[Resolved]  Abn Amro Bank - Supreme Plus Offer — Supreme Plus offer fraud

On the 1st week of Dec'08, I got a call from ABN AMRO bank stating that I have been nominated for a Supreme Plus offer based on my personal loan with ABN AMRO bank. After stating the features and benefits of this offer, the caller mentioned that there would be a nominal cost of Rs.5000/-, which I would need to pay through a secured bank transaction mode over phone, using my credit card. After the transaction is successful, I would receive a kit within 14days from the bank.
I paid after doing some research over this offer on the bank website, probably after 3-4 days. The caller congratulated me and stated that a kit would reach me in 14 days.
I did not get any kit/ package from the bank, and last week when I called and subsequently visited a bank branch, to know more about the offer, surprisingly, the bank totally disowned such offer and said that no such offer is going on against any of their bank products.
Surprisingly, following links to the ABN AMRO bank definitely states about the offer:
http://www.abnamro.co.in/consumer/loans/special_offers.html
http://www.abnamro.co.in/consumer/loans/tnc_special_offer.html

Just to let you know that I have called up Citibank (of whose credit card I used for the Rs.5000 transaction) and have disputed the amount. The said amount has been debited from my credit card a/c on 11th Dec'08 and till date I have not heard anything about the package I bought.

THIS IS A SERIOUS CASE OF FRAUD. ABN AMRO bank has also denied any such transaction happening from their side.

I think this is a responsibility of ABN AMRO bank to investigate and either revert back the amount or avail me the mentioned offer!

ABN AMRO — statement date b4 recieve date

dis is s. ramesh reddy,
applied 4 loan, on may 25 th 2008, i got loan sanctioned on june 8 th and the cheque cleard on 12 th june. and the problem m facing the statement date which i recieved, can u give conclusion on dis and also the statement showing payment EMI immediately, i dnt understand dis [actual the EMI date is 25 th of evry month]

please give d details

ABN AMRO/ CREDIT CARD — Fraudulent payment not acknowledged by the bank

Dear Sir/ Mam,

I am using ABNAMRO credit card and have been a victim of a fraudulent transaction. The bank is neither acknowledging nor replying to any mails I am sending across and the many complaints made to the customer care desk. I am tired of sending e-mails, calls and even a hard copy that I sent in last 3-4 months. The Amount is of INR22, 000. I am getting massive bills to pay in the time of recession when I am already laid off from the company and have no other source of income.

I would highly appreciate any help on this one.

Meena

Actually same thing happened to me also, at the same time even i got the call in (DEC 2008) from one of the ABN amro representative and said the same thing and even i paid from my credit card. after few weeks i got the card and voucher. but it was too late. its a delayed response although they have asked me 14 days of time for deliveryu but it has taken more than 1 month. its very bad on their part.
Bigges FRUAD is ABN supreme plus offer

ABN AMRO Credit Card — Repeated call from customer care

I Mr. K.Balasubramanian. holding ABN Amro Credit Card ([protected])
This is regarding the call from customer care for the recovery of payment. I am getting repeated & abusive calls from customer care for ABN Amro Credit Card payment. They offered one Holiday package. I didnt avail that offer. But they are sending statements and calling me over phone. I wated to waiver off the amount. So I made 5 complaints regarding this. But they are calling repeatedly. The call was from Delhi. Each and every time they are asking the same questions and they are filing a new complaints. So I requests you to see in this matter & I expect no more such calls from yourside.

K.Balasubramanian
"THANK TO ABN AMRO BANK FOR THIS FRAUD"

Actually same thing happened to me also, I also got a call from ABN AMRO Bank for Sureme Plus Offer. In that I also paid 5000/- Rs. from my credit card. Now they are not going to pick my call from [protected] and [protected] numbers.
ABN AMRO Bank is responsibale for this FRUAD. Due to they are not taking any action against them. So we already filed the case against bank day before yesterday.

Credit Card — online fraud in 3 city in same days in ABN AMRO bank credit card

DEAR SIR, I GOT ONLINE FRAUD TRANSACTION FOR RUPEES 5,11417.03 FROM ABN AMRO CREDIT CARD ON DATE[protected] BY 3 CITY-PUNE LUCKNOW & DELHI FOR BAHRTI CELLULAR AND BHARTI AIR TEL.

BUT BANK IS SAYING THAT THIS FRAUD IS MADE BY BY CARD HOLDER.BECUASE OF CVV NUMBER & CARD PLASTIC IS HELD WITH ME.

BUT AS READ IN MANY TIMES IN NEWS PAPPER THAT FRAUD IS GOING IN VERY HIGH NUMBER,WHETHER CARD HAVE OR NOT HAVE WITH FRAUDLENT PERSON.

BUT ABN BANK IS INSISTING TO PAY THIS AMOUNT AND PUTTING ALL DIRTY BLAM ON ME.

PLEASE ASSIST ME,HOW TO COME OUT FROM THIS BLAME,WHEN I NEVER USED SO FAR.

THANKS & REGARDS,
SANJAY BAFNA,MOBILE-[protected]

ABN AMRO/ CREDIT CARD — Claimed cheque even after dropping the cheque well before the due date, repeated lieing, harrasment and mental agony

This is regarding a payment of my Credit Card of ABN AMRO(Card No: [protected]).

I made a payment of Rs. Sixteen thousand six hundred and fifty (Rs. 16655/-) in favour of “AAB Card No: [protected]” on 22.01.2010 vide cheque no. 343856 of Punjab National Bank, EC The Heritage, Park Circus Branch well before the ude date (27.01.2010).

On 28.01.10 I got a mail from ABN AMRO (mail id:[protected]@in.abnamro.com) also a SMS in my mobile saying that my payment has been returned.

At that time I replied that I will talk with my bank and then I will contact.

After that I contacted with my bank Punjab National Bank, EC The Heritage, Park Circuis, extension counter and enquired about the status of my issued cheque (no:343856) . I was informed by the branch manager that my issued cheque (no:343856) is not returned and unused. Also I confirmed that my account balance was much higher than the issued amount of Rs. Sixteen thousand six hundred and fifty five (Rs.16655/-).

I called the ABN AMRO customer-care section on 30-01-10 and lodged my complain regarding this issue. The executive again told me that my cheque has bounced. I was given a complaint id: [protected].

In the mean time I was receiving mis-calls from tele-customer care section of ABN AMRO. (Telephone numbers: [protected],[protected], [protected])

As I did not get any response from ABN AMRO in respect of my complain of 30.01.10, I wrote to ABN AMRO in the mail ids i)[protected]@in.abnamro.com
ii)[protected]@in.abnamro.com

on 12.02.10 also I complained about mis-calls in my mobile that I was getting from ABN AMRO customer care section.

Also I told them to cancel my card because of their misbehavior and harassment to me.

ABN AMRO representatives started calling me every now and then in my mobile asking for the payment again (Which is already paid by me on 22.01.10). I told them that my cheque has not bounced as before which I have confirmed from my bank.

On 15.02.10 I received a reply from email id [protected]@in.abnamro.com in response to my mail of 12.01.10. I quote from the received mail
”… We wish to inform you that as per our records the payment of Rs,16,655.00 vide cheque number 343856 was returned due to non sufficient funds, hence a cheque return fee has been levied against the same…”. But nothing was told regarding cancellation of my card. The mail was sent by Vilma Lobo ,Client Response Unit.

On 17.02.10 I replied to Vilma Lobo’s mail ([protected]@in.abnamro.com)saying the actual fact again that my cheque status is unused and hence it cannot bounce. Also I again complained about the mis-calls in my mobile.

Then ABN AMRO demanded Rs. 650/- as late fee and Returned Cheque handling fee of Rs. 500/- in the latest statement sent to me.

Since I have paid the amount much before the due date there is no question of any fresh payment; also late fee and cheque return fee is totally irrelevant as it is not returned. So I sticked to my point.

On February 22, 2010 I got another mail from [protected]@in.abnamro.com again asking for the payment with late fee and finance charge. They sent me an account statement amouniting Rs 17384.21 and calling every now and then for payment.

On 24.02.2010 I sent an email to ABN AMRO with following two attachments.

1.Certificate from the Bank regarding the status of my cheque.
2. Account statement of my SB account for the relevant time period.

First one proves that the cheque has not bounced and second one proves that ABN AMRO lied to me repeatedly by saying that because of low balance my cheque has bounced.

After that ABN AMRO representative Gaurav Chhugani,Client Response Unit apologized to me for the entire episode and informed me about reversal of late fee, cheque return fee and service charge.

But after that the tele-customer care section of ABN AMRO again started disturbing me by asking for fresh payment.

In next statement they imposed the late fee of Rs. 650/- and finance charge of Rs. 528.90 again. They sent me an statement of Rs. 17182.18

I was so disturbed and harrased by ABN AMRO I changed the way to protest and fight against this fraud ABN AMRO.

I dropped a cheque (cheque No. 343858, Punjab National Bank) of Rs. 17000/- again on 23.03.2010.

Now two cheques are with them and I have given them more money than they get from me.

I have been mentally harassed. An Institution (ABN AMRO) has lied to a person repeatedly and harrased. They have called me again and again, pressurized me for repayment. Since I am a teacher in an engineeriong college and university , receiving of mis-calls in my mobile in front of my students goes against my image and disturbs my normal activities. I am always busy with my research work, teaching and also writing books. My extremely valuable time was wasted because of ABN AMRO.

For all these I demand the reversal of late fee (Rs. 650/-) and finance charge (Rs. 528.90) and compensation of Rs. 100,000/- (Rupees One Lac only) for the loss of my valuable time, expenses in printing,scanning, mailing as well as for the harassment and mental anguish suffered by me for the fault of the ABN AMRO Bank even after lodging the grievance at right time.

All mails sent and received are given below:

From: [protected]@in.abnamro.com <[protected]@in.abnamro.com>
Subject: Cr Card Payment return
To: [protected]@YAHOO.COM
Date: Thursday, January 28, 2010, 1:34 PM

Dear Cardmember,

We wish to inform you that your payment instruction for Rs.16655.00 has been returned unpaid.

Please be advised that return of a payment instruction unpaid is viewed seriously by the Bank and adversely affects your credit rating with ABN AMRO Bank and might lead to a suspension of credit facilities.

We therefore request you to send us your payment for the above amount immediately.

Kindly ignore this active alert, if you have issued fresh payment instructions in lieu of the returned cheque.

In case you require any assistance, please feel free to call our 24 hour Bank by Phone service* in your city and our executives will be glad to assist you.

Assuring you of our best service at all times,

Warm Regards

ABN AMRO Card Active Alerts Service

Subject: Re: Cr Card Payment return
To: [protected]@in.abnamro.com
Date: Thursday, January 28, 2010, 4:04 PM

I will talk with my bank. I dont know how can it be unpaid?

After that I will contact with you.

With Warm Regards,
[protected][protected][protected]-
CHINMOY SAHA
[protected]@ieee.org
Mob:[protected], [protected](O)
LECTURER ,Department of ECE,
Heritage Institute of TECHNOLOGY
Member of IEEE, Member of Executive Committee, AP-MTT Chapter,IEEE Calcutta Section

Sent: 12/02/2010 4:53 PM
To: ~ IN HeadCardServices; ~ NetBanking
Subject: Re: Cr Card Payment return and Cancellation of my credit card

ABN AMRO representative,

Card No: [protected]

Address: Abhibasar,121/24/A purbachal kalital Road, Kolkat-78

I contacted with my bank Punjab National Bank, EC The Heritage, Park Circuis, extension counter branch and enquired about the status of my issued cheque (Cheque no:343856, Amount: 16655 dated 22.01.10) . I was informed by the branch manager that my cheque is unused. Logically It can not bounce as I have maintained a much higher balance than the issued amount . Had it been bounced I would have been informed by my bank also would have been charged a penalty.

I have called the abn amro customer-care section on 30-01-10 and lodged my complain about this.
Reference: a complaint id given to me from ABN AMRO customercare section [protected]

I called the customer care again many a times after that.

After that, I discoved that my crds online account has been blocked from end. May I know why?

I am receiving miss call in my mobile from your customer care section which is a serious offence specially considering that I am a professor of a college and University.

Take proper action immediately from your end to and let me know within three to four days.

Considering your bad service and ill-mannerism , I have decided not use your cards. So take necessary action to cancell my card as early as possible.

[protected][protected][protected]
CHINMOY SAHA
[protected]@ieee.org
Department of ECE,
Heritage Institute of TECHNOLOGY, Jadavpur University (visiting)
Member of IEEE, Member of Executive Committee, AP-MTT Chapter,IEEE Calcutta Section

Subject: Re: Cr Card Payment return and Cancellation of my credit card
To: [protected]@yahoo.com
Date: Monday, February 15, 2010, 4:58 PM

Dear Mr.Saha,

We refer to your email dated February 12, 2010.

We wish to inform you that as per our records the payment of Rs,16,655.00 vide cheque number 343856 was returned due to non sufficient funds, hence a cheque return fee has been levied against the same.

Further the reference number [protected] has been logged for the re presentment of the cheque.

We further request you to confirm the number from which you have been receiving the missed calls to be able to address your concern.

Further as per our records your Cards on-line account has been normal.

However due to the non payment of the dues you have not been able to see the account.

We request you to pay Rs.1,835.22 to regularize your account post which you may access your Cards on-line account.

We are concerned to know about your decision to discontinue with our card. We request you to reconsider your decision as the ABN AMRO Bank Credit Card offers an array of features.

You may also quote the reference number [protected], in case you need any further clarification on the above resolution.

Please feel free to write back to us for any further clarifications in this regard or call our 24-hour Bank by Phone service in your city and our executive will be glad to assist you.

Assuring you of our best services.

Vilma Lobo
Client Response Unit

To ABN AMRO Representative,

Your statement of "...as per our records the payment of Rs,16,655.00 vide cheque number 343856 was returned due to non sufficient funds.." is incorrect. I can and will prove this when required.

So thereis no question of paying the late fee and cheque return fee as you have demanded in new statement whcih has reached me on 16.02.10.

Also there is no question of fresh payment since as per my bank record cheque can not bounce for the reason you have mentioned.
I received missed call from your customer care no: [protected] on 12.02.2010 and many a times after that.
Let me know what action are you taking against that ?

Also Tell your customer care section not to disturb me by calling every now and then. I can talk only on friday (10am-12 noon).

I have already told that I do not want to use your card. So what action have you taken regarding that ?

Prof. Chinmoy Saha
[protected]@ieee.org
Subject: Re: Re: Re: Cr Card Payment return and Cancellation of my credit card
To: "chinmoy saha" <[protected]@yahoo.com>
Date: Monday, February 22, 2010, 10:32 AM

Dear Mr. Saha,

We refer to your email dated February 19, 2010.

We wish to confirm that your feedback has been shared with the concerned unit Manager and we assure you that corrective actions have been initiated to avoid any such recurrences.

We are arranging to represent the cheque number 343856 for Rs. 16655.00 to your bank. The application of the payment is subject to realisation of the cheque.

We regret that we are unable to reverse the late fee and finance charge on your card account.

The total outstanding on your card account as on February 22, 2010 is Rs. 17384.21. We request you to pay your card outstanding immediately and then reinitiate your request for card closure.

You may also quote the reference number [protected], in case you need any further clarification on the above resolution.

Please feel free to write back to us for any further clarifications in this regard or call our 24-hour Bank by Phone service in your city and our executive will be glad to assist you.

Arundhati Chatterjee
Client Response Unit

Sent: Wednesday, February 24, 2010 12:56 PM
To: ~ IN HeadCardServices
Cc: ~ IN Nodal Officer Cards; Joshi, Renu; [protected]@rbi.org.in
Subject: Re: Re: Re: Cr Card Payment return and Cancellation of my credit card
ABN Amro Representative,

This is in reference to your reply of my mail. The reference number is [protected].

Find attached the scanned copy of the account statement of my account for the relevant period requested by you. Also a certificate from the branch manager of Punjab National Bank is attached which tells that the cheque issued by me was unused as on 17.02.10. This two documents proves that your statement
"...We had forwarded the cheque number 343856 for Rs. 16655.00 to your bank for clearing on January 22, 2010 and the same was returned unpaid by your bank due to insufficient funds..." is incorrect.

So now it is clear to that my cheque has not bounced.

I again tell you very clearly and firmly that I will not pay any late fee and cheque bounce fee that you are demanding.

It is totally your fault. Your office including you repeatedly lied to me by saying that my cheque has bounced. This is a criminal offence and ABN AMRO should be penalized for this; not me. Because of your fault I had to waste huge time of mine which is extremely valuable to me.

I again ask you what action have you taken against the tele-custome-care section of yours who were giving miss-calls in my mobile ? Why are you silent in that issue?

Resolve the case as early as possible. Also cancel my credit card. Do it immdeately. Otherwise I am going to take legal measures.

As I am not satisfied with your action and replies I am copying this mail to higher authorities of ABN AMRO.Also a copy is sent to RBI to look into my case and take proper action against ABN AMRO.

With Warm Regards,
CHINMOY SAHA
[protected]@ieee.org

Subject: Re:Re: Re: Re: Cr Card Payment return and Cancellation of my credit card
Date: Friday, February 26, 2010, 4:12 PM

Dear Mr. Saha,

We refer to your email dated February 24, 2010

At the outset we apologize for the inconvenience caused.

We will like to inform you that we are referring your query regarding cheque number 343856 to the concerned department and we will update you shortly.

We will appreciate your cooperation in this regard.

We will also like to inform you that we are reversing late fees of Rs. 650.00, finance charges of Rs. 212.06 and cheque return fees of Rs. 500.00 along with associated service tax.

The credit of the same will reflect in your next card statement.

We are concerned to know about your decision to discontinue with our card.

We request you to reconsider your decision as the ABN AMRO Bank Credit Card offers an array o[censored]nique features that are unmatched in the industry.

We would also like to request you to view this incident in isolation and not representative of the services we strive to provide.

Gaurav Chhugani
Client Response Unit

Sent: Thursday, March 18, 2010 1:15 PM
To: ~ IN HeadCardServices
Cc: Joshi, Renu; [protected]@rbi.org.in
Subject: Re:Re: Re: Re: Cr Card Payment return and Cancellation of my credit card
ABN AMRO represetative,

Ref No: [protected]

I have not been updated about your action regarding the cheque issued by me which is still unused and in your custody. Instead of that your tele-callers are disturbing me again and again for last one week and asking for a fresh payment.

Also ABN AMRO has sent me a new statement of Rs. 17182.18 which is erroneous.

In your previous mail you informed me abot reversal of cheque return fee ,reversal of finance charges and reversal of late fee. In new statement again a late fee of Rs. 650/- and finance charge of Rs. 528.90 is charged.

The late fee and finance charge is irrelevant and I will not pay that as I issued and dropped the cheque much before the due date (issuing date: 22 nd Jan 2010, due date: 27th jan 2010).

Since the cheque is unused and in your custody I will not issue a fresh cheque.

After my last payment I used the card once for payment of a bill amonting Rs. 1404/-. Also I had a cash back balance of Rs. 2024. So you can adjust the amounof Rs. 1404 with my cash back balance and arrange for a refund of the remaining amount (Rs. 620/-).

Copy sent to renu.[protected]@in.abnamro.comb
[protected]@rbi.org.in

I dont understand why is my cheque kept unused and you calimed it bounced!!
Solve the case earliest and cancel/close my card. Otherwise it it will be resolved legally.

With Warm Regards,
Prof CHINMOY SAHA
[protected]@ieee.org
Department of ECE,
Heritage Institute of TECHNOLOGY, Jadavpur University (Visiting)
Re: Re:Re: Re: Re: Cr Card Payment return and Cancellation of my credit card
Friday, March 19, 2010 5:02 PM
From: "[protected]@in.abnamro.com" <[protected]@in.abnamro.com>
View contact details
To: "chinmoy saha" <[protected]@yahoo.com>

Dear Mr. Saha,

We refer to your email dated March 18, 2010.

We would like to inform you that the cheque number 343856 for Rs. 16655.00 was returned unpaid by your bank with the reason "16 Digit A/C No. Required".

We are arranging to dispatch the said cheque to your preferred mailing address. You will receive the same shortly.

We have reversed the cheque return fee of Rs. 500.00, late fee of Rs. 650.00 and finance charge of Rs. 212.06 along with associated service tax. The credits have been applied to the March 2010 statement.

We regret that we are unable to reverse the late fee and finance charge levied in the March 2010 statement.

The total outstanding on your card account as on March 19, 2010 is Rs. 17182.18. We request you to pay your card outstanding immediately to avoid further accrual of charges.

Arundhati Chatterjee
Service Delivery - Credit Cards
To ABN AMRO representative,

Reference number [protected]

I have not yet received my cheque . Send my cheque in the following address as early as possible:

Prof. Chinmoy Saha
ABHIBASAR
FLAT NO-3
121/24/A Purbachal Kalitala Road
Kolkara-78
West Bengal

Also reply to my last mail.

With Warm Regards,
Prof. CHINMOY SAHA
[protected]@ieee.org
Heritage Institute of TECHNOLOGY, Jadavpur University(Visiting)
Re: Re:Re: Re: Re: Cr Card Payment return and Cancellation of my credit card
Thursday, March 25, 2010 1:49 PM
From: "[protected]@in.abnamro.com" <[protected]@in.abnamro.com>
View contact details
Dear Mr.Saha,

We refer to your email dated March 25, 2010.

We wish to inform you that your request to return the cheque has been referred to concerned unit. We will update you shortly regarding the status of the same.

Vilma Lobo
Service Delivery-Credit Cards.

Your a teacher and still you used i sticked to my point. There is no word as "sticked"..You should have written i STUCK to my points.

You write books, you should know basic english.

Anyway you should forward this mail to

meera.[protected]@in.abnamro.in
meera.[protected]@rbs.com

She would help you out..
Hey its looks like fraud. They will ask your card details. Pl don't give. they are telling that they are calling from Delhi but they speaking local Tamil. Also the number is from Chennai.

ABN AMRO
    Customer satisfaction rating Customer satisfaction rating is a complex algorithm that helps our users determine how good a company is at responding and resolving complaints by granting from 1 to 5 stars for each complaint and then ultimately combining them all for an overall score.
    57%
    ABN AMRO Phone
    +91 11 2370 2555
    ABN AMRO Address
    Hansalaya Building 15, Barakhamba Road, New Delhi, Delhi, India - 110001
    View all ABN AMRO contact information