[Resolved]  Reliance Hypermart — Daylight Robbery - Wrong Billing

Address:Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh

I am a regular walk-in customer of Reliance Hypermart, Liberty Plaza, Shaikpet, Tolichowki, Hyderabad for almost 2 years now! Recently, I have discovered that they are charging the customers more than they should and very silently. A rupee here and a couple of rupees on there! Think of it for hundreds of customers in a day and thousands of customers in a month, and lakhs of customers annually! Think of the profits Reliance is making with a simple and seemingly unintentional act of "wrong billing".

My experience is vide Cash Memo #0181 dated January 26, 2011. Imagine, on a day this great country got our constitution formed and enacted, I was over-charged by the store. Just as an example, a 1 Liter pack of Onjus Orange Juice costed me INR 140.00 instead of the Maximum Retail Price of INR 100.00, and a 75 Gram Liril Soap costed me INR 22.00 instead of MRP 21.00. This appears pretty harmless where I paid INR 41.00 over the MRP, but look at the larger picture. In any case,who in India has authorised Reliance Industries Limited to sell an item over the Maximum Retail Price written on the product?

Normally, once the bar code on the products is read into the POS. we have the habit of trusting the system and going ahead with the purchase. However, I realized this discrepancy the other day and immediately tried to inform the concerned at the Hypermart store but their attitude seemed very relaxed - as if they cheat people every day and get the customers complaining on their doors too most of the times.
The store manager made an interesting impression by offering me a verbal apology and a cheap crockery set to bring the situation under control.

Now, my fellow consumers and distinguished experts, please guide me if I should accept this invaluable compensation or should I raise my voice against this broad daylight robbery?!

All suggestions welcome @ +[protected].

Lokesh Kumar Soni
Hyderabad

Apparently, I am not the only victim. Please read this complaint too:
https://www.consumercomplaints.in/my-complaints.htmlreliance-hypermart-c335245.html

Lokesh

Hyderabad
    Andhra Pradesh