Show menu
Ask a Question FAQ Sign in

[Resolved]  Lenovo 3000 N100 — Laptop Battery

Hi,

I purchased a Lenovo brand new 3000 N100 Laptop in November 2006. Product ID: 0768A35
In Jan 2008, one day the battery of my laptop suddenly konded off. Before it stopped working completely it used to gie me about 2.5 hours of backup. As the warranty was only for 1 year, so nobody at Lenovo (Call Center and all serice stations) is actually listening. They only have one standard statement, "If it is out of Warranty, You have to buy a new battery costing Rs. 6, 800/-)
In few of the forums I saw that lots of customers had similar complaint with this series of Lenoo Laptops. I doubt like others if they have pre-programmed that the battery will stop working after the warranty of 1 year gets expired.
Obviously Lenovo does not sell laptops saying that the Battery will not last for even 2 years. It is not about Warranty not actie, but the real issue is the product has to function properly even after warranty. Nobody would buy a laptop if we need to invest on battery every 14-16 months.

Im trying if someone can help. If nothing works I may even File a Lawsuit against Lenovo under Consumer Court.

Thanks
Vivek Rao
+91-[protected]
Bangalore
Complaint marked as Resolved Aug 14, 2020
Complaint comments  152 CommentsShareTweet

Comments

Hi Guys,

i would request you to read this article and hope yur battery will get replaced like mine

http://www-307.ibm.com/pc/support/site.wss/document.do?sitestyle=lenovo&lndo...

Thanks and Regards,
Vivek Rao
+91-[protected]

Lenovo Laptop Battery — Battery Warranty

Hi

I have purchased a Lenova Laptop in Nov 2006, however the battery is not charging, please do let us know what needs to be done get this replaced.
Hi Vivek,

I have also encountered the similar problem.

The battery does not charge when connected to the system with the AC adapter. The system will only function with the AC adapter attached. The system will not function on battery alone.

It was working fine till yesterday and suddenly today morning when I switched on my Laptop it was not getting ON on Battery, then I checked with the Adapter and it started working fine but after charging it for 2-3 hrs. when I removed the Adapter then the system is OFF. And I got 0 sec. I tried charging the battery 2-3 times but failed to do so.

I have a feeling that Lenovo might have programmed this problem while manufacturing the Laptop.

I had recommended for Lenovo to many of my friends and collogue, but I am getting a feeling that I have cheated them.

Now I think we should form a group of consumers like us and then together we can call Lenovo / IBM to the Consumer court.

Thanks & Regards,

KB Singh
Mob.: [protected].
Hi Guys,
My problem with this is very similar. Bought it on 1st Jan 2007. It was working fine initially. From Begning of 2008 battery works for only 20 mins. After the battry power goes below 66% it will immediately show critical battery. Now in mid may 2008 one fine day I found the battery is not charging at all. Then the battery light is off and if I remove it from the AC power supply the laptop gets switched off. Same answer from the service centers. They are telling its max life is around one year.

Best regards
Ansuman
hi
i hav a lenovo 3000n100 and i was buy one year back and its battry is not woking when i insert a power plag its on and when i plag down its not giving my battry back up
bye
tc
anuj
Hi Guys
I am facing same problem with my lenovo 300 N 100. I bought it in november 2006 from US, and the battery went dead in the same fashion ( as described by Vivek Rao) sometime in November 2007. I just missed the warranty by a few days...

I think these products are of dubious quality.
has any body mailed to lenovo regarding this?

Aashish Suchdev
[protected]
I have also same problem. I purchased in month of Nov 06 and baterry dead with in six month, july 07. It was replaced.But now june 15 once again dead. I think lenovo bettary not charging more than one year. I agree with above comments made by Vivek Rao, company may be programmed for one year.

lenovo 3000 N100, 0768, 92p1185(battery) facing same problem.
RGMath
[protected]
I have exactly the same problem with my Lenovo N100 just stopped charging or running on battery. This I purchased Nov 06 and i replaced around 1 year back. now its not working.
I bought the same system in UK. In the 11th month, the battery got busted. Fortunately, I had the warranty and got it replaced. Unfortunately, the replaced battery is now dead with almost a year after the replacement. I am out of any kind of warranty now. Also, the laptop gets heated very fast. I believe this issue with almost every laptop. But I have to keep ventilation unblocked for a free air flow. However, the ventilation is on the whole bottom base. So, I cannot keep the laptop on top of table, or any kind of it.

I have decided not to buy any more Lenovo's in my life. May be its would not be a right decision.. but I amn't going that way.
i have lenovo 3000N100, Product ID: 0768A35, i bought it brand new in march 2007, it used to give me a descent 2 hrs battery backup till yesterday, now all of a sudden, today while working on laptop with battery power, it went off in 15 minutes without any alarm, tried to switch it on but it wouldnt, later when i plugged to AC power it worked fine, but once pull the AC adapter off, it switches off without 1 second backup. My warranty expired 3 months ago, this is very irritating, i have cared for laptop and battery very well, never exhausted the battery to 0%.

when i talked to lenovo care, they said that battery is dead and it will have to be replaced, they quoted the battery price at 5500 Rs. This is very frustating that the battery didnt last ecen for 15 months. Even more frustating is that this is very common with lenovo laptops as this is what i am experiencing after searching on internet and this forum.

bad for lenovo, what did you guys do?? Replaced the batteries at ur cost??
lenovo has given extende warranty of 6 months (total 18 months) for this specific issue with lenovo batteries, get in touch with the lenovo care and get ur batteries replaced free of cost, my complaint has been approved and they are going to replace my battery within 3 working days:-)
I have the same problem like every body else. The battery just gone dead the day after it was gievn me 2 hrs life !!! Spoken to Lenovo care, i believe they don;t care. Pls do not recomemnd anyone to buy lenovo I am throwing my away after 1.3 yrs . wasting time to speak to those tech support salray earner ! tell your friend buy others.
i believe these chinese product now is a crap after they got from IBM. I have been with IBM for years after years this is never a problem until now. Its a shame IBM has to sell it to Chinese with full of bisiness sense !!
I have same problem what can we do
I agree ... i think lenovo battery are pre programmed to stop working after an year !! My battery just suddenly stopped working... it was all fine until last week..result is corrupted files due to improper shut down !! Ideally the battery shd show some signs of wearing off... it cant go from 100 to 0 in a day !!
after reading the complaints...seems like suddenly when my validity has expired the battery went dead !!

i see on point in calling lenovo care ... i dont even my bill !!
On July 17, 2008, Lenovo rep, Mr. Ranjan, calls me and gives me the spiel that since it was out of warranty, we are not entitled to a new battery for my Lenovo 3000 N 100 laptop. Ever since we bought this laptop in Nov, 2006 for about $ 800 in Houston, the battery never really worked. Laptop had practically zero charge within a month of our purchase. I explained this to Ranjan and he, in his artful style, said since the battery is out of warranty, he will not be able to replace it. I said the battery was a piece of crap right from the get go.

Lenovo manufactured a defective battery from all the complaints that I have read on the Internet. If hundreds of them complain, its a defect. A responsible company will own upto their mistakes and rectify them and not give their customers a run around. If it was an automobile and if they had manufactured a defective part resulting in a crash, one of them would have gone to jail or paid top dollar to their victims. Lenovo isnt an automobile, thank God! their officials are ignoring the miseries of all the consumers who were unlucky enough to buy this piece of junk. Can anyone help?

Capt Thomas Cherian
[protected]
Guys, lenovo has replaced my battery free of cost, my warranty had expired in march 2008, but for this specific issue...they have extended warranty of 6 months on battery, get in touch with lenovo customer care and ask them for replacement. But you need to validate your claim with the purchase proof (bill/invoice) of your laptop.

for india email them on this address : [protected]@in.ibm.com or call on this no. +[protected], tell them about the extended warranty of 6 months (not all of them know about this and may tell that only 1 year warranty is given).
M/s lenovo has cheated us, their battary works for only one year . As one year of warranty finishes it start giving problems.
M/s lenovo must do replacement of faulty battaries to satisfy the custmers
I bought the same Lenovo 3000 N 100 from UK. The battery died in 9 months. Since the warranty was there, I got it replaced free of cost, but with the same kind of battery again. Now, the replaced battery is dead in 1 year. Should I pay 6800 Rs. in India and get another battery only to run for another 8 months to 1 year ? damn how can I deal with this stupid situation ? Can we replace it with another model battery that can live for 5 years ? or atleast 3 years ? Any body replaced this lenovo battery with any other brand of battery that can fit in there ? Please help. I have decided not to buy any more lenovo's in my life. I am going to throw away my laptop too.. Gorgeous !
Hi,

I purchased a Lenovo brand new 3000 N100 Laptop in january 2007.
In march 2008, one day the battery of my laptop suddenly konded off. Before it stopped working completely it used to gie me about 2-2.5 hours of backup. As the warranty was only for 1 year, so nobody at Lenovo (Call Center and all serice stations) is actually listening. They only have one standard statement, "If it is out of Warranty, You have to buy a new battery costing Rs. 6, 800/-).after this i used my laptop directly by ACpower and after some day it konded off, this is the another problem.
In few of the forums I saw that lots of customers had similar complaint with this series of Lenoo Laptops. I doubt like others if they have pre-programmed that the battery will stop working after the warranty of 1 year gets expired.
Obviously Lenovo does not sell laptops saying that the Battery will not last for even 2 years. It is not about Warranty not actie, but the real issue is the product has to function properly even after warranty. Nobody would buy a laptop if we need to invest on battery every 14-16 months.

Im trying if someone can help. If nothing works I may even File a Lawsuit against Lenovo under Consumer Court.
I also requist to lenovo help me.
Thanks
sonu kumar
+91 [protected]
ID [protected]@yahoo.co.in
kolkata
Dear Sir,

I have lenovo 3000N100, Product ID: 0768 GZQ, I bought it brand new in Sept 2007, it used to give me a descent 2 hrs battery backup till yesterday, now all of a sudden, today while working on laptop with battery power, it went off in 15 minutes without any alarm, tried to switch it on but it wouldnt, later when i plugged to AC power it worked fine, but once pull the AC adapter off, it switches off without 1 second backup. My warranty still balance for 2 months more, this is very irritating, i have cared for laptop and battery very well, never exhausted the battery to 0%.

Sunil Gour
[protected]@yahoo.co.in

Post your Comment

    I want to submit Complaint Positive Review Neutral Comment
    code
    Customer satisfaction rating
    16%
    Complaints
    3466
    Pending
    0
    Resolved
    544
    Lenovo Address
    Ferns Icon, Level-2, Doddenakund Village, Marathhalli Outer Ring Road, Marathhalli Post, Kr Puram Hobli, Bangalore, Karnataka, India - 560037