Lenovo / Y[protected]q — faulty laptop

 
27 Reviews
India
 himanshu verma
i purchased a lenovo y[protected]q laeptop in feb 2007.
it has got a no. of problems after 5 months o[censored]sage.
i got it rectified 3 times and the concerned enggineer of lenovo center replaced the hard drive
but it got the same problem after 10 days
now it is totally faulty
i want to get it replaced as it is still under warantty period
can i have a new system?
Complaint comments  26 Comments     Updated: Share0Tweet0

Comments

I was purchased Lenovo y500 series notebook 2 months back. And i have send all requesting Documents for Lenovo bigloot offer. But still not any response should given from their side. And I had still not get my free gifts. Phillips headphone & Speakers. Shuld i get it ?
my laptops dvd-drive is not working properly.

Lenovo laptop Y500 — Charger

My Charger give problem...
Winner of Lenovo big loot offer still not declared as on May 2008 even after closing the offer in november 2007
Lenovo Laptops have DVD Writer Problem. In my lenovo laptop which I purchased in Sept, 2007 in India, the DVD Writer is unable to read DVD's written by save DVD writer on same laptop for the last 1& 1/2 months. Since I am out of India I am unabable to go to service centres of Lenovo & in a few days my warranty will also be over. As I will be going to India in Oct, 2008, I have the expectatation that Lenovo will not care for my laptop problem.

I have read on read on Forum Lenovo that more than 50% users of lenovo laptops have the same problem & lenovo has not been able to solve the problems. Some of the customer have got replacement of DVD writer in the warranty period but that also worked for around 6 months only. Some have spent Rs 5000/- for new purchase they are also not satisfied.

If HDD goes bad & DVD Writer does not accept CD / DVD there will not be any solution but to throw the laptop in dustbin. As there is no USB Booting possible in the laptop. User's can't boot from a pendrive or a secondary Hard Disk.

If some one replaces HDD, He can't boot from any source.
I’m a student, ……… i purchased a lenovo y[protected]AQ laptop in April 2007. up to one year there was no problem...but as soon as warranty period got over….., suddenly it’s DVD writer stops working and it is not able to read any CD……, my two other friends got lenovo laptop at same time….they r also suffering with same problem ……. I think there is some fault with the lenovo products.
Now we r not recommending lenovo to anybody….any student in Indian institute of science, Bangalore.
There is no any update available for the DVD writer at lenovo website…..
Please don’t purchase laptop from lenovo it is not giving any software with it ……lenovo is fake company no customer care………be careful…..tell to others also please, it is very serious matter for students... say no to “lenovo”……they r exploiting and selling the big “IBM name”
i hav written same complent at "complaints board" also...
Hi dear all,
i bought a laptop y500 before a year back and within 7months my dvd didn't work properly. Please guys dont buy lenovo.
Regards
vidhyadharan
Same Problem : DVD can't read or write. Tried all websites and panasonic website as the dvd is of panasonic uj-85 js but all in vein. Nobody not even lenovo people cared about. They are rather happy as they can sell there new accessory for about Rs 14000/- whish is availabl abroad approx. for Rs. 35 - 50 dollors.
Dear Sir/Madam,

Last year in November I bought this Y500 notebook with serial no. EBO6582129. After 5 -6 months the problem with the dvd slot in drive began as it was not able to detect any data on 90% of cds and dvds which I put in.

I contacted service guys and the problem was rectified after changing the dvd drive. During my three visits to the Nehru place service centre in the last one year (first for dvd drive replacement, second for travel adapter replacement and third for the mother board replacement) I must have seen atleast hundreds of consumers having the same problem with the DVD slot in drive.

Now again none of the cds or dvds can be accessed from my system due to low grade product used in your system. Kindly tell me what should I do for this persistent problem with this slot in drive.

Can it be changed to a tray type dvd drive or I have to get it replaced every 6 months as per my personal experiences.

Moreover I guess that the product service has been expired some days back(which I am not fully sure of whether it has expired or not), in case it got expired what should I do to extend the service warranty.

Kindly look into the matter and give me a permanent solution for this dvd slot in drive. As in the last one year I had to go to the service centre thrice and I never expected these kind of low grade or not reliable parts from Lenovo.

lenovo y500 series 7761-37q — dvd-r not functioning

i bought my laptop last year in august.after 8 or 9 months it starts not reading any disc.i visited lenovo service center. they changed dvd r nd after 5 months again same problem is repeated
I have bought Lenova Y 510 Laptop in Feb o8 the fault is not trace the DVD/Cd's after many complaints to dealer not responding
HI
this is lakshman from bangalore. i bought my laptop having serial no ME - 00686 LENOVO Y[protected]Q on 10th of jan 2008.. after 2 days i got problrm with dvd rom so i log on to lenovo. after replacing dvd rom again i faced problem with dvd rom. when i insert cd or dvd means it sounds like hell really like drilling machine it ounds . before 1 month ago again i replaced dvd rom and now again m facing that problem. m really getting irritate to use ma lap top. so whatever will happen m going to give complaint or else help me in this.
arrang me call back for customer care my number is [protected]. i have bought a new lenovo notebook
4130 3000, it has dvd driver problem so please call back me
I’m a student, ……… i purchased a lenovoHCQ laptop in September 2007. up to one year there was no problem...but as soon as warranty period got over….., suddenly it’s DVD writer stops working and it is not able to read any CD……also the battery was not giving back up at all, my two other friends got lenovo laptop at same time…in the same model i have purchased 2 pieces of the same model and both are facing problems ...they r also suffering with same problem ……. I think there is some fault with the lenovo products.
Now we r not recommending lenovo to anybody….any student in India.
There is no any update available for the DVD writer at lenovo website…..
Please don’t purchase laptop from lenovo it is not giving any software with it ……lenovo is fake company no customer care………be careful…..tell to others also please, it is very serious matter for students... say no to “lenovo”……they r exploiting and selling the big “IBM name”
i hav written same complent at "complaints board" also..
I baught Lenove Y 500 series model in the year 2006, Machine Type Model is 7761-37Q and serial number is6363KCE. RAM- Shanetronic.sm 22 INGO8DAE, Processer-LF80557, MB-AD715EBO49, 5757A, Battery AT715EBo495757, CDD.Co 715EBO4957574 problem found with motherboard I want to know whether i can get mother board replaced or not, Reply me at the earliest.

Lenovo Laptop — OS not booting in one month itself

Hi,

This is Ravi from Bangalore India. I got one 4152C8Q model on 4th Oct 2009. It is not even a month since i purchased it. When I got my laptop C drive was showing space used up 70 GB. While I went inside the C drive and did Ctrl A and properties with hidden files shown as option it shows around 40 GB. So 40 GB of memory was not accountable. It is not definitely factory default partition also as that is separate 15 GB I can in disk Management. I went to store and that guy told me to take the backup of OS in 2 DVDs and then format it. I tried but it did not work. It asked me for 6 DVDs to make bakeup!! So definitely there was some option. I thought of doing factory restore but it also failed as i had resized my C drive as per the instruction of store people only before!! Now my system is not booting up in either normal mode or recovery Mode. I have taken extended warranty also for 2 years.


At the same time what is the meaning of giving 200 GB in 250 GB HDD as C drive when a person cannot resize it!!

They calim that they do not give OS warranty but the problem is from the beginning itself. I got a laptop with more memory used. I tried taking backup which did not work as instructed by store person. I tried taking factory default which also did not work beacuse i had re-sized it to have additional drive as instructed by store person.


Now they are asking me to pay 1500 Rs for the same. I am feeling cheated now. They provided me a bad OS and asking me to pay also for that!!
lenovo ne loot lia
what is the solution for this issue?
I too have a similar issue. Lenevo is saying that they cannot give the free service as I complained after the warrently period. I didnt realise the issue as it was only for some DVD's but later it would not detect any of the DVD's. I wasted the whole lot of DVD's while burning on them.

I bought it in Gurgaon .
Let me know where we can complain collectively.
They are turning a deaf ear to our issues. I literally paid about 58k for the laptop .
i am having problem with my laptop actaully what happened i have upgrade my operating system vista to directly windows 7 now i am properly operate it but some of the feature like access to removable drives like cdrom or dvdrom . now i able to access only DVD in my drives but when i insert a CD into media it can"t open it . what is the probable to.


please give me suggestion as soon possible
hi guys
please don't buy lenovo

Post your Comment

    I want to submit Complaint Positive Review Neutral Comment
    Your Rating (1 star is bad, 5 stars is good)
    code
    Customer satisfaction rating
    2%
    Complaints
    3410
    Pending
    0
    Resolved
    78
    location
    Ferns Icon, Level-2, Doddenakund Village, Marathhalli Outer Ring Road, Marathhalli Post, Kr Puram Hobli, Bangalore, Karnataka, India - 560037
    Lenovo / Y500 776124q - faulty laptop