[Resolved]  ABN AMRO Credit Card — Threatening phone calls

I have taken ABN AMRO Bank credit card 5 years back which is free for first 1 year to try.
After 1 year, I called up customer care to close the card after clearing the dues. And they said they did!
But still I used get statements every month showing annual fee due payment.
And I used to call every 15 days to make sure that my card is closed.
First time, I was told that I need not worry and everything is fine.
Second time, I was asked to cut the card into two pieces and drop in the dropbox. I did!
and after that I did not get statements.

But after 1 year, real pain started, I am getting calls twice and thrice in a year asking me to pay some amount to REALLY close the card OTHERWISE my name will be in defaulters list.

These calls will strech for even 1 hour sometime because I had to tell them years old story.
And after listening to my story I hear only statement, Sir please pay just 50% of the due, we will close the card.

I have to idea what to do because I have no document as evidence against them.

Please help me.

From,
Sanjay Kumar Gupta
Contact No. [protected]
e-Mail ID [protected]@dataone.in

[protected]@qtplt.com

Now you are spoiling our relationship by your negative response regarding reversal o[censored]njustified charges.

Plesae note that it has been agreed by you that nothing will be charged on account of membership fee which you can verify from your past records.

Please also note that late payment has been levied by you for 1 or 2days delay in making payment which happened due to return of cheque. You can verify from your records that earlier cheque has never been reversed except this case. It has also been agreed by you at the time of informing me towards return of cheque that if I deposit cash immediately then nothing will be charged on account of late fee. Inspite of making cash payment on the same day as you have advised, you have charged late payment which is quite ridiculous.

It is quite clear that you are not fulfilling your comittment which will spoil our relationship .

You are also giving unncessary excuse that you are not able to contact me at the number registered with you. My contact number is same i.e. [protected] on which you may contact me between 11 A.M. to 6.30 P.M.

Please resolve this matter at the earliest and arrange to reverse all unjustified charges as mentioned in my earlier e-mail to ensure our better relationship .

Thaking you,

(Sanjay Kumar Gupta)

----- Original Message -----

To: Sanjay Kumar Gupta

Sent: Wednesday, September 23, 2009 6:33 PM

Subject: Re: Fw: reversal of charges

Dear Mr.Gupta,

We refer to your email dated September 19, 2009.

We regret we have been unable to establish contact with you at the numbers registered with us to clarify regarding the Membership fee. Please let us know any alternate number and a suitable time to contact you so that we can resolve your complaint at the earliest.

Please note that late fees are levied due to non payment of at least minimum amount due within payment due date. The finance charges are levied due to non payment of total outstanding within payment due date.

We regret we will not be able to reverse the Late fee and Finance charges charged on your Card account.

We wish to inform you that with effect from July 18th 2008, an amount of Rs 75.00 has been levied to the Credit Card account as fee for all cash deposits made in branches for Credit card payments.

The same had been communicated through the June card statement and also on the reverse of the monthly credit card statements and the Tariff of charges available on the Bank's website .

We therefore regret we will no be able to reverse the cash deposit fee charged on your card account.

You can also opt for any of the following payment modes which make payment making process simpler and hassle free for you.

If you have an ABN AMRO Bank account you can call up the Bank By Phone for a credit card payment over the phone or access net banking to make payments through the net by just logging on to https://cards.abnamro.co.in

You can also visit our website to download forms for providing us with instructions for Auto debit (for ABN account holders), or for availing Electronic Clearing Services (ECS).

Kindly note, incase you are an existing ABN AMRO Savings Bank Account holder you can call our Bank by Phone Executives to place standing instructions for your monthly card payments.

You may also avail the NEFT (National Electronic Funds Transfer) Facility. For making payments through NEFT, access NetBanking of the bank from where you wish to transfer the money and add your ABN AMRO Credit Card number as a beneficiary to receive the funds transferred. Ensure ABN AMRO Bank's IFSC code is ABNA0200001 & start making online payments towards ABN Amro card.

Please note the cheque return fee is levied as per the Tariff of charges shared in the Most Important Terms & Condition which is sent to you at the time of dispatch of the card and on the reverse of the monthly physical statement.

We regret we will not be able to reverse the fees levied.

We request you to pay as per the monthly statement before the Payment due date to avoid further charges.

You may also quote the reference number [protected], in case you need any further clarification on the above resolution.

Please feel free to write back to us for any further clarifications in this regard or call our 24-hour Bank by Phone service in your city and our executive will be glad to assist you.

Assuring you of our best services.

Vilma Lobo

Vilma Lobo
Client Response Unit

QUICK TIP
********************************************************************************...
Register for MasterCard SecureCode and get added security of a unique password for your internet transactions at MasterCard SecureCode enabled online merchants.
********************************************************************************...
Why wait for a physical statement when it is also available just a click away! Enjoy Simple & Hassle free banking by just Registering on Cardsonline and view statements upto 6 months Get FREE statements on email by just registering your email ID with us
Call 24 Hours Bank By Phone to subscribe for FREE SMS Alerts
You may also avail the NEFT (National Electronic Funds Transfer) Facility. For making payments through NEFT, access NetBanking of the bank from where you wish to transfer the money and add your ABN AMRO Credit Card number as a beneficiary to receive the funds transferred.
Access this URL to view the Bank by Phone numbers in your city - http://www.abnamro.co.in/consumer/directbankingservices/phone_bank.html

Sanjay Kumar Gupta <[protected]@dataone.in>

09/18/2009 10:02 PM

To: [protected]@in.abnamro.com
cc: ABN AMRO BANK <[protected]@in.abnamro.com>
Subject: Fw: reversal of charges

Dear Sirs,

Despite my several e-mails and your assurance regarding reversal of certain charges, I regret to inform you that till now reversal of certain charges has not been done by you. As a result of this, I have faced lot of harassments.

I am sending hereunder all my earlier e-mails along with your reply which are self explanatory.

Please note that I have been assured by you over phone several times that reversal o[censored]nnecessary charges will be given at the earliest. But I failed to understand that why it has not yet been done.

Now I am not in a position to bear any delay and if reversal will not be given at the earliest, it will compel me to become defaulter for making payment against your next ststement.

You are therefore requested to look in to the matter and arrange to reverse all unnecessary charges without any further delay under intimation to me,

Thaking you,

(Sanjay Kumar Gupta)
To: ABN AMRO BANK
Cc: [protected]@in.abnanro.com
Sent: Thursday, August 27, 2009 9:04 PM
Subject: reversal of charges

Please note that it has been agreed earlier that nothing will be charged on account of membership fee. You can also verify from your records that nothing has been charged on account of membership fee in the past.

As regards late fee, please note that as soon as I have been informed by your your helpline regarding return of cheque and as advised by your helpline to deposit the outstanding amount in cash to avoid any late fee, I have immediately deposited outstanding amount in cash without any delay. But I am shocked that despite your assurance, you have cgarged late fee.

As regards charges of Rs. 500/- towards return of cheque, please note you have charged in an unjustified manner wheras all other Banks charge Rs. 100/- only on this account.

Despite my several e-mails you have not yet arranged to reverse the charges as mentioned above and it will spoil our relationship and compel me to bocome defaulter as because I am not in a position to bear your unjustifieed charges.

Under the circumstances, you are hereby requested to reverse the following charges at the earliest.

20.06.09 Membership fee Rs. 595/-
10.07.09 Excess charge of RET CHQ
Handling fee 400/-
13.07.09 Cash Deposit Fee 75/-
15.07.09 Late fee 650/-
20.07.09 Finance charge 167/90
20.07.09 Service Tax 194/45

(Sanjay Kumar Gupta)

Sent: Saturday, August 22, 2009 10:57 AM
Subject: Fw: Fw: reversal of charges

Dear Mr. Gupta,

This is with reference to your email dated August 16, 2009.

We wish to inform you that we have taken note of your request regarding membership fees and the same has been forwarded to the concerned department. We will arrange to have you contacted shortly.

We would like to inform you that the cheque number 680049 for Rs. 2, 500.00 was returned due to the reason “Insufficient Funds".

We would also like to confirm that we are in receipt of the payment Rs 2, 700.00 dated July 13, 2009 towards your ABN AMRO card account.

We wish to inform you that with effect from July 18th, 2008, an amount of Rs 75/- has been levied to the Credit Card account as fee for all cash deposits made in branches for Credit card payments .

The same had been communicated through the June card statement and also on the reverse of the monthly credit card statements and the Tariff of charges available on the Bank's website.

We therefore regret we will no be able to reverse the cash deposit fee and cheque return fees debited on your card account.

You can drop your payments at least 4 days prior to the Payment Due Date at any of the more than 2000 drop boxes available in India. The exhaustive list of drop boxes is available on our website www.abnamro.co.in

If you have an ABN AMRO Bank account you can call up the Bank By Phone for a credit card payment over the phone or access net banking to make payments through the net by just logging on to https://cards.abnamro.co.in

You can also visit our website to download forms for providing us with instructions for Auto debit (for ABN account holders), or for availing Electronic Clearing Services (ECS).

Kindly note, incase you are an existing ABN AMRO Savings Bank Account holder you can call our Bank by Phone Executives to place standing instructions for your monthly card payments.

Please note that all credit card payments are to be made by a personal cheque or a demand draft drawn on a bank favouring “AAB Credit Card No. -------.

You may also avail the NEFT (National Electronic Funds Transfer) Facility. For making payments through NEFT, access NetBanking of the bank from where you wish to transfer the money and add your ABN AMRO Credit Card number as a beneficiary to receive the funds transferred. Ensure ABN AMRO Bank's IFSC code is ABNA0200001 & start making online payments towards ABN Amro card.

We would like to inform you that late fees are levied due to non payment of at least minimum amount due within payment due date.

We would also like to clarify that interest on any retail transaction is levied if the total outstanding is not paid within due date. This is calculated from the date of transaction until the total amount is fully repaid.

Please be advised that the total outstanding as per the statement date June 20, 2009 was Rs. 2, 834.37 and the due date was July 10, 2009. However we have received payment for the amount of Rs. 2, 700.00 on July 13, 2009. Hence late fees and finance charges have been levied on the same.

Therefore we express our inability to reverse late fees and finance charges debited on your card account.

You may also quote the reference number [protected], in case you need any further clarification on the above resolution.

Please feel free to write back to us for any further clarifications in this regard or call our 24-hour Bank by Phone service in your city and our executive will be glad to assist you.

Vimal Rana
Client Response Unit

QUICK TIP
Register for MasterCard SecureCode and get added security of a unique password for your internet transactions at MasterCard SecureCode enabled online merchants.
Why wait for a physical statement when it is also available just a click away! Enjoy Simple & Hassle free banking by just Registering on Cardsonline and view statements upto 6 months Get FREE statements on email by just registering your email ID with us
You may also avail the NEFT (National Electronic Funds Transfer) Facility. For making payments through NEFT, access NetBanking of the bank from where you wish to transfer the money and add your ABN AMRO Credit Card number as a beneficiary to receive the funds transferred.
Access this URL to view the Bank by Phone numbers in your city - http://www.abnamro.co.in/consumer/directbankingservices/phone_bank.html

15/08/2009 07:47 PM

cc:
Subject: Fw: Fw: reversal of charges

This is to in reference to your e-mail dated 14th August, 2009.

Please note that my exisiting contact no. is same i.e. [protected] as registered with you earlier.

please solve the matter at the earliest.
Sent: Friday, August 14, 2009 12:34 PM
Subject: Re: Fw: reversal of charges

Dear Mr. Gupta,

This is with reference to your email dated August 13, 2009.

We have been unable to establish contact with you at the numbers registered with us. We request you to provide us with your existing contact details so that we can get in touch with you to provide a resolution to your concerns.

Client Response Unit

QUICK TIP

08/13/2009 10:19 PM

cc:
Subject: Fw: reversal of charges

I have not yet received your reply for my e-mail dated 02/08/09 regardinding reversal of charges.

Please note that you have assured me vide your e-mail dated 02/08/209, Ref. No. [protected] that you will confirm me within 5 working days regarding reversal of charges. But I regret to inform you that till now I have not received any reply from your end.

i am again sending hereunder my earlier e-mail dated 02/08/09 which is self explanatory.

Please doi the needful without any further delay.

Thaking you,

(Sanjay Kumar Gupta)
Sent: Sunday, August 02, 2009 1:56 PM
Subject: reversal of charges

Dated: 02 /08/09
From,
Sanjay Kumar Gupta
Contact No. [protected]
To e-Mail ID [protected]@dataone.in
Credit Card Division
ABN-AMRO Bank
Kolkata

Dear sirs,

Re: Credit Card No. [protected]

Further to my letter dated 7th July, 2009 you have not yet reversed membership fee Rs.595/- charged on 20th June, 2009. It has been agreed by you earlier that nothing will be charged on account of membership fee and you can verify from your records that it has never been charged in the past.

Please also note that in your statement dated 20th July, 2009 you have charged late fee Rs. 650/- and cheque returned fee rs. 500/-. In this connection, please note that my cheque has never been returned in the past which you can verify from your records. But unfortunately this time my cheque has been returned and I failed to understand the reason thereof. However, as soon as I have been informed by you regarding return of cheque, I have made payment in cash on 13th July, 2009 as advised by you.. In spite of assurance from you that nothing will be charged towards return of cheque if I make payment in cash immediately, I was shocked to see that you have charged late fee and cheque returned fee. Please note that my Bank (Central Bank) has already charged cheque returned fee Rs. 100/-. But you have charged Rs. 500/- towards cheque returned fee in an unjustified manner. At the most you can charge Rs. 100/- on this account as other Banks charge.

I also failed to understand that why you have charged cash deposit fee Rs. 75/- . Please note that I personally have deposited cash in your counter at your Brabourne Branch.

If you make unnecessary charges in an unjustified manner as mentioned above, I will be compelled to become defaulter for making payment against you credit card statement.

Under the circumstances, you are hereby requested to reverse the following charges.

20.06.09 Membership fee Rs. 595/-
10.07.09 Excess charge of RET CHQ
Handling fee 400/-
13.07.09 Cash Deposit Fee 75/-
15.07.09 Late fee 650/-
20.07.09 Finance charge 167/90
20.07.09 Service Tax 194.45

Pease do the needful at the earliest so that I can make payment against your credit card statement dated 20th July, 2009 within due date.

[protected][protected][protected][protected]
This message (including any attachments) is confidential and may be privileged. If you have received it by mistake please notify the sender by return e-mail and delete this message from your system. Any unauthorised use or dissemination of this message in whole or in part is strictly prohibited. Please note that e-mails are susceptible to change. ABN AMRO Bank N.V, which has its seat at Amsterdam, the Netherlands, and is registered in the Commercial Register under number 33002587, including its group companies, shall not be liable for the improper or incomplete transmission of the information contained in this communication nor for any delay in its receipt or damage to your system. ABN AMRO Bank N.V. (or its group companies) does not guarantee that the integrity of this communication has been maintained nor that this communication is free of viruses, interceptions or interference.

hi
i;m abn amro cradit card holder. my name is subhashini sharma but credit card showing subhushini sharma. pls carrect my name. and one thing, how to take reward point. my credit card no. is [protected]. My new cell no is [protected]. my land line no is[protected]

Subhashini Sharma
E 303 Saketdham sec 61
Noida UP 201 301

This is with reference to Card No. [protected]. Wish to bring to your kind notice that pertaining to last month's statement generation and subsequent payment I had to face huge unexpected hazards from your end.

FOR YOUR INFORMATION (HOPE YOU WILL SEE IN YOUR RECORDS) THAT TILL FEBRUARY' 10, I HAVE NOT FAILED TO MAKE ANY PAYMENT AND THAT TOO WELL WITHIN DUE DATE.

However, I am mentioning below all the issues & hazards pointwise which I have faced from your end till date:-

As per my normal payment schedule I was paying an amount of 2495/- (approx) every month well within due date. Suddenly in the March statement I saw that the minimum amount due increased to Rs.3080/- (approx) – When I asked your executive regarding this hike in the amount, I was informed that the interest rate has suddenly increased as per RBI rules and for that I am bound to pay the said amount – I am extremely SORRY that I have no information regarding this neither I have read in any newspaper article regarding this sudden hike instruction from RBI.

Due to some medical urgency of my wife I have to face a severe financial crunch this month. When I got the first call from your executive (Manpreet) regarding payment, I requested her to wait for 10 -12 days approx (mentioning the problem I had to face for this medical urgency) within which I can manage fund and I can make the payment. Inspite of all these I was told that I will be again called next day for payment follow up and IF I DONOT GET SUCH CONTINUOUS CALL FROM YOUR END – I WILL NOT GIVE PAYMENT...Under such family issues and after having such a good track record, Is this the appropriate behavior/comments a CUSTOMER expects from your end? Please understand being a customer I was not having any intuition for non-payment (repeatedly I told the same to your telecalling executives) after having a good relation with your bank for the last 5 – 6 years and moreover for this payment, I used to get minimum 6 calls per day on a regular basis.

However, as usual again I received a call from your end yesterday morning. I informed him to collect cash day after i.e. On Tuesday dt. 13.04.2010 since I will be able to manage cash on dt. 12 .04.2010 in late hours. After this, he started speaking some very offensive sentences like...”I don't know you have to make payment by Monday, Am I holding only ABN AMRO card since I have no clue regarding credit cards rules & regulation, I am doing fraudulent with bank, These are all false/fraud excuses I am putting up for not paying, I am doing all drama for not paying since I have zero fund and I am unable to make any payment etc etc.”

I have few questions on this regard:-

How can you conclude that your customer is fraud?

Can't your customer face bad times due to financial crunch (with proper intimation to you) and can pay taking some time who is having a good history of paying all within time for the last 5 – 6 years?

Even if any customer is paying late, the bank with full sanctity claim late payment charges...after which why a customer shall face such an offensive language from your executive?

However, I also work in service sector and in the same we believe that “CUSTOMER IS GOD” - Hope ABN AMRO dosen't believe in this !!!

If according to you a customer is fraud and a customer will not pay if not regular phone calls are made that too having a good relationship for long 5- 6 years – hope you will not be astonished if a customer is bound to move against you under this cirmunstances.

Please note for further contact regarding the same please contact my dealing person Mr. Khan [protected]

Sumit Sengupta

I have received plenty of calls from recovery department, for payment, asking me to pay 10 years old bill outstanding. When I requested for bill, no one took interest, later one lawyer Kapoor calls for settlement, another person Mr. Chauhan from Delhi called up, started abusing. I have decided to go to police.

Dinesh Singh
Hello sir

i have taken a loan on my abn amro credit card on 9/4/2008 loan no: [protected] at for 24 emi of Rs: 2570 i have paid all my emi regularly which abn amro excutive comes and collect from me every month. i have paid all my emi and also conformed through abn ambro exicutive through abn customer care . after 6 months i have got call that i have to pay Rs; 5000 more through cheqe for closing the loan a/c saying that i there due amount
when i asked them to send my complete loan ac details so that i can verify with my account if really any due is left i will pay because i have paid all my emi regularly through the cheque only except two in cash which reflected in my next statement send to me to the executive and also i have a paid Rs : 5000 Twice Insted of Rs 2570 so that my loan will be cleared soon. which is not reduced when i call they said that amount is adjusted for late payment. but i always made my payment on time to the executive ( who hold the id card and when ever he comes) first time when executive come for the collection i call the customer care for verification for the conformation. and i also lodged on line complaints on this matter complaint no :[protected] dated 4/7/09 for the request for statement executive name attended is pavani customer care t 5:15 p.m and also another complaint no 79960461 but there is there after i have not received any calls but. when i had last call to the customer care i have made my all my transaction detail which i made along with the date and the executive has conformed that all my emi ave cleared and this extra amount is due to late payment in the middle of the payment when said if anything like that i will be credited to my next statement so i need a clear explanation on that and i strongly recommended for the my loan a/c detail to my maid id there after i never got any call. immediately.
now after 3 year i am getting a threatening calls from this no's [protected] on 26/11/17 at 10:47 am and today from [protected] saying that some complaint was lodged i have to settle the matter by paying Rs Rs 50000 .
i have paid all my payment regularly without fail and also conformed with customer care before my final payment. so please suggest how do a settle this matter i have paid more than i actually have to pay to the bank . so please suggest me how do i over come with this problem
mary

ABN AMRO
    Customer satisfaction rating Customer satisfaction rating is a complex algorithm that helps our users determine how good a company is at responding and resolving complaints by granting from 1 to 5 stars for each complaint and then ultimately combining them all for an overall score.
    57%
    ABN AMRO Phone
    +91 11 2370 2555
    ABN AMRO Address
    Hansalaya Building 15, Barakhamba Road, New Delhi, Delhi, India - 110001
    View all ABN AMRO contact information