The Hindu Complaints & Reviews

Updated: Sep 30, 2025
Complaints 801

File a complaint to The Hindu

Having problems with The Hindu?

File a complaint and get it resolved by The Hindu customer care. It’s quick, effective and absolutely free!

The Hindu reviews & complaints page 34

saswa25
Dec 3, 2015

Address: Bangalore, Karnataka, 560100

Hi There,

I have subscribed for a year by paying 499- and I supposed to get the copies from Dec-1-2015. I have not received it yet.

When called to[protected] on 1st Dec and i got a call back and they told it will be resolved by today and not yet received the copies.

THLP# 100417
and phone no is [protected]
Dec 03, 2015
Updated by saswa25
This is for The HINDU subscription.
so did you get to receive it now? reply
Hi, I Started receiving from Dec 20 the 2015.. Please note this date to continue till 20th dec 2016.
very bad response form Hinu group itself.. in between the paper is missing for some days even after started lately on 20 dec.

nilofar rehman
    Dec 3, 2015

Frontline magazine not delivered after subscription

Address: New Delhi, Delhi, 110006

I subscribed frontline magazine on october 30 2015 through online mode using my debit card for door delivery, i paid INR.550 for half yearly subscription, i got a confirmation e-mail which told me that my subscription would be started on 27 of november 2015, but so far the magazine hasn't been delivered to me, i contacted a number of time to the hindu customer care but to no avail, my subscriber ID is [protected], it would be better to refund...
    op84
    Dec 3, 2015

Address: Chennai, Tamil Nadu, 400701

I didn't receive the newspaper till now (delivery was to start from December 1st, 2015) and was contacted by your office. They have asked me to contact a local agent and ask them to deliver 'The Hindu' and that I can pay him by virtue of coupons that'll be mailed to me. If I had to contact a local agent for subscribing to Hindu, I would have done that in the first place and may not have opted for online payment. If I have paid for a subscription which promised me door delivery, I expect the team to honour that agreement. Please help in getting the newspaper at the earliest. The details are given below and I don't wish to contact any local agent to sort this out. Being an ardent support of a good newspaper, I was eagerly waiting to read my first copy of Hindu in Mumbai. But I'm a bit disappointed now. DELIVERY ADDRESS (Location is Ghansoli, Navi Mumbai, pin code 400701) PAYMENT INFORMATION Subscriber ID : [protected] Hindu Reference ID : W20151126ESUB0215 Amount [ INR ] : 2262 Citrus Bank Reference ID : [protected] Date of Transaction : Thu Nov 26 21:08:39 IST 2015
    Dec 8, 2022
    The Hindu customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.

vipinkavya
      Nov 30, 2015

Address: Mumbai City, Maharashtra, 400709

Hi, I had subscribed to the mumbai edition of the Hindu.but have not received any paper in last 3 days. My subscription id is [protected]. My contact number is [protected]. The hindu is doing such a great lauch advertisement but they had failed to deliver their first edition instead. Hoing that donot get cheated.
      Dec 14, 2015
      started getting the paper although i have to go vendor and collect daily. started getting the paper although i have to go vendor and collect daily. started getting the paper although i have to go vendor and collect daily.

Raman Rajagopalan
        Nov 24, 2015

Address: 600033

Sir, I have been a reader of THE HINDU since the last 5 years getting my copy through the local news paper Vendor (Opp Srinivasa Theatre, West Mambalam, Chennai) After coming to know about the Independence day offer, I paid Rs. 1071/- as subscription online for 1 year on 1st September 2015. Payment made date is 16 Aug 2015 by Credit card [protected] For the first month, I received a newspaper on time without any issue. from October 2015, around 6 days paper not delivered. Lodged a complaint with Customer care who informed me that they will change the agent. I kept quiet. Again for this month, I have not received around 9 days paper..When I checked with Customer care, they asked me to contact Area Sales Manager who asked me to contact the Saidapet area person. However, till date I have not received the subscribed newspaper. Whenever I raise a call to customer care, I get the message that sorry for the inconvenience. But till today the problem has not been solved. Could you please deduct the amount the papers delivered and return my subscription amount back? If not possible, send some good tamil magazine in lieu of the balance amount. I am sorry to say that I am totally disappointed from your way of service, which I never expected being reputed concern like Hindu R.Raman [protected]
        Feb 10, 2018
        Delivery agent replaced.
        Hindu company Area Sales Manager spoke to me and sorted out above issue. Thank you

Gyanendra18
          Nov 24, 2015

Address: Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, 500059

Dear sir, My name is Gyanendra Kumar, my address is plot no 47, flat no 305, Srinivasa Apts, laxminagar colony, saidabad Hyderabad. On 16th Nov, one Hindu news paper came at my door and told me that if I will give cheque of 699 rs. Then he will deliver me news paper for a year. I given him the cheque, he told me that he will start giving news paper from 16 Nov onwards. But he is not giving paper at all... I called their customer care, their area manager, but there is no response, now they stopped receiving my call.now I want my money back, please help me in this regard. Please find required detail below. Order no: 562528 Mr. Harish(area manager Hindu):[protected] Customer care the Hindu :[protected] Srinivas(who collected cheque from me) : [protected] Regards, Gyanendra Kumar Mobile: [protected]
          Refer Service request No. SR 40144, and my mails dated[protected],[protected] &[protected] and my issue, so the I couls receive my THE HINDU TAMIL THISAI print edition regularly.
          VELMURUGAN V

ephrem
            from Naduvattam, Tamil Nadu
            Nov 20, 2015

Address: Dakshina Kannada, Karnataka, 575008

I have been a reader of THE HINDU since the last 9 years getting my copy through the Vendor "Renuka Raj News Agency, Mangalore. (Mobile [protected])

After coming to know about the Dussehra offer, I paid Rs. 1354/- as subscription online for 1 year on 18th October. I was supposed to receive the subscribed copy. The subscription ID given was: [protected]

However, till date I have not received the subscribed newspaper. I have been trying to contact the customer contact number[protected]. After couple of seconds, phone disconnects (miss call facility)

Only on Nov 1st, I received a call from the Cust Care stating that I would be receiving the copy from Nov 2nd, but have not received it till date.

However, all my other calls have not been responded to. I am still paying for my daily copy from the same vendor - who says he has not received any list from you which includes my name.

Did not expect this service from THE HINDU.

From when will I get my subscribed copy?
            Why is THE HINDU customer care not calling back?

Sandeep Whalsberg
              Nov 20, 2015

Address: 600037
              Website: www.complaintboard.in/complaints.../the-hindu-subscription-l89044.ht...

The hindu customer support is very pathetic. i tried to call them several times but everytime they jus say that the problem will be resolved but till date no action has been taken. i spoke to their manager in mogappair Mr.Sriram and another person of their support team Mr.ramesh .But its been 20 days, and i have received the paper only one day .please resolve the issue immediately or refund my amount.i am fed with the service offered by The hindu. My details: Subscriber ID : [protected] Hindu Reference ID : W20151022ESUB0043 Amount [ INR ] : 1164 Billdesk Bank Reference ID : EIOB[protected] Date of Transaction : Thu Oct 22 08:58:58 IST 2015

yuvarajmanohar
                Nov 16, 2015

Address: 637001

Hello team, I subscribed for one year subscription from November 16 to next year. My subscriber id is [protected]. I am highly disappointed on the very first day, because the delivery guy (name velu phone no - [protected]) is saying, he cannot deliver to my home, since it is one kilometre away from the main area. This is unacceptable, because, if Hindu is not ready to deliver, they should not have accepted the online subscription money of 1600 during registration itself. Please take action against this complaint. Thanks and regards, yuvaraj manohar. [protected].
                Please find attached the receipt of payment accepted by Hindu

Irregular delivery of english daily - Comment #2253867 - Image #0

smannarmannan
                  Nov 15, 2015

Address: Chennai, Tamil Nadu, 600010

Dear Sirs,

I am one of the unfortunate subscriber of news paper THE HINDU - TAMIL with the above subscription number.

I opted for yearly subscription and the subscription amount was paid online, which duly acknowledged by M/S THE HINDU vide their email dt. 21st October, 2015 and the subscription was to start from 1st November, 2015.

Out of 15 days since start of subscription i received paper only for 4 days. i.e., on 4th, 6th, 7th & 12th only.

Again from 13th on wards no paper has been supplied to me.

The payment information is as follows

PAYMENT INFORMATION

Subscriber ID : [protected]
                  Hindu Reference ID : W20151021ESUB0032
                  Amount [ INR ] : 1319
                  Icici Bank Reference ID : [protected]
                  Date of Transaction : Wed Oct 21 08:15:16 IST 2015

A complaint was lodged via email dt. 1st Nov. 2015

The complaint reference number is 037351

Despite my repeated telephonic calls and emails since then, the regular supply of the paper is not being done.

I would be obliged if they arrange to return my subscription.

yours sincerly,

s.mannar mannan

Shankar Rajendran
                    Nov 13, 2015

Address: Chennai, Tamil Nadu, 560093

I have made the payment for Hindu newspaper on 1st October 2015. I haven't event received a single copy of news paper till date. Almost daily I make a call to there customer care. But there is no use. Every time they promise me that, the issue will get solve in 24 hrs.. but nothing happens. My complaint number 036042

jagathkumar
                      Nov 8, 2015

Address: Chennai, Tamil Nadu, 600080

We are subscribers of the hindu newspaper both english and tamil. We are residing at Korattur, Chennai - 600 080. Off late we are not receiving the papers on time and everyday it is almost delivered around 8.00 A.M when all the persons leave for office. There is no agent at the place where it used to be and we dont have the person to be contacted. We request the management to solve the problem at the earliest. Now on 9th November 2015 at the time of writing this complaint (10..00 A.M) still paper is not delivered whereas other delivery agents have delivered their papers.

V.Jagathkumar
                      L-12/3 East Avenue
                      Korattur, Chennai - 600 080

subbu_05
                        from Bangalore, Karnataka
                        Nov 5, 2015

Address: Bangalore, Karnataka, 560019

I placed a request for address change. In September second week till now the is not resolved i would have called the Hindu customer care more than 7-8 times. than also it not resolved. subscription details. my subscribed phone number is [protected]. complaint number is 0299877. please help me in solving issue.

Balasubramanian2405
                          Nov 3, 2015

Address: 560102

I have made the payment for Young World magazine on 12th August 2015, there after so many emails and phone follow ups, till date there is no response. My complaint No. 034951. Such a worst response never I have seen in my life time of 64 years.

praveen kumars
                            Nov 1, 2015

Address: Bangalore, Karnataka, 560098

I have paid for Hindu daily newspaper subscription for one year with premium of INR.700 on 13/Aug/2015. But, the news paper was not distributed for at least 2 months ! I made so many complaints regarding that. After all efforts I received the first newspaper on 29/Oct/15. From 29/Oct/15 to 01/Nov/2015(today), I must have received 4 issues. But, I have got only 2 issues. With this experience with Hindu, I request you to immediately cancel my subscription, and refund INR.700 deducting the cost for 2 issues !! Regards, S Praveen. [protected]

Savinandu
                              Oct 18, 2015

Address: Chennai, Tamil Nadu, 695002

I have Subscribed Hindu Young World on September 2015 and paid the amount online but I had not yet received my cipy. Kindly resolve my issue.. My subscription I'd...[protected]
                              Hindu ref no...W20150930ESU80026

N.Raju.K
                                Oct 18, 2015

Address: Bangalore, Karnataka, 560099

The hindu news paper guys are cheating the people by taking one subscription fee in advance. After receiving the money they are not providing the paper regularly, its been 4 months now, after my yearly subscription, hardly i they delivered 45-50 days only. even after reporting to the supplier regularly, the are just neglecting the customers who ever paid in advance
                                p: Hindu: please look in to the issue and do the needful

Mahesh Prasad Panda
                                  Oct 3, 2015

As I have shifted my house to my own flat on 1st September 2015, After so many complaints I am not getting the YOUNG WORLD which I've subscribed for 1 year.03 emails and 02 telephonic complaints had given.

1st email on 15th Aug 15 well before the shifting I had informed to customer care about the change of address.Reply - On 19th Aug I got confirmation email regarding change of address.

As I have not got my YOUNG WORLD copy at my new address.

1st Telephonic complaint -No-029862 dt 12 Sept 15 .No reply from customer-care

2nd email- On 17th Sept. No reply from customer-care.

3rd email- On 27th Sept .No reply from customer-care.

2nd Telephonic complaint- 0n 3rd Oct (today). Reply- To contact the following email addressee, [protected]@thehindu>co.in (email address is fake)
                                  Complaint Status resolved and closed by 15.10.15

Tsecping
                                    Oct 1, 2015

Website: www.frontline.in/navigation/?type=static&page=subs

I had registered for frontline magazine. Even after 1 month from start date I have not received a single magazine or a proper reply from frontline. Every time they say they will respond in 24hours 48 hours but have not received a single reply from them. Such a pathetic service my god. Please never register for any Hindu magazine especially hardcopy. No one there is interested to even resolve your query. Pathetic service absolutely pathetic

Parvathy Karnaver
                                      Sep 30, 2015

I have paid 1722 rs for subscription of The Hindu news paper on 8th sep. I was informed by 16th I'll be getting my paper. But till date I didn't get it and I have called The Hindu customer care 5-6 times.Each time they will ask me either 72hrs or 48hrs to resolve the issue. But till date nothing happened. Now I saw many people complained about the same issue. I don't understand why they are not giving any value to our time and money.How can they be such irresponsible after taking money from customer. Really fed up of Hindu group.