[Resolved] Airtel — Stealing my data usage

 
3 Reviews
Ahmedabad, Gujarat, India
 Mitul Verma
I have been using Airtel Broadband connection since few years. Currently I shifted to Ahmedabad. I have a 56 GB plan. I have beed continuously checking my data usage, it hardly crosses 25 GB but Airtel tells me I have used 100% data. I have all the evidence of my usage, I use only 2 devices which keeps all track on the usage. Please explain this irregularity.
Complaint marked as Resolved Aug 12, 2016

Complaint Status


[Apr 23, 2016] Airtel customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.
Verified Support
Airtel Customer Care's response, Apr 24, 2016
Dear Mr. Verma,

This is with reference to your post dated 23 April 2016.

We are keen to resolve your concern; however, we will require your airtel account number along with an alternate contact number to resolve it effectively.

Look forward to receiving the required details at airtel.[protected]@airtel.com

Regards,
Akanksha Singh
airtel presence (airtel customer service team)
bharti airtel ltd.
airtel.[protected]@airtel.com

Connect with us 24X7 and we will be happy to assist you with a swift resolution to your queries on all our products and services
Twitter - www.twitter.com/airtel_presence
Facebook - www.facebook.com/bhartiairtelltd
Verified Support
Airtel Customer Care's response, May 11, 2016
Dear Mr. Verma,

This is with reference to your post dated 23 April 2016.

We were waiting to receive your contact details to enable us to address your concern.

Since we have not heard back from you, we trust your issue has been resolved.

If you require further information / assistance, please write to us at airtel.[protected]@airtel.com

Regards
Akanksha Singh
airtel presence (airtel customer service team)
bharti airtel ltd.
airtel.[protected]@airtel.com
Connect with us 24X7 and we will be happy to assist you with a swift resolution to your queries on all our products and services
Twitter - www.twitter.com/airtel_presence
Facebook - www.facebook.com/bhartiairtelltd
Complaint comments  2 Comments     Updated: Share0Tweet0

Comments

By Order No. [protected] (over the Airtel App.), I recharged my prepaid phone No. [protected] for 1 GB with two day validity at about 9:30 pm on 23 August 2016. Even when I recharged, there was a balance of over 300 MB on my phone already. (Please do not hesitate to let me know if you need more information like my weight, height, age, occupation, father's name, date of birth, wedding anniversary, blood group etc. You can't beat me, I will patiently furnish all of it, because it's my need to have my problem resolved.).

Even according to your automated enquiry, the next morning (24th of August of the year 2016, in case you can't figure it), between 11 am and 12 pm (sorry your automated machine sound was garbled, else I would certainly have captured the exact time down to the seconds for your delight), I consumed about 600 MB. Whatever other usage are negligible EVEN ACCORDING TO YOUR machine (such as a few kbs or 10 or so MB.

Your automated data usage information has NO CASE that the validity period expired. It has no case that I used any more than the above.

SIGNIFICANTLY, I did not even receive the mandatory data limit warning that you are supposed to send when balance reaches 500 MB.

Matter of fact, I agree with your automated data usage machine. I did not use any further data.

However, this morning (well within the period of validity, kindly note that), your famous app shows that I don't have any data balance. Of course your service is consistent with what your app says, I don't have either 3 or 4 or whatever connectivity you sell in the name of 3/4 GB.

I am certain the reason is as plain as daylight, but you do know that 99 percent of your customers are dumb and I am one of them. Could you please point out the reason where I am making a mistake please.

Thanks a lot for your patience.
I am a foreigner and I am visiting India.
I have an Indian Airtel SIM. Several times now I have recharged my Airtel SIM with talk time and with data. The data DISAPPEARS. This week 3GB data is GONE. I know how to use my Android phone and I know how much data I am using to check email. I did NOT use 3GB data. The data is gone. This has happened more than once with my Airtel SIM. Today I turned my data on and waited ten seconds and turned it off again. I got the message that I used 10MB data during that time. That is NOT POSSIBLE. I do not even have a browser open on my phone. AIRTEL IS STEALING DATA.

I will not use Airtel services anymore. I am now using a SIM from one of Airtel's competitors. Goodbye Airtel. I will talk openly and frequently about Airtel's data theft problem.

It is a criminal act to deceive customers and steal data that we purchased. Why do the people of India tolerate this kind of criminal behavior from a large public company? In my country the Airtel executives would be arrested and held accountable. This is shameful.
HenryBen77's reply, Mar 2, 2017
If Mr.Modi is trying to stop corruption in India, he should investigate the thousands of customer complaints against Airtel.

Post your Comment

    I want to submit Complaint Positive Review Neutral Comment
    Your Rating (1 star is bad, 5 stars is good)
    code
    Customer satisfaction rating
    23%
    Complaints
    42394
    Pending
    4311
    Resolved
    8690
    phone
    +91 96 6339 5551
    +91 11 4266 6500 [Head Office]
    +91 11 4666 6100 [Head Office]
    location
    20, Sarakki Main Road, JP Nagar 1st Phase, Bangalore, Karnataka, India - 560078
    Airtel - Stealing my data usage