[Resolved]  ICICI Bank — Debit freeze my account without intimation

Address:Mumbai City, Maharashtra, 400093
Website:Ground Floor, Trans Trade Centre, Seepz, Midc, Near Floral Deck Plaza, Andheri (East), Subhash Nagar

This is to bring to your notice that I Ms Meenu Ramesh Shinde Icicibank account holder of account no[protected] deposited cash Rs 2, 50, 000 in denominations of 500 old notes on 11 Nov 2016 at MIDC Branch Icicibank. At the time of deposit teller confirmed the amount and also returned me the extra 500 rs note from the bundles .I received deposit slip with stamp from bank, even I received auto message from Icicibank 2, 50000 credited in my account and it's shows my account also.

After 4 days on 15th Nov 2016, I got a call from the MIDC Icicibank branch stating that I have not deposited 2, 50, 000 lack the money I deposited was only Rs.1, 25, 000 lack and also showed me CCTV footage where there were 3 bundles, which I denied as it was random money kept at my home for emergency purpose not the money from bank which will be stack according to the number of noted.

What kind of service is this where one of your employee counts cetain amount and transfer the same to the said account and they have debits freezes my account without intimation me.

I'm quite disturbed by whole episode and feeling depressed as it's my hard earned money which is gone in the air . Please help me and guide me, so I can tackle this situation . Attached deposit receipt for your information, Hope you will depot the needful.

Meenu Ramesh Shinde
Mob No:[protected]
Account no[protected]
Dec 2, 2016
Unfreeze my account no-015101040347
ICICI Bank customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.
Nov 18, 2016
Updated by Meenu Shinde
11th Nov after bank opened I decided to deposit my hard earned saving so I choose to go to ICICI branch midc ..after standing in queue for hours I finally deposited my money . I had counted 500 notes of 500 rs
But at the time of depositing the teller end up giving me 500 rs single note back saying it was extra ..and finally handed over 250000 rs deposit receipt and after an hour money was credited to my account ..I was happy that I have finally done with this ...but to my surprise I got a call on 14th Nov saying money I deposited was not 2.5 l but it was only 1.25 l and they have some cctv footage showing I have given only 3 bundles of money on this I was just thinking about this being a prank as teller counted money and handed over this extra 500 note to me too which I accepted gracefully. But after the caller insisting me to visit the bank ..I decided to visit bank and was given this shocking news that money I deposited and which was already credited to my account is no more 2.5 l it was 1.25 l and my accounts were freezed . There were four different bsnk employees grilling me about the event and told me to admit that I have made mistake which I denied then they showed me footage of that day and showed me 3 note bundles but clearly no one could judge the no. Of notes in each bundle. After being grilled and embarrassed by the bank employees, I just demanded the footage of the counting machine as at the end of the it was a very big mistake by the bank employee but I was denied the same . I called my friends and decided to discuss with bank manager .Bank employee mr ... discussed the whole situation and assured us not to worry or panic . And told they need couple of days investigate the whole situation. On 18th I went back to bank and to my surprise I saw a police complaint copy against me. I was angry and depressed both at same time ..but cat was out of bag ..we did discuss about the police complaint with bank employees but they said it's not required and also said it will be problem for us as they will have various questions . After this I went to the police station but no one was ready to take my complaint and said we have denied bank complaint too as they didn't come with cctv . They will take bank complaint if they come with cctv footage. Also took my office and home address and said will call me once complaint is registered. I'm totally clueless what to be done .when and how my account will be un freezed .will I get my money back ?? Will I be harresed by police and bank employee for just depositing my own money . Kindly help and suggest what should be done as I'm both mentally and physically torched by standing in queue and visiting bank again and again . It's been 7 days I have no clue what investigation is being done and what will be the outcome. And how such mistake happened.
Nov 22, 2016
Updated by Meenu Shinde
Till date I have not receive any update from Icicibank bank, daily I m visiting to MIDC ICICIBANK branch to unfreeze my saving account but no one is helping me.
Nov 23, 2016
ICICI Bank Customer Care's response
Dear Ms. Shinde,

We regret any inconvenience caused. Our official will get in touch with you. We appreciate your patience.

ICICI Bank Customer Service Team
Nov 24, 2016
Updated by Meenu Shinde

It's been 2 weeks and everyday I have been given false hopes and promises that by tomorrow things will be clarified. I'm forced to visit bank as no one give response to me via phone . As I have repeatedly said this is the only saving account I hold I'm in bad situation as I do not have cash as well as my debit card not working . I have also submitted my latest KYC details to avoid any further confusion in my home branch office (vashi sector-1) to Ms Anita Mayank(Branch Manager). As per banking rules and guidelines no one can freeze account without any specific reasons . I need a written clarification for the same and need clarity on this.

Meenu shinde
Nov 24, 2016
ICICI Bank Customer Care's response

We regret any inconvenience caused. Our official will get in touch with you. We appreciate your patience.

ICICI Bank Customer Service Team
Nov 28, 2016
Updated by Meenu Shinde
It's been roughly 14 days I am not able to excess my own saving account and not able to use money. After repeatedly coming to the MIDC ICICIBANK and looking for guidance no one explained me right procedures and was always kept in darkness. Today I came to know I will be served legal notice how on earth I should pay a lawyer and serve you back without money. As per the experience so far with ICICI Bank team I'm sure I will be cheated again and again. As promised I have not been shown the CCTV footage yet nor any explanation on how your employee made such a big mistake of miss counting happened, have I been suffering from day one. Right now I just want my account to be unfreeze as I desperately need money to survive. I have understood your intentions and clearly understand that I don’t have time, energy and money to run into a legal battle with you guys. I cannot afford to miss my office and take half day as it affects my office routine. Hereby I request you to kindly guide me how to just go ahead and clear this mess created by you. I'm ok with whatever money you give me back I understand I will never get justice. So please unfreeze my account I need money and would want to close my account with ICICI Bank permanently. Hope you take action immediately without misguidance as before.

Meenu Ramesh Shinde
Nov 29, 2016
Updated by Meenu Shinde
Still no response from your end I thing I have to go with media and tweet this hole story then you will wake up.
Dec 03, 2016
Updated by Meenu Shinde
My complain is still not resolved still my account not unfreeze.

ICICI Bank
    Customer satisfaction rating Customer satisfaction rating is a complex algorithm that helps our users determine how good a company is at responding and resolving complaints by granting from 1 to 5 stars for each complaint and then ultimately combining them all for an overall score.
    65%
    ICICI Bank Phone
    +91 22 2653 1414
    ICICI Bank Address
    ICICI Bank Towers, Bandra-Kurla Complex, Mumbai, Maharashtra, India - 400051
    View all ICICI Bank contact information