Volkswagen India — Unreliable vento - defective injectors/other parts - 9 breakdowns

I own a Volkswagen vento diesel highline purchased on 2011 May. Cars run only 57, 000 KMs and I am regularly doing all periodic services with VW. Car registration number is KL-35-C-2525.

I am totally unsatisfied with the ownership experience with my car. I faced 9 breakdowns and among them 7 breakdowns are during last 2 years and 3 months. All those breakdowns happened while travelling with my family which puts all of my family stranding on the road including my little kids.

I spent more than 1 lakh rupees for repairing and towing car to VW workshop. More than 1 lakh rupees which I spent only for repairing during last 2 years and 3 months other than regular maintenance cost which comes 30, 000 rupees. So total amount spent during last 2 years and 3 months is more than Rs. 1, 30, 000.

Major problems facing
1) Frequent Fuel Injector failure
2) Frequent ABS sensor failure
3) Steering rack problems
4) Engine oil leak through rocker cover gasket

There are lot of discussion about this in Indian and international forum, and the above-mentioned issues are due to the design fault/defective product of VW. Majority of customers facing same complaints in India. VW is selling defective products /spare parts and cheating the customers. Customers has to spent huge amount of money for repair and VW making money by cheating the customers. Replaced spars are also getting failed within very short span of time.

My history about injector failure - Car got breakdown on Sep 2018 due to injector failure. They replaced it free of cost at that time after having lots of argument with VW and raising the issue with different forums. Car again got breakdown on Jan 2019 due to another injector failure which ends up paying Rs.13, 000 from my pocket. Again car got breakdown on Jan 2020 due to injector failure which end up by paying Rs.21, 500. And the injector failed at this time is the same injector which is already replaced on Sep 2018. From that it is understood, replaced parts are also defective as it lasts only 2 years and 3 months. I asked explanation to VW about the early failure but no reply from them.

Breakdowns during my ownership period
1) 2013 – ABS failure, coolant leak
2) 2014 – Starter motor failure
3) 2016 – ABS failure
4) Sep 2018 – Injector failure
5) Nov 2018 – ABS failure
6) Jan 2019 – Injector failure
7) Jan 2019 – Starter issue
8) Nov 2020 – ABS Failure
9) Jan 2021 – Injector failure

See below the wordings about defective injector from an internal document of VW
"Production change
Improved injectors are implemented in series production at VWIPL from CW03/13. Cut-Off VIN - TMBBLANA9DG035155.

Defective injector must be replaced by improved injector as per following guidelines:
All injectors which are produced after 15th Jun.2012 are improved & should be used for replacement of defective injectors."

From above statement, it is clear that their injectors are defective. They never recalled the affected cars for free replacements. My car is affected one as it belongs to that period. I am facing frequent breakdowns and paid huge amount for their defective product.

VW, please do following in my case

1) Already Replaced 2 injectors. Other 2 injectors will fail at any time as it is manufactured on 2011. Injector manufactured on 2011 are faultier. So please replace those 2 injectors at free of cost.

2)I replaced one injector on Jan 2021 by paying Rs.21, 500 which was already replaced on Sep 2018.
So please refund that amount as it is failed within 2 years and 3 months.

3)Replace the steering rack free of cost as it is showing complaint within 57, 000 KMs. It should last for at least 1 lakh kilometers.

4)Fix the engine oil leak by replacing rocker cover gasket at free of cost. It is another manufacturing defect. It is not wear and tear part. Lost of customers facing same problem and details available on different forums.

Please do immediate action on this rather than putting customers on road due to breakdowns
Volkswagen India customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.
Feb 21, 2021
Volkswagen India Customer Care's response
Greetings from Volkswagen Passenger cars!
We value your association with our brand and appreciate the time you have invested in sharing your feedback.
We understand your query has been resolved and addressed by our dealer partner, request you to kindly mark it as resolved on the consumer forum website.
In case there are any queries unaddressed, please feel free to contact us at[protected] or write to us on customer.[protected]@volkswagen.co.in
We thank you for being our valued customer.
Assuring you of our best services always.

Yours’ Sincerely,
Customer Care- Volkswagen Passenger Cars
Division of ŠKODA AUTO Volkswagen India Private Limited
(formerly known as Volkswagen India Private Limited)
Feb 23, 2021
Updated by silu007
It is not addressed by your dealer partner.

Nobody contacted me from VW side or dealer side regarding this complaint.

Why you are coming with comments like "We understand your query has been resolved and addressed by our dealer partner." without doing anything or even not contacting me.

Volkswagen India
    Customer satisfaction rating Customer satisfaction rating is a complex algorithm that helps our users determine how good a company is at responding and resolving complaints by granting from 1 to 5 stars for each complaint and then ultimately combining them all for an overall score.
    62%
    Volkswagen India Phone
    +91 22 3313 7000 [Corp Office]
    Volkswagen India Address
    4th Floor, Silver Utopia, Cardinal Gracious Road, Chakala, Andheri East, Mumbai, Maharashtra, India - 400099
    View all Volkswagen India contact information