ADVERTISEMENT

Urban Company — Air-conditioner faulty installation

Hi,

I had booked an AC installation service with Urban Company on March 22, 2022. The technician (Sarajit Roy) had come and installed the AC and it was working well. However, some of the items charged in the invoice wasn't used in the service.

The AC stopped working after few days within the warrant period and I requested re-visit. The technician (Sarajit Roy) came on 7th Apr 2022 and changed the SMPS (at least that's what he said) and then the AC again started working. After few days again the AC stopped working, and this was noticed on the penultimate day of the 60 days warranty. A SME (Md Rezwan) was sent this time and he inspected for a few minutes, pointed out that the machine had run out of gas. Also the installation of the outdoor unit was considered dangerous by him and he also hinted at providing old copper wire (for which I had paid Rs. 4500 for new purchase).

From then on, despite multiple follow-ups and e-mail correspondence, Urban Company has neither offered a resolution and stopped replying to e-mails (after replying to the first one). They called twice and disconnected the call soon after pick-up. There is no way to reach them other than e-mail.

Hence I request to take appropriate actions on this issue and provide me with either resolution of the issue or financial compensation for the harrassment and invoice amount.

I am attaching the mail communication of them acknowledging the issue after which they completely went silent despite multiple follow-ups from my side. Also attached are the screenshot from their app regarding the service bookings and the invoice/receipt.

Will highly appreciate your help here.

Best Regards,
Sanjay
+5 photos
Was this information helpful?
No (0)
Yes (0)
Urban Company customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.
Verified Support
Jun 09, 2022
Urban Company Customer Care's response
Hi Sanjay,
We regret to hear about the experience you had with us. This is certainly not the kind of service we intend to deliver. Our team will be in touch to understand what went wrong and help you with the same.
Regards, Urban Company
Jun 10, 2022
Updated by sanjaywelcomes2017
Hi,

Yesterday I received a call from Urban Company Customer Care to book a visit where the issue would be resolved free of charge. I did book one for 10-Jun-2022.

The professional had arrived and after inspection they called the customer care and informed them that he won't be able to fix the issue. The customer care said them to wait for a callback after 5 minutes. And they never called back the technician and he left without fixing the issue.

Attached is the screenshot of the service request for today.

So, the issue remains unresolved. Ideally I have paid ~11000 INR without any benefits for the last 3 months.

I would request the Consumer Forum to take appropriate actions against Urban Company. This is really frustrating that the organisation don't have a way to reach out to them over any helpline, and they don't get back to customers in need unless some drastic steps are taken.

Would highly appreciate appropriate actions.

Best Regards,
Sanjay

Jun 12, 2022
Updated by sanjaywelcomes2017
Today yet another technician visited the place. Like couple of others before, they concluded on two things:
1. The outdoor unit is installed in a risky way and can cause severe damage if it falls off. The earlier technician hasn't used fasteners which is billed in the invoice.
2. The AC needs to be taken to the service centre for investigation.

However they haven't taken it. So we are still in the same boat. Urban Company isn't taking any corrective actions as I am having to explain everything to every technician they are sending. They don't even have track of an issue which is escalated.

Would highly appreciate if there is intervention and possible resolution to this issue.

Also, please consider that this is an ongoing harassment mentally, as I am having to spend considerable time and effort in attending to the individuals and explaining things everyday without the slightest effort from UC to solve the issue.

Attached is the latest visit details of the technician.

Jun 13, 2022
Updated by sanjaywelcomes2017
Hi,

The saga continues.

Received a SMS today at 3:22 p.m. IST that UC have tried to reach me. Not sure how.

Attaching the incoming call record (none of the unsaved numbers are calls from UC) and the sms screenshot.

One falsification after the other. This is becoming a mental harassment every passing day.

Awaiting appropriate action.

Best Regards,
Sanjay

Jun 15, 2022
Updated by sanjaywelcomes2017
Update - 15th June 2022

Another UC professional (Abhishek Das) visited. His diagnosis says that there might be a leakage in the gasket inside where the allen key resides. This part resides next to where the copper wire gets fixed during installation, and hence has a probability to have got damaged during installation. He wanted to refill the gas without fixing the issue, which was rejected by me, as this issue would again eventually lead to drainage of the gas sooner or later. They marked the job Complete as "Customer Rejected"

Attached is the service record from the UC app.

In the meanwhile, they have removed some of the above attached service reports related to this issue from their app. Shows their unprofessionalism to the core.

Also, won't be allowing any further technician visits for this issue, as this is a mental harassment in addition to time wastage now, and I demand compensation for the same, in addition to what UC has charged for this service.

Would be awaiting resolution to this.

Best Regards,
Sanjay

Jun 16, 2022
Updated by sanjaywelcomes2017
Today I received a call from Urban Company. They clearly mentioned that they won't be able to provide me a resolution. They damaged the AC during installation, and they expect me to work with the other providers outside to get it fixed, and get it reimbursed up to an amount of 10000 INR via a GST invoice.

So, firstly for a damage incurred by them, they should be the one who should arrange for end-to-end solution, i.e. if it needs to be done from outside, they should be the one who should co-ordinate.
Secondly, I don't have the slightest trust factor left to be convinced about the reimbursement they propose.
And finally, the harassment I have been facing since 3 months is immense.

Urban Company is one of the most unprofessional service providers out there with zero integrity and most pathetic customer support policies. Actions should immediately be taken against the company.

Awaiting appropriate actions.

Best Regards,
Sanjay
Complaint comments 
Share
Tweet

Comments

Hi,

Yesterday I received a call from Urban Company Customer Care to book a visit where the issue would be resolved free of charge. I did book one for 10-Jun-2022.

The professional had arrived and after inspection they called the customer care and informed them that he won't be able to fix the issue. The customer care said them to wait for a callback after 5 minutes. And they never called back the technician and he left without fixing the issue.

Attached is the screenshot of the service request for today.

So, the issue remains unresolved. Ideally I have paid ~11000 INR without any benefits for the last 3 months.

I would request the Consumer Forum to take appropriate actions against Urban Company. This is really frustrating that the organisation don't have a way to reach out to them over any helpline, and they don't get back to customers in need unless some drastic steps are taken.

Would highly appreciate appropriate actions.

Best Regards,
Sanjay

Post your Comment

    I want to submit Complaint Positive Review Neutral Comment
    code
    By clicking Submit you agree to our Terms of Use
    Submit
    Urban Company
    customer care contact
    Customer satisfaction rating Customer satisfaction rating is a complex algorithm that helps our users determine how good a company is at responding and resolving complaints by granting from 1 to 5 stars for each complaint and then ultimately combining them all for an overall score.
    Read more
    40%
    Complaints
    1224
    Pending
    302
    Resolved
    418
    Urban Company Address
    161 B/4, 2nd & 4th Floor, Gulmohar House, Green Park, New Delhi, Delhi, India - 110049
    View all Urban Company contact information
    ADVERTISEMENT