Show menu
Ask a Question FAQ Sign in

[Resolved]  Airtel — Airtel post paid GPRS charges

I was using the Airtel prepaid service for past few years.. One day there is a call received from Airtel Executive stating that there are several benefits by switch over from prepaid to post paid interims service with the same expenditure which is accruing approx Rs 300 as prepaid.

Phone no : [protected]
Package mentioned as shown below
Bill plan name : Ultra 299 plan
Monthly rental : Rs 299
SMS : 600 local and national SMS free
Talktime : 600 local airtel to airtel mobile free
Mobile 2G : 1 Gb free
Dynamic Credit limit : Rs 500
Date of activation : 27-Mar-2013
Date of bill Generation : 12 Apr 2013
Amount of Bill : Rs 4628

I had very good experience with prepaid service for past many years and felt that it will be good to switch over to post paid as explained by Airtel executive.

At the time of contacting airtel executive towards post paid migration from prepaid, I thought of switch over to post paid after one month due to following reasons

• I already recharged Internet data of 2GB few days back
• I already recharge 300 SMS pack
• There is talk time balance,,

However Ariel executive suggested migrate to post paid immediately as I am not going to loose any benefit of prepaid charge and assurance made following assurance made.

• Data of 2GB provided first month bill and there won’t be any additional changes for GPRS usage till 2 GB for first month bill
• Left over talk time balance will get transferred from prepaid balance to post paid balance.


Based on the assurance given by Ariel executive, I agreed to migrate to post paid and submitted concerned documents on 23th Mar 13 and activated the connection on 27th Mar 13.


Surprisingly I got the first month bill for 12 days only with the bill amount of Rs 4628.

Airtel post paid service is cheating the customers with wrong promises and putting in the loop of getting higher GPRS changes without customer knowledge..

Towards GPRS usage they have charged Rs 4418.00for the usage of less than 1 Gb.
As per the bill used only 0.674 GB ( 707260 kb) and calculated as per the prorate basis for 12 days eligibility data.

I would have happy used my 2Gb data which was already charged at the time of connection which was cost around Rs 250..


My concern is
1. Neither they have put 2 GB data plan nor they have transferred the 2GB data as promised by Airtel executive. Instead they have transferred only Rs 280 amount towards 2GB internet of prepaid change to facilitate them to make higher bill. I have made several mails and it has not resolved yet.

2. When there is a dynamic credit limit of Rs 500, why there is no intimation and also why it is allowed to use beyond the limit.
According to TRAI Act 1997 - Credit Limit for post-paid subscribers, when the usage of the subscriber reaches the credit limit set a notice is given and a time limit is given for making payment lest the services are debarred. On the failure of the subscriber in making timely payment or the usage exceeding the credit limit, the services are barred. My connection was neither barred nor did i get a call from Airtel on reaching my credit limit, which is really shocking.


Answer I get from the airtel people as shown below

I asked 3 questions to Airtel people and got reply as sown below

We wish to inform you that as per our policy guidelines, we regularly review the credit limit set for your account. The credit limit assigned to your account is modified at regular intervals on the basis of your usage pattern, payment pattern and tenure on the network. Also, we wish to inform you that the credit limit benefit is always beneficial for the customer so that he can make more usage and did not get any interruption in his services. airtel regrets the inconvenience you have experienced in this regard.We hope that we have been able to assist you suitably.


3. Customer can not anticipate charges towards GPRS at any point of time for Airtel Post paid.
Airtel people are taking advantage of this gap to generate huge amount towards GPRS and I feel they are indirectly cheating many of the Airtel post paid customers like this.


Final results
1. I have already paid the all bill amount except the excess bill generation
2. My number has got disconnected
3. Also threatening me to pay the Due amount, otherwise they are saying that my other airtel connections which currently using by my family will be disconnected.


My alternate contact number is : [protected]

It is clearly indicating that Airtel business is getting direct profit by cheating by wrong promises and wrong bills.

Kindly requesting concern authority to look in to the problem and resolve the issue as early as possible,,

Also requesting concern authority to improve the current system to avoid such cheating by Airtel
Complaint marked as Resolved 2018-04-22 12:29:07
issue resolve long back.. Kindly remove this post from consumer complaints
Complaint comments  26 CommentsShare0Tweet0

Comments

Airtel Postpaid Connection — Over Charge For Using Internet

I was using an Airtel Connection from July 07 till Dec 07. The company over charged me Rs.3000 (approx.) for using internet services. Firstly, I never asked them to activate this internet plan on my connection but they just did it and informed me that I can go ahead using unlimited internet for just Rs.99 per month, so I thought ok lets use it. At the end of the month they send me a bill of Rs.6400 (approx.) and then they justify it by saying that I’ve used a wrong gateway. Now this is something very technical. I should have used Mobile Office instead of Airtel Live as a gateway for accessing internet. Now how do a common man should know about it because the company sends us the internet settings and we just have to save it as it is and start using it, at least that's what they say.
After this whole episode I ran after them, from their call centres to their offices to everywhere just to settle my bill but they just refused to do that. They asked me to write me a mail, I did that also but nothing happened. It took me about 15 days to get a new connection and for those 15 days the loss of time, my duties, the stress and humiliation was unbearable, but I managed to overcome.
Now, after nearly four months passed, the company gets back to me they threat me abuse me and not only that, they've started calling my friends and family and misbehaved with them also. I m still saying I'm ready to pay the amount which is liable but they are not in a mood compromise as they are still overcharging me.
Sorry i forgot to mention the considered mobile number i.e [protected]
Billing in the month of March, 2008 was too high amount

Post Paid — humiliated by your executive

Dear Sir,
I am using 02 airtel post paid connection [protected], [protected], last saturday i got humiliated by your executive Zenith in airtel kadavathra office, so iam planning to change my connecton on tuesday, pls do the needful

Rregards
Vinesh

Airtel — GPRS 299

Dear Sir,

My mobile no. is [protected](ludhiana, punjab). I have applied for the scheme of internet(GPRS 299)on my mobile but after getting five references no. from[protected],[protected],[protected],[protected],[protected] it si still not activated. kindly look into the matter as soon as possible.

Regards,
Dinesh Kumar
[protected]

Airtel Postpaid — gprs

To

Airtel coustomer care




Sir,

On dated 20th oct 08 I applied for new connection for GPRS at SCO 28 SEC 11 Panchkula (haryana). Issuing agent was
Mr. Dheeraj. He assure me that your connection will be activated in 2 hrs but my conncetion was activated on dated 26th
oct 08 after giving continuous reminder to mr Dheeraj & to his senior Mr Sandeep & Mr Sanddep Assure me that we
will waiver your 5 day amount.
Sir, on dated 13 nov 08 my GPRS conncetion was deactivated . Regarding this I complain to mr Dheeraj & Mr Rajesh.
They take my alternate no & assure me that your problem will resolve in two days. Again after continuous reminder they
sent a mail to Mr anil saini & Mr jitander regarding this problem on 21 nov 08 & on same day Mr Sandeep assure me
that on Monday (24 nov 08) your problem will be solved & we will wavier you of non working days.
On Tuesday 25nov 08 when I talk again to Mr sandeep & Mr. jitander regarding this problem they told me that it will take
more time. After that I said them to disconnect my connection & give me wavier . then they misbehave with me & refuse to
give waiver. they said that they are not authorized to give waiver .& you can talk to anybody.


Finally I talk to customer care on 26 nov 08 time 16:50, executive name AMIT & register my complain i.e.[protected]


Sir, I wana to kanow that who is responsible for my working hours which I lost due to your dealing persons ( Dheeraj,
Sandeep & Jitander ) & who is going to paid for my harassment .

Sir, this kind of behavior & fake commitment to customer will create bad image of Your Company.

Sir, kindly block my GPRS connection immediately.

Pl do the needfull.

Details are as follows:-
Mob No:- [protected]
A/C No:[protected]
Owner Name:- Vishant Mehta

Issuing Date:- 20/09/08
Activation Date:- 26/09/08
Deactivated on :- 12/11/08
Verbal complain on :-13/11/08
Verbal complain to :- Dheeraj & Sandeep
Mail Send on :- 21/11/08
Send to :- Anil saini & Jitander
Provided Date to Solve the problem :- 24/1108
Disconncetion request given on :- 25/11/08
Register Complain to customer care :- 26/11/08 at 16:50 by amit

My alternate no [protected]

Airtel Prepaid Connection — less credit of amount on e-charge

there was a message flashing on my number on 04.12.08 that I can get full Rs.444 credit against recharge of Rs.444/-. Hence to avail the benefit I asked two Rs.444/- (total Rs.888/-) recharge from the M/S Raheja Mobiles, Ghaziabad but after e-charge I got amount of Rs.790.32 only i.e. less by an amount of Rs.97.68/-.I also sent a SMS message to No.121 but received no answer.The full credit scheme is available upto 09.12.08.MY MOBILE NO. IS [protected]

R C Verma
Superintendent
Service Tax
sir please send me gprs setting on my num
sir

i was using internet free of cost by my no. [protected] on spice D90 from 2 weeks
but one i thought i should be registor, then i send sms on 52818 (NPA) FOR activation of mobile internet and i got registration . but for getting internet settings i sms on 52567 (NOP) BUT I din't get any setting . when i called to customer care they said your hand set is not able to operate our service .
i don't understand that my handset is gprs enabled even then .
i want to know that what is the actual problem
i think i wast my Rs7000.00 on mobile .
please help sir

please


please

thank
yashwant

Airtel — MISGUIDED THE CUSTOMER THROUGH SMS

ON 11 TH JUNE 2009 I HAVE GOT SMS "Rs53=Rs250 Recharge with only Rs53 and send Rs250 worth FREE Local/STD/ISD/SMS for a period of 30 days.Visit your Airtel outlet to recharge with Rs53 today!"
which simple means if you recharge with Rs53 you got Rs250 worth FREE Local/STD/ISD calls and SMS for a period of 30 days.

BUT ON 12TH JUNE AFTER RECHARGE WITH Rs53 the customercare executive said that "Sir, this offers only for local STD & ISD calls & sms and u can't make local calls"
WHICH CAN'T EXPLAINABLE BY THEIR SMS.THEY JUST MISGUIDED THEIR CUSTOMER


SO, MY HUMBLE REQUEST TO THE RESPONSIBLE AUTHORITY PLEASE TAKE SOME NECESSARY STEPS AGAINST THIS MISGUIDED SMS BY WHICH ONLY CUSTOMER SUFFERS.

Airtel — Wrong Commitment GPRS Charges

Hi,
My Name is Raj, as took the no from Airtel, where as I am getting a kind of harrasment from the service providers and customer care by ignoreing the complaints.
As when I booked the connection from airtel hub hubsiguda hyd, the sale person has given the commitment that there is no chargerges been applicable for GPRS browsing but once I got the bill I came to know that even browsing been charged...for the same I have given no of complaints where i am not getting any resolutions..

I request all the up coming costomers be aware of air tel guys and commitments.....

Airtel — Incorrect Airtel Live Charges

Hi,


This is a Complaint against Airtel. As i see there are already 9719 complaints registered against this company. Airtel indules in fraudulent means to charge consumers for 'Airtel Live' services, specially when they are on roaming. They have done the same with me and incorrectly charged me large amounts of money inspite of the fact that i have never used Airtel live. I have been raising this complain several times with their customer care, nodal officer and appellate authority.. but these are all useless. Not only should these charges br reversed, but strict measures should be taken against this company so that they do not indulge in such malpractises and harrass consumers.

Airtel Postpaid Connection — Incorrect Charges for GPRS

Airtel Number - [protected] - For the month of aug 2010, I am wrongly charged for GPRS while I did not even use the services.

Since first week of August I was receiving some Internet Browser Upload and Download messages on my airtel number wherein I was not using the services as well. On 7th August I lodged a complaint (Reference no[protected] with Airtel Customer Care for stopping the GPRS services and various message being received by me daily for the Internet Browsed.

On receipt of the subsequent bill I found that I was being charged absorbently for the Internet charges. There were number of times the GPRS charges being lieved in the bill on a particular days starting from 1 Aug to 5th August 2010 right from morning 8 to midnite 12, these being the Office working days when no body in such busy world have the time to speak to the family as well, AIRTEL records showed that I was constantly on AIRTEL LIVE. When I personally visited the Customer Centre on 12th Aug 2010, it was informed to me that the GPRS charges was stopped being leived to me since 7th August after I lodged a complaint with them, which proves that the ERROR was on there part. The OTC staff did not provide me with any solution and infact they did not even made an effort to look in to the case. I was asked to speak on 888 wherein I spoke to Mr Nandan Naik (Team Lead for Grievance Department) for approx 45-50 mins. He just kept repeating one thing that I need to pay the bill whatever is the amount as their system was showing such services being used.

I tried explaining him but he failed to understand and provide an appropriate solution. At last I made him make a request register with him for the case (Request No 33547435 dated 12.08.2010), in order to get an appropriate solution from an alternate PRO as he failed providing the solution. I really think AIRTEL needs to revamp its customer grievance handling system at the earliest.

I would really want a solution over my problem as I am not ready paying of[censored]nnecessary charges being levied on me.

Airtel — over cost taking

all most all mobile networks in india is very big fraud...they r taking unecessary money without giving any proper reason...if we complaint to customer care means...simply tell telling that they don't no...


for this all network company can take beg near to the temple...almost all vl put atleast 0.10 or 0.20 paise.. sure...

Airtel — I am paying higher for lesser benefits where as my friend pays less with more benefits

Dear Sir,

Yesterday when i was discussing on my friend on the payment to airtel he told me that he was paying only 499rs for unlimited download, where as i am paying 599rs for limited download that is 3GB, so went to enquire the customer care the people where telling that this cannot be granted to me because i have paid 6 months of my basic payment in advance and also after 6 months, and also sir when i contacted the customer care even her tone was different it seems she belong to retention department named arthi, i am literally regretted by them, sir please suggest me what to do.

Regards,
R. Sarath Babu

Airtel — GPRS BENEFIT NOT GIVEN

MY No. is [protected]
airtel anounced 2GB day & 2GB night usage on recharge of 98.00 rupees but 2GB for night use not given by the company. I comlaint the customer care more than five times but company not gave any response of my complaint. Now if I call customer care, they cut my call without any answer everytime.
Please solve my problem as soon as possible.
THANK YOU

AirTel — over cost

hello sir..
in before airtel live they gave free service..but now they r taking 20kbps/30 paise...its very bad....so airtel is beggar company to do tis?
i have got an message that you win 5, 00, 000 in cocacoal mobile draw on my mobile number plz send me a request for my phne([protected])

Airtel — Credit of amount from prepaid to postpaid migration

My Name is Vikas Kumar and i am using Airtel Mobile No. [protected] since November 2008.and last week i had migrated from Airtel prepaid to Airtel post paid servicess.
On the same day of migration i rechaged my number with Rs. 99 plan of Airtel, in which they having full talk time value.
But during the credit of old balnce from prepaid account to post paid account, Airtel prepaid credit only Rs. 7.16/- while this should be > then Rs. 90/-
When i inquired with airtel post paid section they replied that they can't do any thing, i have to enquire with prepaid section, when i aproch with prepaid section they told that your balance would be in a different account so are unable to switch this account with main account, and said sorry with no solution of giving my money.

I want to ask with airtel company that i don't have personal accont with airtel only airtel having so much accont for balance, then why they are unable to give me the money ?

And i want to know from airtel if they can take the money then why they are unable to give back the money, ultimately costomer is giving the money to Airtel ?

Please register my compalint againt Airtel for frauding with costomers.

Plaese do the needful.

Regards,

Vikas Kumar
[protected]

Airtel — Extra Data Uses Charged in bill amount

Hi,

I have taken a airtel broadband connection on 3 Aug 2011 and they(Airtel) are genrate bill on 10 aug 2011 of Rs. 819 for 7 days i have plan of 649/Month 3 GB. i have hardly used 600-700 Mb in thes 7 days and they are showing more than 3 GB that are totally unfair. I have compained so many times on airtel customer care about my issue of extra charges added but they dont give any proper respose to me. please provide me solution of this problem.

Pankaj gupta

Post your Comment

    I want to submit Complaint Positive Review Neutral Comment
    code
    Customer satisfaction rating
    47%
    Complaints
    43548
    Pending
    0
    Resolved
    19561
    Airtel Phone
    +91 96 6339 5551
    +91 11 4266 6500 [Head Office]
    +91 11 4666 6100 [Head Office]
    Airtel Address
    20, Sarakki Main Road, JP Nagar 1st Phase, Bangalore, Karnataka, India - 560078