nirapra
              Aug 10, 2017

Website: www.thehindu.com/news/cities/Thiruvananthapuram/nirapara-brand-of-powdered-spices-banned/article7618

This complaint is with regard to the news that was published on your website on September 05 2015 regarding the ban of Nirapara Food products. This particular ban was revoked by High Court on October 14th, 2015, in the absence of any finding on the unsafe nature of the product. The same news was published on your online newspaper portal as well. But in spite of the ban revocation by the High Court and though the news was published at a later date, the negative news is appearing on the first page of Google results. This is affecting the reputation of the brand severely. This particular brand has several loyal customers and is trusted by the people but the negative news about the product online will only create more panic.
              While researching on reputation management online, we came across an article which said that while uploading a particular news certain tags are used and the same tags are used when there is any update or correction regarding that particular news. Would you kindly check if the same tags were used while uploading this news articles? We also hope you would be kind enough to co operate with us and help us remove the negative news result from Hindu appearing on Google.
              Your support on this matter would be highly appreciated.

krishnarajsingh9211
                from Ghatampur, Uttar Pradesh
                Aug 9, 2017

not receiving the subscribe "the hindu young world" newspaper.

Address: Varanasi, Uttar Pradesh, 232101

I've subscribed the hindu young world newspaper online for annual purpose with subscriber id: [protected] on 28th of july, 2017 but i haven't received the newspaper even after two fridays have gone by. I don't know which newspaper vendor i need to talk as there are several. I'm very much looking forward for the newspaper in this upcoming friday. Expecting a quick response. Regards....
                Barley Glucose
                Aug 2, 2017

Address: 560043

My name is babu lukose, i was using my debit card no.[protected]. I paid 0nline rs.999/= to the hindu news paper as yearly subscription on june 30, 2017. This amount has been debited to my sb account no.[protected] on june 30, 2017. But the hindu newspaper did not receive the subscription amount.
                In my sb passbook entry debited is shown as othpg[protected] citrus pay the hindu.
                Please do the needful, and credit rs.999/= to my sb account & oblige.
                My mobile no. [protected].

Ajay Sridharan
                  Jul 31, 2017

Address: Chennai, Tamil Nadu, 600042

I am a resident of tansi nagar 1st street, velachery, chennai. We have a school at the end of the road, kids walk through the street to reach the school. There is no garbage dumping bin for this street which has 100s of families residing.

Kids had to stamp on the junk (House hold waste, construction debris, tree waste etc) thrown on the road to reach the school. If there is even a bit of rain, the scenario goes worse, garbage floating in to the nearby appartments/houses.

I would request chennai corporation to take the required action to place a garbage bin in the right location for the residents to dispose their daily waste. Also, please do instruct the corporation clearance employees to clear the accumlation on a daily basis. Please do not expect the residents to junk their garbage waste in lic colony main road bin or taramani road bin, since, it is already overflowing.

The current situation is posing a serious health hazard to the kids and senior citizens residing in the area and kids commuting to the school.

Thanks in advance for the immediate action.

Suburaj M
                    from Naduvattam, Tamil Nadu
                    Jul 30, 2017

I am subscriber of annual now i shifted my house to the following address 1846rkvilla20thmainroadannanagarwestchennai40pleaseserviceprovidertodelivertheda...

We shifted our location to anna nagar. Once we subscribed the hindu newspaper annually now we want the same pack for the new address location plz... For contact:[protected] and.
                    Our new address location: no.1846, 20th main road, rk villa, anna nagar west, chennai-40...
                    Please do help us in finding the solution... If not can you forward us..

M Sridhar Iyer
                      Jul 27, 2017

Address: 600078

I have enrolled for annual subscription but i dont receive my paper for 2-3 days a week.

1. Original commitment given to me was to deliver by 6:30, but i get only around 8 am - by when i already left to office.
                      2. I tried many times escalating to loca agent
                      3. No improvement or action taken
                      4. It became worse that no papers delivered for 2-3 days for continuos month now.

I am frustrated and would like to stop paper. Request to process my annual subscription refund immediately. If this is not right contact or forum, route me to right person/forum for escalation.

Sridhar.
                      Jul 27, 2017
                      Updated by M Sridhar Iyer
                      Got a response as below. I dont have a clue who kasturi & Sons ltd. are ? Will "The Hindu" take responsibility as i paid the fee only with trust on "The Hindu" and not others pls.

"Your complaint has been forwarded to Kasturi & Sons Ltd. customer service"
                      Got a response as below. I dont have a clue who kasturi & Sons ltd. are ? Will "The Hindu" take responsibility as i paid the fee only with trust on "The Hindu" and not others pls.

"Your complaint has been forwarded to Kasturi & Sons Ltd. customer service"

gluco
                        Jul 23, 2017

Address: 500015

Ref: hindu id w20170508esub0072

With reference to the above, i was alloted this reference number based on the onlne payment of
                        Rs 899/- on 8th may 2017.
                        As is seen from my address i stay at venkatapuram,. Alwal
                        It appears from my paper boy as well as the paper distributor, my paper is being given to the
                        Bowenpally area, it is requested that this be corrected immediately as it has become my (Almost) daily routine to call[protected]. The person on this number listens to me patiently and allots me a complaint number.. The latest being a041941.
                        It is requested that some coordination is organised from your end is carried out and the matter is
                        Resolved between you, your office, your distributor and the paper boy.
                        It will certainly look deplorable that a reputed paper (I have been reading for the last 45 years) cant resolve a matter of distribution.
                        A feed back stating that the matter is resolved may kindly be sent to me (Apart from the machine
                        Generated impersonal email)
                        My subscription ID no. [protected].Subscriber ID : [protected]
                        Hindu Reference ID : W20170626ESUB0012
                        Amount paid is [ INR ] : 899.the delivery of The Hindu daily has not been commenced w.e.f., 16.07.2017.The Agent also not approached me to inform about my subscription and date of commencement of delivery of the News Paper.

pgvr
                          Jul 15, 2017

Address: 600073

This is very poor service... Till now paper subscription of hindu (English) edition not resumed.. Due to change of address..
                          More than one month.. I have reported in the first mail after ten days of new house shifting..
                          Request reference number is a044584.. Very very poor..
                          The first official information on june23..2017.. Till now its not resolved
                          Today's date[protected]

A.C. Sembium
                            Jul 14, 2017

Address: 600010

Sir i am subsriber of tamil hindu paper since long period. My present address is as below
                            S. Kamalakannan,
                            Q 14 inspector quarters
                            Near kilpauk police station
                            Kilpauk, chennai
                            Cell no [protected]
                            Please provide service of dailly paper at the above address. So far, i am not getting the papers for the past 45 days (01.06.2017) since i have paid annual subscription.

P GIRIDHARAN
                              Jul 11, 2017

Delivery address

Niveditha nived,
                              Second floor, flat 202, saideep honeydew apartments,,
                              First cross, fourth main,
                              S g layout, ulsoor,
                              Ayyappan temple,
                              Bangalore,
                              Bangalorekarnataka-560008.

Phone : [protected]
                              Email id : [protected]@gmail.com
                              Billing address

Niveditha nived,
                              Second floor, flat 202, saideep honeydew apartments,,
                              First cross, fourth main,
                              S g layout, ulsoor,
                              Ayyappan temple,
                              Bangalore,
                              Bangalorekarnataka-560008.

Payment information

Subscriber id : s[protected]
                              Hindu reference id : w20170701book0023
                              Amount [ inr ] : 383
                              Citrus bank reference id : ol[protected]
                              Date of transaction : sat jul 01 19:54:02 ist 2017
                              Books details

Publication : the hindu speaks on scientific facts - volumes i, ii & iii - bundle offer
                              Product : the hindu speaks on scientific facts - volumes i, ii & iii - bundle offer
                              Region : inland
                              I have ordered scientific volume 1&2 each two copies.But got only one copy of each delivered.

Prabhavathi Velu
                                Jul 4, 2017

Change of delivery address for my hindu newspaper

I, V. Prabhavathi, residing previously at 163/1 Kanchi, PS Kumarasamy Raja Road, Raja Annamalai Puram, Chennai, Tamil Nadu 600028, contact no : [protected], paid one year subscription and the paper is delivering to me in the above said address, now i am here with requesting you to kindly send my paper to the below mentioned address as i was changed to this below mentioned address recently :
                                V. Prabhavthi,
                                AI Block,
                                No.137,...
                                Bashyam Ta
                                Jul 4, 2017

Address: 600002

Registered mobile No[protected]. Seshadri K M no 29 Sarojini street Arakkonam 631001. Paid Rs.1200 on 23rd June. Hindu English daily not received from day one till today. Made telephonic complaint with your customer care. Escalated by me to Mr Janajiraman circulator.In fact when I had contacted Mr Janajiraman on 1st July itself said he is not incharge of Arakkonam. On the contrary yesterday he said he will look into the complaint. Shocked & surprised. Had he taken my complaint on 1st July itself the issue might have been resolved by this time. Very simple thing money paid for one year paper not received The Hindu English.
                                The Agent Ramalakshmi at Arrakkonam says will not deliver the newspaper unless extra money paid . Further states they are not bothered even if it is reported to you.
                                These information are furnished to your customer care and as well as to Mr.Janakiraman.
                                Request you to deliver the news paper from tomorrow without fail for the one year subscription paid by me on 23rd June.
                                Receipt no CCHEN[protected]. Account no [protected]
                                Seshadri
                                Mobile[protected]

Murugeshp
                                  Jul 4, 2017

I have subscribed for one year for the hindu newspaper. I have also made payment in advance through cheque. As per subscription they should have to deliver newspaper from 01 july 17. But as on date not received the newspaper on a single day. Also approach vendor but in vain. Name ravi duty, address is murugesh palya air force camp bangalore-560017. Newspaper vendor contact no is.[protected].

Chandar D
                                    from Karaikkudi, Tamil Nadu
                                    Jul 4, 2017

Address: 600042

As I have shifted my residence, I request you to deliver the subscribed news paper to the following address.

Mr. Thirumalai
                                    Poomalai santosh perals
                                    No.10, P4 F2, 6th street, Vaico salai
                                    Jayashankar nagar palavakkam
                                    Chennai 600041.
                                    Ph. [protected], [protected] [protected]

Subscriber ID : [protected]
                                    Hindu Reference ID : W20161122ESUB0121
                                    Amount [ INR ] : 999
                                    I had purchased the Hindu speaks on scientific facts 3 volumes, on 26 June how much day can I get books
                                    I HAVE ORDERED THE BOOK ON 29/06/2017. I AM YET TO RECEIVE THE BOOKS

PAYMENT INFORMATION
                                    Subscriber ID : S[protected]
                                    Hindu Reference ID : W20170629BOOK0004
                                    Amount [ INR ] : 383
                                    Citrus Reference ID : OL[protected]
                                    Date of Transaction : Thu Jun 29 07:22:20 IST 2017
                                    wHEN WILL I GET IT