Western Union Complaints & Reviews

Updated: May 22, 2023
Complaints 64

File a complaint to Western Union

Having problems with Western Union?

File a complaint and get it resolved by Western Union customer care. It’s quick, effective and absolutely free!

Western Union reviews & complaints(64)

Salazeem
May 22, 2023

Address: Riyadh wazarat

Am from saudi arab i send money to india on 13/05/2023 and now today
21/05/2023 still they are not refunding

ShashiKMadiraju
    Sep 20, 2022

I made a payment of 606145.76 to transfer pounds to uk.

MTCN :[protected]

The money is stuck at wu stating they have refunded amt. Its been over 5 days and funds have not hit my account yet.

Irresponsible customer sevice. Made a huge mistake trusting western union.
    Sep 20, 2022
    Updated by ShashiKMadiraju
    Can someone please help me get my money back.

Please avoid western union. The nodal officers emails on the website are useless. NOT EVEN AN ACKNOWLEDGEMENT OF COMPLAINT.

ROYSS
      Aug 2, 2022

I had transferred money to my daughter at U.S. and even after four days, the money was not received by my daughter in U.S. When I traced MCTN number on their website it showed that the money is already transferred and waiting for the receiving bank to confirm. But when I spoke to their CUSTOMER Care person who disgustingly does not provide their name but only ID No. 174 that the money will be transferred today and my daughter can receive it only on 4th August. This means that the details on their website against MCTN is bogus. They are enjoying interest on our hard earned money for four days and then they transfer after enjoying interest. DO NOT DO ANY TRANSACTION WITH WESTERN UNION MONEY TRANSFER THEY ARE A FRAUD.. The ### reply that they give is that it is their internal information. They do not disclose the details of their higher ups. bloody cowards and interest eaters.

Wagdy Elgeezawy
        Aug 1, 2022

I made a transaction to send money from Australia to Egypt MTCN: [protected] on 26/07/2022. The receiver went to collect the money, but was told the system has issues and cannot access details and was asked to wait for a while. After approaching the agent again, the receiver was told the money was already cashed.

The receiver complained and filed a case number:[protected] in Egypt and I filed another complaint no:[protected]. I made numerous phone calls, but was told the case is under investigation and will take up to 20 business days.

The system is slow and pathetic. I do not know if the money will be lost for ever, but I do not recommend Western Union and will not use it at all in the future.
        Aug 01, 2022
        Updated by Wagdy Elgeezawy
        I made a transaction to send money from Australia to Egypt MTCN: [protected] on 26/07/2022. The receiver went to collect the money, but was told the system has issues and cannot access details and was asked to wait for a while. After approaching the agent again, the receiver was told the money was already cashed.

The receiver complained and filed a case number:[protected] in Egypt and I filed another complaint no:[protected]. I made numerous phone calls, but was told the case is under investigation and will take up to 20 business days.

The system is slow and pathetic. I do not know if the money will be lost for ever, but I do not recommend Western Union and will not use it at all in the future.

Settigari
          Jun 23, 2022

I am an new western union agent started the service from 16.06.2022, my agent code: 390, Account No:AR6066691

I am writing a complaint with a concern about removing my western union agent services.
          Nitin Malhotra (Western Union Sales Executive) has come into my store this morning and stated that Western Union will be removing me as an agent, reason being that I am providing another money transfer services which is Ria

I believe that this is an unfair and invalid decision made by Western Union as the sales agent was already aware of me having another money transfer services prior to western union.

Firstly, When Nitin Malhotra (Western Union sales Agent) has first approached me in early March 2022 in regards to becoming a Western Union Agent, I have verbally & clearly mentioned to him that I have applied for RIA money transfer services and awaiting an approval from AUSTRAC, and asked him if it was okay for me to have both money transfer services
          He verbally stated that 'it was completely fine' and also mentioned that 'it is a good thing in a way because then applying for AUSTRAC approval through Western Union would then become easier / quicker.'

Secondly, when the agent was putting up the Western union banners in my store on 16/06/2022 he was aware that I am a RIA agent as RIA banners were already displayed in my store.& he should've have pointed it out if I was breaching any Law of Western Union.

Thirdly, There are other news agencies who provides other money transferring services including western union, so I am confused on why I am the only one being stopped.

Fourthly, Nitin Malhotra (Western Union Sales Executive) sent a text message on Monday the 20/06/2022 at 10:52am requesting me to provide him with Nepal rates from Western Union and RIA for that day. (Please find a message screen shot below from Nitin Malhotra) why did a western union sales agent ask me for another money transfer rates if I was breaching a Western Union Law?
          Being one of the leading money transfer services I am sure Western Union would have promptly completed a full compliance check on my business before providing me the services.
          I am aware that there is a compliant check because while processing my Western Union application there was a minor difference with the address in ASIC and I was requested to update my principle place of business address with ASIC so it could match with the trading business report. If a minor difference can be picked up then why wasn't me breaching a 'Western Union law' bought to attention? and Why wasn't this pointed out prior to providing me a compliance training and western union access?

I have promoted Western Union service in the social media and also started providing services to my customers, knowing that I provide WU service, my customers were really happy and mentioned that it is a convince for the especially during 'The Weekends'. if this service is stopped will impact my business

I am unsure why this decision was made without even conversing with me, I am happy to discontinue with RIA and continue to stay as a agent with Western Union as there is a lot of customers who are extremely happy that I provide WU services.

I request this to be forwarded to the management for a review into this situation as soon as possible and hoping for a positive reply from your end.

Morning Kishore bhai ! Hope you
          are well! Could u please send
          Nepal rates for today for western
          union & Ria A Waiting for ur
          reply .. thanks
          Western union is working on new
          pricing and we will come up with
          a good news soon @ We need this information pls. Thx

Maggie Langley
            May 24, 2022

Address: Australia

I sent money to BCA Jakarta I have told western union they have given me a bank reference but they say me I have to call the bank I am Australian so we have a problem understanding each other
            The money had my daughters name on it she does not have a account with any Indonesia bank so it should of been returned
            Can you help
            Maggie Langley

AshutoshPandey2022
              May 15, 2022

Address: India

MTCN transaction number: [protected]

This is a response from Western union after my transaction. I had to send money urgently to my daughter but they will return the money after 2-7 days.
              Poor service and customer experience
              https://t.co/qoQ2rMqUOV

"Also, as we have reviewed your details with our team, we regret to inform you that due to the technical issue, you won't be able to remit any future money transactions with Western Union"

Jacky Yau
                May 2, 2022

I transfer my money from Hong Kong to Australia. Western Union keep giving me multiple MTCN and it still not able to get the money in Australia. Incident number[protected] was raised and it is the 20 days now and still not get resolved.
                same with me as well

gooofypilot
                  from Panchkula, Haryana
                  Mar 22, 2022

Western Union case number[protected]
                  Tracking # (MTCN):[protected]

I had transferred 250, 000 INR from India to Philippines. The receiver was to get 171717.48 PHP in their Bank of Philippines Islands bank account. After a few hours I got a confirmation that the receiving bank has rejected it. Upon calling customer care in India, I am told that the reason for rejection of transfer at the receiving end can only be confirmed by western union Philippines.

Upon calling western Union Philippines, they say the corresponding bank which is Land Bank is the one who may have rejected the money. I asked for reason and was told to contact Land Bank.

Upon contacting Land bank, the senior manager told me that the money never came to Land bank and was withheld in India itself. All this while western union was giving false info about transfer being rejected at the receivers end.

I believe Western Union should clarify as to why it is giving false information to customers. Why channel me to other institutions when I used western union to remit so I should get explanation from them. Upon calling Indian customer care again they said they will arrange a call for me to talk to someone who is well versed in this situation. That call never came.

Moreover I am told refund will take a few days, I don’t know why is that, since the money is not actually being transferred overseas, western union is using local corresponding banks to collect and disperse funds. Like I transferred the amount in INR to the local bank of Western Union in India which is YES Bank. Also I got an email stating refund amount of 171, 717.48 INR. It is suppose to be 250, 000 INR. Why such discrepancies.

If a person wants to urgently transfer funds this is very inconvenient. Transfer gets rejected by western union for flimsy reasons and then the customer just goes bank and forth for reasons and refund due to false info provided by western union. This is harassment.

This seems to be some sort of scam by western union by not transferring the money and giving flimsy excuses to keep money for a few days, and generate interest or use that money for their own and then return to the client after a delay. There are several other people who have faced similar ordeals and are planning a class action suit against western union India.

Even after complaining in written to western union, there ids still no response.

A Shetty
                    Mar 2, 2022

Address: Bangalore

There is a major bug in the money transfer calculation. TCS should be max 5% of the transfer. However the WU system calculates at a much higher rate, even more than 1000%. This is because it recharges TCS for all prior transactions even when charged. Although the bug has been highlighted to WU the issue remains unresolved for 3 weeks.
                    Dec 7, 2022
                    Accepted by it so ok

Oranut1812
                      Feb 27, 2022

ชื่อ Oranut Amwong ทำรายการไปหลายวันแล้ว แต่western ไม่อนุมัติให้สักที จำเป็นจะต้องใช้ มันนานมากแล้ว

SHAIZAD WALAPKAR
                        Feb 24, 2022

Address: Khed Ratnagiri

The executive over here is speaking on phone while the customers are waiting in queue for more than 20 mins

makha35
                          Feb 1, 2022

Address: Boha post office 151503

Refer to[protected],
                          It is requested to re generate certificate of wumts for boha post office. Wumt software is not working at Boha post office pin 151503
                          Distt mansa punjab. Also reset password.

[protected]@indiapost.gov.in

С
                            сергей сакар
                            Jan 22, 2022

BAD SERVICE, NEVER AGAIN !!! Customer service just try to make you stupid, kicking you from one operator to another operator just to hold your money away from you as long as possible. Hard to get cancel transaction and get your money back to you. Takes almost 2 weeks to get my money back to me. I had to call in Trenton for complain to get same result. BE AWARE !!!

AnubhaAj
                              from Greater Noida, Uttar Pradesh
                              Dec 5, 2021

Please refer to my telephonic conversation with your senior executive on 25 Nov 21customer care executive at 1550 hrs on 07 Nov 21, the WU is still levying 5% tax TCS on the transaction made on 25 Nov 21 at 2:30 pm midnight.
                              There is not a single successful transaction made by me on WU in this financial year. This can be seen and verified from the screenshot of Send Money "History" taken from your website.
                              Western Union is calculating wrong TCS on transactions. It has a bug in their calculation. It charges TCS accumulated TCS on any new transaction. Hence even if transferring 100 rupees to USD it will calculate 60000 TCS. Even after 3 weeks of informing they are unable to fix.

AnubhaAj
                                from Greater Noida, Uttar Pradesh
                                Dec 3, 2021

Please refer to my telephonic conversation with your senior executive on 25 Nov 21customer care executive at 1550 hrs on 07 Nov 21, the WU is still levying 5% tax TCS on the transaction made on 25 Nov 21 at 2:30 pm midnight.

There is not a single successful transaction made by me on WU in this financial year. This can be seen and verified from the screenshot of Send Money "History" taken from your website.
                                Inspite of speaking and mailing to the customer care supervisor many times my matter has not been resolved till date, It is not once earlier in the month of July similar incident happened and that was also not resolved .Please look into the matter as soon as possible as I’m facing problems while paying the fees of my son to is studying in Australia!

Jaicky Kumar
                                  from Sasaram, Bihar
                                  Dec 1, 2021

I got a payment from Thailand on[protected]. When i visited the sore the person said i haven't permission to withdraw the foreign payment.The payment can be withdrawn only if your relative send you the payments.
                                  After that i called western Union customer care they said they will provide the payment within 72hrs. After 72hrs i called them again they again said you have to wait for 48hrs. They not called me .If they cant withdraw my payment then why they are wasting my time. They wasted my one week in the hope that they will withdraw my payment.today is[protected]
                                  Dec 02, 2021
                                  Updated by Jaicky Kumar
                                  I called them today they are again saying to wait.
                                  Why no one helping me.

alam0019
                                    Nov 29, 2021

My dear sir/Madam
                                    Most respect fully I beg to say that I send money to one of my friend to Pakistan but the western union hold the money from 4 days the need recover information ID DOB citi country I send every thing what the want but the still hold my money the did not send and did not refund this money for poor people charity the people is hungry every month I send the same name I don't know why the hold if there is some problem why the send before the same person I have 5 years record that I send money to the same person I need your help.
                                    Khanzada Alam 46753 WINCHESTER DR sterling va 20164 ph [protected]

Rashid Ali Ansari
                                      from Gorakhpur, Uttar Pradesh
                                      Nov 9, 2021

Address: Al-Tajamouat Industrial Estate, P.O Box 22,Sahab, Amman, 11636, Jordan

First let me introduce myself.. This is "Rashid Ali Ansari'' i belong to India, but still living in Jordan last 02 year.

i would like to share my problem with you i was sent to money India by western union on dated 11/07/2021.
                                      i don't know what happened with this transferred amount still have not received. i checked the status but this showing "under progress" i want to take my all amount return as soon as possible.
                                      So pls do the needful and see the below MTCN no. for your ref..
                                      MTCN-[protected]

Rashid Ali Ansari
                                      Nov 10, 2021
                                      Dear Team, I always sent money by western Union through of agent see the below agent details for your ref.. (Jordan Valley Exchange, BLDG Clusters ST Sadam Hussein, Landmark Industrial Clusters City.) before i didn't faced any kind of issues by western Union but now its really very disappointed to me. i already complained to agent but now i didn't get reply from there.. so now i am taking this action hope you will understand my situation and help me as i requested... and pls advise me for taking action for my next step.. and i have not received any kind of email call from western union regarding this issues. So pls check and take the action as soon as possible and give the positive reply. Thanks & Regards Rashid
                                      Western Union customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.
                                      Consumer complaints (Western Union)

Its really very disappointed and such a very bad service provide by Western Union.
                                      i am troubling last 04 to 05 days to until now but still i didn't get any kind of reply from western union. i already complaints to here also but now i didn't get any response in my favor. pls advise me what should i do the my next step to take my money and now i can't quite its enough to check my patient.

Pls help to resolve the my issues as soon as possible.

Rashid

Payment not received - Comment #3918956 - Image #0

ARKhullar
                                        from Dehradun, Uttarakhand
                                        Oct 1, 2021

My friend Becky william from UK had sent GBP 10, 000 thro you on 28th of September 2021 in my Name Amolak Ram Khullar M [protected]

i got a call of Monica Sharma from Mob no [protected] on 29th Sept. asking me to pay Rs18500 as transaction fee thro SBI account provided by her.

To this i quoted to her your policy of making payment wherein it is clearly laid down that...

'Beneficiaries won't be charged to receive money thro Trsnsfast- the charges and fees will be taken out the total money sent by the sender'.

i regret till date, my payment of GBP10, 000 is still on hold and not yet credited to my local bank account.

Needless to say this amount was transferred keeping in mind the urgency for personal reasons.

It shall be appreciated if quick action is taken in the matter and my money on hold be released immediately.

Amolak Ram Khullar
                                        M [protected]
                                        Western Union customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.