SBI — wrongly charged for not submitting rc book

Address:Pune, Maharashtra, 411036

I have purchased S-Cross worth Rs. 12 lac for which I have made down payment of Rs. 10 lac from my hard earn money and taken car loan of only Rs. 2 lac from SBI Viman Nagar, Pune. On this loan I am paying EMI of Rs. 3200. At the time of loan procedure, I have not been informed by loan manager about submission of RC book to the bank. And now they have charged fine of Rs. 5900 for not submitting RC book. During last 6 months I have not received any intimation mail /SMS or call from bank regarding the same and suddenly they are charging me fine more than my EMI.

I have visited bank on:

13 April – For EMI payment

5 May – For Repayment of loan (Rs. 70000)

24 May – For Repayment of loan (Rs. 70000)

In last 2 months I have visited bank thrice but neither of your staff has informed me about RC book submission nor I have received any formal notice regarding the same. My car was registered on very next day of purchase and I was having RC book after 1 month. If I would have been aware about submission or any of your staff would have asked me about the same, then why I would have avoided the submission. You people send regular alerts regarding EMI payment but no SMS/ E-mail regarding failure of RC book submission? If I will stop paying EMIs then you will come to my place for collection then why there is no such procedure for other necessary submissions?

When I raised complaint online regarding the fine (Complaint No [protected] ), Mr. Rathod from the branch have closed the same and replied that these are late EMI charges.Please refer below screenshot.

When I called in the call center then about these huge charges they said that late EMI charges are not Rs. 5900 but Rs. 590, this must be some mistake in typo 590 to 5900. So your people only are not aware about the issues and charges. They are misleading me which is a mental harassment and I am under tremendous pressure due to the same.

After this, I have again raised complaint (Complaint No [protected] ) for which I received call from Mr. Rathod and Branch Manager of Viman Nagar said that we have mistakenly written that these are late EMI charges but actually it is RC book non submission charges which are not charged by branch but by head office. He has also agreed that they have not communicated regarding non submission of RC book and apologies for the same. He also assured me that he will take the issue to head office and reverse the charges.Now they are denying to do as same is denied by Bank Controller.

Sir, I work very hard to earn every single rupee. Rs. 5900 is a very big amount for me. I have taken only 2 lac loan and out of which I have settled 1.5 lac within 6 months. Also I am a punctual borrower whose non of the EMIs has been delayed. Still you are charging me such a big fine. On other hand people like Vijay Malyya are eating up the entire banking system and still moving freely. Then what is the use of me following the rules strictly? Give me one valid reason, even after this injustice, why I should pay back my loan as per rule and not default the same?

I request you to please reverse these charges.
Yes (12)
State Bank of India [SBI] customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.

Any updates on this ? Even I have been charged the same 2 times. Total Rs 8850 /- Let us know what we can do in case your issue is resolved
I am also affected same things.Please guide me also.
I have been charged 8850 by SBI in the name of non-submission of RC book.I have never received any notification regarding RC book submission.When i complained to customer care they closed the ticket stating the charges are according to the services charges mentioned in the site. But in SBI website there is no such information anywhere. I also visited the branch, they simply took the complaint letter and did nothing about it. I have really no idea what to do about this situation. 8850 is a big amount for me
5900/-rs also deducted from my car loan account .Can any body please tell in many days we need to submit Rc copy to branch to avoid these changes.
11800/- charged for NON-Submission of RC book without intimation. Can any one please help me how to approach to bank for getting back of charges.
amitsingh87's reply, Aug 13, 2018
Can you please explain Under which clause SBI deducted this amount and time in which we supposed to submit the RC in branch.
At the time of loan procedure, I have not been informed by loan manager about submission of RC book to the bank. And now they have charged fine of Rs. 5900 for not submitting RC book.
This type of transaction has no ID
This amount directly taken from last EMI
This is system generated chitting, I frustrated from all.

They taken application for that from me.

At the time of vehicle inspection(which is within 10 days) I was asked him for RC submission, they told me to provide if you possible, I shown them at the time when taken NOC

amitsingh87's reply, Aug 13, 2018
Can you please explain Under which clause SBI deducted this amount and time in which we supposed to submit the RC in branch.
SBI सेविंग अकाउंट मधुन 221000/- गहाळ/हेराफेरी/लबाडी

महोदय,
मि भुषण नारायण येवले
Mobile no:[protected]
ordnance factory ambazari Nagpur
कार लोन A/C [protected]
Salary A/C[protected] ECS

माझ्या सेविंग अकाउंट A/C [protected] ला 2, 21000/- असुन अचानक दिनांक 06/08/2018 ला बैक मॅनेजर विचारले त्यांनी सांगितले तुमच्या कार लोन मध्ये चुकिने transfer करण्यात आले.
मला काहि न विचारता माझ्या अकाउंटला Transaction केले
06/08/2018 ला 4 तासानंतर 2, 21000/- रिव्हर्स करण्यात आले पण त्याच वेळी 16103/- कपात केली मी विचारले असता बॅंक मॅनेजर चे उत्तर हे देण्यात आले कि 16103/- वापस नाही मिळणार.RC non submission चे नाव सांगुन कपात करण्यात आली. मला त्यांना लिखित स्वरूपात देण्यास नकार दिला लिहून देऊ नाही शकत असे उत्तर दिले .statement मध्ये 2, 21000/- चे transaction त्यांनी हटउन मला bank statement stamp and signature करून दिले.
1)SBI BANK WADI NAGPUR
BANK MANAGER Car lone

2) SBI main branch Nagpur
Dy. Manager
Shri. Milind Girdhar

Attachment paper:-
Car loan statement
Police Station FIR
SBI main branch Nagpur
Dy. Manager
मिलिन्द गिरधर
This is a biggest bank fraud by SBI and bank has hypotheticated the car and when SBI has blank cheques. Why is consumer court not taking any action?

Without any prior intimation how can SBI file such a heavy fine. I have not received a single paper to my address and how come they fine like that.

consumer court take some action and save the country from such kind of frauds.
Same issue but for me its Rs 14900/-
They have deducted for non submission of RC book. No intimidation from SBI bank. On asking they said its an issue with many people. You can submit an application with your complaint. Though I've submitted an application but I doubt that will help. I think we all should file a complain in consumer court, grievance department and also notify RBI about this fraud. I will surely be doing complaining everywhere including finance ministry.
same happened to me ₹5900 debited.
Then visited branch for submission of RC copy, i argued with them. They showed me a clause in disbursement or loan sanction letter, it’s clearly mentioned that within 120days we need to show proof of vehicle registration or else ₹5000+ gst will be charged by bank. We can’t fight with them because we have signed without reading all the clauses on sanction letter.
I am also affected 5900Rs first deduction then 2900Rs second total 8800 Rs penalty for not submitting RC book copy. Still fighting for my money with SBI.
While taking loan all documents were collected by SBI at my door step and now when RC book submission was required nothing was intimated no SMS or call or nothing directly penalty was charged. While catching hold a customer for loan they can come down to your home why cant same be followed by bank after loan disperse.

Escalation Path I am following
Branch Manger -- Nodal Region Head office - Corporate Office - Banking Ombudsman - Consumer Court.
Any of you get resolution or reversal of charges? If so pls let others know

Btw... I am also affected and I am fighting with branch bank
I have also raised complain in consumethelpline.gov.in Let see

1. Bank should send intimation to customer
2. They should provide circular copy to consumer where it should mentioned that after certain time so and so charges will apply and calculation formula too
3. They should also have circular or customer's permission to debit customer's loan account for such charges.

If they can't provide... customer should go to court.
VipDabas's reply, Dec 7, 2019
You will need to submitted a complain at

https://cms.rbi.org.in/cms/IndexPage.aspx?aspxerrorpath=/cms/cms/indexpage.aspx

I got my money back.
i also have face this and they charged 2500 /-
Even I have been charged the same 2 times - total 8400/- . As per the comments many people seem to have been cheated + rest who have not commented. This is a big fraud by SBI. Let us know what we can do in case your issue is resolved.
Bank : State Bank of India
Branch : Kalvan (01175)
Car Loan Account No : [protected]

Name : Piyush Kishor Salunkhe
Mobile: [protected]
Add : At Post Kalwan, Tal Kalwan, Dist Nashik

Sub : I have been charged Rs. 2950 from SBI due to the non submission of RC book copy about this.

Sir, I have been charged Rs 2950 from SBI for not submitting the RC book copy. I have never received a notification through phone, SMS, or Letter to copy the RC Book copy. Even then, 2950 has been deducted from my credit account.
I request that I should inquire about it and get my money back.
Amount Debit Date : 05/01/2019
I am facing same issue as piyush. I have been charged Rs 2950 from SBI for not submitting the RC book copy. I have never received a notification through phone, SMS, or Letter to copy the RC Book copy. Even then, 2950 has been deducted from my credit account. Amount debited on 05.01.2019.

This is absolutely ridiculous from SBI.
SBI has been the worst bank I have dealt with.

I have been charged 2950, for 6 months. JULY - DECEMBER 2018.
No intimation as such, not even an email.

No one from Bank, has ever told me regarding this.
Moreover, I have not received my RC card yet, due to some address change issues.

Is this even legal by SBI bank to do this.
Refer My Oct 22 Post.
As per procedure I had escalated the issue to banking ombudsman level. I have got the refund back from SBI. But before going to banking ombudsman you should have approached SBI regional Customer care AGM. All can be done by just email and attaching proof.

I got penalty reversed because I had done my car registration and hypothecation on time within a month.
Hi all,
I finally dealt with Banking ombudsmen and I got my refund with penalty credited into my loan account.
The bank can give "Undertaking" and "Arrangement" letter as proof against you that you might have signed at the time of loan sanction. But no worries, you can still fight.
When I communicated with BM, I always keep people in CC AGM, RM, and chariman too.
Make sure you do all communication with bank on emails, which becomes base for you.
My BM wrote in his mail, I met with branch manager and he advised me to submit RC book, also he wrote they contacted me and informed via phone call.
I asked for giving proof : Provide CCTV footage which prove that I met and BM n he advised me.
2nd, provide phone call records that your staff may called me.
provide me circular which mentioned that RC boo non-submission charges will be debited.
and circular which mentioned that RC book non-submission charges will be debited to customer's loan account.
Non of them (BM, AGM, RM and chairman) revert back with circular till date.

Finally I raised my question to BO (banking ombudsman) with all above queries
By that time I make an online RTI request where I asked circular and CCTV footage. they reply as under:

Our reply to the information sought by you as under:

1) The information sought contains commercial confidence and hence declined U/s 8(1) d of the Right to
information Act 2005
2) The information sought contains commercial confidence and hence declined U/s 8(1) d of the Right to
information Act 2005
3) The information sought contains commercial confidence and hence declined U/s 8(1) d of the Right to
information Act 2005
4)It is beyond the scope of the Act to create information, or to interpret information to solve the problems raised by the applicants or to furnish replies to hypothetical questions hence the information does not come under the preview of Right to information 2005

Finally I got complain closure from banking ombudsman after number of follow-up that they have reversed my charges with penalty. closer text are as under.

2. इस संदर्भ मे हम सूचित करते है कि हमने यह मामला भारतीय स्टेट बैंक के समक्ष उठाया था | बैंकिंग
लोकपाल के आदेशानुसार बैंक ने आपके खाते मे रू 2, 950+1, 000 = रू. 3, 950/- 26.02.2019 को जमा
किए है ।
उपर्युक्त को ध्यान में रख कर आपकी शिकायत को बैंकिंग लोकपाल योजना 2006 के खंड 11 (3) (a)
के अंतर्गत इस कार्यालय के अभिलेख (रिकॉर्ड) में निष्पादित एवं बंद किया जाता है । बैंकिंग लोकपाल
योजना एक वैकल्पिक शिकायत निवारण प्रणाली है । बैंकिंग लोकपाल द्वारा की जा रही कार्रवाई संक्षिप्त
स्वरूप की होती है । अगर बैंकिंग लोकपाल के निर्णय से आप संतुष्ट नहीं है तो, आप अपनी शिकायत
निवारण के लिए कानून के अनुसार स्थापित अन्य किसी भी कोर्ट / मंच / प्राधिकरण से सम्पर्क कर सक्ते
हैं ।
इसे बैंकिंग लोकपाल के आदेशानुसार जारी किया गया है ।

So request you to fight and ask for circular
even I asked all the people bt non of them provide circular, so I have a doubt that they have no circular and they are charging people without any circular. which is wrong.

Hope this will help you.
Shrutidixit3's reply, Feb 5, 2020
Can you share with me the email I'd of ombudsmen.. Even I need to raise a complaint for a similar issue.. My bank branch manager is behaving absolutely rude and asking for proofs from me when I submitted docs.
MayankMishra19's reply, Nov 18, 2020
can you guide me, fraud bank manager did not inform me and charged continuously for 5 months for RC ate submission. he collected blank check at the time of loan initiation. but never informed me about RC late payment fee, even after it was put on for the first time. one day they called me when black check were finished and i went there to give more check and asked to give me statement then i came to know that they have been putting these penalty charges on my car loan. total amount to 17700 Rs. also when i mail them about this bank manager replies with sorry over email and does no reversal of these charges. please guide me thru process. thanks in advance.
this is bank fraud . same think happend to me. chor sbi

State Bank of India [SBI]
    Customer satisfaction rating Customer satisfaction rating is a complex algorithm that helps our users determine how good a company is at responding and resolving complaints by granting from 1 to 5 stars for each complaint and then ultimately combining them all for an overall score.
    27%
    State Bank of India [SBI] Phone
    +91 80 2659 9990
    State Bank of India [SBI] Address
    No.65, St Marks Road, Bangalore, Karnataka, India - 560001
    View all State Bank of India [SBI] contact information