[Resolved]  ACT Fibernet — High latency/ping to nearest server causing other servers to lag

ACT Fibernet Does not have a BNG Gateway in Madurai so all data is routed through Chennai, . But the latency to Chennai is too high because of their routing, (over 30ms) causing the next hops to have higher latency than normal. I have complained about this issue for 1 month on Twitter but no action has been taken from the company for resolving it. For instance other ISPs I have used have ping to Chennai of 10ms from Madurai. The extra latency because of the bad routing causes instability in my usage which is particularly latency sensitive such as online gaming.
+1 photos
Was this information helpful?
No (0)
Yes (25)
Sep 12, 2022
Complaint marked as Resolved 
ACT offered a refund but I have said I'll decide about disconnection after my plan ends.
ACT Fibernet customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.
Aug 22, 2022
Updated by buzz267buzz
Here is a traceroute to AWS Mumbai IP 3.6.0.0

The next hop after the router (BNG gateway in Chennai) takes too long to respond. it is over 25 milliseconds minimum, but it was 8ms earlier before last month. In other ISP I've used, the shortest path latency is like 7-8ms from Madurai to Chennai, RTT.
Since we don't have a Madurai Gateway, data is forced through a longer route to Chennai ( Which has bad routing and terrible latency) causing all servers to have +20-30ms more.

Note that pings to 3.6.0.0 were around 27ms earlier in ACT (now over 52) and around 25 ms in my previous ISP .

Aug 22, 2022
Updated by buzz267buzz
ACT Account[protected]
Aug 23, 2022
Updated by buzz267buzz
Update - Currently, the Latency is good(12 ms) but it might increase often randomly.

I received a mail from ACT saying 10-32 ms is normal. No it's not. I have no problem if ping to Chennai is under 15ms. Over that it causes lag to the other servers I'm connecting to.
Aug 23, 2022
Updated by buzz267buzz
Update #2 - Latency is bad again. over 30ms to the gateway. Whenever the latency is high, I also noticed that I get lower upload speeds (75-80 Mbps - half of the promised 150 Mbps)
Tired of dealing with these issues over and over. It has been over a month now. I don't know why they are ignoring even after I complained so many times.
Aug 25, 2022
Updated by buzz267buzz
Update 3 - Still nothing from their end. No updates, no estimated time of resolution. Latency is still high.
Aug 26, 2022
Updated by buzz267buzz
Update 4 - They said they have assigned me the shortest path for low latency yesterday. It was low until today, since which latency is high again.
Now they're asking if they can proceed for disconnection because they are not able to solve the issue.
Verified Support
Sep 03, 2022
ACT Fibernet Customer Care's response
We believe that your mentioned grievance has been resolved. Kindly let us know your feedback. For any further assistance, you can contact us at [protected] or helpdesk.[protected]@actcorp.in.
Sep 04, 2022
Updated by buzz267buzz
It's not resolved. You said you couldn't resolve it.
Sep 11, 2022
Updated by buzz267buzz
The issue still persists, but ACT closed it saying it's resolved. In reality they said they weren't able to fix it, and asked me to get my account closed. Worst service.
Complaint comments 

Comments

Update - Currently, the Latency is good(12 ms) but it might increase often randomly.

I received a mail from ACT saying 10-32 ms is normal. No it's not. I have no problem if ping to Chennai is under 15ms. Over that it causes lag to the other servers I'm connecting to.

Post your Comment

    I want to submit Complaint Positive Review Neutral Comment
    code
    By clicking Submit you agree to our Terms of Use
    Submit
    ACT Fibernet
    customer care contact
    Customer satisfaction rating Customer satisfaction rating is a complex algorithm that helps our users determine how good a company is at responding and resolving complaints by granting from 1 to 5 stars for each complaint and then ultimately combining them all for an overall score.
    Read more
    56%
    Complaints
    4527
    Pending
    512
    Resolved
    2326
    ACT Fibernet Phone
    +91 91 2121 2121
    +91 72 8899 9999
    ACT Fibernet Address
    Golden Heights, 59th "C" Cross, 4th “M” Block, Rajaji Nagar, Bengaluru, Karnataka, India - 560010
    View all ACT Fibernet contact information