Show menu
Close
FAQ FAQ Categories Categories Sign in Sign in
Close
ADVERTISEMENT

[Resolved]  ICICI — illegal debits at siliguri branch such as fake note/mutilated note/short tender note

Dear Sir,

This is to inform you that my father Sri. Surya Kumar Malpani, Son of Late Rameshwarlal Malpani, opened a current account being no.[protected] in the name of his firm ‘Cell Hub’ with the Siliguri Branch of ICICI Bank Limited. My father is physically handicapped and is suffering from permanent disability of 75%. I look after his business.

We had business transaction with said bank from June 2006 to September 2007. But eventually we had to stop banking transactions due to various irregularities and deficiency in service along with offences committed by the bank officials.

On 12th July 2006, an amount of Rs.40, 000/- was deposited and the said amount was duly credited in the account. However, subsequently an amount of Rs.100/- was debited from the account with a remark Short Tender. On enquiring about the matter, the Branch Manager told that the money deposited was less by Rs.100/-. There were few such other instances in that month where money deposited were credited to the satisfaction of the branch and then certain amounts were debited on such baseless pretext. On 16.09.2006 an amount of Rs.3, 50, 000/- was deposited and the same was accepted by the bank and thereafter duly credited. However later on it was found that a debit of Rs.100/- was made on the ground of ‘Forged Note’. The account was debited only after accepting the cash to their satisfaction and crediting the same in the account. None of the fake currency notes or mutilated notes as claimed by the Bankers were ever shown to us or returned. By the month of November 2006 an amount of Rs.3, 500/- was debited from the account after making due credit entries.

On 18.12.2006 a letter was issued to the Bank requesting him to return the currency notes with sufficient evidence that the same were tendered by us. After a long wait of few months nothing was done but the illegal debits were being carried on. When asked about the same, Sri Amit Dalmia the then Branch Manager told that the officer in the counter is so busy that he cannot check the authenticity of each note so it was sorted later. It was pointed to him that once any cash is deposited in a bank, and the same is credited to the account, any discrepancy regarding those currency notes cannot be brought up later. If anything has to be objected regarding the currency notes being deposited, it has to be done at the counter itself. Moreover we requested him to return or at least show the impugned currency note with the proof that it was deposited by us. On hearing this Sri Amit Dalmia became furious and told us to leave in an insulting way and stated that he knows banking more than us. Many of the debits after depositing money and crediting the same was made on grounds of torn/mutilated notes. But the fact remains that none of such notes as claimed by the Branch Manager Sri Amit Dalmia was detected and objected at the counter.

On 26th July 2007 an amount of Rs.1000/- was debited on the pretext of “FAKE NOTE 500*1 / 100*5 IRREGULAR NOTE” after making due credit entries. Subsequently on 17th August 2007 an amount of Rs.1600/- was cheated from us on such frivolous ground. We requested Sri Amit Dalmia, the Branch Manager to look into the matter personally and rectify the discrepancy. Sri Amit Dalmia told us that the request made by us was under process. But nothing was done on his behalf and money deposited was almost on a regular basis debited by some amount after the deposited money was credited to the account. By the month of September 2007 an amount of Rs.20, 500/- (Rupees twenty thousand five hundred) only was already taken out from the account in similar fashion and finally we had to stop transaction with the bank. After each and every occasion of such debit, Sri Amit Dalmia was asked to rectify his mistake and rectify the account but Sri Amit Dalmia the Branch Manager having no regard for law kept on misappropriating our hard earned money on baseless, unreasonable grounds contrary to the law laid by the Reserve Bank of India. We used to deposit the money which used to be credited accordingly and thereafter our account used to be debited and we never got trace of what happened to that money. It clearly shows that the Branch Manager, Sri Amit Dalmia along with others have taken out the money of the customers, converted the same to his own use and then debited the account of the customers on baseless grounds. Even after a long endeavour and numerous requests, for about a year Sri Amit Dalmia did not respond to our requests and grievances. Finding no other alternative on 26.07.2008, lawyer’s notice was sent to the Branch Manger Sri Amit Dalmia, Sri Harish Joshi, the Cluster Branch Manager, Siliguri, and copies were sent to Sri Surajit Roy Choudhury the Regional Head of Branch Banking and Sri Sumit Mehrotra, the Zonal Head. But still there was no response in the mater. Finally on 17.08.2008 a reminder was sent to Sri Amit Dalmia, Branch Manager. At this Sri Amit Dalmia sent a reply dated 19.08.2008 providing an excuse that the cashier is not in a position to check the currency notes, thereby admitting his offence

We had entrusted our money in the custody of the Bank and Sri Amit Dalmia, Sri Harish Joshi and others being the bankers have misappropriated our funds and broken our trust by cheating us of our hard earned money deposited with them. In a transaction period of about 1(one) year only, we have been cheated for an amount of Rs.20, 500/- (Rupees twenty thousand five hundred) only. In these circumstances it is apprehended that Sri Amit Dalmia, Sri Harish Joshi with the consent and connivance of other culprits are running a racket of misappropriating the customers’ funds on such baseless and preposterous grounds the amount of which may be insurmountable. Sri Amit Dalmia along with the other culprits has cheated us of our hard earned money. The culprits are dangerous in nature and have no regard for the law and are misappropriating the funds of the customers openly.

I therefore request you to kindly look into the matter.

Yours faithfully,

Manish Malpani
Malpani katra, Railgate No-1, Siliguri-734005
(M)- [protected] (O[protected]R[protected]
ADVERTISEMENT
Complaint marked as Resolved Aug 14, 2020
Complaint comments  2 CommentsShareTweet

Comments

Icici Bank, Sevoke road, siliguri,
Give me this Branch's Code?
Today I am facing same problem, they deducted my money with transaction code DTFL saying fake notes, any updates?? please share. thanks.

Post your Comment

    I want to submit Complaint Positive Review Neutral Comment
    code
    ICICI Bank
    Customer Care Service
    Customer satisfaction rating
    63%
    Complaints
    16707
    Pending
    1242
    Resolved
    9672
    ICICI Bank Phone
    +91 22 2653 1414
    ICICI Bank Address
    ICICI Bank Towers, Bandra-Kurla Complex, Mumbai, Maharashtra, India - 400051
    View Full Information
    ADVERTISEMENT